Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Spincast Reels or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Abumatic 476i

Abu Garcia Abumatic 476i

The 476i features a dual bearing Duragear™ drive system including a instant anti-reverse bearing for hard hook sets and collects 22 inches of line per turn.
Average Customer Rating:
2.8 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
4 out of 9(44%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Abumatic 476i
Review 1 for Abumatic 476i
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

ag 476I - 3 kayak TRIPS AND broken

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
drumr8
from South Texas
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
I did alot of research and for the money the AG 476i fit the bill of my need to bass fish out of my kayak - the ease of a spincast rod is what i use - The 476i was great the first two trips out and wa just the ticket for landing 3 - 5 pound black bass - theis last week I took it and hooked a 2 pounder and the gears started slipping - thinking it was just tighting the reel crank - i adjusted but the problem continued - i took it home on teh work bench and took it apart finding nothing wrong with the main gear system - so it has to be internal somewhere -I called a local reel repair shop and they said no that reel is disposable it would cost more to fix than replace -- well darn - for $40.00+ dollars for a fishing reel I expected more - so sad - buy something else - K
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJune 16, 2014
Good afternoon. Sorry to hear you had an issue with 476i reel as what you describe here is not normal. All of our reels carry a 1 year warranty and we are here to help. Please reach out to our customer service department at Tel: 1.800.228.4272 – a representative will be happy to assist you with a warranty claim. Even if you are outside of this warranty period, OUR reel services team can repair your reel for a nominal fee. Thanks for reaching out to us and we look forward to helping you get your issue resolved
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abumatic 476i
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed in Longevity of Product

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fishin Musician
from Chicago, IL
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The reel worked fine for about 1/2 a year and now it refuses to wind the line back onto the spool. We are disappointed in the performance of the product. We bought it as an upgrade from a lesser priced closed face reel, however it has not performed up to expectations.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMay 13, 2014
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing an issue with your Abumatic 476i. What you describe here is not normal. We are here to help as all Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty. Please reach out to our customer service department at 1.800.228.4272 and a representive will be happy to assist you with a warranty claim. We look forward to your call and will get you back to fishing quickly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abumatic 476i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

good reel when purchased, but does not hold up in salt water use.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
i currently own 8 ambassadeur reels and have fished them continuously for 15 years in salt/brackish water usage with no problems. So, naturally, I figured that a QUALITY(at least as far as price was concerned) spincast ABU reel for my wife to use would be great. The 476i seemed like a good reel when we purchased it, and it casted and retrieved well. After about three or four trips, though, it started hanging up when it was being cast. Upon looking at the retrieval spool, I noticed that the spool was made of poor quality plated carbon steel and was beginning to pit on the edges where the line passed around it while casting. This causes the line to "catch" in the corrosion pits, greatly reducing the casting distance. i have kept up with the reel, doing routine maintenance on it, but the corrosion occured anyway. Very dissapointing.........
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaOctober 23, 2013
Good afternoon - we are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your Abumatic 476i. It is important to note that this model is not rated for saltwater use which is the reason that you are most likely experiencing corrosion issues. The 1275Sli, 170i and 576i have all been engineered for the salt and use special components that are designed to handle a harsh saltwater environment. Other models including the 476i are designed exlusively for freshwater use. We are here to help - one of our customer service representatives has already been informed about your issue and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review to learn more about your case. If you ever need to get in touch with us directly by phone, don't hesitate to call us at 1.800.228.4272. A representative will be in touch with you shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abumatic 476i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly constructed

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I never normally write reviews on good or bad, however this reel broke on the fourth cast. I've tried to fix it and when taking the reel to pieces realised how poorly and flimsily constructed it was. I'm not risking it breaking on me again on the rare times I get to go fishing, so have just binned the item and just put it down to bad luck on my part for choosing this reel.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaSeptember 9, 2013
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with the 476i as what you describe is not normal and we would like to learn more about your specific issue. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty and we will be happy to get your warranty claim started. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your case and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review to get your issue resolved. If you ever need to contact us by phone, please don't hesitate to call us at 1.800.228.4272. We will be in touch with you shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abumatic 476i
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good reel but lacks durability

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
J
from Ky
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have owned this reel for about three years and it has performed good until the last few trips. The Reel seems to be making some odd noies under load and is not as smooth as it once was, the drag button also feels funny. It needs to be repaired but I am afraid it would cost more than the reel is worth. I take good care of my equipment so it is disappointing to have problems this soon.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaFebruary 1, 2013
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us - we are sorry to hear you are having an issue with your Abumatic. Even though you are a couple of years outside of the 1 year warranty that we offer with all of our reels, we will be happy to help you out. From what you describe, it sounds as though your reel needs minor maintenance servicing. While our reels require very minimal maintenance, after 3 years of use a good cleaning and oiling should have your reel running like new. If you do not wish to perform this maintenance yourself, our reel services team will be happy to service and fix your reel for a nominal charge. Please reach out to a customer service representative at 1.800.228.4272 for assistance. A specialist will be able to walk you through the process and give you details specific to your needs. Depending on where you are located, there also may be an authorized service center in your area as well. We look forward to talking with you - have a great weekend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abumatic 476i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Time Spincast

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Edman
from Illinois
Age:Over 65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have several of these that we use at a powerplant lake. 4-6 lb. largemouth bass are very common, some even bigger. We(my adult son and I) have never missed a fish with these reels. We keep them filled with 12 lb. mono Trilene XL or 12 lb. Trilene Big Game and well oiled and they work great and have used them several trips to this lake.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
buddy
valdosta Ga.
Posted April 10, 2014
I purchased two of these reels about two months ago. The push button to release the line on both reels has broken. Very poorly constructed with plastic. Disappointed and would not recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Abumatic 476i
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disposable

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steve
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
For the last 4 years, I've bought my wife one of Garcia's reels including this one. Doesn't matter which one or how expensive, Each was good for one year only.I found a shop to rebuild them, but the cost was as much as the reels. Last year, I bought her a Zebco Omega. Still going strong as new, & she uses it almost daily. What happened to the Garcis quality?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJune 6, 2012
Sorry to hear you had an issue with your Abumatic. All of our reels carry a one year warranty but if you have issues outside of the warranty time frame, we offer repair services for a nominal fee. One of our customer service representatives will be contacting you at the email address that you provided for this review. If you would like to speak to one of our representatives, please contact us at (800) 228-4272 and we will be happy to help you out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Steve
Avinger, Tx
Customer Service
Posted July 21, 2012
Abu Garcia contacted me after my negative post, & offered to resolve my issues. I sent the reels off & was quickly sent back new replacement reels. A fresh reminder that they still consider the customer first.
Many thanks to Abu Garcia
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Abumatic 476i
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My Wife's Favorite Reel

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My wife uses this reel on our frequent hybrid bass fishing trips. She has no problem casting it and the drag holds up well to the powerful runs common with these fish. I spend less time messing with gear and more time fishing and both of us enjoy the trip. I have a bucket with several Johnson's and Zebcos in various states of repair/disrepair. I plan on dumping them in the trash and buying 1 or 2 more Abumatics.
A good reel at a good price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abumatic 476i
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For the Price It Can't Be Beat

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
TrickyD
from Houston, Tx
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I'm now on my 2nd 476i. My 1st on, purchased last summer, gave me excellent service and dependability through the fall and spring flounder runs down at "Roll Over Pass" on the Bolivar Peninsula, on the upper Texas Gulf Coast. Last w/e I hooked onto what I figured was a 18 - 20 lb something, while wade fishing out on the third bar, on the incoming tide. At first I though it might have been a stingray, but then I got it within 20 - 30 feet of my net and it came up and rolled it's bronze colored back at me and showed me his big black spot. After about 15 minutes, that bad boy decided he'd had enough of me pulling and tugging on his bottom lip and headed down and away from me. Suddenly the drag on my 476i gave out and it started "growling", then the reel stopped retrieving. Needless to say, that called for drastic measures. My buddy, wearing some really cool Abu Fishing gloves took a couple of twists in the 15 lb test Trilene, around his hand and we were off to the races. I slammed the Abu 7' Revenge rod in the rod holder on my fishing belt, whipped out my knife and cut the line and between the two of us we were finally able to get that 29 in, 24lb "Bad Boy" to the net. Yesterday I took the 476i back to Academy Outdoor, where I purchased it and they gave me a brand new one. The guy said I wore out the crank bearings. .... go figure! I've been using Abu Garcia reels since I was a Kid. Matter of fact I still have, and use, the very first Ambassador 5000 I ever bought. Thanks for all the years of dependability, fun and carefree excitement. You guys get my vote every time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abumatic 476i
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good and kinda cheap

PostedMay 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i have went through two of them, they good but the button is cheap made out of plastic,if that was upgrade,it would be a goo reel. and i cant go spend money every time it breaks, abu garcia it would be nice for couple of replacements for the two i had spent money on..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pigfarmer68
ohio
not good
Posted July 24, 2011
i bought one the other day and went to use it but everytime i caught a fish it wouldent let me reel them in bc of the drag i will never buy another
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)