Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Low Profile Baitcast Reel Combos or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Orra SX Combo

Abu Garcia Orra SX Combo

The perfect combination of performance and reliability in a sleek package featuring an aluminum frame.
Average Customer Rating:
4.526 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Orra SX Combo
Review 1 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bang for the buck!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
MOBassMan
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have only had one other bait cast combo that cost more than this one. It was a Bass Pro Shops Rick Clunn set up that cost me $160 for the combo. It was by far my favorite until it got stolen along with 3 other combos including my BPS Extreme bait cast combo. I bought this Abu Garcia Orra SX with some ok expectations but it performs far beyond what I thought it would. I like this combo so much it played a part in my recent engagement photos. I plan on buying a few more Abu Garcia combos or at least some of the reels because this one is amazing! My next one will probably be a Revo!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Awesome but not perfect

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Andrew
from New Waverly, Texas
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought my Orra SX Combo four months ago. It has been the SMOOTHEST system I've tried, and I must have tried 50. Beautiful package too. You simply cannot go wrong with this. BUT, having said this, I just exchanged my reel for a replacement Orra SX as the line guide got jammed and would no longer okay the line. Hoping that that was a one-off. At any rate, I cannot wait to get back into the water with it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workhorse

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own four of these combos. I have been using two for two years and the other two for a year. I fish a couple time a week, nine months out of the year. I use these reels probably three times more than the average fisherman. These combos are very dependable and are great to fish with, smooth. I have had one rod break while trying to get it loose from a snag, probably user error. I have had the bearing under the crank handle get out of position on one and made retrieval difficult, but was an easy fix for anyone that can take the crank handle off and reposition the bearing properly. In short I have been impressed with the longevity of these combos for the amount of fishing I have done with them. They are all still working great. I hope this is helpful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great buy for the money

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was told about this from a friend that also wanted one so I got it. I was surprised on how good of a rod and reel it it. the rod is a little cheap but I didnt expect much. I highly recomend this combo over the black, silver, or pro max. Save a little more and buy this if you are thinking about another combo. You wont regret it. Love Abu Garcia and they really proved their craftsmanship.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST DECISION ever!!!

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from San Diego, CA
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Novice
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this combo shortly after Hank Parker Combo and Pro Max Combo...
Until recently, I never looked into this type of reel with the centrifugal braking system. I started with 2 Hank Parker Combos from walmart and was terribly upset. The handling on the reel - backlashes nearly 95% of the time; each cast after another cast led to more tangles and more frustrations. In addition to many hours on the road visiting nearly all of southern California's Walmart looking for an exchange just to be let down by performance. In the end, I returned both HPC and stepped one year back to Pro Max Combo Line. That was a great decision! Pro Max did everything I needed it to do. The reel was smooth, rod felt more balanced, flip switch felt sturdy, and in essence it's a blessing compared to HPC
...fast forward - more recently I was tempted to try out the Orra SX Combo and managed to snag one online from an irresistible deal. THE BEST decision! I was thoroughly impressed with the reel. There was a small learning curve with the centrifugal braking (no instructions given), but when I got that down it performed insane. It's literally felt like a fishing rod with artificial intelligence. Orra SX is just as balanced as the Pro Max Combo, the casting felt effortless, have yet to receive backlashes (even with factory settings). There's nothing more I can ask for!!
...Two days ago was the greatest test put on my Orra SX. All 5 categories above on my outing to Colorado river.
Strength/Durability: 7-9pounds consistent catches every so often within the hour. I've lost count and started to doubt whether this intense tension was going to snap the rod... it didn't and not once did I hear a crackling sound from the near U-bending.
Balance/Gear Feel: the rod felt sturdy and stable at all times whether I was casting or reeling an aggressive hybrid bass or with water splashed on reel (leaving dried crusty), Internal bearings felt like abec 7 bearings by boca... very smooth rod to line to catch tension all felt uniform. I didn't feel like much effort was put on reeling in the catches, nor did I felt like falling trying to reel em in...
Craftsmanship: I must have dropped the rod dozens of times (rocks, shrubs, etc). With the exceptions of small nicks, nothing broke, nor any chipped pieces. The finish remained intact and the rod graphics are very modern. There's evidence that the abu garcia designer spent quite a bit of time coming up with the detail.
Casting Performance: If I didn't know any better, I'd say this reel is rigged with a microchip!!! It knows when I'm casting, how hard I'm casting, how fast the spool is spinning, when it hits the water... and when to tell itself to stop...
For those on a budget this is a bit pricy, but well worth saving. It's a bit older on the year released, but the engineering put in is optimal. The pro max combo with the magnetic braking (my second recommendation) is just as good (and cheaper), but really try for orra sx.
I hope this review helps!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Orra SX Combo

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this combo about 2 weeks ago. After reading all the reviews i guess i got a bad real. No matter what i put on this real i can not get it to cast very far. I have adjusted the brakes many times. I dont know of anything else i can do to make it cast better. The rod is great.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic combo for the money

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
onebaddx
from dannemora ny
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been fishing with the orra sx combo for over 6 months and have been very pleased with every aspect of the rod and reel. Started out with some braid on the reel and feel in love with the smaller profile of it so I quickly changed to florocarbon to use as my cranking reel. The rod is a great rod for flipping jigs and texas rigged plastics into cover, it has a very stout back bone and is very sensitive. Biggest fish landed so far is a 4# 10oz largemouth from under a brush pile. A+++
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Illinois
Posted December 7, 2012
my biggest is 7 lb 10 oz and im 16 and u say ur an expert
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dissapointed

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Countryfisher
from Edgefield, SC
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Balance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I recently ordered this combo from a different seller and it was a big disappointment. I saved up over several months to purchase this combo. It was missing a bearing and the anti reverse didnt work. The rod was bent and cracked after the third eye. Had expected better. Gonna have to save up for another one.
Please contact me
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJune 12, 2012
Sorry to hear you had an issue with your Orra SX combo. All Abu Garcia combos carry a 1 year warranty. One of our customer service representatives will reach out to you at the email address that you submitted with this review as we would like to learn more about your particular issue.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wallville
Washington, DC
Either Abu or CountryFisher needs to rebuttal.
Posted June 10, 2013
what happened, was the situation resolved? Where did this thread lead?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

GREAT REEL BUT THE ROD ???

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Fl
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FIRST LET ME SAY I LOVE THE REEL AN THE ROD. BUT I AM ON MY 3ED ROD IT SNAPES AT THE EYELET EACH TIME. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BUT KEEP RECEIPT, AN AN EYE ON THE ROD.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the price

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nolo
from Gulfport, Ms
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my Orra Sx about 8 months and I have had absolutely no problems. I have fished it every time I have gone since getting the combo, and Im impressed. I fish on average about everyday rain or shine, and hot or cold. I wade, surf, pier, and boat and it preforms amazingly. I have caught hundreds of trout and redfish and a 60lbs blackdrum. all on 8lb line. Drag is excellent even for the larger fish. Rod is nice and chunks the lure out there around 65-80yrds.
excellent!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

smooth casting

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
bass fishing fool
from waller, tx
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Definately the best you could buy for the price !!!
I have 2 I love them !!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great combo at a great price!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Don
from North Port, FL
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had gotten this combo about 2 months ago and have been using it once a week since then, it,s light feel and great handling make easy to fish with all day, with out your arm and hand getting tired. I love the adjustable braking system on this reel to, you can go from cast to pitch in minutes. The rod and reel are matched perfectly to give you that smooth cast every time. This combo is top of the line quality at a low budget price.My only complaint is it only comes in to sizes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A surpise

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
joel
from pelzer sc
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
when the orra sx combos arrived and the house i was impressed from the start. ( i got two one for me and one for my girlfriend) feels great cast great. It out performs other brands that cost more after fishing with a friend I let him use it loved it. Just and all around good set up
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Broken Tip

PostedApril 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
bucket_mouth_bandit
from North Carolina, NC
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this combo around December and gotta say, I fell in love with it. But about a month ago I got my line snagged on a limb. I lifted up on the rod hoping my line would snap, and instead of the line. About 6 inch's snapped off the rod. I love this combo but after the rod snapped I'm a little cautious about buying another rod.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bass fishing fool
waller, tx
tip
Posted October 9, 2011
I have broken 2 tips . one the bass was in the boat and snap it broke. I had caught 20 bass and 3 catfish before that happen. the other tip broke on the first bass i caught with it. I still love this orra sx combo but might step up to a veritas rod !!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Orra SX Combo

PostedApril 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
HappyinLula
from Gainesville, GA
Age:Over 65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product, I would recommend this product,
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Matt
Wayne Wv.
Great combo for the money.
Posted June 22, 2012
I keep 8 rods and reels in my boat. All reels are Abu Garcia. I have owned your reels for 20 years,and feel they are the best reels made. These are the first two of your rods I have owned. I have caught several good fish this year and have had no problems with this rig. Casts good and reels are very smooth. I plan on buying the 7.1.1 reel soon. I would like to see a better rod selection in this combo. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Combo for the price

PostedMarch 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
basstracker
from Whiteland In
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I already own one orrasx reel and Ive had nothin but good things from it then I seen this combo at dicks and with coupon I basicaly got the rod or free so had to try it havent fished it yet but it casts like a dream and Im a lil vain so I love the looks of it as well nice product fo the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feels like stealing!

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
2 Socks
from Missouri
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wow, I was very skepticle about this combo, I am a big Pflueger and Johnny Morris fan and have several of each. I originally bought this for my son but after trying it out 1st. I gave him one of my BPS Johnny Morris signature combos and kept this. Are you sure "7" bearings realy.!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
huntsville alabama
Confused
Posted July 5, 2011
does anyone know if this comes in left or right side reel?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best lowPro combo out there!

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
pekPirate
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this SUPER lite weight combo is the best combo ive seen in a really long time so i suggest if you have the chance to go for this deal. the reel, with its 7bb, give excellent and accurate performance when wanting to cast. the rode complements the reel by its durability. so far i hooked a nice 10 lb halibut of the rocks of san pedro ca with a great confidence that this combo could bring it in.
great great great combo. and what i love about it most is that it feels soo good in my hand. no hard rubbing on my palms due to its light weight and slim design (not like other combos i have tried)!
i recommended it to my friend and he loves it too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Orra SX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Orra SX combo

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
illdside
from Chico calif
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dear readers; My name is, Jim Browning, I myself can not afford this BEAUTIFUL combo, ! but I go to the takle store every day just to dream that some day I will own ths! So the oner of the TACKLE BOX (chico cailf) let me test this rod and reel. Let me tell you after casting it the nfell and balance was perfect. so any one out there with too much money, I would truley love one of these combos ,I WOULD JUMP ON IT,IF I WERE YOU!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
juan
washington dc
Posted February 16, 2011
just love it , the best fishing rod in the planet... easy to use ,and easy to cast just love it
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)