Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Spincast Reels or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Abumatic Classic 170i

Abu Garcia Abumatic Classic 170i

Classic dependability with modern performance are designed into the Classic 170i 3 bearing Duragear™ drive with instant anti-reverse.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Abumatic Classic 170i
Review 1 for Abumatic Classic 170i
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great reel but...

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sky
from Kansas
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This has been a great reel. Never had a problem until roughly after a year (no fishing during winter months) the line started to catch within the reel to the point the line would not even cast. The rotor assembly metal is so soft that the line wears groves at the top and bottom of the rotor. Costing me $15 to replace. I wanted a good spincast reel and it is a good one...but...$15 every 6 months isn't what I wanted.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abumatic Classic 170i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

straight abu

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Poseidon`s catch
from PA
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 13 yrs old and buy all abu. They have the best of every thing. Granted a little pricey but all in all so worth it. My family thinks I'm crazy for spending all my money on poles and reels, but abu is the greatest of the best. I have fished since a few months old so trust me when I say you want this and other products from abu
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abumatic Classic 170i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oh my!

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
mister
from sweden
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found my old 170 that i used back in early 90's. Its been laying around in my old familyhouse so i was very happy when i found it! so many good catches and i remember it was easy to use, but did it still work ?
- It was used in saltwater for atlest 7-9 hours a day for a period of 7-8 years.
- It wasent cleaned before put away
- The salty line was still attached
- It hasent been touched or used since 96'
I just flushed it quickly in regular tap water and cleaned up with a napkin, went to the sea and tried it out and it worked FLAWLESS. after all these years! No mechanical issues or any flaws in throwing or handling. I'm stunned. I will never switch from Abumatic again, this is priceless.
First catch was a Plaice on 1.2kg !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abumatic Classic 170i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great reel

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
umpa
from glendale, Az
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i use this reel in urban rishing and local lakes. this reel preforms verry well... the only issue i have with it is its a bit top heavy on a rod well to be expeted.... my 5 year old nefue love to use it... thanks for such a great reel
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abumatic Classic 170i
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not reccomended for saltwater

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this for my son, he's 4 and not quite ready to graduate to spinning reels for inshore flats fishing or bass fishing. Got this because it is "saltwater ready" not so much, we fish saltwater regularly and I am a freak about rinsing and caring for my equipment. This reel after a few trips has got serious corrosion all over the internals of the reel (it is still pretty on the outside.) It still works but not very smoothly. Also thought by reading these reviews that the reel would handle braid, again not so much, you can spool it with braid but it will not cast braid at all. Also the thing weighs a ton, I would not want to cast it all day that is for sure. So I have bit the the bullet and taught my boy how to use spinning gear. I was overall very disappointed with this reel, and do not recomend it at all. The only positive is that it has a really nice drag which is important, my son did land a 30 inch redfish and several other smaller red's with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abumatic Classic 170i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All I buy is Abu Garcia

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Weston, WI
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a little biased to Abu Garcia reels as I am the third generation in my family to only buy Abu Garcia. These reels are tough, long lasting and do the job very well. With a little maintenance these will last forever...and if they don't parts are very easy to get and replace.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Bubba
Pleasant Plains, Arkansas
Abumatic Classic 170i
Posted July 4, 2013
I ordered two of these. My wife and I tried them out the very next morning. They are nice casting and made tough. The drag is one of the best features. The thing she and I both dislike about the reel is the button. It is not centered (like most reels). It is off set to the left side, which makes the casting quite awkward. Therefore, she and I both give the reel a "3 Star".
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS
JB
Posted September 21, 2012
I HAVE HAD A FEW OF THE 170'S OVER THE YERS, AND UNTIL MY HOUSE WAS BROKEN INTO 12 YEARS AGO, I WULD STILL HAVE THEM, I WAS PLEASANTLY SURPRISED MY BROTHER WENT ON THIS WEB AND FOUND THEM, WE HAVE USED THESE SINCE THE 70'S IN SALT AND FRESH WATER,ITS A GREAT ALL AROUD PERFORMER
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
mister
sweden
oh yes!
Posted July 28, 2012
I just came across my old 170i that i used for all my childhood (8 hours saltwater fishing each day, atleast. Year was 1989 to 1997. I did today (2012) a fast clean of the internal parts (1min) and it works PERFECTLY after all these years, it has been in an my old fishinghut without cleaning for over 10 years! its AMAZING. Quality is superb, ill never swtich from this one as long as im able to fish !
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 7 for Abumatic Classic 170i
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super Reel

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
aaaman
from port neches,Texas
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:1
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super smooth,strong,great drag reel is just top heavy.Needs to be lower to the rod.but wife likes it LOL !!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bubba
Little Rock Arkansas
Very Pleased
Posted May 27, 2012
I always wanted one but just wouldnt get off my wallet.My wife saw me looking at one and asked why didnt i buy it? I told her I just really didnt want to spend that much money on a spincast reel.She surprised me with one 2 hours later.I wish I would have bought one sooner.I really enjoy it its very smooth.I usually crappie fish but i keep it in the boat and always handy it sits on a 6ft MH Quantum rod with a silver and blue 4inch Rebel minnow just in case the bass are breaking the warter and messing with my crappie. Every time I pick it up I think of her.I am a lucky man.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Abumatic Classic 170i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Abumatic 170

PostedApril 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
BamaBroker
from Central, AL
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Even though I started out with a True Temper bait casting reel, I was graduated up to the 170. I have caught everything from Bream, to Largemouth Bass to Spanish Mackeral, small Sand Sharks, small Grouper, Speckled Trout, Catfish, Sheepshead, and plenty of them using this reel. Even seeing this reel takes me back a zillion years of fishing with Dad when we only had one reel each, and both were 170s. The tackle box had 2 drawers and we caught more fish then than now with all the modern conveniences.
I need to find these locally and start using them again. I still use my 5000cs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Erik
Okatie SC
quite possibly one of the best reels ever made
Posted January 31, 2012
If this reel is anything like the original 170, it will last you many many years. Best suited for freshwater fishing. I landed hundreds of fish with the original 170 growing up as a child into my adult life. I have lost possession of that reel but plan of buying this updated version to replace it.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Abumatic Classic 170i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Die hard

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
WVRaybird
from West Virginia
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Abu Garcia has always been a company that stood for quality products. The Abumatic Classic 170i is a result of it. This reel has nothing but quality in it. You can take it on a lake or river and never worry about it. Or you can take it on a ocean adventure and fish with the best of them. This reel has a ultra smooth drag when you need it the most. The front cone is made out of aluminum so you don't have to worry about rusting. Casting is a also a effortless deed. It will cast the same with 12lb test as it would with 4lb test. The gears are also very dependable so you don't have to worry when you have a big one on. This reel would be great for a boy starting out as to a life long "die hard" that is still going for the monster catch of all time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abumatic Classic 170i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Abu ever!

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fleeter55
from Belvidere IL
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the greatest Abu Garcia reel ever. I have fished with 170s for over 30 years! I have used them to catch evrything from Crappies to the mighty Musky. I like to fish the Mississippi and you never know what fish will bite next. You need to be able to change your drag to be able land that Northern Pike when you were just fishing for Crappies. The 170 has the backbone and the smoothness to handle any fish. I know I have 3 of them. Try my 170 you won't be dissatisfied!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Soundoptics
Sweden
Posted July 21, 2013
I bought my Abumatic 170 in a set with caster rod in 1972 when I was twelve. I think the set was called Abu Superb. As a child and teenager I used this for many hours per week every summer. Mostly perch, pike, trout...The last 30 years I have used a few times per summer. The reel has never been serviced. It has not been taken care of particularly well. I have used it in saltwater now and then but mostly in lakes. The reel has a few scratches but still looks nice and I think the performance is more than 99% of what it was when new. The rod is fine too. Totally amazing quality. I don't have much user experience with more "advanced" alternatives because I have been happy with this equipment
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Big Katuna
Vancouver,B.C.,Canada
Very good spincast.
Posted February 11, 2013
I have two 170i reels,they are workhorses and keep my lures fishing.One day I broke off about 10 coho with 12# floro-which I started using last year (with great success).The line was failing.The rotator was deeply grooved at the pickup pins and scratched into the grooves.This reel had landed 250 plus fish,the last 50 with florocarbon mainline.
The rotator is supposed to be chromed stainless steel.Hard service and the florocarbon may cause failure.
Good reel,I love them but replacing this part may be routine service for some fishermen.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Big Katuna
Vancouver,B.C..
Workhorse,good value.
Posted October 25, 2012
Love this reel,so easy to keep the hook wet and fishing.I have abused mine the last 500, or so,pink,coho etc..What went wrong?The spool cover where the pins pop out to catch the line,they grooved by line dig in.I used trilene,but also some vanish florocarbon for leader.Wonderful reel,but not perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Big KaTuna.
Vancouver,B.C.,Canada
Dependable workhorse.My favourite.
Posted January 9, 2012
I love this thing.I have many spincast as well as other good reels.In the last 6 months it has battled 500 salmon and steelhead,fishing is great.My landing percentage may be 50 % but not the reel's fault.It is great to trust your gear.I fish all the time and put in 10 hour days,these are very strong fish.Thank you Abu.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)