Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Rods or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Vendetta

Abu Garcia Vendetta

Factory balanced to the specifications Abu Garcia baitcast and spinning reels for the perfect feel when fishing long days out on the water. 30 Ton graphite construction provides a lighter weight blank and transfers vibrations to the angler for superb sensitivity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.023 / 5
4
 / 
5
(174 Reviews) 174
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 174 reviews
5 stars
107
4 stars
25
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 star
26
135 out of 168(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Vendetta
Review 1 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My FIRST rod!!!!!!!

PostedMay 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gonein60seconds
from Dundas, Ontario
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Novice
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Never enjoyed fishing, more of a car enthusiast... Now a hooked fishing junkie! My first time out with this rod was during salmon season 2010. On my second cast with a glow in the dark spoon , a salmon hammered it ... i fought this fish for 15-20 minutes... i couldnt believe how much flex a fishing rod has, im impressed with abu & with all the "v" series rods. Now a pround owner of all "v" series rods. I now fish on a regular schedule 3weeks out of a month Thanks Abu Awesome gear would not hestitate to recommend this amazing equipment!
1pc vendetta with stadic ci4 20pd braided nice set-up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Rod on the Market for the Money!!

PostedMay 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Millertyme11
from Trussville, al
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have two of these Rods, a 6'9 and 7'3. The sensitivity is unparalled for a Rod at this price point!! I have GLoomis Rods, Kistler and St Croix and this Rod is my favorite. Lightweight and Strong, great for Flipping Jigs and soft plastics. I plan on getting the Spinning Rod and a medium aciton for Cranks. You can spend more but why??
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gregusa1
Camdenton, Missouri.
Vendetta well worth the Money !!!!!!!!
Posted January 30, 2013
I have the 7' one peice spinning rod M.H. along with Penn's Battle reel, the Penn Battle 3000 model. And below the Dam in Fast water this Rod takes on the Hybirds and Stripers with no problem at all. I liked it so much that I bought another one for my son. Bottom line ! This Rod has Guts........
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice rod to cast and fish but poor durability

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
LArry_qb12
from Montreal, PQ
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice rod to fish, easy casting with good quality line, great sensivity although the durability is of the rod is poor for the price. My problem came when a friend invted me for small trout fishing. Mine broke in half while carring back a trout on lake trout (6'-9'' medium light 6-10lbs).
Never had problem with this equipement but I was very suprise when te rod broked in my hands. At this price it should not broke that way.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SNAP!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Really?
from Eastern NC
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this rod & loved it for almost 45 minutes! Hooked up on a small trout and SNAP 1/2 of the rod was in the water! I get home and read the reviews on the rod (should have done this 1st) sounds like a common problem.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed......

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased three Vendetta rods last summer. Two broke in half within weeks. Eighty dollars should buy a much more durable rod. I chose not to pursue replacement, as it would cost me $10 each just to get yet another of these rods. Won't be buying any more of these.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad rod

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Max
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Action 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am a fan of the line of Abu reels and have been using them for some time now and decided to give one of their rods a try. I bought a vendetta for eighty dollars expecting a good rod for the price, but what I recived was quite the opposite. I had owned the rod for around two months and had caught several small fish on it until I hooked into a large what I thought was about six pound fish, and once I set the hook the rod broke about an inch and a half down from the third guide. I believe that there was something wrong with that specific rod and would like to revive another vendetta to try again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJuly 21, 2014
Good morning. We are sorry to hear that you have had trouble with your Vendetta rod as what you describe is not normal. The good news is that all V series rods carry a 3 year warranty and we are here to help. Please reach out to us at 1.800.228.4272 - a representative will be happy to assist you with a warranty claim. We understand your frustration and will work quickly to get you back to fishing. Thanks for reaching out to us and we look forward to resolving your issue
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Worked well until...

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
fisher23
from Northern Wisconsin
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have had my Vendetta rod for 2 years now and until now it worked great. The action was good, there was decent sensitivity, and the price was actually reasonable. Unfortunately, that all changed today while reeling in a hammer-handle northern pike (12" measured). While reeling this fish in the rod snapped between eyelets. The sad part about that was that even though I had most of the line to reel in still the fish was so small that even with a snapped rod it was not much of a fight. Nevertheless, it was definitely upsetting. To others in the market for a new rod, keep in mind this review and the multiple others that have had similar problems with the vendetta rod. The rod itself has a catchy design, the company name is of quality, and the price is acceptable; however, the vendetta could use a bit of a revamp in the durability and craftsmanship department.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJuly 21, 2014
Good morning and thanks for reaching out to us - we are sorry to hear that you had a breakage issue with your Vendetta as what you describe is not normal. It sounds like the rod may have been nicked or dinged during shipping, transport or on the store shelf ultimately causing breakage when it was put under load. No worries as all Abu Garcia V series rods carry a 3 year warranty. Please reach out to our customer service department at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to assist you with a warranty claim.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointed

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
CM45
from California
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
In the past year, I have broken two of these rods. Both were the 6.6 foot length. One was a medium heavy action and the other a medium. Both rods broke under normal fishing conditions. Both broke at the third eyelet while landing a fish, about 2 lbs each. No I was not swinging the fish aboard. I still have one 7 foot rod left of the same model. I will be interesting to see if that one breaks as well. Needless to say, I will not be buying these rods any more. At $80 each, I expected better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tombeck
marco island florida
6'6'' broke
Posted July 10, 2014
we have several rods and the 7' are awesome so far after 7 months of heavy use. HOWEVER the 6'6'' snaps like a twig in the upper limb if the angle is even slightly to sharp with minimal pressure. if you kayak fish DO NOT use this rod to life a fish into the boat! i thought i was me until i read that several others have the same issue. I kept replacing the rod and now 4 of them 6'6'' have snapped even if you breath on them. this is a shame becuase i cant find a rod that is compareable without speding 400 bucks.
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bought 3 vendetta rods down to 1

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Action 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought 3 vendetta rods early this spring and now down to 1 hooked a 2 lbs large mouth on one half way to the bank and it the rod broke in half.....failure number 2 happened catching a 1 1/2 pound catfish same thing happened to this rod in the same place.....and to add to the frustration also had a abu3000i combo ultralight that broke first trip out on the 2nd cast never hooking a fish....very disappointing especially for the price.....come on Abu step up the quality.....so now I'm down to 1 out of 4 Abu Garcia rods looks like its back to the good old reliable Shakespeare and zebcos for now. I am very happy with Abu Garcia's reels but that is all at this time
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

my first abu rod

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
I received my vendetta for a gift not to long ago an I could not wait till summer time to use it . Well I was fishing today an hooked into a nice northern pike and as I was almost to shore with him he made one last charge out .....well thats when my vendetta snapped in two pieces . I love the rod an have no complaints except for its broke now im hopping abu garcia can help me .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bang for buck..BEST ROD!

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Don
from Nashville Tenisee
Age:55-65
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been fishing tourneys for a long time now and my grandson gave me this rod for a present. I thought it wouldnt be anything great for the $80 that was spent on it. Was I ever wrong this is every bit as sensitive as any Duckett or St.Croix rod I have ever used!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very good rod. Just plain amazing. Especially for the price. I love the action and construction and strength its just awesome. Especially with crankbait and spinnerbait.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jig rod

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
scottymac
from Massachusetts
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this rod at the beginning of 2013 and used it for the entire 2013 season. This quickly became my favorite combo to use (Lews Mg Speed spool 6.4:1 with 17 lb McCoy floro and 7'6" MH vendetta). I primarily used it for throwing jigs 3/8-3/4 ounce. I used flipping jigs, football jigs and swim jigs all on the same setup with no adjustments necessary. Handled many bass at the 6 pound range and never had an issue with it. The rods are rated at on power below what they should be it seems, this was a fairly stiff rod but still worked great! Can't wait to try out some more Abu rods and reels this tournament season!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Scottymac
Update on my rod
Posted May 19, 2014
This rod just snapped in 3 pieces on a 4 pounder, so hopefully the warranty will cover me here
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great but not perfect.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hunternickols
from Grain Valley, MO
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this rod for a little over a year now, and it worked great all last summer, but the first fish I connected with this spring, the rod snapped between the 2nd and 3rd guides. It's a 6' 6" Medium action spinning rod. I'm not sure what the warranty is, but I don't have my receipt anymore. Hopefully the warranty is good because I have an Alphamar 20, a Revo SX, and another vendetta casting rod. I love Abu Garcia products, but I was disappointed when this happened but great until it snapped. I currently work at Bass Pro shops and Abu Garcia is the first name I would recommend. Keep it up. I have a feeling this was a fluke.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect bass rod

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Every pleased with this rod. I've caught anything from a 5 in bream to a 16.9 lb wall hanging bass to 56lb red fish on it,and everything in between. One of the best bass rods for under a hundred dollars hands down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rod

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
northernlighter
from Avilla, In
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have the 6'9 medium for over a year now and I have pulled several fish from 5lbs to 1lbs out of thick vegataion and all this rod has held up and is more sensitive then my st Croix mojos. I mostly use it for tube fishing with braided line it works great. In fact I have bought two more for my finesse fishing for it great sensitivity I would highly recommend this product coming from a st Croix fanboy..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best rod ever

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bpl400
from Jackson, Alabama
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a 6'6 vendetta spinning rod for shakeyhead and smaller Texas rigs, I caught the biggest fish of my life this summer, an 11.14. I just ordered a 7'6 for flipping and pitching. Keep it up ABU!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WE like it

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chuck
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i paired this 7 feet 2 pc rod with an older cardinal spin reel with a 10 lb mono. i took this to the Philippines in 2011 where i go on vacation and fsihing trips every year. this is my GO TO combo for smaller fish species. it very sensitive and the action is uncomparable. my brother uses often and he likes it too more that other combo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Had no problem bring in this pike

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bill
from New Brunswick, NJ
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned a lot of rods and reels over my 50 plus years of fishing, my Vendetta rod and Abu Garcia reel worked flawlessly bring in this 38" northern!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vendetta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good, happy with my purchase

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
BamaTourneyKing
from Alabama
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This rod is well built and sturdy. It has good backbone and can fight the bigger fish easily. The only thing about it that I wish it had a little more play when swinging fish into the bost. I have fished a few tournaments and also just at a few farm ponds and it performs well all the time. Overall great pole and fishes as well as some of my St. Croix's for a lot less money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>