Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Ambassadeur Round Baitcast or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
4.828 out of 5
4.661 out of 5
4.606 out of 5

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia C3

Abu Garcia C3

Wildly popular and one of the best selling baitcast reels of all time, the C3 features a 5.3:1 gear ratio and six pin centrifugal brake.
Average Customer Rating:
4.828 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(151 Reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 151 reviews
5 stars
135
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
146 out of 149(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for C3
Review 1 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't get any better

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sam
from West Virginia
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I own 4 6501's and used them mainly for Muskie fishing. 1 of them is over 20 yrs old and still going strong. I throw big baits up to 16 oz for big fish and my 6501's perform flawlessly. The only thing I would like to see is 20 lb of drag on these reels instead of 15 I have mine cranked down tight using 100 lb braid and have lost a fish or 2 because the drag will slip on the hookset on a long cast and I don't get the hooks buried like I like But that is a very minor issue Overall you can't go wrong with these reels
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jeff94
from Roseville, MI
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this reel a few months ago and I am very impressed to say the least. I use it for Muskie fishing in lake st.clair and I have not had any problems at all. Before I bought this reel I never really had used a bait casting reel before. I used to cast with trolling reels because I didn't think their was a huge difference I was so wrong. My buddy had bought a Shimano reel for about $250 and I thought he was crazy until I casted it. I couldn't afford that reel so I wound up buying the C3. The best part is he is now having some problems with his reel and my C3 is working flawlessly. I'd say I for sure got the biggest bang for my buck!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For Reel Performance

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ceviche Man
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:1
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Before a Family trip to Costa Rica, I purchased two of the 6500 C3's, loaded them with #16 green ANDE tournament mono and paired them each with 6 foot, 2 piece Ugly Stik GX2 medium action rods. Final outcome was watching myself as well as my 12 and 13 year old sons landing several Corvinas and Red Snappers in the 15 pound weight range. It was just the perfect fight to enjoy the catch but with a minimal stress to the reels, rods and line. Reels are light, tough, easy to use and easy to maintain. What a purchase !!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Investment

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Missouri
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had no problem what so ever with this reel. I own two and love em both and i have had no problem bringing in 15+ lb catfish
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth as butter

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Randy
from The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moved from a blue max to a c3 4601 for jerkbaiting pike. Difference between the reels could not be any bigger. The 4601 feels like a incredibly solid and high quality reel. I have the 2014 model which is unbelievably light. My rod and this reel are just as heavy as the blue max alone! The drag is also working perfectly. When I first casted I could not believe how smooth this thing gives out line. Loving it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for C3
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Caustic
from Texas
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After fishing with Garcia reels for over 40 years very
disappointed in this purchase.
My 25 year old 5000 is ten times the reel and will
out cast this piece of junk by 20 yards.
Out of the box could not get the spool to adjust
for free fall of the lure. Finally broke the reel down
and it was like it had 90 weight gear oil in it.
After a through cleaning it operate marginally better.
I won a many a tournament with Garcia reels and mirrolure for specked trout. Thank goodness I still have some good Garcia's. It totally amazed me that reels that had been stored away for ten years smoked this new reel.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tommy
having trouble with drag
Posted July 25, 2014
Im having a problem with my drag locking I've tighten it and still lets line out..Any suggestions can someone please help
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does Everything

PostedApril 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tejashound
from Silsbee,Tx
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From blue gills to monster river cats, this is a work horse. Plus your not throwing it away after a season or two of hard fishing. Quality and durability are built in. The round Swedish reels will NEVER go out of style in my boat and tackle box!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Reel!!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
SORBY
from North Queensland
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I dont think you will find a better reel out there. Great reel for lurering and especially bait fishing. Extremely smooth reel and can easily cast it very far. I recommend it!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

make great carp reels

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
happypebbles
from charlotte, nc
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IM 38 years old and ive been fishing with abu garcia reels for 25 years. They are by far the best reels I have ever used and will last a lifetime if cared for properly. I do a hefty bit of carp fishing in stocked ponds and these reels make it effortless. I can't wait for fishing season now!! It's among us!! yay!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Really great reel abu garcia did an awesome job on this definitely worth the $120 it is very smooth and is amazing for freshwater striper fishing
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TroutLife
California
Trophy trout
Posted May 20, 2014
I bought the 6501 c3 last fall. I caught an 8.5lb brown trout on it this spring. The drag is very smooth and made easy work of the fish, just like winch! This is the first level I've ever purchased. We are going to buy a c4 very soon for the better half's rod. WORTH EVERY PENNY!!! You will not be sorry if you purchase.
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are the best reels manufactured to date.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Don
from Alabama
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife's father was a dedicated bass fisherman with huge bass on many walls. He passed away in 1991, I cleaned out my mother-in-laws attic a year later and found a 5500c3 reel. I sent it off to be cleaned (I didn't know much about reels at the time# and was informed that they did not make that particular reel any more and that it was an outstanding reel by a professional repairer and that it was worth more now than when new. I dont know of any reels like that today. Now 2013, I have retired from the military and have more time to fish, I use that same reel as my go to reel with a lipless crankbait. I now have #2# 5500C3's #pitching/flipping on 7.5 ft rod, 7' crankbait rod), a 6600C4 for spinnerbaits. These reels are made of metal, so no fear of breaking. Parts are readily available and easily replaceable. I will be passing these reels down to my grand children and I know they will last since I have been able to witness it first hand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These reels are built like a tank

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brandon
from Conroe, TX
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Received a lightly used C3 5500 as a gift from my mother in law. Never used a baitcast before, but after practice I was in love with this reel. Cleaned it, put new line on it, and its like I just walked out of the store with it. Abu reels are the only reels I will ever buy again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

C3 reels

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have owned and used the C3 & C4 "round" reels for many, many years and they are very good. In fact, the latest versions of both reels, with the retro 70's-style end plates are the BEST. However, the 4600 series would benedfit from a disengaging levelwind during freespool for casting lighter lures longer distances. Skip the BCX models and spend a little more for the real, "Swedish-made" models . . . you won't regret it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for C3
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Reel stripped out in 6 months

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this reel from bass pro shops. I wanted something for catfishing so this was recommended. After using this reel about 15 times the bait alert quit. Now it will not wind with any tension on it. I have 5 abu's and never had this problem. I really do need to send this reel back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaSeptember 10, 2013
Good morning. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your C3 as what you describe is not normal operation for this reel. All Abu Garcia reels carry a one year warranty and we will be happy to help you out. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your specific case and will be contacting you shortly at the email address you provided for this review. We will work quickly to get you back to fishing. If you ever have any questions or concerns we can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We will be in touch with you shortly.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good reel

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from rva
Age:25-34
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
i have owned a 6500c3 for six years and it has been a good reel i have caught a 30+ pound blue cat as well as numerous 10-20 pound blue, channel, and flathead catfish i have caught a bunch of stripers as well as the occasional smallmouth bass love the bait clicker when you hear it go off great drag system very smooth i have had zero maintenance issues with this reel since i have owned it highly recommend this product thumbs up all fish in the pictures caught using my 6500c3 and a 7ft rod
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best reel

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Spring salmon
from Squamish,bc
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super smooth best reel i ever had.Price is to cheap for a reel lije that i would say 299 that is how good it is.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for C3
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks Good, But not as Smoothness as show in video

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ossacomu
from San Jose, CA
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I Just received my 5500 c3 today. It looks so beautiful!
But when I try to spin the spool, it can only turn several times and stop. Not as smoothness as show in video.
Can anyone tell me what I can do to make it more smooth?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ThaFish
Pensacola
Fix to your smoothness "problem"
Posted September 23, 2013
Dude just loosen the spool tension knob.. Haha. It's probably just tightened down & thus the free-spinning of the spool is being inhibited farther than you'd like it to be. Just turn the spool tension knob to the left until the spool spins as much as you'd like it to.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

6500c3

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
toby
from Sandy Ridge, NC
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a set of c3's second hand for big nc cats. After a little cleaning and tlc these things rock. I give em' a beating and they keep coming back for more. With a good drag kit and a little up keep these reels should last a lifetime! Spend the extra coin and get the c3 or c4 you will not be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
materlizard
tulsa ok [ freshwater] houma lousania [salt water]
ambassaduer
Posted July 21, 2013
what is the all the hype with the low profile reels like the revo and such it seems all the technology goes toward these reels and not the ambassaduer twenty years ago or even futher back they were the best in line of abu gracia now the revo is it because of the bass fisherman sets the standard and not the avarge joe who need the strength of the round reel plus the the line cap. I bass fish with the c4 sw witch you longer make wile the c4 and c3 make great bass striper reels and red fish reels It would be great too have a round reel with bearing cog wheel and dual worm gear bearing AND HANDLE BEARING S AND CRANK SHAFT BEARING ALL THIS TYPE I HAVE TOO DO MY SELF .... but it would be nice to have already out of the box hotroded. you guys make a great reel I being using ambassaduer reels for thierty years with out a problem great job guys only drawe back is the bcx I feel isn't as good as the Swedish ambassduers too me they feel like a knock off like the skakespears of the eightys and ninetys..
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Ontario, Canada
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:Less than 1
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I finally stopped buying low end fishing gear and went with the C3. It has the smoothest drag that I have ever used by far. Setting the brake is quick and easy and makes casting a piece of cake. No more birds nest for me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These reels are the tanks of the fishing world.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own several Abu Garcia round reel models but the C3 is by far my favorite. The only downside is your casting hand gets tired after reeling in all those fish!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>