Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Ambassadeur Conventional or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia CS Pro Rocket

Abu Garcia CS Pro Rocket

Designed for super long castability, this international best seller utilizes a smooth synchronized levelwind system for even line lay.
Average Customer Rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for CS Pro Rocket
Review 1 for CS Pro Rocket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tried, and true - after 2+ Years

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this 06/2011 and it is still a reel I bring every time I go out fishing. I have mine mounted on a Verdict VCC76-7 rod which, if you go to the product review you'll see what I have to say about that. I chose this combination to give me really long distance casting and it does.
This reel has never mechanically let me down, but has slight corrosion due to saltwater fishing but that is to be expected. I try to maintain this reel by washing it down every time I come back in from the saltwater, as well as oiling it periodically. I have braid line on it and if you know what you're doing you won't have a problem spooling. Very smooth action - I love my Penn Senators for big game but this also does a good job landing smaller sharks, snapper, etc. Anything big and my line will snap - but that's why you bring a shark rod! Good job on this one Abu Garcia.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CS Pro Rocket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST REEL EVER!

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing reel. Outcasts AKIOS 757 CTM. Thank you Abu Garcia.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CS Pro Rocket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Choice Ever

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
davedog79
from Waterford, Ohio
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This reel has amazed me! The 7000iCS pro rocket is the longest and smoothest casting reel I have ever owned and very easy to use I have it on a 12 foot surf rod and on my first cast I out cast my other reels that i have used for years. This reel has won me over I will be buying another one to replace my other reels. The reel is made very strong and give me a reel to pass on to my children. Can't wait to get another one soon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CS Pro Rocket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Time

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tbaby
from Austin, Texas
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this reel. I live in Texas and I go to the beach to do a lot of surf fishing or on the pier.Who needs a kayak when i can get this this out about 180 yards out. Hardly get any backlash. Overall this is a very tough reel that can almost handle anything. This is why i Love Abu Garcia Products. Cheap, tough, and all around great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CS Pro Rocket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dream caster

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steve
from Chicago il
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an awesome reel. I use it for catfishing & salmon and let me tell you, you can haul in some monsters with it. I love this reel! It has been easy to maintain. If you love fishing like I do you shouldn't leave home with out one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CS Pro Rocket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The one and Only surfcasting reel

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Surfchunker
from Cumberland Md
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
when it comes to cast in the surf nothing compares to Abu Garcia, they are the easiest to clean and maintain, or even upgrade, lots of power and Distance ... well nothing comes close
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CS Pro Rocket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best big Blue Cat reel ever

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silky smooth, long casts, and tons of cranking power set this reel above the rest. I'm on my 3rd season with these reels and they have not skipped a beat! I fish a lot and chase Big cats (50lbs +) in heavy current, I've seen many other brands of reels destroyed by what we do, but Abu Garcia reels stand up to this harsh teatment! A big thanks to Abu for supporting the KC Catfish Tournament Trail!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CS Pro Rocket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CS Pro Rocket

PostedMay 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Unknown
from Maryland, MD
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb reel for any type of fishing fresh or salt. Have used numerous occasions in the Maryland Potomac River and Chesapeake Bay areas searching for Striper Fish and or Channel/Blue Catfish, which both has been a success. What makes this reel a must have is the smooth casting ability and retrieve. Don't be fooled a good reel is a necesity but also with any good reel you need a good fishing pole aswell, to withstand the harsh fights that await at the end of your line. Like I said before superb reel.
Owned 3 and still are all operational.
My Pole setup : St. Croix Pole / CS Pro Rocket Reel
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CS Pro Rocket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A PROVEN EDGE

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bob
from North West Louisiana
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This reel exhibits all the great preformance you have come to expect from AGU GARCIA. Long smooth casts coupled with the needed muscle to land the big ones. A perfect reel for fishing any type lure. I have pulled large fish out of brush and other hang ups. The only bait casting reel I wll use these days. Try it youself and be as imressed as I was. The only problem I have had is in finding a bait casting rod with the needed backbone to handle this reel for it's true petential. ABU GARCIA Has done it again. This reel will pay for itself in fish caught rather than fish lost. Buy it now, because these reels won't last long on the shelf. I have used the CS Pro Rocket in both fresh and salt water and it has never failed or disappointed me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Rods with backbone
Posted August 20, 2011
Berkley E-Cat #4, War Rod R1, TWC (Tangling With Catfish) Extreme. Those three rods have plenty of backbone.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted May 30, 2011
try a team catfish 3/4 ton rod. great quality, and not bad for 100 bucks
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for CS Pro Rocket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Series of Reels

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
JR
from Cumming, GA
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have purchased each of the Pro Rocket series of reels and they are outstanding. They outcast all my other Ambassaduer reels (over 150 of them) some of which have had special tuning. I have a number of friends which have bought the 6500 CS Pro Rocket after trying mine. They are clearly a step above other reels on the market. I hope Abu Garcia conntinues to remember those of us in the salt water market that continue to use and love their reels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CS Pro Rocket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my Pro Rocket

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
powershooter
from Central Virginia
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this reel . Fresh water for big catfish to surf fishing in Cape Hatteras , this reel has never let me down . This levelwind reel out cast any spinning reel I have ever used and is excelent for casting steel when blues are blitzing in the surf . The bait out clicker is a must have on any reel and the power handle helps bring the big ones in . Fits the hand well and is a pleasure to use . Everybody needs at least one of these reels .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Lfc1211
malaysia
Does it suitable for saltwater fishing??
Posted January 14, 2014
As the question above i thinking of getting one reel for salt water fishing it is suitable for it or any suggestion??
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
joey
the sand box
question
Posted January 5, 2013
ok here goes im overseas and while im here im building up my fishing gear I ordered a pro rocket and while my girlfriend was showing it to me on Skype I noticed one thing that bugged me a little nothing happenes when you turn the handle when the free spool lever and clicker are turned on im used to hearing the buzz from my clicker and setting the hook and 3 or 4 turns into it turning off the clicker bc it clickes as you reel it in my last reel was the bcx 7000 now turning the handle and it not engaging the spool when the clicker is on is all new to me so my question is is that how it susposed to work or did I get a bad reel?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)