Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Ambassadeur Conventional or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia 7000i C3

Abu Garcia 7000i C3

Designed for super long castability, this international best seller utilizes a smooth synchronized levelwind system for even line lay.
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 7000i C3
Review 1 for 7000i C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST REEL EVER!!!

PostedApril 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I love you abu garcia thank you for everything. Whats the difference between the 7000ic3 and the cs pro rocket though if i may ask?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mdrfishing
US
What is the difference of these 2 reels ?
Posted June 26, 2014
What IS the difference between the 7000 ic3 and the iCS Pro Rocket ?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for 7000i C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Reel Deal

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dboy
from Baytown, Tx
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This reel is a beast! I bought it recently due to prior success with Abu Garcia products and it delivered. Casting distance was important for me due to submerged structure with a three once weight it went far enough to land this brute and bring it in effortlessly. Can't wait to tweak the settings and get more distance!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 7000i C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This thing is SICK

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
WickedStripers
from Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live south of Boston and we take our striper and blue fishing seriously. I bought the 7000i C3 about a year ago. I matched it with a Tiger Lite 7ft rod and it works awesome. I can cast as far and as controlled as I want. It handles 40+ Lb stripers no problem. Also big 20 lb blue fish as well. It works so well one of my fishing buddies went out and bought one and another is going to grab one as well. All I can say is this reel is nasty. I have owned way more expensive reels that have disappointed me but this reel will not let you down. I have 40lb fireline, 17lb diameter and it's really smooth. Great reel Abu thanks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 7000i C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing better than an Abu

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
CharlieT
from USA/Gulf of Mexico
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greeting to all,
Hate to tell my age, but I've been using Abu reels across the entire planet since the early 1970s... From perch to wahoo, these reels can do it all. Just have to say, I really love the 7000s. Pair one with a good rod and it will catch anything it was designed for. I routinely catch 50-75 lb amber jacks, grouper, snapper fishing deep offshore and still can use it for surf fishing...makes 80-100 yd casts with light weights with no overruns. Get yourself a couple of these and 99.995% of your reel issues are solved. They REALLY ARE THAT GOOD!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 7000i C3
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

great reel for about a year

PostedMay 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
after going surf fishing 3 or 4 times a month for a year. which i rised with freash water after evry use and clean twice in that time. the reel would not work with any weight on the line. it would work fine for once use after being disassemble and clean then the next time out would not retrive line every well if a fish was. also to it to a reel repair place they look at it and said eveything looks good.
love all my smaller abu C3
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMay 7, 2012
Hello, we are sorry to hear about any problems you have had with your reel. The issues that you have experienced are not normal and we would like to have our reel services department take a look at your reel. All of our reels carry a one year warranty. One of our customer service representatives will reach out to you at the email address you supplied so that we can better assist you with this problem. If you ever need to get in contact with us, please don't hesitate to call us at (800) 228-4272.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AnglerRob
Middletown, NJ
Love this Reel!
Posted July 20, 2012
I have "abused" this reel, not literally of course, Ive hooked fish that were way to large for this reel to handle and have landed them. Of course i always make sure after the reel is O.K.! I always make sure after I use this reel in saltwater whether it be boat or surf, to take the sides off and clean up and residual salt water with a towel and wash it down. I have 6 Abu Garcia reels and none of them have ever failed as you describe. Reels arent maintenance free devices, you take care of your fishing reel it will take care of you!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for 7000i C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ABU Garcia Reels

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ferg
from Wellington, New Zealand
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Well I have used and owned since my first ABU 7000 reel in 1978 both the 7000, 6000.c in 1972 and currently own 5 ABU reels. I just cannot get away from them. I still have the 1st 7000 and it still works. But show me a new model like the new 7000i and I am hooked!. I fish for our New Zealand Quinnat Salmon in the snow fed river mouths and cast in the surf ( which can get a bit rugged) and have never had a problem with my ABU experiences in all these years they are just great well made and engineered reels. When salmon fishing in the high surf we need to get distance to get over the inshore waves and - you get it- This is where the ABU 7000 reels come into there own with relative ease on my Low reel Mount 12' rod. means we have the lift to keep the fight ing Salmon on top of the inshore waves when we land them.
On ocasions when we have a fairly quiet and flat surf I use my 6 ' baitcaster with a 6500 cs Rocket have a look at my photo!
Tightlines
John
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wayno
Dunedin New Zealand.
Abu 7000
Posted February 3, 2013
Just backing up on the quality of your gear. I have been lucky enough to have a father whom invested in good gear early on and therefore I was able to use it as I grew up. He still has his original 7000 which would be 30+ years old. Caught hundreds of good salmon out of the Waitaki and Ranigtata rivers in NZ's south Island. He also has a couple of 7000c's 6000, smaller 5500 I think and various others to assist these.
Your reels are without a doubt the best for surf casting in our conditions and work tirelessly. Just great gear.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for 7000i C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My first choice was the right choice.

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ren
from Long Island Ny
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always used spinning reel before never conventional.After missing out on catching some great fishing for striped bass on LONG ISLAND NY it was time for a change.Had a costume rod made up and needed something beautiful to put on it that could handle those BIG stripers.I decide to go with my 7000i C3 and boy did I make the right decision.Everything that came to hit was handled with no problem form Gorilla Blues to Stripers bringing in those fish was so easy the reel did it job with minimal efforts.For my first experience with Abu I am definitely a customer for life.Also great costumer service called them up and answered all my question with easy so I could make the right decision in purchasing my 7000i C3 .Thanks guy&gal great work keep it up.Customer for life
Ren
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
alley cat
Middle Flint River, Ga.
Flint Rat 1
Posted December 21, 2013
Started with a 5000c in 1970 & learned how to throw a bait caster finally !! I have tried some of them all & now own 7 ambassadeurs & still have the same 5000c.. I got a 7000i c3 for Christmas & can not wait to spool it up & fish. I know it will be great & very much like the way it is made like the old time reels. Thanks guys !! Ambassadeur is to reels as Browning is to guns. It is & always will be the one for me. LC
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for 7000i C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

one of the best reels

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kulo
from Ft.Myers FL
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This reel is really worth it When i go Fishing for Snook this is my reel its so easy to land the casting is amazing i can fling just a pinfish like air also super easy to clean not much to and the smoothness is what gets me all the time i really Recommend the 7000i C3
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
made in?
south texas
made in?
Posted June 4, 2012
Is this a MADE IN CHINA REEL? IM DEBATING TO BUY THIS ONE OR A SHIMANO TEKOTA...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for 7000i C3
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very strong reel

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike
from Durant, Ok
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We used these for catfishing and they horsed in some big catfish out of the Red River here in Texas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 7000i C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all around reel

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joey
from Texas
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've owned a 7000 c3 for a few years now, great reel. I used it to haul in huge 40 plus inch black drum out of the intercoastal waterway here in South Texas. Casts great on a 10 foot surf rod.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 7000i C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOOD REEL !!

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like this reel i pulled in a lot of nice cats with it ... brings right in an has a very good bait clicker !! I am going to buy more of these!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 7000i C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Reel I Own

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Willyboy
from Quemado, Tx.
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this reel . I've used it for catfishing, gar fishing and even out in the coast. i can cast it with ease and will reel n a tugboat. Its awsome and looking to buy another one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 7000i C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

**Best reel on the river!**

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bowe
from Brookfield, Mo
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own six of these reels and just love the way they perform. Long nights chasing monster cats or tournament fishing you won't be disappointed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 7000i C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best reel I own.

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use this reel to catch Alligator Gars in South Texas, and it does the job. I can cast pretty far with it, and have the strength to take on any fish I encounter. Line out alarm is fairly loud which helps out a lot with the Gars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 7000i C3
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just a piece of junk!!

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have bought 4 of these reels two years ago and all four I have had to take in twice to get repairs, I just came back from my first day out on the water and two of them broke down (one on a monster pike!!) , These reels are a money pit and I would not recommend them to anyone!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJuly 6, 2011
We are sorry to hear you had a problem with your 7000i reels. Someone from our customer service team will reach out to you shortly via the information you provided in the review form. We look forward to getting you back out on the water soon!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 7000i C3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Catfish Reel

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
DTro
from MN
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I fish for big nasty mean Flathead Catifsh all summer long and the 7000 is my favorite reel bar none. From the dependable drag to quality components, I know that when trophy bites I'll be ready for it.
Keep this reel clean and it will last a lifetime.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted July 17, 2011
Which should i go with, the 7000i c3, c4 6600, or the shimano cardiff. i will be using either one of these for salmon.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)