Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Revo or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
4.819 out of 5
4.808 out of 5
4.779 out of 5

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Revo Toro Winch

Abu Garcia Revo Toro Winch

Winch™ cranking power in a low 4:6:1 gear ratio built into the high capacity of the Toro family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.941 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 out of 34(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Revo Toro Winch
Review 1 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Revo Toro 61

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this reel before winter started last year and I have to say it has performed very well. 25lb redfish, stripers, occasionally a carp or decent bluecat, this reel has worked very well in all applications. Strong and smooth drag, nice line capacity in a palmable reel, smooth gearing, the description fits. My only disagreement on design is the gear grease door on the housing. I would rather have a sealed case than partially open one. Overall, great real. Definitely would recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome for BIG muskie Blades

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Steveo
from Lake st clair
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I use this reel out on lake st clair home of the biggest average of 50" skiis. i use it with some big blades and can BURN em with ease. Love this reel! Highly recommend it for any muskie angler!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

keeps me casting

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
dr.g ericson
from illinois60
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used the winch for two seasons.can cast musky twin tens and deep divers with ease. Keeps my 60 year old shoulders from burning out early. I can stillkeep up with my 24 year old son.it casts as far as my Garcia 6500's. It does hum a lot while casting but so far it has performed flawlessly.I am buying the largest one next year, to complete my set.i am totally impressed so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for big baits

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
metalljca
from Lockport, NY
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another silky smooth reel from ABU. I use this reel for Pike and Musky, throwing large crankbaits and spinnerbaits. It really is effortless. Holds tons of line as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great reel for swimbaits

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sonny
from Southern California
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this reel to throw medium sized swimbaits for Bass. It is very easy to palm, and is very easy to cast. You can use this all day and won't feel like your arm will fall off at the end of the day. I have hooked up LMB's to about 2 lbs, and have no issues with the drag. I would really like to hook up to something bigger to test the drag capacity and characteristics. Will definitely update my review when that happens.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Brute of a reel

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mikey the Wiz
from Palm Bay, FL
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This reel is a brute, and I mean that in the best way. It is a big reel, has huge line cap, and a drag that is super strong and smooth all day long.
Even though it is big, it is designed so you can palm it easily.Always comfortable in my the hand. I have the model 51. It casts a country mile, much farther then you would expect for this big of a reel..
The reel is very smooth, except when casting it is extremely noisy. Rarely does it backlash, and when it does it's not because of the reel. The casting control and brake are great. As is the pitch brake. Highly recommended except for the noisy casting.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pete
WI
noisy on the cast...
Posted May 9, 2013
If youre having problems with noise during the cast, you may need to give your reel a lube job. That may solve the issue. Just a suggestion.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Musky Fisherman's Dream Machine

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Muskyglobe
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Throwing heavy bucktails and twins all day is alot of work. The Winch has so much power with the lower gear ratio, it makes a 10 hour day on the water so much easier. I use it for all of my bucktail fishing as well as crankin in topwater globes and creepers. A "must" for any muskie fisherman.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Revo Whinch owner

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
papa
from NE.Pa
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this Revo whinch as a combo from BPS w/w a cranking rod. I would highly recomend that if you whant to through big crankbaits this is the reel you must have to do it. You can chuck them a mile and reel all day long and not hurt at the end of the day. I had a small problem with the reel towards the end of the season. I called Abu and sent the reel back and within 1-2 weeks they had sent me a new one. Great reel and awsome customer service Revo for life.Thanks Chris
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great reel for heavy stuff

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
coffeeaddict
from haarlem, the netherlands
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased the toro winch 61 and i'm very pleased with it
the thing's i like are
1 great ergonomics
2 lot's of line ( will be using it on dutch welsh catfish)
3 runs smooth as butter
4 baitclicker
5 lube port
the thing's i don't like
1 my round jerkbait reel 5601 jerk tosses a little further (10 yards)
2 difficult too gain acces to the cast controlles
overall a very fine product
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
armjamal
malaysia
Posted March 4, 2012
"difficult too gain acces to the cast controlles"... what does it mean?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Revo Winch

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Musky Man
from Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel, Very smooth. I musky fish and it is awesome reeling Cowgirls and heavy lures.
Love it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MARCUS
dunnellon fl
14 lb bass
Posted October 13, 2012
the best reel i have ever owned. useing breaded fishing line. the reel can handle any thing. look for yourself. THANK MARCUS
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toro Winch

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
ChicagoRN
from Chicago, IL
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:1
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my first musky reel purchase and it has been a great. The low profile has been easy transition compared to both my round and low profile bass reels. This reel allows you to take it large baits like DCG 10's with ease. It takes some work to bulge it to the top or burn it in, but a normal retrieve puts little pressure on you. Try one if possible before purchase, and good casting once in your hands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Reel!

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super smooth! Tons of cranking power. Great for double 10s!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Toro Winch rules big baits !

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Belgium - Europe
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just went fishing with my new Revo Toro Winch and all I can say is Whoaw ! Casts are ultra smooth, no backlashes and great distance too.
Perfect reel for those big cranck baits, spinners and jerk baits. Can't wait to go fishing with this reel again. Good work Abu Garcia.
All the best,
David - Belgium
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cranking Reel

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vishus
from Milwaukee, WI
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Winch is truly the best cranking reel out there. At a 4.6:1 gear ratio, this reel gets those cranks deep!!!! Smooooooooth as butter and Powerful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Can't wait for my son to try this out

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:Less than 1
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the look and shape. My son will love the shape.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

REVO WINCH

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dan
from Western Maine
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel,All I fish with are the Abua reels and this is one of the best.Works day in and day out.I have two of these and I am thinking of getting a third.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All Around best Muskie reel To date !

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After purchasing a Revo Toro Winch and mounting it on my rod, I was convinced it was a favorite without even casting it.The first time I used it, I couldnt put it down.And after 12 hours of jerkbaits, crankbaits and double bladed inline bucktails I was positive this reel was Now My favorite, It did everything I needed it to do and more ! Now instead of hauling around 54 different rods & reels I got 2, Both a toro 50 winch and a toro 60.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

toro winch for muskies

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dean
from Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I found the toro winch made burning double 10 bucktails much more stress free than other reels I have used and the casting is very efficient with the well thought out ergonomics. Love my revo toro 60's but the winch sure makes those double 10's much easier to use. The reel is not quite as easy as the 6500's to maintain but it seems to not need maintenance as often. Did find an excellent how to video and article on the internet which makes the maintenance less daunting than the info in the owners manual.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heaven Sent!!!!!

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
E Smith
from wisconsin
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have been fishing muskies for many years and the winch is the best thing to come around!!! It makes tossing the big blades effortless! I have even suggested them for older friends to help extend their musky fishing! After 2 weeks and 10 hours a day fishing on a recent trip, the winch not only handled a couple 50 inch class fish, it also handled the fish of a lifetime!!! QUALITY is outstanding!!!
55 Inches!!! BIG Thanks!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Revo Toro Winch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best swimbait/crankbait/spinnerbaits reel I ever used.

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daryl
from Yelm, WA
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own 4 of the Revo Winches and 8 other various low profile Abu Garcia reels. I have been using Abu Garcia for over 30 years and the Revo series is above and beyong any other reels I have owned. The winches stand out more that any other reel because of its versatility. They are the perfect fit for my swimbait fishing because of the speed and the drag strength, especially when throwing weedless swimbaits in cover. Same goes with deep or medium diving crankbaits the speed is essential in reaching maximum depth and staying in the strike zone longer. I use spinnerbaits in the spring, summer and fall using 3/4 to 1 oz baits. The winch helps me the spinnerbait in contact with the bottom longer because of the speed of the reel.
When I use these reels all day applying these different methods it keeps my hands and arms from fatigue like other reels.
If you borrow or buy one, I will guarantee you will be hooked for a life time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>