Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Orra or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Orra Inshore

Abu Garcia Orra Inshore

Designed and engineered for the inshore angler with corrosion resistant X-Cräftic™ alloy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Orra Inshore
Review 1 for Orra Inshore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Just finished an extended day trip here in Southern California. Caught 5 Yellowtail up to 20lbs with this reel. Have also caught numerous barracuda and calico bass too. Great reel for inshore fishing here in Southern Cal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Orra Inshore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replaced Shimano Cardiff 200

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
John
from Fairhope AL
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fished with Garcia bait casters for the past 42 years. Decided to try a Shimano round reel about 4 years ago. The Cardiff is a very solid reel and would cast a 1/4 oz jig with 10 lbs mono a long way. I did have to use a hard two handed swing to get max distance. On Christmas Eve I fished from the bank at my local lake for the last time with the Shimano reel. I caught several small bass with the 1/4 oz jig. The day after Christmas I purchased the Orra 2 Inshore from Bass Pro. I spooled up with 12 lbs test mono and tied on the same 1/4 oz jig. The casting difference was amazing. I could make a smooth one handed cast with the Orra and reach the same distance that I normally reached with a hard two handed cast with the Shimano. I would say that I just upgraded from a Chevy to a BMW in the overall feel and performance category with the Orra Inshore.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Orra Inshore
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Orra Inshore

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
fhall4au
from Mobile, AL
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reel worked great for 6 months, then casting adjustment become erratic and reel became noisy while reeling. Shipped to Abu Garcia for warranty and/or cleaning. Sent to them on 9/16/13 and I received a replacement reel on 9/24/13. It is the new 2014 Orra Inshore 2 model. Some new features that I was hoping for. What awesome customer service! Thank you Abu Garcia!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Orra Inshore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Accidental Muskie Encounter

PostedJune 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
fischstick
from Minneapolis, MN
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this reel for large and smallmouth bass and pike action in Minnesota. It has performed excellent for that, taking down those three species with ease. I can also attest to the strength and durability after taking down a 40 inch Muskie, caught by accident. Despite taking five lengthy drag singing runs, the reel performed flawlessly. It has not made noises, or acted strange in any way, since that encounter. Like other have said, this reel performs at a level above its price point, and will look to purchase another in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Orra Inshore
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

TxKayaker

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
TxKayaker
from The Woodlands, Tx
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this reel as my entry reel into higher end fishing reels for my inshore fishing. At first I was very happy with the reel. But after several months of usage, I began to get many backlashes, no matter what type of line I used. During one of my fishing trips the side plate came off along with the braking system. Luckily I was still within my first year of ownership and the warranty covered the repair.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaSeptember 10, 2012
We are sorry to hear about the issue you experienced with your Orra Inshore reel as this is not normal. The Orra Inshore reel has a Pitch Centrifugal Braking system as well as a Mechanical Braking system designed for cast control. The Pitch Braking system is an internal adjustable brake that can be fine tuned to eliminate backlashes. If you remove the sideplate and engage the pitch brake blocks it will slow down the rotation of your spool which eliminates backlashes. It can also be adjusted to increase your casting distance. But, you must make sure the screw that holds the sideplate in place is tight or the sideplate will come off, like in your situation. However, all Abu Garcia reels carry a one year warranty and we will be happy to help your case. We have already contacted our customer service department and informed them of your issue. A representative will be contacting you directly on the email address you provided with this review to resolve the matter and answer any residual questions you may have. If you ever need to speak with a member of our customer support staff they can be reached at Tel:1.800.228.4272. Representatives are standing by to address any questions or concerns consumers may have and will work hard to mitigate problems in a timely fashion. We sincerely appreciate you reaching out to us about this issue. Any insight from consumers is extremely valuable to our team which allows us to continually improve our process and ensure we are manufacturing top quality products for our patrons. We understand your frustration and we are doing everything possible to get you back fishing. Thanks for your support.

+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
TxKayaker
The Woodlands, Tx
Follow Up
Posted May 6, 2014
I did secure the side plate, the plastic piece holding the thumbscrew must have snapped, as it did on my Revo2 Premier. I have not used this reel often. I have finally tuned it to the point it rarely backlashes, but it took a lot of work. The new problem it has developed is that it disengages the spool from time to time. It's not worth sending in for repairs at this point.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
red40
lafayette,la
aggravated
Posted May 6, 2014
My reel want quit favoring the left side . It becomes stuck and all string spools up on left side. It becomes so aggravating especially since it is so awesome besides this. What can I do about this????
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
rikirick
To the left
Posted May 5, 2014
Love my Orra Inshore reel, was best reel ever owned until it started favoring the left side when reeling up without having a lot of tension on line. Reel is less than a year old so not sure why it started favoring the left side so bad and not sure if I could do anything about it. Besides this it is awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 6 for Orra Inshore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New favorite over my calcutta

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Bought this reel for saltwater and for an extra bass reel. Performed better than expected. first trip it caught a limit of 20" specks multiple reds and flounder. Fished for a five days straight limiting on trout each day on the MS gulf coast. The braking system worked well when throwing DOA's under a popping cork into 10+ mph winds. I was able to take the brake off with ease and cast my skitter walk what seemed a mile. My buddy that thinks the only reel out there is a calcutta fished it for a little while and went and bought one the next day. While fishing a live trout tournament I caught a 65+ pound black drum. It would be the new state record, but I had 3 tournament trout alive in my 120qt ice chest and I just couldn't kill her. After an hour and a half of stripping drag we got her in the boat and put her on our scale which only reads to 65 lbs and she bottomed it out like it was nothing. I have a video of me using the reel and landing the fish it is just on a buddies phone. I also was using the abu veritas rod. So after non stop fishing for the month I was home from college, the reel far surpassed any other reel I have owned.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Orra Inshore
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really good reel

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Saltwater for life
from Florida
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this reel a few days ago, took it fishing and caught a bunch of mackerel works really well. The reason i bought this is because i had bought a shimano curado 300. Took it out and on the 4th or 5th cast I heard a weird noise so i returned it. I saw this reel and decided to buy it. I literally works twice as good and the curado and and 100 less. You really cant beat this reel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Orra Inshore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth twice the prize

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
mikey
from san diego, CA
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This reel is perfect for walking bays and making precision cast under docks, this reel fishes like it would have a $200++ price tag. This reel is why I now only fish Abu Garcia reels and why I am selling all of my shimanos.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jared
Orange County
Good but easily damaged
Posted March 24, 2013
I bought this reel about 2 years ago. Fish it for bass in the kelps of southern cali. works real well, but after about 6 months did notice quite a bit of corrosion and wear and tear. Sometimes the drag randomly comes undone and suddenly goes into free-spool, and won't click out of it. Other than that, I find it good for fishing the bass and have no problem cranking down on them when you need to turn them away from the kelp. I would say a 3 out of 5 for this reel.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Orra Inshore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BORING,BORING,BORING

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
#1 boss
from Small Town South Texas
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was completely shocked at how boring this reel made my first catch.I bought this reel about 6 months ago and coupled it with the Veritas rod as i figured it would handle anything i caught while wade fishing down here in South Texas.Well handle anything it did!!! My first catch was a 23'' red fish,as anyone who has ever caught a red fish knows that at 23'' your in for a good battle.This reel muscled in my red fish like a BOSS!! I was in awe of the strength of this little reel and the backbone of the coupled rod made this combo lethal!! I had to dumb down the drag and "play" with the fish now to give it a shot,poor fish.
Anyone looking for an amazing rod and reel that can handle just about anything, you just cant go wrong with this combo and at these prices ABU is practically giving them away,thank you may i have another!!! Just be prepared to be bored your first couple of cast....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Fake comment?
Posted August 19, 2013
It appears as though this comment was made by an Abu Garcia employee. Real reviews are more helpful and as consumers we notice this and lose trust because of these tricks. I could be wrong though....either way I just bought this reel used so I hope it is as good as you say.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Orra Inshore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great saltwater reel

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Buzz
from TEXAS
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had this reel for 6 months. I use this in saltwater for my wade and surf fishing. I havent done one maintenance and works like new. I just rinse out with fresh water after every use. I was amazed when reel in a 30 pound Red Drum and 40 Black Drum. Its very smooth and light on the hand. And I havent bought a reel since. Ima same Shimano Curado for freshwater and use ORRA Inshore in saltwater. Great reel.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Orra Inshore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

casting performance

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
George
from houston Texas
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I replaced my shimano corado with a orra inshore and can now outcast my fishing buds,and they hate it. it has performed very well in all forms of saltwater bay fishing. Very happy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sammy
Texas
ORRA Inshore
Posted July 25, 2011
Thinking of getting 1. I the breaking system easy to set up when you switching lures???
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Orra Inshore
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Revo Inshore Better

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Saltwater Life
from Texas
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this for the price. It work good the first two fishing trips. The 3rd time out the gears started to wear out and the drag felt horrible. This thing felt and work cheap. I took it back and paid the extra bucks on a REVO Inshore. Which is real dame amazing. The REVO S is another good one and cheaper than this. Ive never diss a Abu Garcia reel but this one I have too.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Orra Inshore
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ORRA saltwater reel

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
DAYTONA Ladie Killer
from Daytona Beach
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Got this reel my 7'2ft. 8-17lb. All Star ARS saltwater rod. Fits perfect in my hand and lite. The reel is smooth like butter. I use this mostly whem Im fishing for Red and Trout. Works all the time. If your fishing off the boat, pier,surf, or wade. This reel will get the job done. The casting feels better than Shimano Citica. Thats coming from a Citica guy. The price is mid range. But like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Orra Inshore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inshore

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
GulfCoast Fishin'
from Down South
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This reel is perfect for wade and surf fishing. Has alot power like the classic c3 n c4 round reels. Powerful enuff to wear down reds and smooth enuff to reel in trout. You cant wrong with this reel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Orra Inshore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Buddy name Orra

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
benghooi.86@hotmail.com
from Kedah, Malaysia
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hi Guys, I am from Malaysia and the name is Beng Hooi.
I use this reel to tackle all kinds of fish in salt and freshwater. And this is my first LPBC. I buy it using my first earn money. A good invesment.
I landed 7 Pla Buk (Mekong Catfish), 2 Snakehead (Haruan), and other local fish in Malaysia. This is a tough reel and maintainance is easy as drinking water.
I will recommmend to all my friends to use it. Thanks Abu for creating this magnificience reel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Orra Inshore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best on the market

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
fishslayer
from clearwater,fla
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it i use it off bridges and on the boat.easy to clean ..love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
squid o mic nab
2340 tamworth
best reel ever
Posted January 8, 2013
This is by far the best bait caster reel ive ever used it holds more than enough line for the average fisho. The drag has heaps of poundaged and has not failed me yet. this handle barra well.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)