Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Max or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
4.514 out of 5
4.13 out of 5

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Silver Max

Abu Garcia Silver Max

The 6.4:1 gear ratio Silver Max includes a 5+1 bearing system and a flipping switch for flipping soft baits and jigs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 78 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
7
62 out of 73(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Silver Max
Review 1 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dissapointment

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from North Dakota
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I recently purchased two, SMAX2 reels. I had them out on the water for the 3rd or 4th time today. One of them came apart in my hands, the side plate opposite the crank, came off & I was unable to reassemble it. I grabbed the other one, the back up, and the drag does not work.
I realize these are not "high end" reels, but I've always related Abu Garcia to quality. This has changed my opinion.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase.

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Salty Dog
from Eustis Fl.
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
amazing product you can use it in saltwater too but you. have too make sure you clean it well very strong rod and reel
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's ok

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this reel and it worked fine at first but then after a while I noticed that when the reels closed I reel my lure to the top, and then stop reeling, my lure falls an inch and then stops. It does this every time I stop reeling. I don't know why it does this
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good reel... but help needed!

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is a grood reel... I wanted to give it some more power for flipping and pitching heavy cover - so I bought the extended bent handle and large EVA knobs from the Revo shop (which are supposed to be compatible with Max 2nd generation). The extended handle installed perfectly. However, when time came to remove the knobs from the old handle (Which is required in order to install the new knobs) I removed the knob caps and it's not possible for me to unscrew the knobs because there isn't a Phillips head as indicated in the Youtube video. Instead it is smooth metal. I have no idea what to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No instructions!! Obviously not for 1st time bait casters!!

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rob
from Phoenix
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:1
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Went on father/son fishing trip in the mountains!! Gave my son my old real & pole, bought the silver max2 cause i thought trying something new would be fun, been fishing my whole life & I can read so never even thought it would be a problem..well it was...No Instructions!! Strung it up, hit the button once to cast & it went into a "neutral" and unstrung the whole real!! Yeah haha, right? Not really, I was done...I had no phone service to look up any instructions & now that I do I can still find none worth a darn...really? No Instructions on a bait caster???
Never again Abu Garcia!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJune 18, 2014
Good morning. In an effort to be more environmentally friendly, all of our manuals are available online and include much more detail that is specific to each individual reel series. The insert inside the box details where these instruction manuals can be found online - http://abugarcia.com/manuals
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rob.
Phoenix
No instructions!!
Posted June 18, 2014
To little too late, the damage has been done...tried to untangle the birds nest of a reel yesterday...It needs taken apart now or all the line clipped w/clippers...I went to my local pond last night, on the way stopping at Walmart & purchased a Skakespear spinning reel...I'll probably never try bait casting again, & I'll definatly never buy Abu Garcia again!!
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fun while it lasted

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this reel for less then a year, and for most of this time the lakes have been frozen. After my first five trips this year the thumb bar no longer engages or reengages smoothly, and the flipping setting is not even close to working. I knew it was a cheap reel when I bought it...but frying after less than 6 months of use?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMay 29, 2014
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. What you describe is not normal and we will be happy to assist you. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty and we will work hard to get you back to fishing quickly. Simply reach out to our customer service team at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to walk you through the process. Have a great week and we look forward to your call.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Reel

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Hard to go wrong with this reel at the price point. I have replaced several of my older reels with the SMax after a great experience with two Abu Garcia spinning reels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome reel

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
a-c
from south dakota
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have this reel for bout a year now, the only thing is the flipping switch is sticking...I cleaned and lubed but it seems to be little off center, when pressed, the left side of the release is lower than the right..I have to bump it a little, but I just been leaving it off and pitch as if it wasn't there. Point is, if its there, use it, that was one of the reasons why I bought it. Thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted February 8, 2014
The exact same thing happened to mine ive had it for a year or so and the flipping switch sticks. But other than that its good.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT REEL FOR THE MONEY!!!!

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hamp
from Killeen, TX
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this reel on 1/1/2014 and it worked as advertised. Casting is as smooth as silk once the brake setting is adjusted. No backlashes whatsoever. My 11 year old had not issues casting with the reel as well and liked it very much
I did have one mechanical issue: while fishing the SMAX-2 at one of the ponds at Ft. Hood, TX and after 3 hours of fishing, the entire right side flew off 20-30 feet and went into the water. The customer service was OUTSTANDING and they sent a replacement within 72 hours. I absolutely love the reel and just purchased a second one for my son. If anyone is skeptical of buying a baitcaster as I was some time ago, I'd highly recommend this reel! I didn't read any bad comments about this product and again I stress, it's better than advertised! Thank you again Abu Garcia!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great reel for the price!!!!!

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Florence, AL
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought one of the silver max reels about a year ago. This is a awesome reel for the money. I fish on the legendary Pickwick Lake for large mouth bass and small mouth bass. No matter if Im casting a texas rig lizard/worm or flipping a jig in heavy cover I dont have to worry about my silver max reel. It cast so easy without any backlashes that I went and bought my 11 year old son one. He had never threw a baitcaster before. After about a week of practice he was casting as good as or better than me and Ive been throwing baitcasters for nearly 20 years. With all of this said I have nothing else to say but what a GREAT REEL.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality for the price.

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For the 60$ price tag, this is one baitcasting reel that exceeded my expectations. Casts smoothly and very far in comparison to other reels when set correctly. Great for a first time baitcasting individual or those with plenty of experience.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
George
Indiana
Great reel for price
Posted June 26, 2014
The Abu Garcia Smax is a great reel except for that I had problems when I put braid line on it so I went and put mono on it I wouldn't suggest putting braid on it others wise it is a great reel
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor reel

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
serious fisherman
from tifton, ga
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this reel June 2013 and it hasn't done anything but give me trouble. At first it started making a clicking sound and it went away. I thought maybe it had gotten some dirt or something in it. Then the next month the guide eye started sticking to the left side of the reel. I cleaned and greased it and nothing changed. I cant get any warranty work done being as I don't know where the receipt is from 4 months ago. Very disappointed with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaOctober 7, 2013
Good morning - we are sorry to hear that you are having issues with your Silver Max reel as this is not normal. Please reach out to our customer service team at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to help. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty and the representative will help you locate the date code on your Silver Max for warranty purposes. Even if you are outside of this warranty period, our reel services team can repair your reel for a nominal fee. To get started, give us a call and we will be happy to help you get back to fishing quickly`
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Reel, For What You Pay For It.

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dan
from Maine
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
There are a lot of reels on the market in the $200 - $300 range that do not perform any better than this one. I have two of these reels (left handed) and I love the way they cast. These were my first baitcasting reels and they were very easy to learn. For my money I would rather have these reels in my boat than the $300 one, I am not constantly afraid of dropping it, scratching it, or getting the cover back on it right away. The reels have been used heavily and have performed great for large and small mouth bass fishing. The first one I bought is at the end of its third season and a bearing is starting to squeal now, and I will be moving up to the Pro Max, but the Silver Max definitely has pulled its weight and was worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
wisconsin red yeti
from wisconsin
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been looking at this reel for awhile now and after not being able to handle it anymore I bought a rod and reel combo. I love this reel. This is the best baitcasting reel I have ever owned. It's smooth, comfy, looks great and casting is a dream. Not once have I had a backlash. The onlt thing is that I hope in the future is that you will ship left handed models to stores so is lefties feel more comfortable. I am now in the process of teaching myself how to handle the reel right handed. Other thanthat you guys aare doing a great job. Keep it up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Christian
Rosario
star
Posted October 7, 2013
not recomendable! six moths of duration . RThe worst abu garcia reel EVER.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Line comes off the reel when casting - tangled mess

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
NorPol
from Denver, Colorado, USA
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I want to preface this review with the fact that I'm a very seasoned sports fisher - with 45+ years of eperience with all kinds of fishing reels. The rrl didn't come with a manual so I had to play with the reel a bit to figure out how to use it. With the flipping switch in "on" position I swing the rod to the appropriate release position, press the tumb siwthc and hold until the lure/bait hits the water. The line keeps comming spinning off the reel and creates a tangled mess. This keeps happening over an over again. Now what?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaAugust 13, 2013
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. You reel if functioning properly & we will be happy to give you some pointers to help you learn how to use it without backlashing.

Start by turning the flipping switch to the "off" position. This function is not used during normal casting - it is just for short flips or pitches so that when the thumb bar is released, the reel handle does not need to be turned to engage the reel. The flipping switch function is not designed to stop the spool from spinning at the end of a cast. To prevent line over-run, use your thumb to manually stop the spool at the end of your cast,

The braking systems will help you dial in your reel. Configure the reel in the following manner:

With the rod-reel-line-lure properly assembled, place the tip of your thumb on the line to hold the spool. Depress the thumb bar with the pad of your thumb to disengage the gears. Allow the lure to drop to the ground. If the lure does not fall when the thumb bar is depressed, turn the spool tension knob (located next to the reel handle) counterclockwise (left) to reduce tension on the spool. If the lure falls to the ground and the spool continues to rotate, spool tension is too loose. Rotate the knob clockwise (right) to increase tension. Once the spool tension is set, you can then rotate the Magtrax brake (opposite side of the reel from the handle) to further fine tune you casting.

There is a little bit of a learning curve associated with baitcasting reels when anglers start using them for the first time. With practice, using a baitcasting reel becomes much easier and allows for extreme accuracy and control. As you suggested, we have plans to create casting demo videos to help out customers who are new to baitcasting reels.

If you have any questions or need more assistance, we are always here to help. You can reach us at (800) 228-4272.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good reel

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
MAINIAC SPORTSMAN
from Biddeford Maine
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this reel for the summer and I love it. I like how smooth it is and how I can cast with ease. The only think I don't like is that the flipping switch broke the first time I used it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I expected more

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stripper fisher man
from North Mississippi
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this reel less than a week ago. Worked great on those small bass. I went to the waterway and hooked a 26 inch stripper and it blew the bearing out. I never had this problem before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dan:::::
Parts unknown
That's a small stripper
Posted November 21, 2013
Probably illegal in most states. Did she have identification?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Started bad ended well

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Parker
from Arkansas
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spool wouldn't move when I reeled at first but a friend of mine got it fixed and I love it. Casts a mile with not much weight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Reel and Great Service

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fisherman
I received an Abu Garcia reel about a year ago that had some problems. I sent the reel back asking if they could fix it. The next week they sent me a new reel that looks even nicer! Their service was amazing and I would definitely recommend an Abu Garcia product.
- An Abu Garcia customer For Life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Silver Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product at a great price

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bullshark
from south fl
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is a awesome reel especially if you are a beginner. I bought this reel about 2 months ago for my first bait caster. I jumped feet first having no experience with one and with a few tips from bass pro I was off. I have had minimal back lashes. The reel casts very smooth and is just flawless. I can outcast my spinner reel buddies all day long. I love it and can't imagine what a upgraded reel from Abu Garcia would be like and I can't wait to find out.Thanks
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>