Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Spincast Reels or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Abumatic 1276SLi

Abu Garcia Abumatic 1276SLi

The top of the line legendary Abumatic® spincast reel, the 1276SLi is designed especially for superlines and features 4 bearing Duragear™ drive plus instant anti-reverse.
Average Customer Rating:
2.8 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
4 out of 10(40%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Abumatic 1276SLi
Review 1 for Abumatic 1276SLi
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sent it back, to Spirit Lake.

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Oakland, CA
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very poor. As stated, internal gear must be stripped, as handle skips. Cover is very, very hard to screw on.
Casting is a task. Drag is very tough to dial.
David
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abumatic 1276SLi
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bearings

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dan
from Ottawa ON CANADA
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Although the general functionalities of the reel are great, the bearings of it did not last. Pretty disappointed which brings me to NOT recommend the reel. I would suggest it coming with 4 more bearings.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abumatic 1276SLi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

easy to use for kids / beginners

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My son(10yrs) has been using the 1276 sli reel during the past year extensively in salt water ( and myself the abumatic 460 ; abumatic 1075 models) without any problems. Purchased an abumatic 875 for him yesterday. Very easy to use closed face reels,smooth clutch systems. Never had problems with any of my abu reels over the years. Good products that will last a life time if you look after them and use them as intended for designed purpose.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abumatic 1276SLi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

BEST SPINCAST ON THE MARKET

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:Less than 1
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My search for a high quality and durable spincast reel for my grandson for both salt and freshwater use led me to the Abumatic1276SLi. Although it lacks the superior quality and durability of a casting or spinning reel, with FIVE bearings, there is no other spin cast reel I could find that comes even close to the quality of this reel.
My grandson puts a reel to test, with drops and slips as you would expect with any young child or beginner. This reel holds up very well to abuse with proper cleaning and annual winter overhauls.
This could be the perfect spincast reel with a few improvements. The main drive gear and pinion definitely need to be made of a much harder and highly corrosion resistant material. Corrision resistant bearings would add more durability. Lastly, attention to "better sealing" of all openings to prevent the introduction of beach sand when dropped while surf fishing would make it a true Salt Water Reel!
The 1276SLi is a moderately priced and very affordable reel for beginners of all ages or those who just want a simple fishing reel. I highly recommend it! I would definitely pay twice the price for one with the improvements I detailed above -(Are you listening Abu-Garcia?).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abumatic 1276SLi
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Where is the Quality

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
ttvfd14
from Santa Fe, NM
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have used Abu Garcia products since i was a child. Never had any issues until now. It seems that the main gear in these reels is not very strong. I purchased two of these reels - one for me and one for my youngest son. On the same trip both reels failed and it appears the main internal gear is striped. Hopefully I can get this fixed, but I am afraid it will happen again. Abu please strengthen the internal gear. I don't want to buy another brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaOctober 1, 2012
Good morning. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your Abumatic 1276SLi reels . All Abu Garcia reels carry a one year warranty and we will be happy to help you out. One of our customer service specialists will be contacting you shortly at the email address you provided for this review and get you back to fishing. If you ever have any questions or concerns we can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We will be in touch with you shortly.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abumatic 1276SLi
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

just falls apart

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this for my wife a year ago first time out the handle falls off next the drags falied tighten down as far as it go' s and no drag,than yesterday the button breaks and falls off
thought I was buying a Quailty product but was very disappointed
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abumatic 1276SLi
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice reel but poor line choice.

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
oldfisher
from Manitoba, Canada
Age:Over 65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Berkley Fireline seems to be a very poor choice for this reel. Line keeps blocking in reel. Can only cast for 1/3 the distance of my 20 year old unit. Will try different lines.
Extremely disappointing. Received as fathers day gift so can't return.
Can anyone suggest a better line choice?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Dmack
Little Rock, AR
Same here!!!!
Posted August 14, 2012
My pal's always joked with me about closed face reels..because i would buy the 15.00 reels from wal-mart...so i went to academy and bought this one...came pre spooled with 10lb test....i replaced line with 8lb test...within 2 months of using it 2-3 times a week...the lines was locking worse than the cheapo's from wal-mart....will never buy this product again!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Try SpiderWire Stealth
Posted August 29, 2011
You might want to give SpiderWire Stealth braid a try. It works well in this reel.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Abumatic 1276SLi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Abumatic 1276

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
UtahLoanPro
from Northern Utah
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Truly one of the best, if not the best, spincast reel I've ever used. Depress the thumb release and the bail works effortlessly, retrieves have little vibration, and hookups are quick and positive. I've used in fresh and brackish water and have had no problems at all. The cost is not a back breaker either- with a lifetime usable tool costing much less $100 it is easy to see why these are so popular. A "highly recommend" for experienced and newbies alike.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abumatic 1276SLi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good reel, bad line

PostedMay 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
GoldyRoyal
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Last year, I purchased the abumatic 1276SLI mainly to fish trouts and others smalls fishs. The first cast with this reel really disapointed me because the line was blocking in the reel and it wasn't smooth. I just replaced the berkley fireline (original line) by a 20 pound spiderwire stealth braid and the reel became totally different. Now my real cast well and it is smoother. There is one weak point in this real and it is the drag. The drag should be stronger for bigger fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abumatic 1276SLi
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The main gear is weak.

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
tony
from Flagstaff, AZ
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I wish that abu would do something about the strength of the main gear. My dad started me fishing abu products in the 70's and I am commited to using their products. I use baitcast reels but my wife has to use the spin cast because she has a problem with backlash. We have replaced the main gears in every one of the spin cast reels we have purchased by abu. Abu please plate the gears or something that will strengthen them to improve the performance!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
18of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
husker
Crete ne
Abumatic 1276SLi
Posted July 28, 2014
Drag is to weak. Reels needs improvement and should be able to put at least 17lb test line on.Abu are u listening? would not recommend for catfishing , I Would pay more for a much higher quality reel. because I know in my heart abu Garcia makes the best fishing reels
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Allan
Bartlesville Oklahoma
Main gear is cheap junk
Posted April 23, 2011
I have been using Garcia reels for almost 40 years,still have an old abumatic 290 I bought back in the 70's the gears back then were a very good quality (the reel still works as good as ever) the new reel looks good on the outside, but where it counts, quality is obviously suffering.. the gears in the new reel I bought less than 2 years ago lasted me just 2 fishing trips before the teeth stripped off the main gear, the gear looks like cast pot metal and very crudely machined(never did operate smoothly) I opted not to fix it , assuming the replacement parts are the same as the original.. sorry Abu Garcia if you want my future business you need to get back to your original roots of making a quality product..
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)