Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Orra or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Orra SX

Abu Garcia Orra SX

The perfect combination of performance and reliability in a sleek package featuring an aluminum frame.
Average Customer Rating:
4.405 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
5 stars
57
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
6
63 out of 74(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Orra SX
Review 1 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing baitcaster that won't break the bank!

PostedApril 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
IridiumBlade
from Ashland, KY
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I picked up this awesome reel last week and after 3 outings with it, I am very impressed and pleased with my purchase. I paired it up with a 6'6 Vengeance rod and spooled with 30# Sufix 832 low-vis green. This setup casts far and smooth! I was able to cast light rigged soft plastics (weightless wacky rigged worms) with ease and crankbaits sailed effortlessly. The centrifugal brake system does its job and I had zero problems with spool overruns. I even tested the pitch settings on the brake and pitched into thick cover. Again, it achieved what it was designed to do. Overall, I am very pleased with the Orra SX and it holds up to the high standards that makes Abu Garcia what they are! I plan to pick up another one of these reels as well as a Revo STX soon.
On another note, I do have one minor complaint. The black printed "ambassadeur" on the front of the reel seems to wear off really easily. I tend to wrap my hands around low-profile reels while retrieving/playing, and my left index finger rests right below the line guide. Perhaps it wearing off is my own fault and the metal it is printed on could be so smooth that it doesn't adhere well. It's a very minor issue at best, but still worth noting about the durability. Nonetheless, I am fickle about stuff like this and wouldn't have expected it to wear off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
robb
pa
best reel made for the money
Posted April 23, 2012
this reel is the absolute best reel made in this price range. every bit as good as any revo .. a few ounces heavier but if your not using 200 dollar rods then this is the best reel you can get in my opinion
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
IridiumBlade
Ashland, KY
maybe I spoke too soon?
Posted June 8, 2011
It looks like my reel was also affected by the faulty anti-reverse bearings. I was wrestling with a 6 pound bass and the bearings started to slip causing the reel handle to jerk backwards in half turn increments. The bearings didn't quite give out completely but this reel is no longer trustworthy to land large fish. I'm not really sure what to do now. I really don't want to have to pay to ship this reel back to have it repaired/replaced considering I paid 100 bucks for it.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Orro SX My new "Go To" Baitcaster!!!

PostedMarch 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Over the last several years I have used a certain type of baitcaster. Unfortunately they discontinued making them. So I decided to try something new this year. I purchased the Orra Sx and WOW! It is everything I was looking for!! It has the Centrifugal braking system for smooth tangle free casting. The gears are smooth as could be asked of any High dollar reel. It also is easily disassembled for routine maint and upkeep. This reel has found its way into my rodlocker and is to soon be followed by more!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good reel for the $$$

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Slick
from Gadsden Alabama near Weis Lake
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have 3 Orra's. One is the SX, One a SX HS and one a 2014 version SX with the magnetic braking system. All three are very good for me, so far for me. I've used them approximately 2-3 hours apiece. However I do not like the 2014 with the magnetic brake as well as I do the centrifugal braking. IF I wanted mag braking I'd have purchased the Pro Max (I have 3 of those too# I totally enjoy a Challenge and developing the skills required to used Bait casters, especially the centrifuge type. I've used Bait casters all my life I am now 55. These low profiles are the easiest to cast of any reels I've ever used. I do not like the LONG HANDLE rods that are supposedly for these reels. You really only get a longer handle, not longer rod or the usable part. The handle only gets in the way for my type fishing #Stripe and Bass). I prefer the old Lew's 5'6" or 6' pistol grip rods. I can cast these reels over 2/3 of the spool with a Lew's rod. The 7' ABU rod are good for worming where I use a Carolina or Texas rig. The extra weight makes the difference. Truthfully, my only concern is that I wish you'd make your products in Sweden or the USA.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good reel, poor service ability

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
kvdbssmstr
from Gulf Shores, AL
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Orra SX is a nice reel, I own the 7.1:1 model. I enjoy it for all around fishing. It is very smooth, really good line capacity, and my favorite thing about it is the weight. You can cast this all day and not feel it. Balances well with most rods. The only problem I have is I cannot seem to find a way to open the Sideplate for service on this reel. Whether it is not meant to be opened or is just something I'm missing, I don't know. But I won't purchase another Orra SX 2 because of this reason, I do love Abu Garcia and have owned and will continue to purchase Abu Garcia reels, other than this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
danimal2014
Side plate removal
Posted July 27, 2014
There's a pin on top of the reel running sideways, right in front of the spool. Just slide it sideways with your thumb nail and remove the slide plate. (It slides up, then out). Next time wait to bash on something until you know how to operate it. I own two of these now and love them.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

wears quickly

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
wabi
from Ohio
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When this reel was new it felt good, but after a year or so of light use (probably less than 10 hours of use) it is about ready for the trash. The main shaft (that holds the handle) has developed so much side play it is distracting when cranking line in.
I've always fished AbuGarcia reels, but from now on I'll be very careful to buy only the models that are made in Sweden.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Thisguycanfish
Okay reel..
Posted September 1, 2014
Reel is phonamonal, one of the best casting reels I've ever used, BUT after less than 20 hours of use, it feels as if the gearing is bad, not sure if it's a bearing or not, but after a few casts with a buzzbait or deep diving crankbait, the reel starts grinding again. Was fairly disappointed in the work of this Abu, and would have expected more for a 100$ reel. Might be a manufacture break down but a few reviews have had the same problem. Still a big fan of it, but next time I
Buying a Revo sx or stx
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted April 14, 2014
Sounds as if you left the baitcaster under the couch and under-maintenance.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very impressed

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jdawg86
from Avon Park, FL
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the first baitcaster i have ever used or owned. I was very impreseed at its performance and how easy it was to learn to use. The orra has exceptionally smooth casting and retrieve. I dont see how you could do better at the same price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best buy for the Money

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gunslingerjoe
from Ontario,Canada
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent baitcaster for under $100, smooth casting, the braking system works flawlessly right out of the box. Not one birdsnest with over 10 hours of fishing on her. Highly recommended over other brands in this price range. Fit in hand is spot on, even in smaller hands still very comfortable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Line breaking on log casts

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Art
from Maryland
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I just purchased my Orra sx along with a field and stream 7'3" rod. I liked the casts and used it for an hour or so with a KVD square nose lure. On one cast the line went out and the lure kept going. I went back and looked over the line on the reel and figured it was maybe an error on my knot connecting the lure. I put on another lure and after several casts the line snapped and bye-bye to another expensive lure.
So, now I went back and changed out my pole as I thought it may have a defect in the line guide that I could not feel. Nope, it was not the pole. Lost another lure, though less expensive as I learned my lesson on that after the first two.
The line is braided 50 pound and I use it on most of my other reels due to the lilly pads I fish in. It is not the line. Anyone have an idea? The reel does have a slight clicking sound when casting out the line. None of my others have this. I am guessing I should send it in for repair, though I thought I would through out the problem in case there is some adjustment I can make. I have no backlash issues to speak of.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Line brand
Posted June 10, 2014
What brand line do you have on your reel? This used to happen to me at least twice every fishing trip, I was using spider wire stealth braid and I got tired of it and thought it was maybe my rod or reel line guides but it wasn't,they were all normal. Then I thought that it was a bad spool so I emailed the company and they sent me 2 new spools of the same line and it did the same thing..I've switched to power pro and have had no problems what so ever. Since then I've talked to people about spider wire and they have had some of the same problems too.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
fshrmngrn
Powell,TN
Change your knot type
Posted August 27, 2013
I have the same reel and have had this happen to me , you have to watch how you tie your knots when using braid! I used to tie the simple cinch knot and would loose fish when setting the hook. Well it turned out to be the knot so I started using the palomar knot no more lost fish or lures after that!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good reel for beginners

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great reel for under a hundred bucks, give your money a bost
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Orra SX best reel I have used

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
KeegDaddy
from The mighty mitten
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This reel is AMAZING! Way better than the old Quantum reel that I had. Very smooth, casts very far. Once you have the gears setup right backlashes are a rare occurance. Could not be more happy with my purchase. Great for beginners and more advanced anglers!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great reel

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good reel and performs amazing. Buy the reel u won't regret it. Try the 7.1:1
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst reel I've ever owned

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jonathan
from Virginia
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have 2 orra sx hs and they are the 2 worse reels I own. One has a broke shaft on the spool and my repair man has been waiting over 6 months for a new spool. The other reel has been used less than 10 outings and the anti reverse is starting to slip. For a 100$ reel I was expecting it to last longer and hold up better than it has. I have all revo gen 3 reels and they are by far the best reels on the market. The orra doesn't even seem like it's made by Abu Garcia they feel cheap and are of poor quality. I would never recommend this reel to anybody novice or pro!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaApril 10, 2013
Good afternoon - we are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your Orra SX reels. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty and we will be happy to help as what you describe is not normal. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your situation and will contact you at the email address that you provided with this review. We are not sure why your repair man has been waiting for a new spool for 6 months as this part is readily available through our reel services department. We are here to help and will work hard to get you back to fishing quickly. If you ever need to contact us by phone, don’t hesitate to call us at 1.800.228.4272. Thanks for reaching out to us and we will be in touch with you shortly to get your issues resolved.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted June 14, 2013
wow! not one reel, but two reel problems at the same time and same owner... what are the chances? i hope you get it figured out...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
jdd57
Toronto
Posted April 11, 2013
there you go Jonathan...that's customer service for ya !!! good on ABU GARCIA
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best I have ever used

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Mississippi
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have had this reel for over a year never had a problem with it the price is great and I have cought a ten and 3 nine pounders with this reel and even with them on the line it reels perfact This is the best reel I have ever used GREAT
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I now own 8 Orra SX

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
TritonAL
from Kimball , TN
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought one and loved the performance, that I now own 8 Orra SX. That's not including 2 Revo Stx. I have fished with all my reels without any issues at first. I have noticed that you must baby these reels. You have to keep them extra clean ( clean them every 6 outings ) or they will start to make some noise during the cast . All you have to do is to clean and lube the bearings frequently. I have had no more issues with these reels since I've been babying them. Great reels for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, superb reel for the money.

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Moonraker
from Burlington On Canada
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the reel last week and used it for salmon fishing from a pier and landed one of 20lb, then this last Saturday landed one of 30lb, this reel handled them no trouble, really impressed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An impresive upgrade from my $30 combo to say the least

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
IOX
from Chattanooga,TN
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:Less than 1
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After useing a cheap baitcast combo to learn how to cast with it was definitely time for an upgrade. It, being my first decent baitcast reel, will be a standard for future reels. I've had very few unavoidable problems casting. In a quiet room I can only make out the noise of the line coming off the spool. I look forward to doing a complete rebuild when the time comes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beware of Mechanical Brake

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
IWantSomeBass
from Canton, GA
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased the reel on-line from a rebuttable retailer. Setting the mechanical brake on the reel is impossible. It has never worked properly and backlashes on ever cast. It appears to be a design issue. Very frustrating, ended up having to buy another reel, Revo SX which has a clicking mechanical brake which works fine. Beware of the mechanical brake. Avoid this reel.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJuly 27, 2012
Hi,

We received your review of the Orra SX low profile. I think I know what may be causing your problem as we see this quite often.

The braking system used in the Orra SX is the pitch centrifugal brake which is internally adjustable. Meaning you have to open the side plate to adjust the brake by loosening the thumb screw and twisting the sideplate counter clockwise to remove it.

You’ll see a plate with six brake blocks (three non-spring loaded brakes that are labeled “PITCH” and three spring loaded that are not labeled). Turn on the three spring loaded brake blocks not labeled PITCH by pushing them away from the center of the spool. You will feel them click allowing them to move in and out. These spring loaded brake blocks move out towards the edge of the spool when the spool is rotating fastest during the first part of your cast which applies braking pressure.

For additional braking pressure you can turn on the three non-spring loaded PITCH brake blocks. You move these away from the center of the spool with your finger (they will click into place at the end of the slot where the pin sits). The PITCH brakes apply constant braking pressure during the entire range of the cast since they sit on the outer edge of the spool the entire cast. These are great for flipping and pitching baits and jigs where you need a lot of braking force.

After you get comfortable casting with the additional brake force you can start turning off brake blocks. It takes a training of your thumb to prevent the backlash but once you get it down, you’ll be casting without any problems. The brake system on the Revo SX you have been using on your other reel is an externally adjustable magnetic brake. This system doesn’t require you to open the sideplate to adjust and applies consistent brake pressure through the use of magnets. The Pitch Centrifugal brake does allow greater versatility but takes a little more effort to dial in.

Please feel free to reach out to me with any questions. Also we are in the process of filming some videos to help anglers understand how to use the brake system better.

Best regards,
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

satisfaction

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
found it reasonable price wise whilst quality and ability is on top level. perhaps some pro's dragging monsters may complain re certain issue whereas for ordinary user it's a great choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Was good...

PostedJune 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Sumter, SC
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
I personally love Abu Garcia products but this one has dissapointed me. This reel was great until the anti reverse started slipping. I've only had the reel for about 6 months and every time i hooked a fish the spool and handle started going backwards uncontrolably. I have a Revo SX and i love it to death, it on other hands has never dissapointed me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJune 25, 2012
Hello, sorry to hear you are having an issue with your Orra SX. What you describe is definitely not normal and we will be happy to help you out with your issue. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty. One of our customer service representatives will reach out to you at the email address that you submitted with this review. If you ever need to get in touch with us directly, our customer service department can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We understand your frustration and will work hard to get your issue taken care of so you can get back to fishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Orra SX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Normally I would rave about Abu Garcia, and try to buy nothing but your products, but this reel is probably the most terrible
piece of junk I have ever purchased and for
the price you wouldn't think so. I thought I would give it a while to try and get use to it, thinking maybe it just needs some fine tuning, but unfortunately that while means I can no longer return this and am stuck with this garbage. Staying away from your products all together.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaApril 16, 2012
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Orra SX low profile reel. One of our customer service representatives will reach out to you at the email address that you provided in order to learn more about your specific issue. The Orra SX carries a 1 year warranty. Since you mentioned fine tuning, we are guessing that you are having a casting issue. In addition to the spool tension knob next to the handle that controls casting, there is an additional Pitch Centrifugal casting brake located under the sideplate. Remove the sideplate and slide all of the brake pins to the outer position as this will help you further control casting. This video (although a different model of reel) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WEUL... shows the Pitch Centrifugal brake at the 1:10 mark. We hope this helps you out and one of our representatives will be getting in contact with you shortly.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>