Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Max or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
4.514 out of 5
4.143 out of 5

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Pro Max

Abu Garcia Pro Max

The top of the line Max reel features a 7+1 bearing system for the smoothest feel and a fast retrieve 7.1:1 gear ratio.
Average Customer Rating:
4.514 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
33 out of 35(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Pro Max
Review 1 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great New Reel!

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bob
from Indiana
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I actually won the newsest Pmax reel from a Berkley contest on Facebook. I love the small design, high gear ratio, and really love the price of this little guy. There's a great drag system, and it casts very small baits very nicely. Even into a brisk wind. This was my first Abu Garcia reel in several years, but I'll be buying this reel for my next purchase. This reel casts better than a lot of reels that have a much higher price tag!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for price

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bobgin
from Al
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have other reels than cost much more, but do not cast or feel any smoother. This reel is perfect for a beginner to baitcasting reels. It's easy to use and when the brakes are set correctly ,easy to cast with out backlash.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gonefishing75
from Minnesota
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel make sure you adjust the drag to what your casting or you will get a backlash with this reel guaranteed line pick up is fast for the money it's not a revo rocket so you get what you pay for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Correction
Posted June 17, 2014
No you wanna set the drag so a big fish don't snap your line, you wanna make sure that you adjust the brake and the magnets just right so that it doesn't rats nest
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

12 pound rainbow

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I have to say this pro max 2 is the best bait caster that I have had so far. This morning I landed a 12 pound rainbow trout. The drag was very smooth and easy to use while the fish was even jumping out of the water. The gear ratio was just right, not to fast and not to slow. Like my self I cast a lot so the 7.9 ounce reel was perfect for a long morning.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Grinding Noise

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Texas
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Second time out fishing with this reel and it's making a terrible grinding noise when casting, I lost a brand new square bill crank bait because it stopped and snapped the line mid cast. Very disappointed in this product. Can someone from customer service contact me please.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMay 20, 2014
Good afternoon. What you describe is not normal and we will be happy to assist you. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty - simply reach out to our customer service team at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to help you. Have a great week and we look forward to your call.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMay 20, 2014
Good afternoon. What you describe is not normal and we will be happy to assist you. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty - simply reach out to our customer service team at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to help you. Have a great week and we look forward to your call.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best reel i have had so far!

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has been the best reel i have had so far! I have had th black max witch was wonderful, but this pro max is 10 times better in my opinion, but i did get i believe a "hank parker" bait caster and was very disapointed with it. I think whoever gets this will be satisfide if you like bait casters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Reel For Multi (Lure) Use!

PostedMay 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Chris Studder
from Annapolis, Md
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Abu gear has been good to me, great casting, great gears in the reel, an very strong, I've dropped my rod a few times, an I'm pretty rough with my rods (I fish ALOT) an it keeps on going, cast after cast. But I also lube it once every week, gears an wheels. So that it stays in great shape. I have no plans on switching from my three different Abu combos. (One Abu spinning combo, an two bait cast combos, a silver max an a pro max.) really reliable fishing gear. I hope this helps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Money/Quality

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best all around reel use it for everything (3) have them paired with 30lb braid. 12lb mono. and 12lb Fluoro. Have 3 and they cast a mile works great. To be honest I like them paired with cabelas rods. But for Abu Garcia reels, I think pro max is the best bang for your buck ! have them for over 2 years no problem at all at least for now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

pro max / black max

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Not happy with any reels. had bought the pro max and not even a month later it broke, the same way the black max did just a few weeks before buying the pro max. The line on both reels would get bunched up on one side when reeling a lure in. Would be willing to send both reels back to Abu with a full refund or a better reel
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMarch 20, 2014
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty and we will be happy to assist you with a warranty claim. From what you described here, it sounds as though you are having an issue with the line guide. Our customer service team will be happy to get your issue resolved and get you back to fishing. Please reach out to our team at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to assist you. Have a great week and we look forward to your call.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FOR LIFE!

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vic
from South Africa
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Got it as a gift from my dad for my 22nd birthday. Best reel I've used! I'm at the water about 3-5 days a week and about 3 hours a day and this is my go to reel! Almost a year and many many bass later it still runs smooth and feels great!
What can I say, it's an Abu
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Reel

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Central Florida
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent reel, I've been using ABU Garcia since I was a kid, these new low profile reels are great. Casts, and reels excellent, just caught several 2+ and a ten pound bass down here in Florida, perfect for punching grass and pads.
Have it paired up with a 7'6" Veritas Rod.
Also have several Black Max reels, but this is my goto.
ABU Garcia for Life!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Salmon Slayer in Sacramento river

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jay C
from Sacramento, CA
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very excellent reel at casting flying Cs in the middle of the river.
20 days of use probably 500+ cast and reel.
Caught 18, 14, 16 pounds of salmon this past week (September) with it with no problems from the bank.
Only one thing is I wish it has high spool capacity maybe up to 150-170 yrds instead of 130 without changing the whole size of reel. Maybe a new revision for 2014?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pro max

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
wayeye hunter
from canada
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is one of the best reels I have used in a long time, its smooth, cast well, the drag is smooth, the 7-1 ratio picks up the line when you need too, you can't beat the price point for this quality of reel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Back into bassin' after 20 years lay off

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
milldew
from Lacrosse ,Wi
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I Fish the ol' Mississippi pool 7.. kids are grown up up and out of the house so I can cast again instead of pulling a inner tube. Gave away my old reels and rods
big $$ back in the day!!
Got a pro max, silver max and a black max.
Much lighter and smooth as heck. ( keep them clean / blow off with air if you get sand in them and keep them lubed)
These reels are very nice the silver max and pro max are slightly smoother than the black max. The "flipping" switch on the silver I some times hit by mistake (I flip and pitch but don't use that feature) looks like a slip ring can be put thu the button to eliminate that. For the price these low profile "inexpensive reels" cast crazy good..
And the flip switch may work out for you .
Stuff wears out after years of use. Abu Garcia is now the of choice in my boat.
time will tell but so far it's good value.
Love the fact the company responds to the negitive emails.
Good stuff for money.
learn how to use it and keep it clean, oh one
more note : the drags system is really good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent reel for the money

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crispy
from Augusta, GA
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This is a great reel for the money. I have all of the Max series reels on different poles & the Pro Max is my favorite by far. I use it on a 7' medium casting rod with 30lb braid & I can use a vast variety of different baits. It will cast anything from a floating worm to a big buzz bait. And the 7.1:1 reel ratio lets you work top water baits fast or slow. Very smooth reel & will get another for a different rod set-up. You can't go wrong with this reel in my opinion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome reel

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
weekend warrior
from PA
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is only my second bait cast reel but so far i love it. Its so easy to switch from different weighted lures andf not get any back lash. The braking system makes everything so easy. As i found out the other day, it even handles big muskey with ease. Pluse the price you cant beat! I wish more reels were this affordable for the average joe like me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Price Great Reel

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Basslover
from GA
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ive had this reel a little over a year its good about not backlashing ive left it in the rain a few times and fished in in to but it still works like a charm i love bass fishing and it reels in big bass like a charm now im thinking about trying out a revo but all and all a great reel keep it up abu!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another Winner

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bass Assassin
from Mississippi
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just purchased my first ProMax this season and mounted it on a Vendetta 7'6" Medium action rod. Great combination as I knew it would be. I own 2 Black Max combos , 3 Silver Max combos and a 276i spincast and all have seen years of faithful service as I expect the new ProMax will also. The ProMax performed flawlessly as all my other Abu products have. I fish Abu exclusively , sport decals on my tackle boxes and the rear window of my truck. This reel was just one more testament as to why I fish Abu Garcia only and will continue to do so. Great product, great price, and lived up to the quality I came to expect from their products.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Reel For Avid and Novice Anglers Alike!

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
captjohn
from Racine, WI
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lightweight reel with a nice compact low profile that feels perfect. I matched my Pro Max reel on a 7'6" Vendetta Rod. I am really pleased with the combo and reel performance whether I am casting, pitching or flipping. I would highly recommend this reel!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pro Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro max

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tripp
from Johnsonville sc
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got the pro max the other day, today was my first time using it. It is great, I have the silver max, black max, and the 7ft vengeance with the cardinal 354i spinning reel. I just started using Abu Garcia this year and I'm hooked. That is all I will ever buy from now on. Absolutely great rods and reels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>