Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Spincast Reels or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Abumatic 576i

Abu Garcia Abumatic 576i

The 576i weighs a mere 9.4 ounces, 3 bearings, instant anti-reverse, and is constructed with corrosive resistant components to be ready to fish in fresh or saltwater.
Average Customer Rating:
1.8 / 5
1.8
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
1 out of 10(10%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Abumatic 576i
Review 1 for Abumatic 576i
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not impressed, This time

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Love to fish eh
from Land O Lakes, Canada
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have owned a lot of spincast reels in the past but about 5 years ago I bought my first Abu Garcia and after having landed many, many great fish with it, it finally wore out early this summer. I decided to go with the 576i but it seems I have experienced the same problems as everyone else. Within the first week the button broke on the hinge point which didn't allow it to return all the way. I like the way it casted so I continued to use it. Week 3, I was casting crank baits for Smallies and I could barely get a 3lb bass back to the boat because the internal gears stripped. I usually carry 5-6 rod / reel combos in my boat including 2 with spincast reels, baitcasters and spinning reels. Spin cast reels serve a great purpose in some situations so I wanted to replace it. I took it back to my retailer and they exchanged it. I upgraded to a 1276sli but after reading the reviews on it, I hope I didn't make a mistake.
I am going to use the reel this weekend and let you know...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaSeptember 11, 2013
Good morning and thank you for contacting us. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your 576i and are glad that you were able to exchange it at the retailer without issue. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty and we are always here to help. If you need to talk to us now or have any issues in the future, don't hesitate to call us at 1.800.228.4272 and we will be happy to help. Have a great day and tight lines.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abumatic 576i
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

576I poor quality reel

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Degoryh
from Denton Texas
Age:55-65
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased this reel expecting a high quality reel. After returning within the first year for warranty repairs now the thumb break has broken. I have also recently purchase dthe 276i hoping for the best but it appears to be having the same thumb break problem.
I am very disappointed in these reels.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJuly 17, 2013
Hello - we are sorry to hear that you are having an issue with your spincast reels. Even if you are outside of the one year warranty, we are here to help. Our reel services team can get you the replacement parts that you need or repair you reel for a nominal fee. Under normal operation, the problem with the push button should not occur. We would like to learn more about your issue and get you back to fishing. Please reach out to our customer service department at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to assist you. Thank you for contacting us and we look forward to working with you to get you back to fishing quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abumatic 576i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed!!

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this reel on Garcia's reputation for excellence. The first time i used it, I had a problem with the drag, I couldn't reel in the line. I adjusted it, to the best of my ability. I was new to fishing, I read how to adjust it, now due to my naivety, it is useless.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abumatic 576i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the old reliable reels of the past

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am 60 years old & my Dad always used Abu Garcia reels when I was growing up because of their excellent performance. I bought a 576I approx a year ago and only fish maybe 20 times a year, and the gears are shot. I took it to a repair facility and was told that the gears were not shimmed properly at the factory. Very disappointed with this reel.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaAugust 27, 2012
We are very sorry to hear about the problem you had with your 576i as this is not normal. We appreciate your storied history of support of Abu Garcia. That's why we have already contacted our customer service department and informed them of your issue. A representative will be contacting your shortly on the email address you provided with this email to resolve this matter. If you need to speak with a representative directly they can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272 and will be happy to address any problme you may have. As you know, all Abu Garcia reels carry a one year warranty and we will be glad to help you out. Thanks for reaching out to us. We appreciate your support.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TOSHAY_65
DOUGLAS GEORGIA
ABUMATIC 576I
Posted February 24, 2014
I TO BOUGHT THE 576I CAST WONDERFUL, BUT AFTER CATCHING A FEW SMALL BASS THE GEARS BEGAN TO FAIL , COULDNT PULL IN A BREAM AFTER THAT , SO ME THINKING I WORE IT OUT I BOUGHT ANTOHER ONE HWD THE SAME ISSUE THIS ONE AFTER 2 FISHING TRIPS , IF YOU CAN FIXED THE GEAR PROBLEM , IT WOULD BE A SMOOTH REEL
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Abumatic 576i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Reel For Crappie

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
David
from Lake Fork Texas
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used mine for several years now. I own 6 of these reels. These reels are designed for small pan fish up to @3 pounds. With 10-pound stren original I have landed so many meals of crappie and sandies. Fishing line on a spincast reel becomes worn-out after a few months simply of the tight radius’s the line has to go through while retrieving the line. This reel is great for small baits and lures. Occasionally take off the face piece and clean the lake yuck from the inside. The thumb button also has a positive stop so you don’t apply too much pressure to the reels mechanism while casting. These are great reels and if you take care of them they last just fine. When I go after the big fish I use the correct equipment, I use my c3’ and c4’s for catfish, drum and big bass. I have owned some of these since high school in 1976.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
E. Fudd of Fishing
NW Arkansas
Shoulda read reviews before buying this thang
Posted August 12, 2013
For a reel that is supposed to be a smooth operator, this thing is clunky when casting and even with drag in highest setting it reels in so slowly that fish are given plenty of time to slip the hook. The guy at the store talked me out of buying the Zebco Omega Pro. Won't get hooked again on any Abu Garcia spin cast reel. Rating @ maybe one star.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Abumatic 576i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Two reels broken....

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Ovett,MS
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have several Abumatic 475s and a 1275 and they have been great, simple reels. I purchased two 576i reels with the same expectations. Both reels broke within the first few casts. The button is broken on one side on both reels. One reel feels like it is slipping every few rounds, both reels have a "drag" sound when casting, one of which cost me a lure.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJanuary 25, 2012
Hello, We are sorry to hear you had a problem with these two reels. We'll send you a note via the contact information on your submission form so we can learn more about your problem and solve it.

Thanks for letting us know. Our service department is available at abugarcia@purefishing.com and at 888-228-4272
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
degoryh
Dallas texas
Broken reels
Posted July 15, 2013
I purchased the 576I reels and have been disappointed in the reel. I sent it in for Warranty replairs within the 1 year and now the thumb break has broken on the reel. I just recently purcased an the smaller 476i and it appears to be having the same issue with the thumb break. I do not beleive i would recommend this product again
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Abumatic 576i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cheaply made dealer

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have been an avid abugarcia real lady until lately.the final straw was after getting the abumatic576i asa giftfor my husband. I havehadproblemsconstantly with the drag and now the release button.which is plastic has broken. I am finished..will buy cheap zebcoss if I have to to get one that will preform better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaOctober 4, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for letting us know about your problem with the reel. Someone from our customer service team will be in contact with you via the email provided in the review form. We are always happy to help at 888.338.4272 or abugarcia@purefishing.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abumatic 576i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not What I Thought It Was Going To Be.

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
NONAME
from Galveston,TX
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
I am a new angler, this was my first reel I have bought and personally I think it is a piece of garbage. I used it in saltwater 3 times, the first time I used it the drag control froze up and i was unable to use it, that was fixed with a bit of oil, also towards the end of the day the gears started to become hard to crank. The second time I used it the same problems occurred. The third day I used it was the worst, when I would cast and holding down the button to cast it seemed like it would slip and kind of, for lack of a better term, cast it's self. later in the day the gears would not crank smoothly at all. *Note after and during every use I flushed the whole reel with fresh water and oiled it down.* Right now this reel sits here taken apart and in pieces. I am cleaning out every part of this reel in order to try and salvage it for future use.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abumatic 576i
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This reel is rubbish

PostedJune 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I lost my 15 year old Abumatic and because I was so impressed with it I purchased a new model. What a difference - the new reels are rubbish. They feel flimsy and the bearings disintegrated in the first one I purchased. The replacement has held up OK but it just doesn't have the same feel of quality as the original one I lost. Also, I haven't even used it in saltwater and the outside shell has corrosion on it. Other Abu Garcia reels may be excellent quality but these are rubbish. Steer clear of them. Am that disappointed with it I just purchased another reel of a different brand to replace it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abumatic 576i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Abumatic 576i

PostedJune 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
the reel has way to many errors i have had to have it fixed 2 times now and about to be a third
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJune 6, 2011
We are sorry that you've had a problem with your reel. Someone from our Customer Service team will send you an email shortly to get more information.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
jim bob
morgan city
push button reels by abu garcia
Posted July 5, 2013
all push button reels are good for fresh water but if you try to use them in salt water there not worth putting on a roe probably the worst reel you could buy for any salt water fishing there all are nothing but high priced pieces of junk
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
David
Lake Fork Texas
all six of mine work fine
Posted April 23, 2012
I have used mine for several years now. I own 6 of these reels. These reels are designed for small pan fish up to @3 pounds. With 10-pound stren original I have landed so many meals of crappie and sandies. Fishing line on a spincast reel becomes worn-out after a few months simply of the tight radius’s the line has to go through while retrieving the line. This reel is great for small baits and lures. Occasionally take off the face piece and clean the lake yuck from the inside. The thumb button also has a positive stop so you don’t apply too much pressure to the reels mechanism while casting. These are great reels and if you take care of them they last just fine. When I go after the big fish I use the correct equipment, I use my c3’ and c4’s for catfish, drum and big bass. I have owned some of these since high school in 1976.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)