Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Rods or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Verdict

Abu Garcia Verdict

Versatility takes on a whole new meaning with the Verdict™ Extending Handle System™. Create the perfect balance of handle length and feel for any technique. Designed from lightweight and sensitive 36 Ton graphite.
Average Customer Rating:
3.961 / 5
4
 / 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
10
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
2
39 out of 49(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Verdict
Review 1 for Verdict
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Verdict is in

PostedMarch 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phil
from Dinwiddie, Virginia
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recently purchased Two Verdict Rods from a local Sporting goods store in Colonail Hieghts, Virginia. One was a 6' 6" Meduim spinning Rod and the other was a 6' 6" Medium Heavy bait casting rod. I got to use both of these this past weekend in a tournament and I was truely impressed with the performance of both rods. I especially liked the handle option on the Spinning rod when it came to using it on a Jerk bait. Super rods and super sensitive. I would reccomend these rod to the best anglers I know. I fish an average of two hundred day out of the year and this makes my fishing experience just that much more enjoyable. I really look forward to using these rods when I go fishing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
theo
Hewitt New Jersey
Verdict VCC73-6
Posted July 15, 2013
This is the 2nd Verdict rod I shattered the tip in 3 places this season. I am extremely unhappy as I cannot afford to constantly buy new rods for the 6 tournaments I fish each year. I understand from other posts this is not uncommon and there is an applied warranty on this rod. It costs about 1/4 of the price of the rod to ship it and I don't like to lose good money if I do not get satisfaction for my trouble. I have been using Loomis, Fenwick and Carrot stix for years with little to no problems. As of this moment I would not recommend this rod to my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Allen R.
Danbury Ct.
Weekend Fisher
Posted June 27, 2011
Purchased a new Abu Garcia rod and reel(Spinning outfit). Felt I owed it to myself been fishing with15 year old equipment . Got the 7ft Verdict rod. Man! you can feel everything with that rod, haven't missed a fish yet.I was Texas rigging a 5" senko, had a good size smallie , just has I was about to land her, 6" of the top of my rod broke. I got the fish but was not happy about the rod. I got it replaced. I think it was just one of those things when stuff happens, but at the price of this rod it would have been really a big expense to replace myself. Abu Garcia how about some kind of rebates or coupons for us low budget weekend fishermen.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Verdict
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sweet Rod - 7 foot spinning

PostedMarch 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
wannabefisherman
from Ontario, Canada
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased the 7 foot 1-piece medium spinning Verdict. What a sweet rod. It's sensitive, light and looks great paired with my reel.
I give it average on craftmanship because the guides on my rod were all bent forward. Not sure if this is from manufacturing or from transport.. I ordered online. So I had to bend the guides back. Regardless, the rest of the rod's details are top notch.
Good action, very sensitive and has the strength to battle the bit ones.
I use this rod for live bait rigging.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bass assasin
arkansas
recomende flippin rod length for these rods
Posted March 28, 2011
what is the best length to go with on these rods
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Verdict
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Next Generation Rod

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
k1ngk0ngf1sh
from Lakeview, OR
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This rod is incredible. The adjustable handle is an innovation that is well needed in the fishing world today. Instead of having 5 to 10 different rods for different types of fishing and techniques, all you need is the Verdict. I bought the 6'6" Verdict model with Medium Action and it is the perfect bass fishing machine. Very lightweight, very sensitive, and very durable. The sensitivity is incredible due to the fact that you can feel every little bump that impacts your lure. The rod also has a very sleek design and it just flat out looks good. Doesn't look like your ordinary rod. The best rod I have ever owned and purchased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Verdict
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Review after over 2 years of use

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dn010
from Seminole, FL
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've been using my Verdict VCC76-7 since 2011, so I can legitimately comment on how its held up to this point in time. Firstly, to provide detail; I use this rod with an Ambassadeur reel. The rod keeps up with all kinds of heavy fish and to date has not snapped. I have used this while fishing from land as well as from a boat, but not "offshore" where you're miles out.
My main disappointment is within the adjustable "Extending Handle System". Unless you [Abu Garcia] have updated this since 2011, the design sucks and didn't last more than a few months. No one will know what I'm talking about unless they've taken it apart but: the sort of threaded pin inside the rod came unglued from the main part of the rod so the extendable end fell right off. So, I glued it back in place (and the threaded expanding plastic piece inside was already cracked and half broken) At this point, I torqued it down fully extended and just left it.
Well, eventually it failed again with the pin coming unglued. Again, I fixed it myself by not only gluing it in place yet again, but drilling through the whole thing, putting a pin in it and then putting the extending handle back on. Re-did how the plastic expanding piece expands and now I torqued it down again fully extended so I at least can use the rod. It won't adjust otherwise.
Other than that, the front guide broke but was repaired by gluing a new one on - and these break periodically no matter what rod you use unless it's a rod with back supports.
All in all, it's been a great rod. I use prefer this because you can feel anything the fish does with your hook/bait. It's lightweight so it's not a pain to hike it out on foot if you're going fishing in shallow water. This rod has landed quite a number of fish of varying sizes without problems including smaller sharks and snapper. Get a new Extending handle system and you're golden! I do recommend this still.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaSeptember 23, 2013
Good afternoon - Sorry to hear you had an issue with your Verdict rod. All V series rods carry a 3 year warranty and we will be happy to take care of your case. One of our customer service representatives will reach out to you at the email address that you submitted with this review. If you ever need to contact us over the phone, our customer service department can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We understand your frustration and will work hard to get your warranty claim taken care of so you can get back to fishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Verdict
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It never gets old

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pistachio
from Eastern Ontario
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's been over three months now,that I've been using my Verdict 6'6" M 1pc. and it's my favorite rod and I have 12 in all.
I fell the movement of the lure,when it snags tiny bits of weeds,and of course a hit." It never gets old "
Very lightweight,and well balanced, paired it with the orra sx
baitcaster,and also very strong.I am very satisfied.
As for the ajustable handle...I could do without,I leave it out to the fullest for support under my forearm.
I truly believe in Abu's slogan,this is my 5th.combo purchase,
and won't be my last.
As for the price,well... I can't make one for that price!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Verdict
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Snaped

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The fishing Rod snapped in half when a fish was on the line
I want my money back
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Verdict
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Starting to wonder about ABU's high ton graphite rods

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
H Bennett
from Central Illinois
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Long story short...I've' been an Abu customer for 30 years. Landed some big Salmon and Steelhead on Abu rigs and have been pleased as punch with their products.
Now the bad... I moved to the midwest and had to rig up for bass. I went with the Conolon Premier as a starter rod, not knowing what I was in for. Less than a year later I snap it between the 3rd and 4th eye hooking the spinner bait back on the hook loop???? I call Abu service and they are awesome as usual and send me a replacement on the spot. Received a Vengence a few days later. Go Abu CS!! I gave that to the boy and I buy a Verdict 66-6 as I really liked the action of the Conolon 6ft6. The Verdict snapped on a 4 lb bass (Still landed it!) less than two hours on the water, you guessed it, between the 3rd and 4th eye.
I really like ABU and their reels are second to none but the high ton graphite rods as of late seem to have issues and engineering flaws. I can not recommend the Verdict series of rod due to this identical breakage spot. It might just be the 6ft6in rods but until I have one earn its keep I have to look elsewhere.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJune 24, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you had issues with your Verdict rod. The good news is that the Verdict series carries a 3 year warranty and we will be happy to help. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your issue and will contact you at the email address that you provided with this review.

It is important to understand that there is a huge difference in materials used in the construction of cheaper rods versus high modulus graphite rods such as the V series. All V series rods are made out of high modulus graphite which provides excellent sensitivity in a lightweight design. With this in mind it is important to understand that, regardless of rod manufacturer, high modulus graphite is be more susceptible to breakage under a heavy load if it is nicked or dinged or used in an improper manner such as “high sticking” or slinging fish into the boat or bank. These last two actions put the rod at extreme angles and pressure that can cause failure. Older and less expensive rods are typically constructed from composite/fiberglass. While more durable, the level of sensitivity, control and weight pales in comparison to high modulus graphite - think of it as the difference between using a typewriter (i.e. fiberglass/composite) vs. a modern day laptop (i.e. high modulus graphite). If they are cared for properly, you will not experience breakage issues with your high modulus Verdict rods, just be sure to use care when transporting or storing your rods to avoid nicks and dings. We are always here to help and if you need to speak to us directly, don't hesitate to call us at 1.800.228.4272
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Central Illinois
Posted June 24, 2013
Thank you for the information on properly caring and transporting rods. Aside from the wait due to shipping, which I know is unavoidable yet still nerve racking, ABU is there again with excellent customer service.
After breaking the Conolon, I did quite a bit of research into the breakage of these rods, to be sure it was not something I may have done. My bass rods sit in the front seat of my pickup from the house to my private fishing pond. Then in the foam grabber on my boat. They do not get nicked or scratched nor are they treated with less care or protection than my Lamiglass or St.Croix rods, that have seen serious duty over the last 15 years, have not any issues what so ever, and have landed 35lb+ Salmon. Both the Conolon and Verdict broke, under what I would consider very light duty or not in use at all, in the identical spot. If a 4 lb bass can best a rod, that rod no longer belongs in my creel.
I look forward to working with a new Verdict. I am anxious to be shown their strength and resilience to light duty fishing and being able to report back with an updated and 5 star review.
HB
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Verdict
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

great service

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
diesel
from wagner, south dakota
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own a Verdict rod. I had it snap in half. I was naturally upset as I had only used it for a short while. Abu Garcia is a Pure Fishing product and their warranty service is second to none. I believe my situation was a freak accident. I can not wait to get this rod back in action.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJune 5, 2013
Glad to hear that you had a positive experience with our customer service team. All V series rods carry a 3 year warranty and we are always here to help. We proudly stand behind out products and if there ever is an issue, we will work fast to get our anglers back to fishing. If you ever have any more issues or questions, don't hesitate to give us a call at 1.800.228.4272. Have a great day
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Verdict
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good rod but fragile

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Took this rod out on my 3rd outing. Love how the rod feels and how well it performs. Threw a couple cast and on the 4th cast, i set the hook and the tip just snapped off. was pretty disappointed. if it didn't break, woulda been a 5.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Verdict
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Super Fragile Rod

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Park
from Malaysia
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this 6ft rod a week back. it's a great rod with good a feel and a good match with the Revo Premier Spinning.
However, it broke on the first fishing trip I took it to. The rod broke while I was throwing a cast, I was really quite disappointed. Am not sure if they allow me to make a warranty claim.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMarch 4, 2013
Hello - sorry to hear that you had a failure with your Verdict rod. From what you have detailed here it sounds as though the rods was damaged at some point during shipping, on the shelf or during transport which ultimately cased the failure. All Abu Garcia V series rods carry a one year warranty and we will be happy to help you out. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your specific case and will be contacting you shortly at the email address you provided for this review. We will work quickly to get you back to fishing. If you ever have any questions or concerns we can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We will be in touch with you shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Verdict
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Rod

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my verdict I got it about a year ago and take it kayak and boat fishing every saturday along with my vendetta and veritas. I have caught hundreds of seatrout, redfish, and bass on this along with a bunch of other crazy fish. i have landed some big reds and trout on this up to 27" redfish and 20 plus inch trout with ease. Rod is in great shape still and is really light and sensitive. I can feel sheepshead bite really well, and trout pick up a grub off the bottom. I would buy more of these and all the abu garcia rods.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EZ-M
Edmonton Canada
Great rod ............ now just make it durable ..
Posted July 4, 2013
Third outing - rod breaks on casting between 3rd/4th eye.............. sounds like the exact same story, with a common outcome.
I Love Abu Garcia products - I have thousands of dollars of Abu Garcia gear ........... this is the first time I have had an issue. Sounds like a manufacturing or design issue.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Verdict
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

verdict 6' 6"

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from canada
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Use these rods for wayeyes , good feel, good senitivity,light weight, the retetackable handle dose not work well , Abu Garcia lose the extendable handle, overall this is a good pole
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Verdict
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light Rod with Great Action

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bassman
from Ohio
Owns a boat:Yes
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased two 7' med spinning rods and paired them with me Revo Premier reels. First trip out caught 4lb smallies and both products were superb. This rod and reel combination is light and durable and can fish all day without feeling tired. Go get you a Revo Premier and a Verdict and you will enjoy all your fishing adventures.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Verdict
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Broken verdict

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hok San
from Banjarmasin, Indonesia
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Action 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
User submitted photo
Just bought verdict 6'6" baitcast rod 2pcs, my friend borrow and test it and when hook up a big fish, the rod was broken in same point position with other user (JC) in his review. He is an experience caster/fisherman. I didn't know how to claim the quarantee as I know it is for 3years.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaSeptember 17, 2012
Hi. Thanks for reaching out to us. We are sorry to hear about your broken Verdict rod as this is not normal. But, you are in luck. As you know, all V series rods carry a three year warranty. We have already touched base with our customer service department and informed them of your problem. A representative will be contacting you directly on the email address you provided in this review. They will have your information and claim and will handle your situation. If you ever need to reach out to a representative they can be contacted at Tel:1.800.228.4272. We appreciate your feedback and support. We are working very hard to resolve this matter and get you back on the water.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Franky
Louisana
Me Too!!!!!
Posted December 9, 2012
I am an extremely avid fisherman and have always been impressed by almost anything Abu Garcia has made. BUT this Verdict rod has really disappointed me. I bought a 6'6" medium action and on my first trip it broke in the mid section about 4 eyes from the top, such a shame because it is such a nicely balanced rod. It seems that there must have been a batch of "briddle blanks" that made it to the market. Just a suggestion but I have several of Abu's Veritas rods in lenghts from 6' to 7' and they are EXTREMELY nice rods, both sensitve and well balanced.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Verdict
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Design Flaw?

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
TxKayaker
from The Woodlands, Tx
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased 2 Verdicts rods that I have had to return due to the handle locking up and not contracting. Otherwise, these rods are light, sensitive, and have a great look.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaSeptember 10, 2012
We are sorry to hear about your problem with your reel seat on your Verdict rods as this is not normal. As you know, all Abu Garcia V series rods carry a three year warranty and we will be glad to help your case. We have already contacted our customer service department and informed them of your issue. A representative will be contacting you directly on the email address you provided with this review to resolve this problem. We appreciate you reaching out to inform us of this issue. It is always valuable to gain consumer feedback so that we can continuously provide top quality products. We are working extremely hard to resolve this matter so you can get back to fishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Verdict
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Verdict 6'6" MH

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shellfish
from Edmonton, AB
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Received a Verdict 6'6" MH paired with a P.Flueger President reel as my 10 year service award with my company. Visually by far the and nicest rod I have ever owned, physically by far the lightest most balanced rod i have ever had the pleasure to cast and fish with. First trip out with the new rod I outfished everyone on the boat and all were using similar color and sized jigs. I could feel every little nibble on my hook, I think i could even feel the worm wiggling on the end of my hook as well.
However the second trip out with the rod I snagged something on the bottom of the lake which later turned out to be some weeds. Upon lifting the rod upwards to pull the hook out the rod exploded in two separate places. The first break was just above the forth eyelet at 16" from the tip and the second break was in between the 5th and 6th eyelet at 29.5". I personally have never had a rod snap before and yet so easily so I double checked the specs which states 8-17lb test line and I was only using 10lb braided so I am still quite confused why it broke so easily unless I possibly received a defective one.
Being a gift I can't be certain I would have tried one of these rods at retail price before but now that I have used one as long as the defects or reasoning behind the breakage is corrected I would definately give this rod another try even at retail...
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaAugust 13, 2012
We are sorry to hear about your broken Verdict. All Abu Garcia V series rods carry a three year warranty. We have already relayed your email address you submitted with this review to our customer service department to start the process. If you need to speak with a representative directly they can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We are working hard to resolve your issue to get you back fishing. Thanks for informing us about your issue.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Verdict
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Verdict rod 7'6" Heavy

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike
from Raleigh, NC
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have been using this rod for CA fishing. Love the rod until it exploded on me on hook set. Never in my life have I had this happen. I didnt even really put that much pressure on the hook set. When it exploded it the line snapped. I love the sensitivity of the rod and want another one. I hope my rod was just a bad one in the batch. This was only the 2nd time I was using the rod and the 5th fish trying to catch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJuly 17, 2012
Hello – we are sorry to hear you had an issue with your Verdict rod as this is not normal. All V series rods carry a 3 year warranty. One of our customer service representatives will reach out to you at the email address that you submitted with this review. We understand your frustration and will work hard to get your issue taken care of so you can get back to fishing. If you ever need to speak to a customer service representative directly over the phone, please call Tel: 1.800.228.4272. A representative will be in contact with you shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Verdict
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Almost a great rod

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
MTRANGER
from Glendive, MT
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am on rod #2, after several issues with #1, and to Abu Garcia's credit they made it right. Any way this pole is pure pleasure to fish with when it isn't broke, the sensitivity and lightness of the pole are stellar, but there seems to be some flaws in the design of the pole. I have never seen so many reviews with broken pole and this is another one. My rod broke while making a cast and the line became entangled around the top two eyelets, this has happened to me many time on other rods with no issues.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJune 21, 2012
Hello, we are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your second Verdict rod. All V series rods carry a 3 year warranty - we will be happy to take care of your case. One of our customer service representatives will reach out to you at the email address that you submitted with this review. We understand your frustration and will work hard to get your issue taken care of so you can get back to fishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MTRANGER
Glendive, MT
Update
Posted September 24, 2012
I would just like to update my review. Customer service contacted me about my broken rod, they stood behind the product 100%, and their only concern was getting the issue resolved the fastest way posible to get me out fishing again.and now that I have run the rod all summer, I couldn't be happier with the durability and performance. Thank you Abu - Garcia
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Verdict
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Rod although.........

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
eyezonz
from WI
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My rod was great was able to battle all sorts of fish that I encounter while fishing the Miss. River big and small. Excellent sensitivity and feel in the hand, action was great
up until
trying trying to land a huge sturgeon, hook came undone close to net rod recoiled and snapped
had it paired with my Revo Premier, I babied this combo, never dropped or anything so I don't know what could have caused the break
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Verdict
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAING ROD!!!

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this rod last summer and put a Bass Pro Shops Johnny Morris bait caster on it and it is PERFECT. THE BEST combo I have owned.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>