Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Ambassadeur Round Baitcast or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
4.828 out of 5
4.655 out of 5
4.606 out of 5

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia BCX

Abu Garcia BCX

An all around workhorse, the BCX sits lower on the rod making it easier to palm and provides durability at a value.
Average Customer Rating:
3.835 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
5 stars
48
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
9
1 star
14
64 out of 89(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for BCX
Review 1 for BCX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buy the REAL Swedish-made Ambassadeurs, not this...

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
TJ
from TN
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
First and foremost, this reel is made in CHINA, not Sweden like the C3 and C4, so why not pay a little more for the ones made in the factory that has been producing these reels for many years. Second, I did buy this reel to see how it compared to my C3 and C4 and it did not perform to their level at all. The knob that adjusts the friction on the spool shaft would tighten itself every fifth to tenth cast. Also, this is very important since I use my Ambassadeurs to constantly (and consistently) cast large artificials (1oz+) for stripers in river systems. I expect the best from my equipment and this reel fell well below par. Also, if you buy the Swedish Ambassadeurs, you can easily replace all the parts in them for much less than a new reel (this may be true for this reel too, but I would not even attempt it. You can upgrade the Swedish models to do whatever you want, from longer casts to stronger and smoother drags and everything in between). I actually replaced the main gear and piston gear in one of my C4s because it had become rough while reeling (a few years of catching big striper and accidentally snagging huge paddlefish will do that to any reel) for half the price of a new reel. Do not waste your hard earned cash on this cheap imitation (from the actual company!) and go pay the extra $20 bucks for the real thing that will not only last longer, but is easy to work on and is time-tested. Do not settle for less with this piece. By the way, I LOVE Abu Garcia products and use Ambassadeurs almost exclusively. That is why I was so disappointed in the quality of this reel. I'm sure it is great for Bait Heads, but it is horrible for use with casting artificials.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for BCX
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

a good reel at a good price but not without some issues

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crazy4Fishin
from Bartlesville, OK
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Let me start by saying I have used Abu Garcia reels all of my fishing life, as did my father. I never questioned the quality of their line of equipment until the BCX. I purchased 2 of the 6600 BCX reels in December 2012 and have used them a lot more than I should (according to my wife). The reels are extremely smooth and cast as well as any ambasadeur reel I have ever owned. Both reels, however, have similar issues. The thumb bar fails to disengage sometimes when the reel handle is turned. This happens about 25% of the time. I have to put my thumb under it and lift it up to get the spool to engage. It would'nt be such a big deal except for the fact that when fishing freespool with a bait clicker on, turning the handle and setting the hook will leave me with a major backlash if I don't lift the bar with my thumb. Sadly, this is not an issue that can be repaired or fixed by routine maintenance ( I've tried), it is just poor design in my opinion. Secondly, the bait clicker is extremely difficult to turn on and off with clean dry hands, let alone wet ones. Again, cleaning and oiling does not help.....once again......poor design. My reels are still under warranty and I could send them in to be worked on, but I'm afraid I will be out the cost of shipping and still be back where I am now. So I will continue to use them as they are and I will not be afraid to buy future Abu Garcia products. I wish I had spent a little more on the higher end models. I will no longer assume that the Abu Garcia name on the reel automatically implies "quality".
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMay 6, 2013
Good afternoon. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your BCX reels as this is not normal operation for this reel. All Abu Garcia reels carry a one year warranty and we will be happy to help you out. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your specific case and will be contacting you shortly at the email address you provided for this review. We will work quickly to get you back to fishing. Our service technicians are very skilled and can fix both of your reels. For shipping options, it shouldn't cost you much at all through the US postal service - check out "Priority Shipping" (not the flat rate boxes). If you ever have any questions or concerns or want to find out more details on the process, we can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We will be in touch with you shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for BCX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Freshwater

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tbaby
from Austin, Texas
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This reel is all around the best fresh water bait caster reel. I took this reel to Vietnam on my vacation. I went to one of the fishing ponds there that you have to pay to get in. I was using 40 pound braided line and this grape method for fishing where you take eight small circle hooks with 50 pound fluorocarbon on each hook hook and using a swivel to put them all on. Bait was this dough bait that smell like pig feed. After you make the bait it would look like a group of grapes. I cast my bait out there. Only in 45 minutes the fish started running when i was sleeping thanks to the loud enough clicker i heard it and rushed out. It only took out about 30 yards of line then it started to come to shore, but the fight wasn't over yet its just started swimming around a and won't take a break. It just swam around taking couple yards of line for about 30 more minutes. The owner of the ponds said this if this fish keep swimming around it was scare the other fish and mess everything up so we had to get a gaff it. when the fish was measured it weight was 28.8 kilos that around 60 pounds. Locals that where there fishing with me told me this fish had been snapping people line a lot. I was really excited but the fish got hook in the gills when it got gaff so it bleed to death. We took many pictures. All i have to say is Abu For Life. Such A cheap reel too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for BCX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Inexpensive workhorse

PostedJune 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elijah
from Florida
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I picked up this reel in an Abu Garcia combo at Gander Mountain to fish shiners for bass in Florida. I figured the reel didn't matter much for that. When I was done with the shiners and started throwing a lipless crank bait on it I was really surprised with what a good reel it was. The combo will throw them well into tomorrow and I had no problem with hook ups with it. After about 6 trips of a pretty good bit of fishing with it, it developed a wobble and a few casts later it wouldn't reel in. You could feel the gears slipping. I put another reel on the rod and kept going but when I got home I took it apart and found that two of the base mount screws had come out and gotten behind the main drive gear. Put it all back together and it is ready to go again. This reel is no REVO3 STX or a Lew's Tournament Pro but for what you pay for it, it is Excellent. I have been using Abu Garcia reels since 1985 and I have always been very happy with them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for BCX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Replaced quality for quantity

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I own 7 C series reels and have used Abu reels for yrs & yrs and never had major issues except the changing of the level wind gear after yrs of abuse, which is normal.. With that being said... I purchased 2 of the 6600 BCX reels about two months ago.. Reel #1 lasted 2 fishing trips, gears scream when casting and the handle bent when reeling in a 6# red. Took it apart to find plastic parts inside! I had to look at the cover to make sure I had bought a Abu reel.. The second reel the level wind lasted till the 4th trip and I'm figuring it lasted that long because reel #1 was my primary reel till it acted up. The overall ergonomics of the reel is pretty good, they did cast good when it worked, the gears in one reel scream and the other gave out, i rated the ease of maintenance low due to plastic parts. I will go back to using my 10yr old faithful C series. Sorry.. I am truly disappointed in the quality of these reels..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaSeptember 12, 2012
We are sorry to hear about the issue you experienced with your BCX reels as this is not normal. Every reel series we make regardless the location of the manufacturing facility is under the same strict quality control process. However, the economic reality is it's nearly impossible to produce a reel with all brass and stainless steel componets at a $59.95 price point. As you know, all Abu Garcia reels carry a one year warranty and we will be happy to help your case. We have already contacted our customer service department and informed them of your issue. A representative will be contacting you directly on the email address you provided with this review to resolve the matter and answer any residual questions you may have. If you ever need to speak with a member of our customer support staff they can be reached at Tel:1.800.228.4272. Representatives are standing by to address any questions or concerns consumers may have and will work hard to mitigate problems in a timely fashion. We sincerely appreciate you reaching out to us about this issue. Any insight from consumers is extremely valuable to our team which allows us to continually improve our process and ensure we are manufacturing top quality products for our patrons. We understand your frustration and we are doing everything possible to get you back fishing. Thanks for your long-lived support.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for BCX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

day one report

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Scot
from old lyme, ct
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Now i have to tell you something i boughtbthe BCX becauseni really couldnt afford the 7000i today, but i have anfishing visitor coming soon. So i needed to get something. I just started learning how to baitcast a couple weeks ago. I have been using the promax and silver max that comes with the hank parker signature series. I have been doing ok, with them able to cast say 90-100 ft after a few days. When i picked up yhe bcx on a vendetta 7ft medium heavy and staarted practicing i swear i was able to quicjly acheive 150 ft never overrunning. I ran out of room at home so i went fishing. I put 1 1/4 oz lure on it i was able to cast that thing with all.my might and reached i am.guessing 250 ft. And to top it off, i can overhand with it and i csnt overhand my maxes very well at all. I love this reel and cant wait until i can upgrade to the 7000i.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
johnylongfins
Plastic gears?
Posted November 9, 2012
I bought this reels about 6 months ago and it performed great the first two months. But after that (about 15 fish) the gears were really loud and it sounded like some thing was in the gears. So I took it apart to find plastic gears but could not find anything in the reel that could have made it sound that way. So I greased it back up and it worked great worked for about two weeks, so then i took the side plate back off and wiped the old greased off cleaned it and put new grease in it but it did not fix it. Now ever time I cast the reel screams and makes this clicking noise and when I reel it in it makes a clicking noise.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for BCX
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what I expected

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought 2 of these at Cabelas in 2010. I dont fish everyday, so these reels have had minimal fishing, but mostly for hard fighting freshwater striper.
I have maybe 30-40 fish on each reel, and already one has the "gear problem" you see referenced here and all over the internet . I know there is a 1 year warranty, (which was gone almost before I used them).
It would seem that since you folks at Abu are aware of this common problem, why not add a couple of "extra" plastic gears in the box with the new reels, cost you maybe .25 cents and would do wonders for your PR.
I understand the price point, but also understand PR.
If you'd had added a replacement or 2 in the box, that would have made all the difference to me. A $60 reel isn't a "$60" reel if you have to pay to fix it.
I recommend spending a little more for better quality reel.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMarch 11, 2013
Good morning and thanks for reaching out to us. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with the idler gear on your BXC reels. As you noted, we do have a one year warranty on all Abu Garcia reels and even if your are outside of this warranty period, we are here to help. Our reel services department has already been notified about your issue and will contact you at the email address that you supplied with this review. We offer replacement parts for a nominal fee and can also repair your reel quickly if you do not want to do this yourself. The part you are referring to runs the level wind system and is made of plastic - as opposed to the solid brass main gear that drives the reel - so that in the event of stain on the level wind system, this inexpensive part is sacrificed, preventing damage to the main gear. If those parts were metal and the reel was used in a manner where these parts were put under inappropriate pressure, damage could occur to the rest of the reel. These parts are also used in the Swedish made C4's, C3's, Record and Linecounter as well. Again, we are here to help and will contact you shortly so we can get you back to fishing. Have a great day.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bama Boy
Florida
Great Reels
Posted March 14, 2013
I own two (2) C-4 (5601 right and left handed) models, Four (4) C-3 (4600) models, one (1) Rocket (5600CL), one (1) Record (RCN50), one (1) HPSS 5600C, two (2) "Original" 5000 and 6000 models. Needless to say, I love the quality in the "sweden made reels." I too picked up the 5600BCX which "feels" great on the rod with lower profile, BUT the reel does "feel" (how can I put this)...cheaper, which it is in price (you get what you pay for). I just had a C-3 model go down due to the fact that when I depress the line release, the it seems to have a weaker engagement reset (the best way I can explain it). My HPSS 5600 model had the gears to "lock up" and I attempted to take it apart (it is in a bag and waiting on my talented friend to attempt the repair). In both of these reels defense, both models have seen many years of hard use. I just won the Revo model in my last Bass tournment and OMG what a great feeling reel. Thanks ABU Garcia for producing some great reels. Once my friend inspects the two damaged reels, I will be contacting you for replacement parts if needed.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for BCX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Purchase, However....

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous!!
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The reel performs well, it has great casting ability (similar to the C3 series), you can change out bearings and other components with ease. These are features found across all Abu Garcia products. But, there is an issue with the gear for the level wind system. On the 6600 specifically, the gear on the spool, the small drive gear strips under heavy stresses. It is easy enough to change but remains the ONLY major drawback to the reel. I think it is a great buy, especially, now in this tough economy. I hope that this can be fixed in future models. This reel represents quality at a time when there is little money for the consumer. Please continue creating and developing great products, in the mean time I'll have to keep changing that darn gear... I keep a couple extras in my tackle box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for BCX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Little Red Devil!!!

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daddy "FourBucks"
from Beaufort, SC
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a friend of mine that had been using this reel for about 2 yrs...I had always admired the color. We fish mostly saltwater(inshore). In a recent redfish tournament, I watched this reel haul in 3 monsters in the 14-20lb range(32-37") so effortlessly I had to have one!!! On my birthday, I had left a message on your FB page with regard to giving me one in celebration to no avail. My wife saw the post I left and bought it the next day from our local Wal-Mart!!! I was so proud of her! I have yet to use it, but when the weather and time are right, I WILL POST PICS ON YOUR FB PAGE!!! LMBO!!! But for now, I just like to look at it on the shelf, I already know what its capable of...By the way, my wife bought the MH combo for $70!!!! Good Deal! Thanks for the opportunity!
Tight Lines!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for BCX
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

6600bcx line guide stops working

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
feaR
from Ohio
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
User submitted photo
Bought two of these, holds up for about a season of catfishing then line guides stops moving back and forth and stays at one end of the reel, happened to both reels, rebuilt both of them they worked for another season then they stopped working again. also have problems engaging from free spool when bait alarm goes off, lost a few fish this way took apart cleaned and greased still happens from time to time. Bait alarm is quite, hard to hear over river, wind or rain. For the price its a great reel to try out a baitcaster for the first time but I wouldnt recommend it for any other reason. It does cast nice, had no problems reeling in 30lb river cats but dosent hold up. Going to try out big game reel.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted September 12, 2012
I totally agree. I loved the 5600bcx but line guide got me as well. so disappointed in the quality.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
teter20
Hutchinson, KS
Posted August 26, 2011
I am encountering the EXACT same issue with the 5600BCX model and I haven't even made it through my first season with the reel! Have tried taking it apart to solve the problem, but haven't had any success. What did you do/replace in order to get yours to start working again? Mine will work fine for a few cranks, which leads me to think I have it fixed, but then ends up staying along the left edge eventually every time. (As you can somewhat see in the picture I uploaded, there is substantially more line on the left 1/4 of the spool as compared to the right 3/4.) The line guide flows from left to right perfectly when taking line off or casting, but always ends up staying at the left end of the guide when reeling in. Very frustrating!
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for BCX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BCX 6600, great castability

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Scot
from Old Lyme, CT
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I reviewed the 5600, and I love that reel. I now have played with the 6600 size model, and it really casts well and I love it just as much. I can cast 20lbs mono line with a 3oz pencil or cast master about 175 yards on a perfect cast with my 11ft lamiglas surf king. My only issue is, where is the line out alarm/clicker on my 6600 as it states as part of the product description here? However, don't order the combo, at least not from amazon. They have packaging issues, and don't know how to box a rod that can survive shipping. One order and 2 replacement shipments later and all three rods have been snapped. and guides destroyed. ***This is an amazon problem, not a Abu Garcia problem***
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for BCX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Frustrated, worst reel I have ever owned

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Ohio
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have owned this 6600 BCX reel for over a year, and the line guide stripped out the first time I used it. The line guide looks like it is painted plastic, although I could be wrong. I'm not taking it apart to find out. I have attempted to fish with it 4-5 times now, and it's good for 3-4 casts and then the line guide is off again, leaving a tangled mess wrapped around the spool. Even though it was a gift, this is the worst reel I have ever owned. This is the first Abu Garcia product I have owned, and would not buy another Abu Garcia product ever again. Gave it 2 stars for gear smoothness because it felt nice when it worked properly. All other ratings a one because it's junk.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaAugust 29, 2011
Hello,

We as sorry to hear you had such a bad experience with your first Abu Garcia product. Thank you for letting us know about it. We will send you an email via the contact information on your submission form to get details on what happened. We are always happy to help at abugarcia@purefishing.com or 888.228.4272. We look forward to working with you to get your problem fixed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for BCX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great reel to replace my Ambassadeur Pro Plus reel.

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Firestarter
from Whitehall, NY
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had my Ambassadeur Pro Plus reel for twenty years. I had landed many large fish with that reel and the line guide finally gave out after the twenty years of heavy use after a really long fight with a 30" pike. I was searching for a replacement to use till I can find out about parts for my Pro Plus. This reel is really easy to cast, casts really far and is also really smooth. I plan on using this reel heavily for bass, pike and sometimes catfish. My main reason for purchasing this reel is because of my great experience with the Pro Plus. I am hoping to get parts for the Pro Plus so I can use it for a spare because everything else on the reel works like new.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for BCX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great newer, affordable version of the older C3 with more comfort

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
dnatured22
from Lake County, IL
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought the 6600 model last year for my back up/sucker muskie rod and I was quite impressed. I only own 2 other higher priced Abu reels(older 5500 C3 w/ 2 pin brake and a newer 6500 C3) and this one stands up there in comparison. I love how they were able to take the engineering of the original design and get this to sit a lot closer to the rod seat making repeated casting more comfortable and a tighter fulcrum point for better hook sets. The affordability is excellent considering you get all the features the other round reels have at a great price that does not take food out of your mouth and strong enough to withstand the monsters. Great Job!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for BCX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not impressed!

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rickybobbybilly
from KS
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought a 6600BCX, brought it home and tried and tried to cast it, nothing but birds nests every time! The cast control would only work on the lightest of weights, no matter how tight I'd set it. Trying to turn on the bait clicker was difficult to say the least! It was even harder to turn it off.
I returned it the next day for a 6600C4, the two are night and day! The cast control works on the C4, the only birds nests I get are when I don't do my part! Maybe the sample I got was a fluke, maybe not, but I certainly wouldn't buy another BCX reel, it's just not worth trying to save a buck!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaOctober 12, 2012
Hello, we are sorry to hear that you had some problems with your 6600BCX round reel as the issues you describe are not normal. It sounds as though the reel may have been damaged during shipping or transport to the retailer since both the spool tension knob as well as the bait clicker were not working properly. We are glad that you are enjoing your C4 and that the return went smoothly for you. Just a reminder - both the BCX and the C4 have 6 pin adjustable centrifugal brake systems that are located internally on the palm side of the spool. To access and adjust this brake system, unscrew the 3 thumb bolts on the handle side of the reel. Slide the spool out and locate the 6 pin centrifugal brake on the "palm side" of the spool. You can slide any number of these blocks outward towards the edge of the spool to add extra casting control...they "click" into the on position and will slide outward during the cast, reducing the startup speed of the spool. This will greatly reduce the number of backlashes that may occur. It also allows you to ease up on the spool tension knob for better distance. Have a great day and if you ever have an issue or need assistance, we are always here to help at 1-800-228-4272.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for BCX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Little Red Monster

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bighurt
from Hominy, Ok
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was my first purchase of a round reel. I did plenty web and friend research before making such a purchase. For the price this reel will handle many different species of fish. Its 3 Stainless Steel Bearings and grips, give it a smooth like performance. A Soft Touch Thumb Bar and Thumb Rest makes casting all day easy on the fingers. Combine it with a med-heavy rod and you can't go wrong fighting them big catfish or stripers. Just make your cast, sit back and turn on the Line Out Alarm and enjoy a cold drink while you wait for that fish to come calling!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for BCX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My old Abu

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blue
from Lansing ,Illinois
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own an old 5000D although I think you want reviews of new products I just had to say say something about my outdated reel.My stepdad gave me this reel in 1992 I'm not sure how long he owned it before Iwas lucky to inherit it. This reel has never failed me ,it has always performed greatly. It just goes to show that Abu reels don't haveto be the latest style to catch fish . My best catch with this old beauty was a 47 in. musky. Thank you all for making quality products that last for years and years with very little maintenance
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for BCX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bass & Flounder

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
WickedGoodOutdoors
from Old Orchard Beach/Saco, Maine
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought a Pair of these reels and matched them up to some nice Graphite 6 ft one piece rods. Caught Bass with ease and had the sensitivity for reeling in Big Flounder.
Easy to clean up and grease. The Drag is very reliable and smooth.
Since I let a friend use one he has been borrowing it and I dont think I will ever get it back.
Maybe I could win a pair of new ones and Ill give him my old one so he can have a pair also.
I do belive that this real could catch just about anything!
Capt Walt
Capt@WickedGoodOutdoors.com
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for BCX
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Extremely Noisy

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I've fished Abu Garcia reels all my life. Picked this reel up at WalMart on a whim and fished it the first day. The reel felt good, lighter than the earlier models. Casting distance was excellent, but the reel makes a horrible sound when casting. Took it apart, oiled the bearings but it did not help. Upon further investigation I see this is a common problem with this reel. Unfortunately I cannot trust this reel for the type of fishing I do. Not sure if it has substandered bearings, but the noise it makes cannot be good.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMarch 4, 2013
Good morning. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your BCX as what you describe is not normal operation for this reel. All Abu Garcia reels carry a one year warranty and we will be happy to help you out. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your specific case and will be contacting you shortly at the email address you provided for this review. We will work quickly to get you back to fishing. If you ever have any questions or concerns we can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We will be in touch with you shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for BCX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Jury Still Out

PostedJune 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bar G
from Texas
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I recently purchased two new 5600BCX reels and one new 6600BCX from our nearest Walmart; I am utilizing 30 lb braid line and have the drag set at 7.5 lbs on all three reels. The 4 star rating is actually for the 5600 reels. The 6600 reel drag went south after one two pound channel cat; second fish caught I had to stop utilizing my thumb (no drag at all just free wheeled). I have had extremely good service from Abu Garcia reels in the past; needless to say the 6600 got pitched and have no desire to own another 6600.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Jury Has Reached a Decission
Posted June 20, 2011
Drag on both 5600BCX reels went south this past weekend; needless to say I will never purchase nor recommend anyone else purchase a BCX 5600 or 6600.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 next>>