Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Ambassadeur Round Baitcast or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
4.846 out of 5
4.654 out of 5
4.606 out of 5

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia C3

Abu Garcia C3

Wildly popular and one of the best selling baitcast reels of all time, the C3 features a 5.3:1 gear ratio and six pin centrifugal brake.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(143 Reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 143 reviews
5 stars
128
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
139 out of 141(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for C3
Review 1 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

make great carp reels

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
happypebbles
from charlotte, nc
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IM 38 years old and ive been fishing with abu garcia reels for 25 years. They are by far the best reels I have ever used and will last a lifetime if cared for properly. I do a hefty bit of carp fishing in stocked ponds and these reels make it effortless. I can't wait for fishing season now!! It's among us!! yay!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Really great reel abu garcia did an awesome job on this definitely worth the $120 it is very smooth and is amazing for freshwater striper fishing
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are the best reels manufactured to date.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Don
from Alabama
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife's father was a dedicated bass fisherman with huge bass on many walls. He passed away in 1991, I cleaned out my mother-in-laws attic a year later and found a 5500c3 reel. I sent it off to be cleaned (I didn't know much about reels at the time# and was informed that they did not make that particular reel any more and that it was an outstanding reel by a professional repairer and that it was worth more now than when new. I dont know of any reels like that today. Now 2013, I have retired from the military and have more time to fish, I use that same reel as my go to reel with a lipless crankbait. I now have #2# 5500C3's #pitching/flipping on 7.5 ft rod, 7' crankbait rod), a 6600C4 for spinnerbaits. These reels are made of metal, so no fear of breaking. Parts are readily available and easily replaceable. I will be passing these reels down to my grand children and I know they will last since I have been able to witness it first hand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These reels are built like a tank

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brandon
from Conroe, TX
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Received a lightly used C3 5500 as a gift from my mother in law. Never used a baitcast before, but after practice I was in love with this reel. Cleaned it, put new line on it, and its like I just walked out of the store with it. Abu reels are the only reels I will ever buy again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

C3 reels

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have owned and used the C3 & C4 "round" reels for many, many years and they are very good. In fact, the latest versions of both reels, with the retro 70's-style end plates are the BEST. However, the 4600 series would benedfit from a disengaging levelwind during freespool for casting lighter lures longer distances. Skip the BCX models and spend a little more for the real, "Swedish-made" models . . . you won't regret it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for C3
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Reel stripped out in 6 months

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this reel from bass pro shops. I wanted something for catfishing so this was recommended. After using this reel about 15 times the bait alert quit. Now it will not wind with any tension on it. I have 5 abu's and never had this problem. I really do need to send this reel back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaSeptember 10, 2013
Good morning. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your C3 as what you describe is not normal operation for this reel. All Abu Garcia reels carry a one year warranty and we will be happy to help you out. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your specific case and will be contacting you shortly at the email address you provided for this review. We will work quickly to get you back to fishing. If you ever have any questions or concerns we can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We will be in touch with you shortly.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good reel

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from rva
Age:25-34
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
i have owned a 6500c3 for six years and it has been a good reel i have caught a 30+ pound blue cat as well as numerous 10-20 pound blue, channel, and flathead catfish i have caught a bunch of stripers as well as the occasional smallmouth bass love the bait clicker when you hear it go off great drag system very smooth i have had zero maintenance issues with this reel since i have owned it highly recommend this product thumbs up all fish in the pictures caught using my 6500c3 and a 7ft rod
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best reel

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Spring salmon
from Squamish,bc
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super smooth best reel i ever had.Price is to cheap for a reel lije that i would say 299 that is how good it is.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for C3
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks Good, But not as Smoothness as show in video

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ossacomu
from San Jose, CA
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I Just received my 5500 c3 today. It looks so beautiful!
But when I try to spin the spool, it can only turn several times and stop. Not as smoothness as show in video.
Can anyone tell me what I can do to make it more smooth?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ThaFish
Pensacola
Fix to your smoothness "problem"
Posted September 23, 2013
Dude just loosen the spool tension knob.. Haha. It's probably just tightened down & thus the free-spinning of the spool is being inhibited farther than you'd like it to be. Just turn the spool tension knob to the left until the spool spins as much as you'd like it to.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

6500c3

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
toby
from Sandy Ridge, NC
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a set of c3's second hand for big nc cats. After a little cleaning and tlc these things rock. I give em' a beating and they keep coming back for more. With a good drag kit and a little up keep these reels should last a lifetime! Spend the extra coin and get the c3 or c4 you will not be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
materlizard
tulsa ok [ freshwater] houma lousania [salt water]
ambassaduer
Posted July 21, 2013
what is the all the hype with the low profile reels like the revo and such it seems all the technology goes toward these reels and not the ambassaduer twenty years ago or even futher back they were the best in line of abu gracia now the revo is it because of the bass fisherman sets the standard and not the avarge joe who need the strength of the round reel plus the the line cap. I bass fish with the c4 sw witch you longer make wile the c4 and c3 make great bass striper reels and red fish reels It would be great too have a round reel with bearing cog wheel and dual worm gear bearing AND HANDLE BEARING S AND CRANK SHAFT BEARING ALL THIS TYPE I HAVE TOO DO MY SELF .... but it would be nice to have already out of the box hotroded. you guys make a great reel I being using ambassaduer reels for thierty years with out a problem great job guys only drawe back is the bcx I feel isn't as good as the Swedish ambassduers too me they feel like a knock off like the skakespears of the eightys and ninetys..
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Ontario, Canada
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:Less than 1
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I finally stopped buying low end fishing gear and went with the C3. It has the smoothest drag that I have ever used by far. Setting the brake is quick and easy and makes casting a piece of cake. No more birds nest for me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These reels are the tanks of the fishing world.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own several Abu Garcia round reel models but the C3 is by far my favorite. The only downside is your casting hand gets tired after reeling in all those fish!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

only problem

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
mikey
from frontenac,kansas
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
use 3 6501 almost daily reels. for large channel and bluecatfish. th reels cast well with large baits only problem is that the drag is not heavy enough to stop a 25 lb channel or blue of the same size when fishing for them around snags or fast water.the same hold true for flathead cats.they have worked for flathead up to 45 lbs when the fish go the right direction but burn thumb even screwed down as be up dated the drag to 35 or more lbs?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for C3
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had this product for about a week. I used it for probably 5 days and the drag completely broke. I returned it, and will never buy one again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dino itam
Malaysia
Perfect Reel
Posted July 9, 2013
I bought a 5501 C3 in 2000 and still using it. Best performance. No more bird nest. Good drag system. Easy to use. Great match for peacock bass and snakehead.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welcome to the aresenal

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
PoorBoy
from Houston, TX
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have an old 5000 of my great grandfathers. I had no experience with the C3 reels at all, but figured it can't be too bad since it is an ABU. First trip out I landed a 26" black drum, a 32" red, and a 44" red. These reels are workhorses, they cast for miles, and they handled fish I normally use bigger surfcasting reels for. Just knowing I have a reel on my baitrod that can handle the kind of fish that we were looking to catch bait for is huge.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best round baitcast reels out there!!!

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
catch E'm all!!!!
from wilmington, OH
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I first came in contact with this reel on my 13th birthday,which was the Feburary of 2013.I also on the same day bought a 12' rod for fishing the ohio river. It casts as far and as accurate as I want, and is super smooth. I do a lot of big catfishing, and the 6500 c3 is the reel for it. Yes, I'm still 13 years old, and already a big fan.I also own a Bcx, a silver max, and a cardinal sx, and consider them top of the line to.I'm considering a 5500 or a 4600 for bass.The 6500 also has a very loud clicker. Thanks abu, for great quality products.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have a 4601 c3 and bought it second hand to be my first reel.
The c3 is used for casting and retrieving jerkbaits to a max of 60g and it never failed me once, even after a year of intensive fishing. If this one breaks or if i want a second one, i will defenitely go fo a c3 or a c4 again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The most versitale and durable reel I own.

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
rockfishnfool
from eastern north carolina
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Abu Garcia has always been known as a top end reel maker but this time they over did it. I own the 5500C3 and it is the best out of all the Abu reels I own. I love the 6500 series but the C3 is the most versital. From casting all day to bottom rigging this is the reel to have. Put this bad boy on medium heavy action rod and go fishing! Thank you Abu Garcia
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best bang for the buck

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This reel is hands down, best bang for the buck. I purchased a C3 last spring and cranked in double cowgirls all summer and never failed me one time. Everything is still tight and smooth.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My work horse

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heikapuʻuwai
from Monterey CA
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So this is my first abu reel. I was really surprised on how well this reel performed. I like to push the limits on my reels. So i decided to use this reel for strippers, cabezon, and big lingcod. Let me tell you the drag is smooth as butter and the 5500 has good torque. The honest truth I use this reel more than my shimano curado 301e. I usually don't buy the same reel twice but I will make an exception.
Definately buying another. Maybe the 6500 this time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>