Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Revo or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
4.819 out of 5
4.808 out of 5
4.779 out of 5

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Revo STX

Abu Garcia Revo STX

Designed with Infini™ Brake System which combines a linear magnetic brake with a centrifugal brake for stellar cast-control.
Average Customer Rating:
4.779 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(172 Reviews) 172
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 172 reviews
5 stars
150
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
157 out of 167(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Revo STX
Review 1 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great reel, manual needs work

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine reel, quality, precise, typical Abu . Manual could include directions for centrifugal pin adjustment, save some frustration in casting distance adjustment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Smooth!

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
South Florida Bass Guy
from Florida
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome reel! I couldn't be more happy with this reel. It's the best reel you can purchase in this price range. Abu For Life!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Original Revo STX

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dutchman
from Toms River, NJ
Age:Over 65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I can't understand some of the reviews that have indicated having problems. Apparently the individuals have not treated their reels correctly and maintained them. Keep in mind Abu Garcia was a watch maker and makes precision reels. I have an original Revo STX and NEVER had a problem with it. It does everything Abu stated and is an excellent reel. Apparently the people who have had problems are used to having a $30 reel and don't know how to treat a quality reel. I love my reel. Hats off to Abu Garcia.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The drag lose it function

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Guanine
from Malaysia
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:1
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I owned a 1st generation revo stx for few months and only used it for 3-4 times. Today, I used it to catch a peacock bass about 1kg to 1.5kg (I should not say ,"I used it"). The drag lose it function after striking the fish, I kept on reeling but the spool did not response( roll). Thus, I used my thumb to stop the spool and used my hand to pull back the line( like fly fishing). Luckily, I succeed to land it. The reel still can't reel back the line although the fish was landed. After that, I tried to knock the reel by my palm, then the reel function well later and able to let me to strike another fish. Could abu tell me what happened on my reel ? Should I send it to abu service centre? Besides that, the dealer told me, Abu Garcia reels do not carry any warranty in malaysia, so if my reel got problem ,I need to spend my own money to fix it ?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great buy

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really enjoy this reel. I have 30 pound braid on the reel and I love how far it will cast. The only complaint I have is you spend this much, it should come with a cover for the reel. Other then that I am really happy with my new purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best reel ever

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from St. Paul MN
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
like casting performance feel good in ur hand i catch bass and pike off of it it could it alot
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Reel

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Duckmaster55
from Penn yan, Ny
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This reel is amazing, i have fished several tournaments this summer with it and it has yet to let me down. But the one problem I do have has nothing to do with how it works or feel, lately I have noticed the chrome paint wearing off. On the side plate and magnetic brake adjustment the paint has worn right off and all you can see is copper around it. I think it has to do with making the revo 3 lighter and not adding another finish coat over the paint, but otherwise it doesn't bother me at all. I will definitely be getting another!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

STUNNED

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Con
from Essex, Ma
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a spectacular reel for the money. I have recently used the Shimano Chronarch $200 reel and after using my new revo I feel like that reel is a piece of junk. This reel is high quality and it casts a mile. I will never stop using Abu Garcia reels and I hope there will be new revos to come
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Casting Distance

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Caution for those purchasing the STX or Winch. I've tried both reels (as a result of warranty replacements), and both reels have very poor casting distance.
The STX was fine for the first 10 casts or so, and then slowly the max. casting distance became less and less (with magnetic brake at zero). It maxes out at about 15 yards right now, which is obviously unacceptable.
I don't recommend either the STX or Winch.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaAugust 6, 2013
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us as what you describe is certainly not normal. From the information you have listed here, it sound like the centrifugal brake (remove the palm sideplate, brake system is located on the spool) needs to be adjusted. There are 6 brake block pins - push the knobs in towards the spool until they click into the "off" position. Any number of brake blocks can be turned on or off depending on how much casting brake force you need. With them in the off position, you should not have any more issues with casting distance. Also, make sure the spool tension knob next to the handle is not overtightened.

If this doesn't fix your issue, please reach out to our reel services team at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to assist you with warranty repair. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty and we are here to help. If you are having repeated problems, we certainly want to know about it and get your issues resolved ASAP so you can get back to fishing. Thanks for reaching out to us and we'll be in touch with you shortly at the email address that you provided with this review to make sure your issues are resolved or take the steps needed to fix your reels.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Revo product review from a daily Revo user

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Topwater junkie
from Des Moines IA
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
If you’re reading this review you are probably debating whether or not to buy the Revo STX. In my opinion it is a great real and I would highly recommend it, in fact I have turned 2 people into Revo lovers already. I currently own 2 Revo STX 7.1:1 and for the most part they have been great. I use my reals on almost a daily basis during the spring, summer, and fall. I’m on the water daily after work and I have put the Revo STX through some rigorous tests and without a doubt it has passed them all. The pros of the reel are: Superior cast-ability over the completion (In my opinion), durability, reliable, ergonomics!!! and versatile. The cons are: frequent cleaning and maintenance is required on this real (which is always a good idea anyways), The spool magnetics are not as adjustable as i would like. It seems like when I’m throwing an 1/8 ounce Texas rig with a 6-8 inch worm the magnetics are either to much or to little and I can’t get it exactly where I want it. In closing if you’re looking to get a great real at a modest price then this is the real for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cannot go wrong...

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from CT
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
What a huge reel in such a small package.. I love mine (gen3 STX-HS), I'm going to stick to the revo line for all my baitcasters from here on out! 20lb of "oh-so smooth" drag, blazing gear ratios, all packed into a lightweight, ergonomic, AND sexy little AFFORDABLE reel. no complaints whatsoever!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Andy
Minnesota
My stx with drag and pins.
Posted September 5, 2013
But they don't work how they should. The spool turns on hook sets and everything else when there is tension. The drag tightened all the way but ration still occurs with the spool.
Centrifugal brake pins keep on pooping out every time I cast. unless otherwise I throw slowly. very disappointed, not sure where my receipt went but I wish you guys had a free replacement for something unheard of in the industry of Abu Garcia.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All around awesome

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jonny
from Denville, NJ
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This reel is amazing. Casts far and smooth, best bait caster I've ever used. As long as you take care of the reel it will work like new forever. For maintainence after use rinse under water dry and put lube every where it says on the owners manual. When I did this I didn't put any lube in the lube port on the gears and it sounded grindy and reeled rough. Put lube in the lube port and it will work good as new. Great reel
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Look at that fat girl

PostedApril 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Revo STX 8.0:1 flipping a lizard to brush and dragged this big lady out without effort. Get one or twelve like I did!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so simple

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
skie
from worcester, ma
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just purchased the stx and its my first baitcaster infact, ive never even attempted to cast a baitcaster before in my life. i was nervous at 1st but after a little thumb pratice from my couch i went out to make my 1st cast. with the mag break on max and the cent on 3 i made about a 20 yard cast. after that i slowly turned the mag break down and after 15 mins i have the mag break half way off. you really can feel the magnetic break kick in at the end of the cast. casting is a dream and cant wait to use it all summer. and i still havent had backlash ! i got the 8.0:1 gear ratio for spinnerbaits and man does this thing burn. covers water like no other.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feel of heaven in the palm of your hands

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Codyg5543
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel!!! Had to watch a couple videos on youtube to figure out how to set the internal brakes but since I got them set to my preference it has been nothing but smooth sailing and fast line reelin'!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Collin
Corry PA
Gen 3 revo stx
Posted July 2, 2013
I just purchased my gen 3 stx about 2 weeks ago at bass pro in Maryland got home put line on oiled it and set it perfect for what I'm usually throwing with it, cast perfect. Next day went to a local pond and cast out and experienced a screeching noise and didn't cast as far but I still had the same bait and setup as I used the day before. Then I went home oiled it and took it on the water the next day and it still did it and it also started kind of locking up while I was reeling in. Very disappointed in the reel and for how much it cost it just shouldn't do that. So if anyone could help me on what to do with it please do
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Light and doesn't but doesn't work

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
duckchef
from Portland, OR
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was really excited when I got this reel. Took it out and after a few casts, the reel would not re-engage and just free spooled. I took the reel back and exchanged it thinking it was just a one time thing. I then took the 2nd reel out and low behold it does it again. Now the reel is at my local reel shop waiting on parts on a product that should have been test better before selling to the public. I do like the reel and I hope it gets fixed and work like it is intended to do.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMarch 18, 2013
Good morning. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your STX as what you describe is not normal operation for this reel. All Abu Garcia reels carry a one year warranty and we will be happy to help you out. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your specific case and will be contacting you shortly at the email address you provided for this review. We will work quickly to get you back to fishing. If you ever have any questions or concerns we can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We will be in touch with you shortly.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
aep
dustin
Posted April 22, 2013
it would have worked if you would have tightened the drag up,i have grabed many reels and they dont work till you turn up the drag,i think all reels come with the drag all the way loose and you can turn the crank and the spool wont turn
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
kiske13
Same problem
Posted April 17, 2013
Same problem.
I'm from europe and we haven't service in our country.
Sorry to say, I don't like shimano, but never had problems like this with it.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Grinding grinding grinding!

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chee
from Chicago,IL
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got mine 2 days ago. The new gen3 STX is smaller, lighter, and has pretty smooth drag,BUT it makes a loud grinding noise!!!! I actually can feel it through the handle.....I was excited until I started to reel it. I did some research, I am not the only one who has this problem with this reel. People say "some grind some don't". What happend to the quality control?
If you really want this reel, it will be a good idea to go to the local store instead of buying it online. At least you can try it before you buy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
White Oak, PA
Grinding...?
Posted August 9, 2013
I know you said it grinds, but have you tried putting reel grease in the lube port on the underside of the reel? The grinding that is coming through the handle is a result of the gears that turn the spool via the handle being bare on each other, i.e. lack of lubrication. I use Ardent Reel Butter, but any type of reel grease would work, and that should solve your problem.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
try oiling
Posted April 4, 2013
Had the same problem and was a little mad about it. So, i gave it a good oiling and it works great.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

geat for everything

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this for topwater, flipping or even texas rigging, great reel for all baits.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Check the pics and see for yourself.

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
metalljca
from Buffalo, NY
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I currently have a Revo STX-L-HS, Revo STX-L, Revo SX-L, and a Revo Toro Winch-L and just bought a Revo Winch-L. So far they all seem to be very nice reels. Excellent feel and durability. The drag is unmatched. The braking system is very well built and allows you to tune in any type of bait. I have yet to be let down by any Abu Garcia product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Revo STX
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Problem to unlock after casting

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kenny
from Singapore
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchase this reel from oversea eBay seller. After two fishing trips I notice some time the reel cannot be unlock after cast.
Check with few local tackle shop but none of them can fix this problem because no spare part. Never expect this will happen on the brand new product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJanuary 29, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for reaching out to us. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty and we will be happy to help. What you describe is not normal. A representative will contact you at the email address that you provided with this review and work with you to get your issue resolved. One thing that we did note in your review is that you fish mostly in saltwater. If this is the case, we just wanted to let you know that the STX is not engineered for saltwater use. If you primarily fish in saltwater, the Revo Inshore is the correct reel for this application since it is designed specifically to handle the salt. Thanks for reaching out to us and a representative will contact you shortly.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bill
Florida
Which LP Baitcasters for Saltwater?
Posted February 11, 2013
"... you fish mostly in saltwater. If this is the case, we just wanted to let you know that the STX is not engineered for saltwater use..."
If you sort your reels by "saltwater", then "low profile baitcaster", the STX most certainly is in the results, contrary to what you stated to the customer.
Please list the Low profile baitcaster reels "engineered for" saltwater use.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>