Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Max or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
4.514 out of 5
4.13 out of 5

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Black Max

Abu Garcia Black Max

Max performance and toughness for under $50 with a 6.4:1 gear ratio and 4+1 bearing system in a lightweight design.
Average Customer Rating:
4.13 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(138 Reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 138 reviews
5 stars
78
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
12
112 out of 134(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Black Max
Review 1 for Black Max
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

bad eye

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It is a overall great real bout one for my birth day and a bout a week ago the eye went to one side and would not move
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaAugust 13, 2014
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us - we are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your level wind system and will be happy to assist you. Please reach out to our customer service department at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will get your issue resolved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Reel

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Orlando
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This was my 1st baitcaster in years,after using Abu Garcia baitcasters in the past,I decided to stay with what I knew,It's easy to dial in,and the casting is awesome,I use 1/4 oz. lures on it and I get out around 40 yards easy.I've caught everything from gar,panfish,to bass (heaviest so far just over 3lbs.) and it handles great,I did replace the spool bearing with Hawg Tech.
ceramic bearings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice bang for the buck

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Charlie
from Cinci, Ohio
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this reel as part of a Black Max combo.I am new to bait casting and can say this reel is great for beginners. I've had a few backlashes and birds nests but they were due to user error. Now that I have it set to my liking, it casts far and smooth. Rod that came with it is basically a Vengeance 7ft Medium/heavy fast action. 65 Bucks for the combo. Great buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all around reel.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Can't beat this reel! Have it paired with a Quantum 7 1/2' rod. Smooth, long casts with any baits. The right choice on a budget.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black Max
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok reel just watch the side port screw

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Derek
from Oregon
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have this reel sitting in my garage with no side port. I wasnt watching and the side port screw worked loose. Well it just so happened that I had a fish on when it fell off into the river with the spool. I got the spool back but lost the fish. Check it periodically, maybe even a touch of low strength loc tite. I tried to upload a photo but it wouldnt take
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this reel !

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fish'inFool
from Eastvale Ca.
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought one and could not get over how far it casts. The retrieve is good . Adjustments were easy and controlled , cast perfectly no over spooling . You could spend more money if you want but why? I fish local bass tournaments and have been fishing Bass Pro Extreme rods and reels for over ten years. I like this one better just say'in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black Max
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simply gets the job done!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sergio
from Suriname, South America
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have paired the BlackMax with the Abu Garcia Vendetta rod and they have handled great on various tropical fish.
Abu Garcia, for life!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black Max
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far. So good.

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Little Mexican
from Maryland
Age:Under 18
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a Black Max/Vengeance combo and it works great. It casts great and really far. I was casting farther than 9ft spinning rods. The reel always works great and with the breaks up i dont even really have to use my thumb at the end of the cast. Its easy to set up. Its the first time i use a baitcaster and i had to learn to use it at night because we went night fishing that same day i got it. It was still very easy to cast the rod is good too. At first i thought it wouldnt be strong enough to handle big fish but, after catching a lot of 3-10 lbs catfish, and big, strong croacker, it can handle big fish easily. Great reel to buy if you're just starting with baitcasters. Very versatile. I can use topwater, crankbaits, jigs, spinner baits, simple sinker with hook and bait. It really works with anything and great if you dont want to spend much money. The only thing is that my hands are small and it gets hard to hold the rod and reel after a while. Much better than spinning reels
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best reel I own

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Maine
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The black max was my first baitcast reel. I was prepared for the day it would let me down just because of how cheap it was compared to others, but that day has not come over the 2 years I've owned it. I use this reel often, do to its versatility it can throw literally almost everything. jigs are my preferred lure with the reel I also like using suffix 10lb braid it matches the reel well. I love the size of it as being quite young when I got it it was easy to use and really light I would recommend this for anyone but it makes a great starting baitcast reel for young teens looking at fishing more then just a hobby.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RedFishKiller
Port Mansfield
best $50 reel on the market
Posted July 24, 2014
This is the best reel that i've owned in a while.
My brother has gone through 2 shimano curados and my uncle thorugh 2 Daiwas and I'm still on my original black max fishing the lower laguna madre!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Black Max
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worse purchase ever

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Singapore
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brought this for $90SGD and to be honest I didn't expect it to break after just 2 month of normal usage targeting at peacock bass. It's now producing loud grinding noise during casting and reeling in of the line (20lbs powerpro) rendering it useless. Have other low profile and round profile baitcasting reels from shimano, diawa and rapala and none give me any problem at all (some had been with me for many years and they still worked as if they were brand new). This is totally unacceptable for a product coming from abu gracia and I will never ever buy any fishing tackles from this brand again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you don't have it get it!

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd baitcaster I've ever owned never been a real big fan of them until I ordered a black Max and I'am now in love with it if you don't have one you need to get one very affordable and defiantly worth it cast so smooth looks great overall great reel!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ABU GARCIA BLACKMAX

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
REDNECKBEN
from Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have three of these reels starting with one. They have had smooth casting and pitching and even reeling in. The compact handle and low profile of the reel makes it fit into any hand. The only down side of this reel is the graphite frame, if ABU GARCIA introduces an aluminum frame I would definitely buy more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black Max
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a very good value

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
111biga222
from Florida
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Does not cast very good. Every time I cast I backlash and I never backlash with any other baitcaster.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First baitcaster ever owned

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
austinfd5
from Mason, Wv
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ive been a fan of abu spin cast reals for a very long time. I decided to take my fishing game up a few notches and purchase a baitcaster. After roaming through walmart, Gander mountain and cabelas I came upon this jewel. For $50 you really couldn't beat it for a first baitcaster and since its an abu it made an awesome deal.First time I used it I took it into my back yard and figured it out almost instantly. Very smooth real and feels really good with a fish on the other end. I'd definitly reccomend this to others who are new to baitcasters. Thanks Abu Garcia for keeping up the quality. I'll definilty be sticking around for a long time!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good stuff

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good combo for the money, my second baitcaster and by far better that the first. the only problem i have is when im retrieving the line it is not going on evenly. it dosent hurt the casting tho very smooth. the only other thing is i would love to get sponsered by abu garcia i also have three 6500 series baitcasters that i fish tournoments with and i have zero complaints with any of those. they have all caught very big catfish and have yet to fail me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hollywood
oregon
question
Posted June 24, 2014
I fish largemouth bass wat do u recommend the low profile or regular black max and wats the difference
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid and dependable

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
AK River Rook
from Alaska
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the black max over a year ago, after researching many bait caster reels and this proved to be the most economic reel for a starter. This was my first bait caster and it has not let me down. I fish hard up here in Alaska and have caught a number of Sockeye salmon and coho salmon using this reel. It is dependable and definitely reels in this fish. I highly recommend this reel to anyone looking for a starter bait caster or even those who are looking for a "back up" reel. For those folks having difficulties with back lash etc. i suggest YouTube to assist in the proper settings (drag, brake system and spool tension). Tight lines!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

one of my favorite reels

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
scott
from Cape Coral FL
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very smooth , comfortable, lightweight. Gets a little rough after taking it apart. I use it with 20 lb powerpro super slick and a 6.5 ft abu garcia ambassadeur s rod.
Handle saltwater better than some saltwater reels. No rust at all after using it twice a week or more in saltwater.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

one of my beginner reels, best line for it is 20 lb braid on a 6 1/2 ft rod medium heavy

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
allknowingfisherman
from pheonix, az
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it is versatile and and light i have it with a st croix casting rod and the best casting lures for it are crankbaits it cast a long ways and the 20 lb braid is the smoothest and the best line for it i flip with it too but i thing silver max is for that job biggest fish i caught on that reel is 8 lbs by far behind my best 14 lbs i live in az and lake pleasant is the best lake for me
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for beginners

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Benny
from Wilmore ky
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I'm 13 and I've had this reel for about a year and I have dropped in mud and water countless times and it still feels new! I really like this and it's probably the best bait caster for me and for everyone
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black Max
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great beginner reel

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gonefishing75
from Minnesota
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have two black maxs and a pro max. The black maxs are nice and smooth but the line pick up is really nice on the pro max for a little extra money and it has a few more bearings. The colors on the black max are cooler in my opinion than the pro and the silver. Overall good product. Just don't cast musky lures with it may burn up a few bearings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>