Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Ambassadeur Round Baitcast or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
4.846 out of 5
4.654 out of 5
4.606 out of 5

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia BCX

Abu Garcia BCX

An all around workhorse, the BCX sits lower on the rod making it easier to palm and provides durability at a value.
Average Customer Rating:
3.835 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
5 stars
48
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
9
1 star
14
64 out of 89(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for BCX
Review 1 for BCX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

these reels are great

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i use these reels every week carp fishing they always perform great
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
pikemaster
Fort Peck Lake
Issue with the levelwind gear.
Posted March 24, 2012
I had some trouble with the the levelwind gear. It seemed to strip when the reel was put under heavier stresses. I think this reel has potential to be a great product. Hopefully, the engineers at Abu Garcia can resolve the gear stripping issue. I have been using Abu Garcia products since I started fishing, my first experience with Abu was with a combo was purchased at a local K-Mart in Montana when I was a kid, I used it for almost 15 years before it bit the dust. The levelwind gear is easy enough to replace, but please save this one because it is a great piece of gear when working properly. I am sure with some attention the BCX will be a success, possibly as big as the CB or the Rocket.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
nizle
barnesville ohio
bcx 6600
Posted November 30, 2011
the thum reliece wares out fast would be perfict if it had a direct pin spool reliece or a harder fiber thumb reliece and the bait alarm spring brakes rather quickley
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for BCX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Round Baitcast Reel Ever

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bama Cat
from Scottsboro, Alabama
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This is the smoothest, farthest casting reel I own and I own several, all are Abu Garcia. It doe's everything I need and at a great price. It is my go to Catfish reel
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for BCX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This reel is like the old CB6600 but better

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
fishboy
from Eaton,Ohio
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If any of you guys and gals ever fished the old CB6600 or CB5600 and loved it as much as I do, then you will love this reel. The BCX has 3 bearing and the 6 pin brakeing system that the old one didn't. It is just as easy to clean, and as we all know they last forever. There great reels to flip with or crankbait with, and you just can't beat the price. They are also great for catfishin, or any hard pullin fish. Try one and you will love them as much as I do..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for BCX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

seemed fine at first

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just bought the 6600 bcx at Gander Mt and had always been happy with Abu's so I spooled it with 14 lb mono and was fishing the river for salmon and about 20 casts and retrieves the thumb button is stuck in casting mode and jammed. I cant believe this a brand new reel. The thing that also bums me out is I have to drive almost a 120 mile to return it and besides out a reel a new spool of flourecarbon so this reel is really costing me the price of one of the better models.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaSeptember 23, 2013
Good afternoon. Sorry to hear you had an issue with your BCX reel as what you describe here is not normal. All of our reels carry a 1 year warranty and we are here to help. One of our customer service representatives will reach out to you at the email address that you submitted with this review to get your issue resolved and to learn more about your case. If you ever need to get in touch with us directly, our customer service department can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We will be happy to repair/replace your reel at no charge so you do not have to make the long drive back to the retailer. Our turnaround time for repairs is also very fast. Thanks for reaching out to us and we will be in touch with you shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for BCX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

do not buy these reels!

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Truangler
from Va
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought 4 of these reels in June. Took them out a couple times no issues. Now for some reason they all wont enguage correctly.
The button seems to canter to the side and I have to manualy reset it. The drags are inconsistant. Im upset. I would not tell even a friend i dont want to catch fish to buy one of these.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaSeptember 9, 2013
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your BCX reels as this is not normal operation. All Abu Garcia reels carry a one year warranty and we will be happy to help you out. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your specific case and will be contacting you shortly at the email address you provided for this review. We will work quickly to get you back to fishing. If you ever have any questions or concerns or want to find out more details on the process, we can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We will be in touch with you shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for BCX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not A Bad Little Reel For The Money

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bigfishin'
from Whidbey Island Washington
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought mine two years ago after a more expensive reel took a dump on me. I did not want to spend a ton of money to replace it. I Thought the price was right and I like my other Garcia. It has been a solid performer for the price tag. It is the reel I use when I go to the river, it has landed Kings into the twenties and plenty of silvers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for BCX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Mistake Ever

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought it, and noticed while spooling line didn't spool evenly unless you applie pressure on the work bar. Now, after fishing with it once, the place where the worm pin screws in is broken off, so I'm out of my money, and without a reel. Likely will never purchase from abu again
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaAugust 20, 2013
Hello and thank you for contacting us. It appears that the line guide was damaged at some point during shipping, on the shelf or during use, ultimately causing the failure your experienced. We are here to help as all Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your situation and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review. If you ever need to speak to us by phone, don't hesisitate to call us at 1.800.228.4272. We will be in touch with you shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for BCX
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

expected more...

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
MAINIAC SPORTSMAN
from Biddeford Maine
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I got this reel, it performed perfect, no gritty feeling, but now all of a sudden it was very gritty and not smooth. Very sad about this, I expected more from Abu
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WetDog
Florida
Mine too
Posted August 5, 2013
Mine got gritty feeling and then it quit all together. I noticed that the screws holding the mounting plate on had loosened and one even came out. I took it apart and put the screw in and tightened the others and it was as good as new again. If they come loose again, I will put some thread locker on them. I have been extremely happy with my reel other than that one day.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for BCX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BCX reels

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
David
from Magnolia Arkansas
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BCX Garcia Reels are excellant. smooth gear casting and retrieving operation.and built to last.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for BCX
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Synchronized Levelwind System

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This reel was good the first season of use. Probably 8 fishing trips or so for musky. This year however the Levelwind system stopped working. The gear was broken. I would suggest having this gear be made of a higher quality material to avoid this problem. Sad thing is before this happened I recommend the reel to a few friends who now have the same reel.
Is there an Abu Garcia reel you recommend that doesn't have this issue?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJuly 17, 2013
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with the level wind system in your BCX. The good news is that all Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty and we will be happy to help you out. Even if you are outside of this timeframe, our reel services department will be happy to repair your reel for a nominal fee. One of our customer service representatives has already been alerted about your case and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review.

As far as the idler gear that controls the level wind system goes, it is constructed from plastic on purpose - it is the same with the C3s & C4s. . There is a good reason for this. These parts are made that way to protect the rest of the reel if it too much pressure is put on the level wind system thereby preventing damage to the more expensive and harder to replace parts. If the idler gear was constructed from metal and the reel was used in a manner where it was put under inappropriate pressure, damage could occur to the rest of the reel.

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for BCX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gary
from Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Got one an the worm gear is worn out level wind is broke cost 50 dollars to get it fixed the reel sells off 60 at walmart this real is not that old
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJuly 15, 2013
Hello and sorry to hear that you had an issue with your BCX. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty so you should not incur a repair cost as described here is if is a newer purchase. One of our customer service representatives has been notified about your specific situation and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review. We will work hard to get you back to fishing. Thanks for your patience and we will be in touch with you shortly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for BCX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

disappointed

PostedJune 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used abu Garcia reels for around 35 years. when I went to the lake after buying this reel I was really disappointed. I fish a lot of soft plastics and usually a 1/4 or 3/8 ounce sinker and can usually cast close to 50 yards,but with this one I might get out as much as 15 yards at best. I think it might be a good catfishing reel if you put on like a 1 oz weight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for BCX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Inexpensive workhorse

PostedJune 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elijah
from Florida
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I picked up this reel in an Abu Garcia combo at Gander Mountain to fish shiners for bass in Florida. I figured the reel didn't matter much for that. When I was done with the shiners and started throwing a lipless crank bait on it I was really surprised with what a good reel it was. The combo will throw them well into tomorrow and I had no problem with hook ups with it. After about 6 trips of a pretty good bit of fishing with it, it developed a wobble and a few casts later it wouldn't reel in. You could feel the gears slipping. I put another reel on the rod and kept going but when I got home I took it apart and found that two of the base mount screws had come out and gotten behind the main drive gear. Put it all back together and it is ready to go again. This reel is no REVO3 STX or a Lew's Tournament Pro but for what you pay for it, it is Excellent. I have been using Abu Garcia reels since 1985 and I have always been very happy with them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for BCX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not Cast

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Number of times fishing per month:Less than 1
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used this reel for the first time and it failed to cast. I tried time after time but the farthest it went was 10 yards. I thought maybe I used a heavy test line, so I went with a lighter line but I had the same result. Needless to say I'm disappointed with this reel.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJune 11, 2013
Hello. Sorry to hear you are having an issue casting your new BCX as what you describe is definitely not normal. From the sound of it, your reel may have been damaged during shipping or on the shelf. No worries as all Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty and we will be happy to help. If you purchased your reel at a local retailer, you may be able to exchange it instead of shipping it to us if it was just purchased. If there is any issue at all with exchange, we are always here to take care of your issue - we just want to make it easiest on you and get you back to fishing. A customer service representative has already been notified about your case and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review. If you ever need to get in touch with us by phone, please call 1.800.228.4272. Thanks for contacting us and have a great day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for BCX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJune 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jason843
from Myrtle Beach, SC
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I see a lot of complaining about the plastic gears but i have had the 5600 for probably two or three years and have caught 5 or so sharks as well as many largemouth bass and catfish. I use this reel for everything and i love it and havent experienced any probles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for BCX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very nice setup

PostedMay 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
fishinfool84
from Kansas
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice small compact catfishing rig. Only problem I have is the open bail clicker spring doesn't last , I have 2 with broken springs ! That's why I got them I use the clicker catfishing . I still use them but it's not the same . I like abu reels th
ere quality for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for BCX
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

a good reel at a good price but not without some issues

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crazy4Fishin
from Bartlesville, OK
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Let me start by saying I have used Abu Garcia reels all of my fishing life, as did my father. I never questioned the quality of their line of equipment until the BCX. I purchased 2 of the 6600 BCX reels in December 2012 and have used them a lot more than I should (according to my wife). The reels are extremely smooth and cast as well as any ambasadeur reel I have ever owned. Both reels, however, have similar issues. The thumb bar fails to disengage sometimes when the reel handle is turned. This happens about 25% of the time. I have to put my thumb under it and lift it up to get the spool to engage. It would'nt be such a big deal except for the fact that when fishing freespool with a bait clicker on, turning the handle and setting the hook will leave me with a major backlash if I don't lift the bar with my thumb. Sadly, this is not an issue that can be repaired or fixed by routine maintenance ( I've tried), it is just poor design in my opinion. Secondly, the bait clicker is extremely difficult to turn on and off with clean dry hands, let alone wet ones. Again, cleaning and oiling does not help.....once again......poor design. My reels are still under warranty and I could send them in to be worked on, but I'm afraid I will be out the cost of shipping and still be back where I am now. So I will continue to use them as they are and I will not be afraid to buy future Abu Garcia products. I wish I had spent a little more on the higher end models. I will no longer assume that the Abu Garcia name on the reel automatically implies "quality".
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMay 6, 2013
Good afternoon. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your BCX reels as this is not normal operation for this reel. All Abu Garcia reels carry a one year warranty and we will be happy to help you out. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your specific case and will be contacting you shortly at the email address you provided for this review. We will work quickly to get you back to fishing. Our service technicians are very skilled and can fix both of your reels. For shipping options, it shouldn't cost you much at all through the US postal service - check out "Priority Shipping" (not the flat rate boxes). If you ever have any questions or concerns or want to find out more details on the process, we can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We will be in touch with you shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for BCX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not cast

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
PKAuD
from Ohio
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Waste of $60. Heard good reviews of Abu Garcia reels and decided to invest in a "dependable" reel for catfishing and trolling. First time casting with this real I got about 20 yards. Tried again, 20 yards. I had over 2 oz on the end and still couldn't get any distance. The gears screamed from the first cast. It serves as an ugly paper weight in my office. Buying a Shimano!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaApril 8, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for reaching out to us about your issue with the BCX. What you experienced is certainly not normal and we would like to learn more about your specific case. Also, all Abu Garcia reels are backed by a 1 year warranty and we will be happy to assist you with a warranty claim. It sounds as though your reel was damaged at some point during shipping or on the shelf. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your situation and will contact you at the email address you supplied with this review. We look forward to getting you back to fishing - if you ever need to reach us by phone, don't hesitate to call us at 1.800.228.4272
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
VA
Great Reels
Posted April 26, 2013
Switched from the old 5500 C3 a few years ago and love them. Great for casting for flounder, stripers, etc, but I have pulled in several 40-60lb cow-nosed rays with mine and they worked great. I had a similar problem with casting my first one, but there are cast control mechanisms inside the reel, looks like a wheel with spokes sticking out. The spokes can click in and out. Make sure they are all in. I cast 1-2 oz baits in the surf with a 6'6'' as far as I can cast w/ my 9' ft surf rod and spinning tackle.
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for BCX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

no clicker

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
philm3
from berlin, WI
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought the 5600 BCX thinking it had fish alarm or line out clicker. Went fishing for cats and went to set clicker.... wheres the clicker? None! If I had known that I would have never bought the reel. I thought all bait casters had a line out alarm.
Very disappointed. Wish Abu Garicia had a kit to add to this reel for a line out alarm.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
john
wv
wrong model
Posted June 1, 2013
if you bought the smallest model the 5600 it does not have a clicker you had to buy the 6600 model to get the clicker it is not abu garcias fault this one is all on you for not checking what you are getting
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for BCX
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what I expected

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought 2 of these at Cabelas in 2010. I dont fish everyday, so these reels have had minimal fishing, but mostly for hard fighting freshwater striper.
I have maybe 30-40 fish on each reel, and already one has the "gear problem" you see referenced here and all over the internet . I know there is a 1 year warranty, (which was gone almost before I used them).
It would seem that since you folks at Abu are aware of this common problem, why not add a couple of "extra" plastic gears in the box with the new reels, cost you maybe .25 cents and would do wonders for your PR.
I understand the price point, but also understand PR.
If you'd had added a replacement or 2 in the box, that would have made all the difference to me. A $60 reel isn't a "$60" reel if you have to pay to fix it.
I recommend spending a little more for better quality reel.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMarch 11, 2013
Good morning and thanks for reaching out to us. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with the idler gear on your BXC reels. As you noted, we do have a one year warranty on all Abu Garcia reels and even if your are outside of this warranty period, we are here to help. Our reel services department has already been notified about your issue and will contact you at the email address that you supplied with this review. We offer replacement parts for a nominal fee and can also repair your reel quickly if you do not want to do this yourself. The part you are referring to runs the level wind system and is made of plastic - as opposed to the solid brass main gear that drives the reel - so that in the event of stain on the level wind system, this inexpensive part is sacrificed, preventing damage to the main gear. If those parts were metal and the reel was used in a manner where these parts were put under inappropriate pressure, damage could occur to the rest of the reel. These parts are also used in the Swedish made C4's, C3's, Record and Linecounter as well. Again, we are here to help and will contact you shortly so we can get you back to fishing. Have a great day.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bama Boy
Florida
Great Reels
Posted March 14, 2013
I own two (2) C-4 (5601 right and left handed) models, Four (4) C-3 (4600) models, one (1) Rocket (5600CL), one (1) Record (RCN50), one (1) HPSS 5600C, two (2) "Original" 5000 and 6000 models. Needless to say, I love the quality in the "sweden made reels." I too picked up the 5600BCX which "feels" great on the rod with lower profile, BUT the reel does "feel" (how can I put this)...cheaper, which it is in price (you get what you pay for). I just had a C-3 model go down due to the fact that when I depress the line release, the it seems to have a weaker engagement reset (the best way I can explain it). My HPSS 5600 model had the gears to "lock up" and I attempted to take it apart (it is in a bag and waiting on my talented friend to attempt the repair). In both of these reels defense, both models have seen many years of hard use. I just won the Revo model in my last Bass tournment and OMG what a great feeling reel. Thanks ABU Garcia for producing some great reels. Once my friend inspects the two damaged reels, I will be contacting you for replacement parts if needed.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 next>>