Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Max or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
4.514 out of 5
4.143 out of 5

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Black Max

Abu Garcia Black Max

Max performance and toughness for under $50 with a 6.4:1 gear ratio and 4+1 bearing system in a lightweight design.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(133 Reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 133 reviews
5 stars
75
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
12
109 out of 129(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Black Max
Review 1 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this reel !

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fish'inFool
from Eastvale Ca.
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought one and could not get over how far it casts. The retrieve is good . Adjustments were easy and controlled , cast perfectly no over spooling . You could spend more money if you want but why? I fish local bass tournaments and have been fishing Bass Pro Extreme rods and reels for over ten years. I like this one better just say'in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black Max
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simply gets the job done!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sergio
from Suriname, South America
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have paired the BlackMax with the Abu Garcia Vendetta rod and they have handled great on various tropical fish.
Abu Garcia, for life!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black Max
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far. So good.

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Little Mexican
from Maryland
Age:Under 18
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a Black Max/Vengeance combo and it works great. It casts great and really far. I was casting farther than 9ft spinning rods. The reel always works great and with the breaks up i dont even really have to use my thumb at the end of the cast. Its easy to set up. Its the first time i use a baitcaster and i had to learn to use it at night because we went night fishing that same day i got it. It was still very easy to cast the rod is good too. At first i thought it wouldnt be strong enough to handle big fish but, after catching a lot of 3-10 lbs catfish, and big, strong croacker, it can handle big fish easily. Great reel to buy if you're just starting with baitcasters. Very versatile. I can use topwater, crankbaits, jigs, spinner baits, simple sinker with hook and bait. It really works with anything and great if you dont want to spend much money. The only thing is that my hands are small and it gets hard to hold the rod and reel after a while. Much better than spinning reels
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best reel I own

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Maine
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The black max was my first baitcast reel. I was prepared for the day it would let me down just because of how cheap it was compared to others, but that day has not come over the 2 years I've owned it. I use this reel often, do to its versatility it can throw literally almost everything. jigs are my preferred lure with the reel I also like using suffix 10lb braid it matches the reel well. I love the size of it as being quite young when I got it it was easy to use and really light I would recommend this for anyone but it makes a great starting baitcast reel for young teens looking at fishing more then just a hobby.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black Max
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worse purchase ever

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Singapore
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brought this for $90SGD and to be honest I didn't expect it to break after just 2 month of normal usage targeting at peacock bass. It's now producing loud grinding noise during casting and reeling in of the line (20lbs powerpro) rendering it useless. Have other low profile and round profile baitcasting reels from shimano, diawa and rapala and none give me any problem at all (some had been with me for many years and they still worked as if they were brand new). This is totally unacceptable for a product coming from abu gracia and I will never ever buy any fishing tackles from this brand again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you don't have it get it!

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd baitcaster I've ever owned never been a real big fan of them until I ordered a black Max and I'am now in love with it if you don't have one you need to get one very affordable and defiantly worth it cast so smooth looks great overall great reel!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ABU GARCIA BLACKMAX

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
REDNECKBEN
from Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have three of these reels starting with one. They have had smooth casting and pitching and even reeling in. The compact handle and low profile of the reel makes it fit into any hand. The only down side of this reel is the graphite frame, if ABU GARCIA introduces an aluminum frame I would definitely buy more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black Max
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a very good value

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
111biga222
from Florida
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Does not cast very good. Every time I cast I backlash and I never backlash with any other baitcaster.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First baitcaster ever owned

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
austinfd5
from Mason, Wv
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ive been a fan of abu spin cast reals for a very long time. I decided to take my fishing game up a few notches and purchase a baitcaster. After roaming through walmart, Gander mountain and cabelas I came upon this jewel. For $50 you really couldn't beat it for a first baitcaster and since its an abu it made an awesome deal.First time I used it I took it into my back yard and figured it out almost instantly. Very smooth real and feels really good with a fish on the other end. I'd definitly reccomend this to others who are new to baitcasters. Thanks Abu Garcia for keeping up the quality. I'll definilty be sticking around for a long time!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good stuff

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good combo for the money, my second baitcaster and by far better that the first. the only problem i have is when im retrieving the line it is not going on evenly. it dosent hurt the casting tho very smooth. the only other thing is i would love to get sponsered by abu garcia i also have three 6500 series baitcasters that i fish tournoments with and i have zero complaints with any of those. they have all caught very big catfish and have yet to fail me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hollywood
oregon
question
Posted June 24, 2014
I fish largemouth bass wat do u recommend the low profile or regular black max and wats the difference
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid and dependable

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
AK River Rook
from Alaska
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the black max over a year ago, after researching many bait caster reels and this proved to be the most economic reel for a starter. This was my first bait caster and it has not let me down. I fish hard up here in Alaska and have caught a number of Sockeye salmon and coho salmon using this reel. It is dependable and definitely reels in this fish. I highly recommend this reel to anyone looking for a starter bait caster or even those who are looking for a "back up" reel. For those folks having difficulties with back lash etc. i suggest YouTube to assist in the proper settings (drag, brake system and spool tension). Tight lines!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

one of my favorite reels

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
scott
from Cape Coral FL
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very smooth , comfortable, lightweight. Gets a little rough after taking it apart. I use it with 20 lb powerpro super slick and a 6.5 ft abu garcia ambassadeur s rod.
Handle saltwater better than some saltwater reels. No rust at all after using it twice a week or more in saltwater.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

one of my beginner reels, best line for it is 20 lb braid on a 6 1/2 ft rod medium heavy

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
allknowingfisherman
from pheonix, az
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it is versatile and and light i have it with a st croix casting rod and the best casting lures for it are crankbaits it cast a long ways and the 20 lb braid is the smoothest and the best line for it i flip with it too but i thing silver max is for that job biggest fish i caught on that reel is 8 lbs by far behind my best 14 lbs i live in az and lake pleasant is the best lake for me
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for beginners

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Benny
from Wilmore ky
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I'm 13 and I've had this reel for about a year and I have dropped in mud and water countless times and it still feels new! I really like this and it's probably the best bait caster for me and for everyone
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black Max
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great beginner reel

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gonefishing75
from Minnesota
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have two black maxs and a pro max. The black maxs are nice and smooth but the line pick up is really nice on the pro max for a little extra money and it has a few more bearings. The colors on the black max are cooler in my opinion than the pro and the silver. Overall good product. Just don't cast musky lures with it may burn up a few bearings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feels Like a dream

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Houston
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bought this reel monday and i have been messing with it ever since, i am going to use it for the first time this weekend, i can't put it down i just keep casting it in my yard, with 50lb braid it casts super smooth, better than my quantum and for 50.00 there is no way to beat that, i will get back after the first time out this weekend, hopefully i have more good things to say about the Black Max
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black Max
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A Bad Apple

PostedMay 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Darrell
from kentucky
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Abu Garcia name has been in my family for many generations. My family and I refuse to use any other brand b/c you just can't find a better product line out there. Their quality is unmatched, But recently, I purchased the Black Max from my local retailer and with great excitement, I took it straight to the lake to fish, I was saddened and frustrated upon opening my reel, that there were loose parts in my packaging, After over an hour of figuring how and where the parts go, it wouldn't cast ten feet into the water without getting hung up and backlashing. I really hope that the Abu company stays with quality and not quantity as their motto and figures out the bugs in this reel b/c it will break my heart after all these years, to switch to a different brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMay 20, 2014
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. What you have described here with loose parts is not normal and we will be happy to assist you with a warranty replacement. Please reach out to us at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to help. Have a great week and we look forward to getting you back to fishing.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Blackmax
Fl
Disappointed!
Posted June 12, 2014
I bought the black max combo and the first time I took it out the eye came off, I'll just take it back get a new one no big deal now I'm on the 6th time taking it back everyone had a rough button the drag would always loosen on its own, my buddy bought one and his first cast the rod snapped. Abu Garcia is my favorite brand especially when it comes to baitcasters just not the black max combo one!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Black Max
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Quality issues

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Coalroller99
from Colorado
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After initial purchase and use I thought I had a great deal on a great product however.... After 2/3rds of a season the line guide got stuck on the right side. I had it warrantied out at sportsmans with no issues, and thought ok there's always those few that have a bad part. So I had me a replacement but hard water was coming so I didn't get to use it. Now that we are back to open water I've had it out maybe 20 times this season and now the guide sticks to the left side. Worst part is I've treated this reel like a golden egg, never leaving it in the boat or the back of the truck for any amount of time and making sure that it's not " to cold" outside, so ice doesn't form on the line... Just trying to decide now on weather I stick with Abu Garcia or look elsewhere for a new bait caster.... P.s. I have a okuma bait caster that never leaves the boat and never has a problem, its just a little to bulky and I really hoped to find a slimmer lighter product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black Max
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good starter, but cant pitch and flip

PostedApril 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I started out using baitcasters and I got a black max. It works fine when casting even though you get a lot of backlashes but when I tried pitching with it, it would backlash every time, I played with the brakes and couldn't get anything to stop backlashes. But it's a good starter baitcaster
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black Max
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent reel but horrible finish

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought the black max last September on all the research I done. Since I am on a budget I can't afford to spend 200 to 300 dollars on a reel. I believe in finding the cream of the crop in cheap fishing reels. I thought that's what the black max was. It was fine to about a month ago. I was fishing at a local pond and half way through the day I noticed a large amount of the finish was worn off the thumbar. I take good care of my reels and it looked fine before I started fishing. The thumb bar now has this ugly copper color to it, and now it looks like the finish is starting to wear off the top plate and the cast control knob. I don't know what happen in the reel making process. Maybe the finish wasn't put on as good as the other reels. All I gotta say is if this is the same finish on the silver max and promax they and the black max aren't worth the time of day. I know 50 dollars isn't a lot of money but it should be well spent when buying an abu Garcia reel. If the finish isn't going to hold up for at least a year it's not worth the money. I mean why would you put finish on something just for it to come off?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaApril 8, 2014
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. What you describe is definitely not normal - this is the first instance of this issue that we have heard of. We will be happy to get your issue resolved as all Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty. Please reach out to our reel services team at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to assist you with a warranty claim. Have a great week!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>