Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Ambassadeur Conventional or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Big Game

Abu Garcia Big Game

The ambassadeur® Big Game brings the strength required to handle big game species with the powerful Carbon Matrix™ drag system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.85 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
15 out of 20(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Big Game
Review 1 for Big Game
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
BigBuckKY01
from Pikeville, KY
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I ordered the 10000i 2 weeks ago and was very excited to receive it and actually went fishing that day. I spooled it with 65 pound Spyder Wire braid and immediately realized that it had problems, as I was putting line on the spool, the line guide on the reel that lays the line down on the spool was jamming on the right side, after I realized that, I took the reel apart and removed the factory grease and re-lubricated it with no success. I attempted casting it later that day to see if that was the only problem and it locked up in mid-air. I took it apart again to make sure I put it back together right but everything was where it should be. Just mine? I don't know but I will continue to use my other Abu's with confidence. I hope this gets fixed soon. Thanks!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Big Game
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Abu lover BUT...

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wide Open Bite
from California
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have a 7000IHSN that I absolutely love, so I decided to purchase a 9000I as well. The issue I have with the 9000I is that somehow the line manages to get behind the spool when reeling in. This has happened to me two times in the last month and I have to end up using another reel to save time. Later when there is a break in fishing, I'll remove the spool and unwind the braid thats wrapped tightly around the gear. I notice that the fit of the spool wasnt flush at the rear of the real closest to the foot. Maybe it's just mine? No clue, but as you can guess I'm not very happy about it and will probably swap it out with a different reel.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Big Game
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great ocean jigging and casting Reel

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The 7000i Big Game is the perfect reel for jigging and casting metal lures up to six ounces for Striped Bass and Bluefish in the Northeast. When adjusted properly the spool never backlashes. The drag is very smooth, I've landed Bass to 29lbs and Blues to 12 and never felt over matched.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Big Game
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great real

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from san antonio tx
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:1
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm a big guy and this reel feels good in my hand can cast good distances from the bank was brand new and caught a fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Big Game
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

abu 7000ihsn

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
drudedon
from brooklyn ny
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was sceptical to purchase this reel due to some of the reviews I've read, but I would have to say this reel is absolutely amazing. After removing the grease from the centrifugal brakes I engaged only one break block. Loaded this reel with 50 lb braid, then tested this reel out on the surf. I was truly amazed, I nearly spool out all my line. The following day I went fishing on friends boat. I had it matched to 5'11" jigging rod. Once again I was casting 2oz jigs 150'. In all if you like the power of the abu 7000 and the castability of the abu 6000 then this is the reel to get.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Big Game
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

10000i big game reel

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Captain Llynard
from Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WoW what a great reel everything that i could want and more. I fish the midatlantic ocean region and used this reel for boat fishing for striped bass. I caught a 49lb. bass and it took only half the time it normally takes with this reel. I preset the drag to 15lbs. and wore out the fish in 18 minutes. It was beefy enough to put some serious muscle on the fish. i plan on buying more each year to replace my shimano's. I can't say enough about it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Big Game
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great reel except one issue

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Vallejo CA,
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The reel is very smooth, comfortable, sturdy, and looks great the only thing I'm not happy with is when spoiling it with line I could not get the line to lay evenly on the spool. Did Abu Garcia come up with a fix for it yet it seems to be a problem with some of them
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Big Game
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Where did the CT go?

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from CA
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought the BG9000CT 5 years ago for surf fishing and it is still going strong to this day. the drags just recently wore out and i replaced them with carbontex drag washers. I run straight 30lb mono or , as i have it set up right now, 200yrds of 50lb braid backing and 120-140yrds of 30lb mono top shot. great free spool that abu is known for and enough line capacity for big game surf fishing. the only complaint i have is the clicker could be a little louder and the sprocket that makes the sound could be a bit stiffer to hold against the waves.
also, WHERE DID THE CT GO!? a level wind in the surf turns into a disaster when sand gets in the worm gear. if Abu still made the non level wind model id buy another 9000 and a 10000 is a heart beat! the CT i give a 5 out of 5, but only 4 stars for the review due to lack of a non level wind.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Big Game
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Worm Gear

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Surfnut
from New York, NY
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I would've easily given this reel 5 stars if not for this one issue. I own several Abu Garcia reels. They are some of the most reliable and sturdy reels I've ever used. I recently purchased this 7000i HSN because of AG's reputation and my history with their products.
When I started spooling this reel with 20# mono, I noticed the line was spooling unevenly from right to left. I filled the spool and figured after a few casts the line would eventually even out across the spool. But, it did not, after examining the line guide's travel closely, it appears that the line guide is not traveling far enough to the left side of the spool, causing the line to lay unevenly and pile on the right side, I believe the problem is caused by the worm gear itself. I would like Abu to adjust or replace the necessary parts to correct this. Aside from this issue, I'm pleased with the smoothness and casting that one would expect from the AG reels. I am posting this review not intending to bash Abu But to state my lack of confidence in THIS particular reel, at this time. My other AG reels have been flawless for YEARS. I believe this is an easy fix. I would like to hear from them on this matter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJanuary 4, 2012
Hi Surfnut,

A member of our service team will be in contact with you. It is hard to say why this is happening without seeing the reel in person. Our service team is always happy to help and information can be found at
http://www.abugarcia.com/support or by emailing abugaric@purefishing.com
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJanuary 4, 2012
Hi Surfnut,

A member of our service team will be in contact with you. It is hard to say why this is happening without seeing the reel in person. Our service team is always happy to help and information can be found at
http://www.abugarcia.com/support or by emailing abugaric@purefishing.com
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJanuary 4, 2012
Hi Surfnut,

A member of our service team will be in contact with you. It is hard to say why this is happening without seeing the reel in person. Our service team is always happy to help and information can be found at
http://www.abugarcia.com/support or by emailing abugaric@purefishing.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Surfnut
New York, NY
Worm Gear
Posted November 14, 2013
Shortly after posting my review in Dec 2011, to my surprise I received an email from AG customer service Dept. expressing sincere concern and a willingness to rectify the situation. I am pleased to say that the reel was replaced with another 7000 series model of my choice. I am completely satisfied with the replacement reel and the manner in which my issue was handled...In my opinion this is why AG is still one of the finniest reels made in world...Big Ups!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
donzi rules
key west
wormgear
Posted August 26, 2013
sounds like you need to quit drinking so much when trying to put line on
I have this same reel not an issue out of it .one tip start running your line with the level wind guide lined up with you line so it will start straight or carry it to a pro
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
GfpRacing
St Joseph Mo
What is the Best Reel For the type of Fishing I Do
Posted March 16, 2013
I Wish there was a chart that Showed
What each of Your Reels
Was Made to Fish For
So I Could Tell on My Own
Witch Reel Was The best
For What I want to Fish For ! ! ! ! !
{ List them in Order }
From Catching a 1 lb Fish
To Catching a 300 lb or bigger Fish
{ Say I Want to Fish }
For Catching Blue Gill
For Catching Bass
For Catching Channel Catfish
For Catching Large Carp
For Catching FLat Head Catfish
For Catching Blue Cat Catfish
For Catching Lake Stirgeion
For Catching Spoon Bill
Please Stop Make Every One Guess What Reel They Need
Or
Witch Reel Is Best For The Type of Fishing They Do
{ The Guys A Bass Pro Dont Know }
Thanks
George
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 10 for Big Game
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Level wind keeps jamming

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Armofisher818
from California
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have owned many Abu Garcia reels but this one is a disappointment. The reel is a great reel itself with a smooth drag and all but the level wind on mine keeps getting stuck. When I bought it it was well oiled and I took it out to do some catfish fishing but when I was reeling in a catfish the levelwind kept getting stuck on the right side of the reel and the line was getting piled up as a reeled in so I just used my 7000 that day. So I thought I should lubricate the levelwind and wormgear with the Abu Garcia reel oil and it was fixed ( so I thought) and when I was fishing it got stuck again do right now it's just sitting in my rod rack. I don't know if I did something wrong or if it was a factory defect but Im disappointed with this product. Would've been a great reel if the levelwind was fixed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaNovember 21, 2011
Hello Armofisher818. We are sorry to hear you had a problem and we look forward to solving your problem. We are happy to help and will be sending you a note shortly via the email address you provided in your submission form. You can always reach our customer service at 888.228.4272 or abugarcia@purefishing.com.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
fishmyster
Swansea U.K
10000 BG
Posted December 28, 2012
I own a ABU 10000 BG which as not had much use the reel is approx a 2005 model. The reel is in good condition except for the clutch release arm which is made out of an alloy and apparently has a common fault of corroding away. ABU have since corrected this problem and modified the new 10000 BG reel but they do not make any replacment clutch release arm's anymore which now renders my reel useless. Over the last forty years i have only used ABU multiplier reels and i have been very pleased with ABU but on this issue i really feel disapionted and let down by ABU for my loyalty towards their reels perhaps it is time to start looking at other makes.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Big Game
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

9000i

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vader3726
from Corpus Christi, Texas
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Needless to say I was very excited when I purchased my 9000i. I have had a bit of a problem casting out, as did 2 of my friends who are good fishermen. The darn thing kept birdnesting on us...finally I decided to switch the type of line and rod length and it seems to be doing better. I'm satisfied!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Big Game
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sturgeon onthe Columbia River

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Using An Abu Garcia Big Game reel I landed numerous strugeon in July on Oregon's Columbia river. Not only does the reel have a very smooth and powerful drag, I was alble to "winch" in a 43 incher that had wrapped itself in the line with three rolls on the first run. It is not an easy task to pull in a sturgeon sideways for 100 yards against an outgoing tide. Upon reaching the boat and grabbing the leader the fish unwrapped itself and made another 100 yard run. The reel performance was excellent . Highly recommend this reel for larger game fish. It withstood two more "keepers" and numerous "Undersize" less tha 41 inchers and will be going chinook fishing very soon. Great reel,smooth drag,tought gears and looks like it will be getting alot of use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Big Game
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This reel breeds confidence.

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Geno
from LBI NJ
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the 7000i HSN to fish specifically for Summer Fluke off of NJ. I have fished it 3 consecutive summers and out of all my bottom fishing reels this is the one that comes with me on every trip. Be forewarned the reel is heavy. But that weight, in this case means strength. It handles dragging 8 to 10 OZ. of lead all day long, brings the fish to the boat with ease, and with a minimum of maintenance is ready for the next trip. I made it a point to inspect the drag washers and removed some excess grease, it has performed flawlessly. A very content fisherman...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Big Game
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Catfishing Reel

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Catfish Cordia
from Lonedell. MO
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a tournament fisherman of big fish. (Catfish). These reels are built to take the abuse these fish put on them and the fisherman. I have used alot of reels in the past and the Big Game stands out above the rest for reliablity and castabilty of large wieghts and heavy line.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Big Game
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good tru Abu, like many that have come before it.

PostedApril 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lee
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am not sure about those two comments about these reels locking up and gears stripping, first of all to comment number one.
To leave ANY mechanical devise to sit for a year and not clean and relubricate it is just neglegent, be it a fishing reel or be it a car it's bad news. If you do not look after your equiptment how can you expect it to look after you?
For the second bad comment I believe that maintenance too is the issue here, remember guys these reels have been around for a few years now so even "brand new" out the box that oil and grease may be old and degraded. Being a fishing reel, the gears and other moving parts are subjected to extreme speed when casting and extreme torque when fighting "the big one" so the oil and grease NEEDS to be clean and fresh, any reel lets some form of moisture and grit into it over time.
I have been fishing my big game 10000c now for 4 years and it has never let me down not once, I have caught everything from small catfish to a 210 kilo Bull shark with it and it is still one of my favourite reels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Big Game
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broken right out of the box!!

PostedApril 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Surfcaster
from Mt. Pleasant SC
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased this reel last year brand new and never used it. Well today, 4/9/11, I finally took it to my local tackle shop to have it spooled for my girlfriend so we could do a little surf fishing in the morning. Well not even 5 yds into the winding of some new line the reel locked up!!! We pulled the end cover off and found the gear that drives the level wind stripped out. i cant believe this happened to a brand new and expensive Abu. I was looking to purchase a new Alphamar and Toro inshore reel for this years fishing season. Now my confidence in Abu Garcia is totally shattered. Guess my girlfriend will just have to watch me fish tomorrow:(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaApril 12, 2011
We are sorry to hear you had a problem with this reel. You will receive a email message from our customer service team shortly.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Surfcaster
Mt. Pleasant SC
My apologies to ABU Garcia
Posted April 28, 2011
I would like to apologize for my recent review of the ABU Big Game 10000. The reel was NOT broken right out of the box. After replacing the intermediate gear and taking it back to my tackle shop to have it spooled with line, the gear broke again!!! But at least I now know what caused it. The clamp the shop used to fasten the reel to the line winder interfered with the level wind thus preventing it from moving in turn causing the intermediate gear to strip again. If you have your reel spooled using a line winding machine, pay close attention that nothing interferes with the level wind. Again, my apologies for the bad review on this product.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Big Game
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

10000i a dream to use!!

PostedApril 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mark259
from Wales, UK
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I purchased a 10000i to use for sea fishing for tope and sharks. I was not dissappointed the reel is a dream to use!! If your looking for strong reliable reel then don't look anywhere else just buy a 10000i!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tomas
Ireland, Co. Clare
Ditto and moreover...
Posted August 24, 2012
I bought this one as my first own sea fishing reel. I used the multipliers before form a boat but this time the purpose was the from-the-shore fishing. I knew that Clare grounds were really tackle eating and that the pier and/or rock fishing would be the main use of this one.
10000i might feel slightly an overkill but I also have a friend with the boat so...
I cast so far weights from 2 to 8 oz as tried this one even during really windy weather at a high tide (5.9m). The brilliance of this solution is the line capacity for sure - like 300 yards of 35 pounder (0.48) mono line which can be cast over hundred yards away without a hassle.
I would rate its casting performance 4.0 though as for sure I shall never put thinner line on. The thinner one I had already tried was not strong enough for the rocky grounds :( And please show me the reel that would cast that far that thick line and @ such a realatively low price...
The only flaw I can find in this reel is the fact that it is extremely difficult to release the break when a monstruous fish is dragging...
With my best wishes
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Big Game
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Musky Reel

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jim Wilson
from Beloit, Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have 2 7000hsiN reels that I use foe musky fishing. Great power for crankin in big double 10 Bucktails. Good speed due to the narrow reel causes quick pick up of line per turn of the crank handle. Used on 8'6" rods power is great for horsing Musky through weeds. Next reel that will be added will be an ABU Garcia REVO STX at 6.4.1. ABU for Life!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Surfcaster Mike
From Long Island to the Vineyard!
Great Surf Reel
Posted March 5, 2011
When the internals of my new Shimano Calcutta 700 exploded on the beach, i went to the nearest tackle shop and purchased one of these at less than half the cost. From the very first cast it worked like an old friend. I've never had a backlash with it and the only thing i've ever done is to replace the drag washers with "Smooth Drag" washers. It took Shimano four times to repair the Calcutta correctly. I never trusted it again. The Ambassadeur is now my workhorse. Swedish-made really means quality-made and value.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Big Game
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

7000 iHSN

PostedFebruary 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
mike
from alabama
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I own 3 of these... and use them heavily pitching live baits with 3-8 oz weights on 12-15 foot rods. the reel casts wonderfully for a levelwind, and preforms great with larger fish. one of mine has landed a 250+ sandbar shark, and still works just as well as the day it was unboxed. if cared for PROPERLY.... cleaned and oiled annually you should recieve a life time of service from it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Big Game
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

70001hsn

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
1 1/2 yr old reels total break down --i had to reverse the handle before i could reel a fish in--it would even lock up from time to time at the worst possible moment --JUNK !!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Skeptical
Posted February 2, 2012
I think that in this situation, and in many other reel manufacturers products that you may get a lemon once in a while, but I truly feel that more often there is an occasional instance where dirt or sand may enter a reel, or saltwater infiltrates the reels internal mechanisms, and if not tended to, will have eventual consequences. I also sometimes wonder if a delivery person, or someone else who handles the reel (between the manufacturer and the consumer) may have dropped a reel, or if the 18 wheeler that brought it to - wherever, may have hit a pothole -knocking over the whole stack. Do you think that someone would admit to it or just hope that nobody else saw it. I am a professional fishing reel mechanic. I have seen it all when it comes to reel failure. If there is one thing that all manufacturers could do to improve longevity, reliability, and overall performance, especially for reels used in saltwater, it would be to apply a lite coating or film of marine grade grease to all surfaces of all internal and most external parts of the reel. I do this to all of my own and my family's and friend's reels. ESPECIALLY before any reel sees saltwater for the first time. Trust me when I say that if used and cared for properly, Abu Ambassadeur reels are "Top Shelf" products. As with all brands, their "economy" products (like the stuff found in those clear plastic packages that hang on pegs at super stores) usually leave things to be desired. How much time can a reel manufacturer pay someone for- to build a $40.00 reel? Buy the better stuff at reputable shops and enjoy. Unfortunately, many people use the reel, then throw it in the garage, or worse, they throw it in a ziplock baggie or some other form of a cover thinking that they are protecting the reel. This just traps moisture in the reel making for a very slow-drawn out, internally corrosive environment. Always rinse thoroughly, gently shake out excess water, allow to dry thoroughly in a dry and preferably warmish environment (uncovered). The "Beauty" in most Abu reels is the thumb screw take apart feature. This makes it a snap to just pull the reel apart in 3 pieces, dry it out by whichever means( a gentle blow of compressed air works well) then re-assemble and store in a cool, dry place out of sunlight. I do use and recommend those neoprene reel covers that some manufacturers offer, but I let my reels dry out for at least 3 days after the freshwater rinse before they get covered. Clean, oil, and grease every 1-2 years or after 20 or so days on the water, and your reels will last forever.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)