Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Equipment or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Reel Oil

Abu Garcia Reel Oil

The Abu Garcia Silicote Reel Oil provides long lasting protection for internal components such as spindles that need light lubrication for ultimate performance in free spool.
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Reel Oil
Review 1 for Reel Oil
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A little heavy

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Perrysburg Ohio
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
I have used Abu oil before on my high dollar bass reels and i found it to be a little heavy and thick. I switched to a lighter weight oil and found my casting distance to increase a little bit. overall though, for a low price oil, it does a very good job of maintaing bearings and preventing wear. I still use this oil on my catfish reel and trolling reel, where casting distance is not an issue. It really prevents the bearings from wearing out. But not the best oil for casting distance in my opinion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Reel Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Abu Garcia Reel Oil

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bassmanjack
from Tennessee
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
I used another reel oil for about a year and thought it was doing a good job then a friend gave me a bottle of Abu Garcia reel oil and I started using it. From day one I could tell a huge difference from the other oil. The feel was different as was the sound of my reel and the casting was great. All I can say is I will never go back to the other reel oil. Abu Garcia is my number one reel oil!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Reel Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Reel Oil!

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grubrunner
from Six Mile, SC
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
I've used this stuff for a while now and love how it makes my reel perform to it's maximum potential. If you're not using reel oil I highly recommend that you get this and you'll see a big difference in your casting distance. Thanks for another great product Abu!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Reel Oil
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

From beginning season to storing away

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Quickreel
from Raleigh, NC
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Reel maintenance is key for any good fisherman amature or professional. Although most of us are not professionals and get free reels from our sponsors, all fisherman need to maintain their reels in top shape. For amatures ike myself, when i purchase a high end reel, i know that I need to keep this reel for a long time. There is not alot of money in my house to constantly buy new reels. The Abu Garcia Reel Oil is an excellent product that helps protect your reel from costly failures dues to rusting and unwanted build up of oil residue. The light weight oil goes on easy and instantly lubricates the bearings and gears to ensure a long reel life and a mechanical error free day on the water. As we all know on the water is never a good time for your reel to fail.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Reel Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have, that you maybe never thought about

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
jd5015
from Calgary, AB
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
I have used reels without oil for a few years now, and I never really thought too much of it. A little while ago I saw a bottle of this at the store, and figured I would give it a go. It was amazing the difference I noticed right away. My casts were smoother and longer, and I have had no problems with any wear since I started using it. This will for sure extend the life of your reel for a small fraction of the cost of replacing it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Reel Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real Reel Oil

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donna
from Crossville, TN
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
User submitted photo
This premium grade oil has been a great year round product that has kept my reels operating quietly and efficiently in all seasons. The penetrating lubricant provides long lasting protection for the moving components of my reels. A smooth, fast retrieve is much needed when reeling in big fish. This is the same formula used by professional service centers and it has protected my reels from wear, rust and corrosion better than other products I have used.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Reel Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have for Reels

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
zbrazzel
from Fort Myers, FL
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Must have for any reels that are not new. Keeps them running super smooth. Def. reccomended
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Reel Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lasts and lasts

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
custom rod builder
from Manitou, KY
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Have been using this product for 7+ years. Do not overuse, because this stuff lasts a long time on your bears and gears. Less is more with this great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Reel Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long time user

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bigfish
from Indiana
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
I have used Abu Garcia reel oil for over 30 years and have never had a problem with my equipment. In my opinion it's the best insurance for trouble free fishing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Reel Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

needs aplicator

PostedJune 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
This stuff is modest, it doesn't need to brag about molecular bonding because it just works. Much better than like quantum hot sauce that costs close to 5 times as much. Makes casts like hot butter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Reel Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

reel oil

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
matt
from Pittsburgh Pa
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
excellent product i keep a bottle in my tackle box i use it all the time when i prepare my reels for the season n at the end of season to keep my reels freshly lubricated. also have used on the spot when my reel has taken a plunge in the water
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Reel Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Silicote Reel Oil

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
tablerockbasscat
from Branson West, Missouri
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Yes there are more expensive oils on the market. That does not make them better! I have used this product religiously on my reels quarterly! I never experience binding in the bearings! Used properly, this oil can extend the life of reel for years!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Reel Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
djdoug22
from Ephrata, PA
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
I've tried many different Reel Oils but I always go back to Abu Garcia's Silote Reel Oil. By far, I get the most out of my reels when I use this product. Other oils just don't last. With this oil, you don't need to re apply nearly as often as it's competitors. I highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Reel Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

reel oil

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:55-65
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Experience:Intermediate
i have used all types of reel oil but abu garcia seems to out perform all others
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Reel Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Abu Garcia Reel Oil

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
dtone44
from Elkhart,IN.
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
This light oil is just the right product to use after cleaning your Reels (spincast, open face spinning, bait caster) I just cleaned and oilled all of my reels with this product and it made a big improvement in the smoothness of operation . I recommend this Abu Garcia Reel Oil to any one that wants the best performance out of there Reels!! Only use where light oil is recommend by the manufacture of your Reels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Reel Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tried and True product

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Big Mo
from Frankfort,In
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
I`ve used this reel oil since the early 90`s.Not once have I ever had a problem with my reels not performing.As I gotten older and with more time constraints I found a retired state trooper who has a reel repair shop,guess what he uses to finish the reels with after cleaning? Yep Abu Garcia silicone Reel Oil.It`s the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.