Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Spincast Reels or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Abumatic 276i

Abu Garcia Abumatic 276i

The 276i features a two bearing Duragear™ drive system including a instant anti-reverse bearing and collects 19 inches of line per turn.
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
11
9 out of 22(41%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Abumatic 276i
Review 1 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

average purchase

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The reel works nice reeling line in. Drag needs to be reworked by the company to be a little heavier to work with 8 & 10lb. test line. I've respooled mine with 6lb. test but haven't tried it yet. Also with the thumb button that everyone is speaking of is to use common sense when casting. Maintenance is rather easy. I'll add to this review later when I get a chance to use this reel again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Tn
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
My first one had the gears strip on my first fishing trip but the it was okay because the retailer gladly let me exchange it. my second one worked fine my first two trips out and on the third the trigger assembly completely malfunctioned and basically came apart in the boat. Now I'm at a loss of words completely disappointed that such a big name brand could such poor quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bang for your buck!

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My son and I fish at least five times a week from April 1st until ice in December. We have many rods and reels and a few great Abu Garcia bait casters. We usually burn through closed reels every few months as we fish so often. We decided to try a small upgrade from the countless Shakespeare reels piling up and saved for parts. This Abumatic 276i was a welcomed addition to our arsenal. My son was casting a country mile and had no problems bringing in some mid sized bass and perch. As with any reel we replaced the line. I'm not sure if we needed to but we like what we like so we always use the same line on closed spinners. For the price I would say that the Abumatic 276i is the best bang for your buck. I still don't know how it would hold up to a lunker but we were very pleased with the purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poorly designed.

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Derek D
from Yarmouth NS canada
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought this reel last season. From the first cast I've had issues with the release button. After the retailer wouldnt replace it because I only had my cc statement and not a store receipt, i decided to look inside. The arms that the button uses to pivot on when pressed is too short and often slide out of the sockets causing the button to push too far ahead stopping our cast short. Its random But does it at least 3/4 of the time. After 20 yrs of using these reels, this one has finally jaded me. I dont know what else to do with it..., too light for an anchor! Too expensive to throw out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaApril 8, 2014
Good morning and thanks for reaching out to us. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your 276i and will be happy to get your issue resolved. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty and a representative will be happy to assist you. Please give our reel services department a call at 1.800.228.4272. Thanks and have a great week.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bob8323
Worth, IL.
Nice Reel
Posted August 11, 2014
I'm a long term Zebco fan. So I decided to purchase 276i because had an extra pole and wanted to a Abu Garcia spin cast reel. We'll I was impressed as how well it has performed. Have caught several bass on it and it never failed to cast out or retrieve. I'm going to ditch my Shakespears reels and convert over to 276i.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not even worth the money

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Joseph
from San Antonio Texas
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought Abumatic before I deployed, used it a few times. It had some casting problems so I thought it was my line. I replaced the line after I returned. I have tried many times to do something, I even tried unscrewing the cap and keeping it lose while casting. I recently tried respolling it again with braided. line. I can honestly say I am fed up with trying to mess with it. I was injured while in afghanistan by a blast and fishing is the only thing that keeps me calm. UNLESS I am trying to use an Abu Garcia 276i reel. DO NOT BUY THIS REEL.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMarch 20, 2014
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty and we will be happy to assist you with a warranty claim. Our customer service team will be happy to get your issue resolved and get you back to fishing. Please reach out to our team at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to assist you. Have a great week and we look forward to your call.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like reel

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from perry oklahoma
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like reel have 276i and1276sli do not like clicking when reel in, guess that must be a reel speed indicator. Do not care for it would like to be able to do something to get rid of it. Joel
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy this reel

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The main issue with this reel is that the line cuts groove through the rotor assembly where release pins inside reel are causing casting problems (line sticking in grooves)the rotor assembly should be made out of something which line doesn't cut through eg.( Hardened steel)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJanuary 6, 2014
Good morning. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your Abumatic 276i. All Abu Garcia reels carry a one year warranty and we will be happy to assist you. One of our customer service specialists will be contacting you shortly at the email address you provided for this review and get you back to fishing shortly. If you ever have any questions or concerns we can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We will be in touch with you shortly – have a great week.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Tony T
Cincinnati
Quality is a thing of the past.
Posted May 16, 2014
I only use spincast reels to pan fish. Years of fishing with Zebco, Johnson
Diawa and Abumatic, I thought Abumatic was top of the line. No more.
Buying a 276i on sale at Wallmart, I thought I got a deal. Just like many
others, I had trouble the first time out. The drag was hard to adjust, either
all the way on or none at all. Then the casting problems where the line
won't come off the spool cleanly. I caught a 1 pound catfish and it felt like
the reel was coming apart and I could barely reel the fish in. Not worth
sending back with shipping costs and to get another poor quality reel.
I am now worried about my expensive Revo reels holding up with the
quality of many Abu products being suspect.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
R.M in Western N.B
Western New Brunswick
Good working reel
Posted April 13, 2014
I have used this reel hard for three years on big brook trout and landlocked salmon,always performed A-1,I would recommend this reel to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Consistent casting problems

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from South Carolina
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
As several other reviewers have noted, I've had consistent issues casting with this reel. The line stops and the lure drops into the water only a few feet off shore. I've never had a reel do this before. We have restrung the line and tried multiple fixes all to no avail. I'm extremely disappointed in this reel, thought I was purchasing a quality product that would last years and it's barely a year old. Will not purchase this brand again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaSeptember 23, 2013
Hello - sorry to hear you had an issue with your Abumatic as this is not normal. The good news is that all Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty and we are here to help. A customer service representative has already been notified about your case and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review. If you ever need to speak to a customer service representative directly over the phone, please call Tel: 1.800.228.4272. A representative will be in contact with you shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst purchase

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
frog
from spurger,tx
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
bought this 276i for my wife. the first little sun perch she caught stripped it out. the gears in this must be made out of plastic.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaAugust 9, 2013
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. We are sorry to hear that you are having an issue with your Abumatic 276i as what you describe is not normal. The good news is that all Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty and we will be happy to help. From what you describe here, it sounds more like you have a line management issue versus a gear problem. The gears are not made from plastic. Regardless of the issue, we will work hard to get you back to fishing quickly. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your situation and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review. If you ever need to reach us by phone, don't hesitate to give us a call at 1.800.228.4272. We will be in touch with you shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a great spincast reel

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Matt
from Tulsa, ok
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Let me preface this by saying I sympathize with those who have had a bad casting performance, I found that 8lb mono filled 3/4 way to full was the key for me. I am a die hard & my usual choice of reel is the revo 3 stx (I own 3) & I bought it for my daughter to use because of the 19" line per turn- allows her to fish similar baits & styles that she is familiar with from watching me. Both she & I love the reel- casting is good & retrieve is fairly smooth. Only complaint is the ergonomics. She also has a zebco omega which costs twice as much and I might as well sell it on ebay, it sits in my boat looking cool. Overall im happy with it & would buy again
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

DEFINITE THUMB RELEASE DEFECT 2-IN-A-ROW!

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carrie
from Northeast PA
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ok, so I purchased this and I loved it on the 1st trip – casted beautifully for the initial 4 hours (maybe 80 casts?) then the thumb release broke. Being that it was less than one-day old, I returned it, got another brand new one and on the second trip, it too broke within a couple of hours at the thumb release! The housing and gears seem to be all plastic. It does not seem to be well made at all. Also, as a previous user stated, I know that this is a “value” reel, but wow, the kiddie combo I got my 11 yr son has totally out lasted this unit – and my son casts every other minute.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJuly 23, 2013
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. We are truly sorry that you had an issue with your 276i as what you describe is not normal. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your specific case and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review. We would like to learn more about your experience and will be happy to facilitate a warranty exchange. If you ever need to call us in the future, don't hesitate to give us a call at 1.800.228.4272. Have a great week and we will be in touch with you shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It works great...until it breaks.

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
bearbear234
from Maryland
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased the Abumatic 276i as a replacement reel for my fishing rod. I dislike spinning reels, so I was drawn to the 276i's classic looks and metal body. It was well-lubed out of the box, was impressed with it's performance during my first fishing trip. It seemed to cast well, even if it did seem to be not as far casting as I was used to. The reel had a nice line speed and was loaded with pretty decent line for the money.
However, the second time I used it, it broke. I caught a Largemouth Bass (probably about 5 lbs) and during my catch, the reel stopped reeling. I thought my drag was too light, but when I tried to adjust my drag, the roller knob would not budge. I managed to keep the fish, but my reel was wasted. It ended my day.
I understand this is a value reel, but I have had much cheaper reels last much longer. If anything, the line should have snapped, not the insides of my reel.
Overall:
Fit/Finish: 3/5. For a value reel, it wasn't bad. The drag roller-knob is pretty poorly fitted, but it was functional enough. The metalwork was well-finished and had no burrs.
Design: 3/5. Nice materials, two ball bearings, Titanium Nitride line guides. For the money, it has lots of decent features. Not to mention, it looks classic.
Function: 3/5. Again, good for the money. It was quite smooth. It wasn't overly coarse or noisy. quick reeling.
Durability: 1/5. Terrible. A 5lb bass broke mine.
Overall: 2/5. Good prospects but comes up short in execution.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the worst, but close enough.

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Billy Bob
from Shreveport, Louisiana
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was pleased on my first fishing trip with this reel, but My second fishing trip left me dissapointed. It seemed like every time I casted my line, it just stopped in mid air and plumetted straight down. The line would only go a few feet in front of me. It made it impossible for me to place it in the right spot. Finally I got tired of dealing with the piece of junk and I bought a new reel. I'll be honest, the new reel that I bought is an Abu Garcia (Ambassadeur 6500). I've used Abu Garcia reels for a long time and I know that they are great, but the abumatic is complete junk. This is the only reel from Abu Garcia that I've had trouble with. I strongly reccomend that Abu Garcia fix the problem or stop selling this reel. It may look nice, but it doesn't preform to my standards.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMay 28, 2013
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. All Abu Garcia reels carry a one year warranty and we will be happy to help. Our customer service representatives can be reached at 1.800.228.4272 if you need further assistance. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified of your case and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review. We will work hard to get your issue resolved and get you back to fishing. Have a great week.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
yiclung
handle side
Posted March 9, 2014
how can i change the handle from right to left?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Thumb Release Defect

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
CP
from Houston, TX
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased a 276i at Bass Pro Shops recently and had to bring it back the next day...only positive thing I can say about this reel is that it reels in smooth. I rigged the reel and did a couple of practice casts...the "plastic" thumb release mechanism broke at the pivot point on my 3rd cast. I had to drive 30 miles back to the store to return it...wasted a lot of time and gas. I was extremely disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMarch 12, 2013
Good afternoon. Sorry to hear you had an issue with your Abumatic 276i reel. We are glad that Bass Pro was able to refund your reel without issue. All of our reels carry a 1 year warranty so if you ever have an issue in the future, we are here to help and can save you a drive. From what you describe about the thumb release button, it sounds as though this part was damaged at some point during shipping or stocking and ultimately failed. We understand your frustration and just wanted to let you know that we are always here to help. One of our customer service representatives will reach out to you at the email address that you submitted with this review for a follow up to ensure that your issue has been resolved and to learn more about your case. If you ever need to get in touch with us directly, our customer service department can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. Thanks for reaching out to us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Northeast PA
DEFINITE THUMB RELEASE DEFECT 2-IN-A-ROW!
Posted July 22, 2013
Ok, so I purchased this and I loved it on the 1st trip – casted beautifully for the initial 4 hours (maybe 80 casts?) then the thumb release broke. Being that it was less than one-day old, I returned it, got another brand new one and on the second trip, it too broke within a couple of hours at the thumb release! The housing and gears seem to be all plastic. It does not seem to be well made at all. Also, as a previous user stated, I know that this is a “value” reel, but wow, the kiddie combo I got my 11 yr son has totally out lasted this unit – and my son casts every other minute.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spincast

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased one of these fine reels a few months ago. One of my first spincast reels ever. (grew up a dock rat and young dock rats were always given old broken cheap spincasts to use, so I developed a bad attitude towards them until recently)
I have a 1950s Shakespeare Wondercast in perfect shape which worked well for bank fishing. Fished for 50 years using spinning tackle, which can be finicky.
I replaced the line on the fine reel with Spiderwire EZ Mono 8lb, and in doing so found the reel did have a problem as described in a couple of posts. The problem was me not putting the line on correctly, or not enough which was the problem. This was causing the short cast problem. Too much line can be bad too. In any reel, and reel type. One must find the perfect line fill for each reel.
My advice and experience taught me to double check any rod or reel before using. I have expensive rigs which a screw, or spring sometimes needs adjusting.
In short I know of no reel, or tackle for this matter which works 100 percent of the time 100 percent. Great reel!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this is not a good reel

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
redhawke222
from Milford, KS
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
this is my 3rd season using this reel and this year I cast and it stops short and drops in the water 12ft from me. it has a catch when you reel it in. this is the worst reel I have ever used. I have had it taken apart and restring it 3x now and it doesn't change anything the first fish I catch it acts a fool again.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJune 22, 2012
Sorry to hear you are having issues with your Abumatic 276i reel in your 3rd season of use. All Abu Garcia reels come with a 1 year warranty and although it sounds like your reel may be past that timeframe, we do have a service and repair program. One of our customer service representatives will be contacting you at the email address provided for this review to learn more about your issue and help you get back to fishing. Have a great weekend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works better than AG's more expensive reels

PostedMay 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from La Porte, IN
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was very impressed with this reel. The tension iss very easy to adjust and fits well in my hand. The spool release button felt a little cheap after a while, almost as if it was broken after the first 15 casts, but it kept working. Occasionally, I would get backlash but this was rare and usually fixed by a long cast and pinching the line as I reeled it in to make sure it spooled tightly. Also, this reel was loud, like the line inside was constantly scraping the metal parts inside. A simple reel that simply worked. More than I can say about the other to expensive AG reels I also bought.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from San Diego County
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had gone fishing with my kids many times with the zebco 33. Had so many problems always having to stop and fix endless problems. I purchased this based on the price and my good experience with the AG spin reels. Took the kids out this weekend and didn't have one problem all day! Very easy to use. Thank you for a Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good reel, but slightly akward.

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
caveman
from Monroe, LA
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
I dont know about other people, but the crank gets in the way of my hand when I try to cast sometimes. It is smooth (for a while). It cast well and it cranks well. the 2 ball bearings are nice, and it feels solid in my hands (even if a little akward).I have been through 4 of these reels. my local tackle shop sells them with a 6 month warranty. I am on my 5th one, and all I really use it for is light bass and pan fish. replacing the line that comes with it does help some. Overall this is a good reel, but I really dont think its built to last like many of the abu garcia products I own.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Abumatic 276i
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Casting catch

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from lindale Texas
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought a 276i spincast reel maybe 3 months ago and have lost over $150 in top grade lures, I'm not cussing Abu G cause I've always owned a Abu Garcia and up until this one they have been great! I see the problem but not sure how to fix it? The drum in which the dual pins protrude for retrieval has grooves worn in it from the string passing over the edge. Click the release button pull string,free catch free catch free catch, it's only been casted maybe a hundred times with 8 pound Cajun string berkly, stren it all snaps with a lure. Tell me Abu how to fix it. Don't want to pay shipping charges and wait 18 months to get it back, would rather play in traffic blind folded! Any advice would be appreciated! After all isn't it > Abu Garcia for LIFE< ?
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaAugust 12, 2011
Hi, we are sorry to hear you are having problems and will reach out to you via the contact information you provided so we can get you back out on the water. I am not sure if this is the situation but sometimes in certain dirty water conditions sand gets picked up and can put grooves in the pins. For those types of conditions we suggest using the Abumatic 476i or 1276Sli which have titanium nitride coated pins. We look forward to speaking with you shortly. Thank you for reaching out to us. We also can be reached at 888.228.4272 or at abugarcia@purefishing.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>