Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Ambassadeur Conventional or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia 7000i

Abu Garcia 7000i

As big on performance as it is on durability, the 7000i features a synchronized level wind system and six washer drag system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.611 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 7000i
Review 1 for 7000i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tommy
from Flordia
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This reel is perfect for saltwater freshwater vertical jigging live baiting bottom fishing anything u want to do I have caught mangrove snapper tarpon stingrays catfish and a 75 pound nurse shark I have it spooled with 50 pound power pro 350 yards this reel is perfect and the power handle is very reliable and the football handle is very comfortable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 7000i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

great reel for the first year

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
steven
from texas
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This reel worked great for me for the first year or so. I fished in saltwater and fresh. Always cleaned it and lubed it when saltwater came in contact. First thing that happed my worm gear stripped out and then the internal parts gave out. Could not use the clicker, then the release stopped working without fiddling with it for a few moments. Then the retrieve stopped working. The reel became completely useless. The same thing happed with my kalex about a year after purchasing it. I recently purchased a record. This is my last straw with Abu Garcia. Let's hope it last much longer than one year. I now understand why there is only a one year warranty.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 7000i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good reel, lightweight and reliable

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dany
from West hills, California
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have this reel for ten years, I use to fish from the beach, fishing stingrays and sharks. I never had problems is very reliable, lightweight and good for casting I use to fish up to 90 lbs and it worked without problems
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 7000i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money!!

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
AO
from Springfield,Il.
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently Reeled in a 50lb Flathead catfish with this reel and a 8 ft rod. The Reel worked great! Drag is easy to adjust while reeling. An all around solid Reel!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 7000i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice Reel!

PostedJune 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gonfishn
from Owings Mills, Maryland
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have owned the 7001i for a month now, (I fish the Chesapeake Bay every weekend) I have to say I really like this reel! I am surprised how far it casts on a 10 ft rod. Like all my other Abu Garcia gear, I can tell it is built to last.
15 minutes after casting it for the first time, I hooked and landed a big ol catfish. (see pic)
Thanks Abu Garcia!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 7000i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Performance!!!

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ethan
from Spencer, WV
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased my 7000i from Ronnie & Hellen's Muskie Shop less than a year ago. My reel is mounted on a 12' Ugly Stick Bigwater heavy action rod, this combination is by far the best investment I have ever bought. The spool is only filled with 65 lb Cortland Master braid, just for those smaller fish. The reel has out performed certain "Higher Quality" reels my dad has bought over the years. I have never been happier with my reel or rod combination except when I opened the package on my doorstep. I have caught everything from small bluegill to a couple 75 lb flatheads on the Ohio River. My 7000i is an absolute attention getter and people always ask me why I need something that big, I always smile and reply, "Because Warn winches are overkill."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 7000i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded my expectations

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
BigLentz
from Iowa
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I purchased this reel for flathead fishing in Iowa, and once a year the family and I go fishing off the shore of Siesta Key Beach in Florida. The reel casts very nice off the shore. The first big catch was a 100lbs black tip shark. It took no time at all to reel in with the nice drag system of this reel, I had approx. 280yrds of 80lbs powerpro. I was afraid of the shark possibly spooling me, so I set the drag and brought him in quick! I am now thinking of a 10000i just for more line capacity. Very pleased with this reel, amazing Fresh/Salt water reel!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
apak
kuala lumpur
how to buy
Posted November 14, 2012
I am beginner fishing and very interest with abu gracia product and interested to buy. How to get in my country.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for 7000i
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

versatile for heavy fresh water or a "25 pound" saltwater reel

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dave the Guide
from Hayward, WI
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My wonderful daughter bought this reel for fathers day some years ago and I have fished it from Alaska to Costa Rica. The 7000(C) is a beautiful dark royal blue enameled large handled bait caster that casts like a dream for plugging as well as a heavy jigging reel for grouper and other delicious bottom dwellers. I have caught salmon to 38 pounds; dog tooth snapper to 55 pounds and tarpon over 100 pounds with this reel. The drag is excellent. This reel has held up well over the years and in fact still looks almost like new. I have no experience with the "Big Game" edition but prefer this edition and am enjoying my daughters gift to me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted June 19, 2013
This review is for a Swedish made 7000c, not a Chinese made 7000i. Completely different reel.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for 7000i
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

excelente desempeño

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Orlando
from Costa Rica Central America
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Pesca de sabalo de 80 kg (Tarpon) en Costa Rica con una caña Veritas y un carrete Ambasadour 7000i
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
unhappy client
south africa
7000i
Posted May 15, 2013
this looks like a great reel but the line capacity is a bug problem if lost a bug shark because he run me empty great reels but it has negative points
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Josh
Texas
7000i ambassador
Posted May 2, 2013
Specs show 17 lb of mono line is max weight, can it take anymore?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for 7000i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy Red

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
kelp bed
from califorina
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used the Ambassadeur reels for years and I don't believe in the reinvention of the wheel. Considering I semi retired my Garcia Amb. 9000 (because it was my grandfathers) I still love to use it. I was a little nervous on a replacement considering the new ways companies have a way in making their New Product Lines look good and flashy,but sacrifice the integrity of workman ship. I truly believed my new 7000 series would be a good reel, but I did not expect it to be just as good if not better than the Gar. 9000. I really like the way it casts, not to mention the lever is much better than the button on accidental depressions, they just don't exist anymore. The levelwind is great too,even though I still find myself trying to guide my line. You guys did a great job with this reel. Thank you for not being on of those "Looks Good so Just Sell It Companies". The neat thing about the 7000 series is that my son will eventually have this one, and an old semi retired Garcia 9000 that still work 20 yrs. from now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
great
Posted January 28, 2014
best reel ever
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for 7000i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth Operator

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
EB473
from Mebane, NY
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The combo which is matched on a 2 pc. 8' rod is great to cast. The gears are smooth while reeling in fish. The combo is a joy to fish with. Quality products makes a difference!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 7000i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable and Long Lasting Reel

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
IROD
from San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This reel has been with me for years and I have yet to experience any problems with it! The reel has been used both in Saltwater and Freshwater conditions with no issues such as Backlashing, dragging, or losing power. I would highly recommend this reel to any skill leveled fisherman due to the easy operation of the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 7000i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong Reel

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
PlanoKeith
from Plano Texas
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have one of these and it is about 45 years old . With the dual side cast control and a clicker on it for live bait fishing. Even at 45 years old this reel works like it is brand new. . It has a wide spool so you can put some heavy pound line on it and also have enough line on the spool not to loose it all when you hook a BRUSER of a catfish that won't give up. I have had up to 125 yards of line spooled off from a 45 pound catfish and the reel was able to handle it with no problem. If you are looking for a reel that will actually handle BIG game fish this is the one to get. I will buy another when this one wears out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 7000i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST REELS MADE

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Randy
from Covington Ga
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:Less than 1
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i got a 150 pound bull head shark on the 7000 it done great ive got three of them and had no problems .
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 7000i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

shark slayer

PostedJune 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
bull
from townsend ga
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this reel 2 years and has been the best reel i have ever owned. I have fought sharks from 2 feet to 10 feet long. By far a better but than penn and shimano. Wouldnt trade it for anything. Thanks Abu Garcia
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mcwallyfish
Lancaster,Ca.
" Best All Around"
Posted August 20, 2011
This is a great reel for both fresh and salt water fishing, from larger catfishing (especially rivers,fast moving spillways, and deep water situations) to shallow water ocean rock fishing, halibut, sandies,calico's, white sea bass, excellent yellow tail reel, when using a medium pd braid, this reel is tough and almost maintenance free, a little love here and there and it will last you a life time, this reel can be used for most styles, and applications in any locations you could think of fishing, the super strong drag system is amazing, Every serious fisherperson should own this reel, I do, you won't regret it- Hey- all you Muskie fisherpeople type would probably love this reel too ! May not be fast enough, but try it- it sure has fighting strength
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for 7000i
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

price and style is what caught my eye!

PostedFebruary 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this was a great gift for my uncle. he uses this reel on his boat and also on the pier. i also got a chance to give it a go and see if it was worth the money... which it is! so far ive brought in a 10lb shovelnose off the pier and was able to just use the reel to crank it in b/c i was afraid the pole might give way. very solid!!!
me and my uncle are convinced this was a great and he is still in disbelief that it was under $150. :D
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 7000i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My best reels ever !!

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Larsen
from Denmark
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As they say: The Winner takes it all !! :-) also the big fish - which we all like ti catch - Thanks ABU
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 7000i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EASY CASTING

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
charley (sparky)
from flushing ny 11358
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have been using abu garcia products since i was a kid always great proformance for the price. upgraded from my 5600 cl to the 7000i need the wider reel and more line for boat fishing. I alos fish off of peirs and the shore easy casting get me oput to where the fish are .. i have it spooled with 30 lb braid 300 yard moss green. i have caught several 20+lb fish strippers and a large blue fish reel proformed great as it has always.. its a good reel at the right price. and keeping with the quiality that abu garcia has always had..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
girlfriend
south texas
record caught with 7000i
Posted February 10, 2013
i am very happy with the 7000i. it performed flawlessly when i landed the frio river catch and release record alligator gar.my husband and I own 3 other 7000s from the 1970s and 80s.and this new one is just as good if not better.we have been using abu reels for 20+ years truly the BEST reels made!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
xarejay28x
Downey CA.
Perfect Gift for my Uncle
Posted February 8, 2011
i wanted to do something really special for my uncle by buying him this reel and considering the fact that me and him are huge Abu Garcia Fans it was fitting to get him this reel. he is still in disbelief when he found out that this was under 150. which is a great price!!!
for an old guy :D my uncle said this reel is perfect. not too heavy not too light and gets the job done on a boat or pier. he uses it 5+ times a month and its still in great condition and is very smooth for launching out in the water!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)