Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Ambassadeur Conventional or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia 7000i C3 CT MAG HS

Abu Garcia 7000i C3 CT MAG HS

The smooth casting actions of the 7000i C3 in a blistering 5.3:1 gear ratio that picks up 28 inches of line per turn.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 7 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 7(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 7000i C3 CT MAG HS
Review 1 for 7000i C3 CT MAG HS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great surf fishing reel

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from corpus christi,TX
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Took this reel out to PINS for the first time today I have it on a 12 ` tide water rod and loaded with 50 lb braid this reel is the best surf casting reel I have used. I was able to cast over 120 yards with out any backlash using a 6 ounce surf weight lost of adjustability for casting and very smooth I did not have any screaming like the last post but I took it apart and greased and oiled the reel before I took it out I noticed there was not much grease from the factory. I would definitely recommend this reel for surf fishing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 7000i C3 CT MAG HS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

screams

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
jalkry05
from singapore
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this excellent multiplier from my girlfriend as a present. Tried casting with this reel the first time and I got a shock of a life time! This baby screams like crazy! When I say scream, I meant it really scream like crazy when I cast! I woke up the whole jetty full of anglers! Is it normal? Is there any way to turn it off? Please advice..
Overall this reel rocks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Marv
NJ
Haha, check..
Posted July 14, 2014
Good one, maybe before you got it or while fumbling with the reel admiring its beauty you may have activated the line out switch. Turn it off and try again.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
tmatthew
Pikeville, KY
Posted June 1, 2014
Make sure the bait clicker is off when you cast, if it is on, it does tend to scream upon casting.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
PYak76
Cardiff, UK
"Screaming Reel"! Cure for it maybe...
Posted April 25, 2014
Hi mate,
Just thinking about your screaming Abu 7000, does it have a clicker button on side that allows us to hear running fish biting our bait while we sleep, must NOT leave that on while casting or it screams as think you have big fish running with your line etc,,,,,,HeHeHe
I hope this cures it.
Paul
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 3 for 7000i C3 CT MAG HS
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

very disapointed

PostedMay 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
cat daddy
from kansas
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
after looking for reels to buy. i bought the 7000 series bought one 7000i c3 which was amazing reel love it. So i figure to go buy the Mag series of it and was very disappointed to say the least.... because of the fact it can not lay the line down due to the lack of the level to lay the line down evenly. how does one suspect to get a good cast when the line is not even. i will be sending this product back and get a 7000i c3 NOT MAG!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJune 3, 2013
Hello, returning you product should not be an issue. The 7000i C3 CT Mag HS is engineered without a line guide/level wind system by design. Many anglers - specifically surf fisherman for whom this reel was designed around - prefer not having this feature as having a level wind system increases drag when casting due to idler gear engagement. More friction leads to decreased distance. While this isn't that big of a deal for most anglers, surf casters want to get the most distance as possible. As with any brand of reel with no level wind system, anglers use their fingers to guide the line onto the spool in a level fashion. Thanks for reaching out to us and if you ever need to get in touch with us directly, please call 1.800.228.4272. Have a great week!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Australia
level wind system no good on beach
Posted December 16, 2013
It is terrific that the 7000i C3 CT MAG HS does NOT have a level wind system. My father told me more than 40 years ago that such systems invariably get clogged with sand and fail. My wife bought me a reel with a level wind system and guess what - the level wind system got clogged with sand and failed on its second outing. So all praise for NOT having a level wind system - it is the only way to go for surf casting.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for 7000i C3 CT MAG HS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great piece of Engineering

PostedApril 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use it on my beach caster and get around 150m 5oz lead plus bait.
Cheers
Pete
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 7000i C3 CT MAG HS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great casting distance

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eric Johnson
from ft worth, texas
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased this reel from bass pro and have to say that it is easy to cast, very smooth, and is like a rocket launcher. I used it today with a 12ft ugly stik bigwater rod from the bank and was very pleased. I highly recommend this reel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 7000i C3 CT MAG HS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Reels

PostedMarch 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Louisa,Ky
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I use these reels in the chesapeak and saltwater fishing ,I also use the same reel when catfishing in ky ,These reels have never let me down yet ,I have used Abu Garica reel since i was 11 yrs old being 47 soon and still have and use these reels .I won't ever stray from the quality and price of these reels . I even own a 1750A still in leather reel case with oil and wrench,I also have a 1500C,all of which will be pass on too son and grandson.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 7000i C3 CT MAG HS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

abu 7000

PostedMarch 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
cfj
from London, Ky
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this reel this reel has great dependability I have used this reel for stripper, muskie, and catfish. It's easy to clean and smooth . However the only problem I have with this reel is that when fishing it is hard to cast. This reel is great for trolling and drop shoting on fish not bank fishing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Víctor
Panamá
The best
Posted August 25, 2012
when you catch your fish really understand the catch reached a different level, it's something you can only understand when you have the privilege of using this ABU, you trolling, casting, jigging , beach fishing, all your fishing reel can be in this.
sincerely, a very old fisherman from Argentina.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)