Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Revo or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
4.819 out of 5
4.814 out of 5
4.761 out of 5

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Revo S

Abu Garcia Revo S

The thrilling performance of the Revo® in a straight forward setup. Trademark features are built into this reel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.814 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(129 Reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 129 reviews
5 stars
111
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
125 out of 128(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Revo S
Review 1 for Revo S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best reel for the price

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fisherman Rob
from Baltimore Maryland
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Great reel for the price I can cast a mile with a weightless wacky rigged senko. The reel is super smooth and a absolute must have! I have landed every thing for 1/2 pound bass to 4 pounders! I use this reel every time i go out which is around 5 days a week and have had it for 2 months still running very strong! A great all around reel
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Revo S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fishing for Gold in Brazil

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used it here in Brazil, the Golden fishery, its drag is one of the strongest in the market, she lures with half water, is phenomenal, I recommend it with that brake 20 Lbs behind the fish to their backs.
Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Revo S
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fisherman

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Eags
from Wautoma, Wi
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I received the the revo s paired up with a 7' med heavy scheels tournament series rod as an awesome gift from my girlfriend. I love the set up. However I noticed I can almost double the distance of my casts with my two other less expensive baitcast set ups. I have tinkered with the pitch break system #locking in the spring loaded switches# set up for maximum casting distance, and I do not seem to notice much added distance on my casts. What am I doing wrong?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted August 14, 2014
the side twist off of the reel by unscrewing the top screw by the handle and then twisting the opposite side of the reel to where it pops off and you can put all the brakes off by switching them inferior
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Revo S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phenomenal Reel

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
07-04-2014 Never using a baitcaster before, and being an Abu Garcia spinning reel fanatic, I knew I would start my shopping with them. First time my new Revo S was out of the box I have been blown away with the ease of set up. Very easy tuning it with the line tensioner for what ever size lure you're using, with additional adjustments in the centrifugal brake for pitching. Perfect all around reel for all levels of fishman. Still need a little practice, but with no birdsnest, I was fishing the first hour I owned it! Never using a baitcaster before thats pretty awesome! Just recertified Abu Garcia for life! Thanks for making great products!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Revo S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
kkwrfd
from Warner Robins, GA.
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am new to fishing but this reel is AWESOME! It is very easy to clean and lube. Never had a problem with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Revo S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty Fishing

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Abufishing
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel so far! I just have one question. Can this reel handle big games like Salmon?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Revo S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic reel

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Michigan
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this abu garcia revo s generation 3, 2 months ago. I could not be happier with it, it was the first time I bought a more higher end model. I was really surprised at how is it is to adjust when you first take it out. After its all adjusting I'm able to casting 40 to 60 feet depending on the wind and I have yet to get a bird's nest with this rod after 2 months.
I plan to pair this with the veritas rod by abu garcia. They are not kidding when they say abu garcia for life won't buy nothing else
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Revo S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good..

PostedApril 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sobri
from Malaysia
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
This reels was very good..smooth gear..easy to use..nice colour...combo with veritas siries rod..i love this reel..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Revo S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT REEL

PostedApril 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I refer to my Revo S as my FREEVO because I won it in a bass tournament. I always thought that anything over $100. for a reel was just for bragging rights...........boy was I wrong! I love this reel so much that I just ordered a Winch for my cranking rod and will soon have a SX for my topwater rig. I never knew what I was missing and will probably never consider another reel maker after throwing a Revo. Thank you to the tourney folks for picking this reel as a door prize and making me a believer and a HUGE thank you to Abu Garcia for a great reel that has made me a loyal customer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Revo S
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Revo S none adjustable

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Buzz
from Indianapolis , Indiana
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I fish bass tournament in the mid west , and I have a Revo S. I love the lightness of the reel. I would have given this reel five star's but having trouble with casting and adjustments . I have made numerous adjustments and still get back lashes and birds nests. Not only have I tried but my fishing partner tried making adjustments and still got birds nest, now when it comes to flipping with this reel it is AWSOME. this reel has been placed back on the shelf and a cheaper older reel has been put back in it's place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Revo S
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best but problem

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Auckland, NZ
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this reel! Its super awesome to fight fish on, casts pretty well and has a very nice smooth drag. It handles 10lb snapper with ease. I have this paired up with a veritas rod and together they have lovely sinc.
However... I'm only 4 months into my replacement reel and am already starting to see the same problem as the last one I sent back under warranty. Ive been treatimg this like a baby after every single use. I'm posting on here rather than sending this back right away just in case there's any tips on why it happening. Especially cause every time I get a new one I have to waste 30-40 bucks on new braid.
The magnetic clutch has started to fail again. I few weeks ago it was just a few extra turns of the handle before it re engaged. Now sometimes 2-5 mins of playing with it. Its like the magnet just isnt pulling at all. Is this a common problem? Is there an easy fix or solution? I really dont wanna give up on this reel but will have to hope for a refund if its gunna happen again. Regards
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJanuary 27, 2014
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. The engagement issue that you are experiencing is not normal and out reel services team can fix this by swapping out a few parts. Please reach out to them at 1.800.228.4272 and give them the details that you have laid out here - they will be happy to assist you. We are sorry for the inconvenience and will work hard to get your issue taken care of quickly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sobri
Malaysia
want to know
Posted April 26, 2014
The revo s can be use for saltwater??
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Revo S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Do It All

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
AJ
from Up and Down the East Coast
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the left hand model about 6 months ago for a white MHX that I built in late April and have been fishing it hard ever since. I've done everything from frogging to flipping jigs to throwing 3oz. poppers to bluefish and stripers with it, and it has performed very well. My maintenance has consisted of a few drops of oil out of the box and washing salt out with hot water, so the durability is certainly not in question here. Good drag performance and the good gear ratio have helped too. I picked this feel over a Shimano Chronarch and I don't regret it a bit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Revo S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

skeeter190

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Skeeter190
from SW Missouri
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel, I purchased one about 3 months ago and went back today and bought another one. Casts great, very smooth, small easy to handle and lite weight. I have been burning a spinnerbait with it for the last month, when a bass hits the drag has yet to fail and it has handled everything that has been thrown at it. Can't go wrong with the Revo S.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Revo S
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Clicking and grinding

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this reel a few months ago and was loving it! Palms nicely, casts like a dream! And handled several 3 and 4 lb largemouths very well,...but....now there is a clicking noise as I reel and the last fish I reeled in I noticed a grinding that didn't feel right. My son has the stx and not a problem whatsoever! I have always loved Abu and still will, but a bit disappointed as I have to travel quite a distance to purchase as I live in a smaller town. I hope Abu will know how to handle the prob. I have the receipt but haven't had the time to make the drive back to the place of purchase. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaSeptember 23, 2013
Hello - sorry to hear that you had an issue with your Revo S. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty so there is no need to drive back to the retailer. A customer service representative has already been notified about your case and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review. Our reel services team has a fast turnaround time and will repair or replace your reel quickly. If you ever need to speak to a customer service representative directly over the phone, please call Tel: 1.800.228.4272. A representative will be in contact with you shortly.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Revo S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
BigT
from Kingston, ON
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I decided, after 40 years of fishing, I needed to try a bait casting reel. My buddy just expanded his store to include fishing tackle and reels so to support him I decided to buy the Revo S he had sitting in his case. Best investment ever!! After 4 months of fishing I cringe when I pick up my old spinner!! There is nothing like a bait caster and I'm totally hooked (no pun intended!). I matched my Revo S with a 7' Veritas rod. You can't beat the sweet look of this combo. It took a bit of practice but the Revo S is so smooth and precise I feel like a pro now. Anyone who sees it, wants it! I Heading to Florida in a couple of weeks to tackle some big largemouths, cant wait!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Revo S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best saltwater and freshwater reel ever

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was amazed with this reel I entered for this tournament and it lasted 2 days and I used this reel for bass and it casts very smoothly and it has very good accuracy and during those 2 days I didn't get arthritis at all
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bass guy
Oklahoma
Best baitcasting reel for the money
Posted October 14, 2013
I first started fishing with a spinning reel but I wanted to try out baitcasting reel and a buddy of mine told me about the Abu Garcia revo and I went to bass pro to check them out and like the revo s because Was cheap and looked cool with the veritas 7" . When I first tried it out it was amazing castes like a more expensive reel
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Revo S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

you can cast into another country with this reel

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
abuismylfe
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i just recently bought this reel i put some 12 lb sufix seige on it it casts like a dream the reel has very nice feel and the braking system is awesome and when you cast with a duckett rod you literately can cast into another zip code i would recommend this because its a very nice reel great line capacity and very nice thanks abu Garcia
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Revo S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this reel, but...

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from White Oak, PA
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So, this is my first real baitcasting reel, and I have to say, I absolutely love it, and fish almost exclusively casting now. I have this reel on a 6'6 Vendetta Rod and the feel of both is amazing. You can adjust and fine tune this reel to the point where you can completely avoid stopping the spool without getting backlash (with an obvious decrease to casting distance) but this reel is amazing, and I highly recommend it. It is EXTREMELY lightweight as well, and I love the performance on it. Now, my only complaint is that one of my reel handle knobs just fell off one day while fishing, screw, bearing and cap as well... and I couldn't find any of them. it only happened on one side, the other side was perfectly fine. I wonder if anybody else had this problem or is it only me? I'd love to know if I can replace that part, or if it falls under warranty if maybe the hole in the reel for the screw is just a bit too large. But that aside, this reel is amazing. My other BC reel is an Abu Garcia Black Max 2 on a Shakespeare rod. But I absolutely love Abu Garcia and highly recommend their products.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
White Oak, PA
*UPDATE*
Posted August 9, 2013
So I took this back to where I purchased it and they gave me a brand new one. I have not encountered this problem on the new reel.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Revo S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Revo S

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Demisaint
from Singapore
Age:25-34
Number of times fishing per month:4
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just started my transition from spinning to BC. And ive to say this, Abu for life. (Yes both of mine spinning and BC reels are from Abu) been using Revo S for a gd 2 months now.
Revo S is such a pleasing reel to cast, with the correct setting backlash is kept at bay. And you can cast the whole day without major backlashes. Whats more, the profile is so low and ergonomic to the extend that it feels good to grip especially when you are luring for the whole day.
Price is good for a 20lbs drag and smooth reel( and it is white in colour too! ). Clicker sound for both drag and braking system pleases the ears whenever one is tuning the setting.
Overall a good reel to use. Grease by Abu is alittle thick, which is the same for all bc actually. Hence degreasing and greasing it back would improve your casting. For those who are facing backlashes, I would recommend doing some homework online on bc casting techniques and learn how to set your bc setting correctly. Patience is all you need. Afterall, I've a mentor whom i can learn from and online learning hasten my pace of picking it up and makes my bc experience an enjoyable one.
Improvements wise, I sort of miss the clicking sound from my spinning whenever a fish drags my line out. Hence I hope that Abu is able to create a reel with clicking sound as such of spinning as well.
Review from Singapore ^^
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Revo S
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Revo S

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Big Buddy
from LaMorinda CA
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just bought the Revo S and like it a lot so far. It's my first Abu Garcia reel I've ever owned. Own a ton of Shimano Curados and Citicas. The Revo S is so much smoother then the Citica for the same price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>