Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Rods or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Vengeance

Abu Garcia Vengeance

A stellar balance of function and design for true performance on the water at a great value. The Vengeance™ features durable 24 Ton graphite construction combined with the a unique design that delivers the next generation of symmetry in fishing rods.
Average Customer Rating:
3.641 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
11
1 star
8
39 out of 60(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Vengeance
Review 1 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Break it....in!

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Grilla
from Salem, OR
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I read a lot of reviews of people breaking rods on their first outings? Manufacturer's should apprise consumers that these rods require being broke in so they don't break upon load being applied. I do this by tying a hook on then secure it to hook holder, CAREFULLY reel the line causing the pole to bend slightly, then let set. After several hours Carefully reel it some more, then let it sit over night. If you think your applying too much tension, back off you are. After doing this a couple day, the pole will be broke in and ready for the big ones! I bought a Vengeance after using Orra combo last year, which is a 24 ton graphite pole too. I used the pole as my frog rod for bass fishing, and it handled the explosive bites flawlessly. I expect no difference from the Vengeance! Abu Garcia make quality products & I'll always stand by them since they back their products up unlike most companies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

suprised

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from frankfort, ky
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought the 7' medium heavy casting rod and paired it with a, don't hate me I paid 10 bucks from a buddy who needed gas money, quantum burner reel. Wish I could afford the revo rocket. But I was gonna use it for bass fishing crank baits and such but I took my 4 year old fishing for the first time so I ended up dead lining catfish with it. The way this rod casts is amazing for the price. And the fact it reeled in 10 to 20 pound catfish with no problem surprised the heck out of me. I don't think you can get a better rod for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice rod

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Cape Coral FL
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:No
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have the 6.5 foot medium heavy 12-20 lb. Its lightweight and strong. It is a little stiffer than other rods. I use it with a silver max 2 and 20 lb powerpro.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke right off the bat

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from ky
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Action 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased a 6'6'' ml action rod to use as a crappie rod last fall, to match it with a brand new abu garcia cardinal sx. Everything matched up and seemed fine untill i took about my 20th cast on the lake with a small twirl tail jig when the top 5 inch of the rod just snapped off. this is only the 2nd abu rod iv had brake but the other one broke with a large bass on it not just casting.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMarch 20, 2014
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. All Abu Garcia V series rods carry a 3 year warranty and we will be happy to assist you with a warranty claim. From what you described here, it sounds as though your rod was damaged on the self, or during shipping/transport which ultimately caused the failure under load. Our customer service team will be happy to get your issue resolved and get you back to fishing. Please reach out to our team at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to assist you. Have a great week and we look forward to your call.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rods! Great company!

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a 7'0 medium heavy casting, 7'0 medium heavy spinning, 7'6" heavy casting. I love the vengeance rods! The handles feel great in your hand they are sensitive and durable. I have the Cardinal 400 spinning reel and the pro max 2 bait cast reel. I have caught big fish on these set ups multiple 5-6 pounders and my biggest and personal best last year was 9 1/2 pounder on the 7'0 medium heavy casting rod with the pro max reel caught her throwing a texas rig! I cant say enough about these rods. For 50 bucks you will not find anything better. Abu Garcia for life!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best $50 rod on the market

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
BassManVr6
from Chattanooga,TN
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I have a 7' med casting,7' med-heavy spinning,7'6" heavy casting, they are all great, had no problem pulling in 8lb+ stripers with the 7'6, caught all species of fish with the spinning, pulled in a bunch of 4lb+ bass with the 7' med. Fishing Tennessee River you need a variety of gear at $50 each why buy 1 $150 rod. Of course the rods are great, they're Abu's.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Rod for the Money

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kyle
from Illinois
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Vengeance rod just recently broke but I did get about 2 good years of using it; anyway on to the review. This rod is amazing! It is strong, sensitive, and feels great in the hand. In my opinion, it has good balance too. I used my 7'0" medium-heavy for my "all-purpose" rod and I tossed everything from small topwaters to 1oz football head jigs (I even have tossed umbrella rigs on this rod), and I had no issues casting those baits at all. I mean come on, at $50, it's a tremendous deal that shouldn't be passed up. And besides, it's ABU GARCIA. The name itself tells the whole story.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rod

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
TGG
from ON
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I paired this casting rod with the pflueger cetina baitcast reel, and this rod has held up to pitching mats/bulrushes, finesse at 6 - 15ft and tubes/jigs in 20ft of water, Also while bass fishing hooked in two 27in pike one after another and this rod didnt even make a noise.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

one of the best rides i have ever owned

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
chuck
from virginia beach, virginia
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have been using this rod paired up with the black max reel and its reeled in all the fish ive thrown at it ranging from 12 lb bowfin to 13 lb bass its amazing
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

guides

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
kingester
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the guides tend to break really easy under loads theres alot of talk about the poles breaking in half but mine is still holding strong i caught a 19 in large mouth bass and it was completely wild but my rod held up to the test but unfortunely the creel limit is 20in so i had to throw back lol ceder creek lake in standford ky bass can measure 26in and can weigh 9 to 15 pounds
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Extremely disappointed

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fishingjaketn
from McMinnville, tn
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I ordered this rod a week ago along with a Silvermax reel, the reel is great for the money so far. I have had an itch to hit the water since I received it. I went out an hour ago and hung into around a 3.5lb-4lb largemouth and got the hook set and the bass rolled and snapped the pole at the third eye from the tip. I own other Abu products and they are great, but this rod isn't worth what it cost. 1st fish and it snapped, I am extremely disappointed in this rod. I added the picture of the fish and the damage to the pole.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaSeptember 23, 2013
Good morning - sorry to hear you had an issue with your combo rod as this is not normal. The good news is that all combos carry a 1 year warranty and we are here to help. A customer service representative has already been notified about your case and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review. If you ever need to speak to a customer service representative directly over the phone, please call Tel: 1.800.228.4272. A representative will be in contact with you shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the rod just dident hold up

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from massachusetts
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i really like this rod ive had it for about 2 months and it held up good but i hook and landed a 5lber and the next fishing was 3.5lbs and when i was fighting the fish was running and the rod tip just broke, it was 3 guides down i am very dissapointed in abu garcis every rod and reel i own is abu garcia but i still want another one i havent lost faith in u guys yet
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

rod broke

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Looks like I am not the exception here. Fought a little 3 to 4 pounder this morning. A few cast later thought I heard something funny when I made a cast. Got to looking at the rod and it was cracked about a foot down from the tip. Actually bought the black max combo for my 10 year old son. Reel seems fine. Guess I will put it on one of our go to Bass Pro poles. Been buying them since the mid 80's and have never had one break when it wasn't my fault.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaAugust 6, 2013
Good morning - sorry to hear that you had an issue with your Vengeance rod. The good news is that all V series rods carry a 3 year warranty and we are here to help. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your situation and will contact you at the email address that you provided with this review. All V series rods are made out of high modulus graphite which provides excellent sensitivity in a lightweight design. With this in mind it is important to know that, regardless of rod manufacturer, high modulus graphite will be more susceptible to breakage under a heavy load if it is nicked or dinged or used in an improper manner such as “high sticking” or slinging fish into the boat. These last two actions put the rod at extreme angles and pressure that can cause failure. Older and less expensive rods are typically constructed from composite/fiberglass. While more durable, the level of sensitivity, control and weight pales in comparison to high modulus graphite - think of it as the difference between using a typewriter (i.e. fiberglass/composite) vs. a modern day laptop (i.e. high modulus graphite). If they are cared for properly, you will not experience breakage issues with your high modulus Vengeance rod. Simply use care during transport, storage and avoid slinging fish into the boat or high sticking. Again, thank you for reaching out to us and we will be in contact with you shortly to help you with your warranty claim and get you back to fishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good start bad FINISH!

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Snapgrabber
from Georgia
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Bought this spring of 2012, it was awkward at first but after some use I got a liking to it. I was out fishing this past week and the rod gave out on me. Wow! I did not expect that from this rod. Very disappointing, I really liked this rod, I caught a lot of nice fish with it. I can't find my receipt so I guess I will be out $49. How do you return a 7' rod anyway? Never had this happen before...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaAugust 1, 2013
Good morning. We are sorry to hear that you have had trouble with your Vengeance rod as what you describe is not normal. The good news is that all V series rods carry a 3 year warranty are we are here to help. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your case and will contact you at the email address that you provided with this review. We understand your frustration and will work quickly to get you back to fishing. If you ever need to speak to us directly, please don't hesitate to call us at 1.800.228.4272. Thanks for reaching out to us and we will be in contact with you shortly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great rod but very fragile

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tom
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this rod about a month ago as part of a black max combo and loved it, absolutely my favorite rod. But the very first time I dropped it, it snapped right above the 6th guide ring. It was about a three foot drop. I go fishing about three times a week and need a much more durable rod so as much as I liked it I won't purchase another one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong as steel

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pmiller1207
from McDonough
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have had this rod for about a year. I use it a couple times a week for bass fishing and I have never had any problems. This rod's true test of strength came when a 15 pound catfish hooked on to my bass worm. Not once did I feel like the rod was gna give. It hauled that cat all the way up to the shore with ease. I use a 5601c4 on this rod and couldn't be happier. I'm looking forward to purchasing more v-series rods in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good rod... until it broke

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ks66Outlaw
from Ottawa, Ks.
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
My wife purchased this rod for me as a valentines gift back in feb. of this year. I absolutely loved the rod, the action was nice, and it was overall one of my favorites to bring on any trip. However over the weekend I was out fishing, and hooked a 3 1/2 pounder. While reeling in the fish the grip began cracking with every tug the fish made, I did not think much of it until I went for another cast after landing the fish. Upon cast the handle completely came undone. Parked this pole up in the garage when I got home, and rigged up a different one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJuly 24, 2013
Good morning - we are sorry to hear you had an issue with your Vengeance rod. All V series rods carry a 3 year warranty. From the details and attached photo, it appears that the rod may have been nicked or damage during transport, storage or on the store shelf, ultimately causing failure when under a load. We are here to help - one of our customer service representatives will reach out to you at the email address that you submitted with this review. We will work hard to get your issue taken care of so you can get back to fishing. If you ever need to speak to a customer service representative directly over the phone, please call Tel: 1.800.228.4272. A representative will be in contact with you shortly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vengeance

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
BassMan72
from Iowa
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this rod for my spinning reel and absolutely love it. I love it so much I bought a baitcasting rod for my pro max. The sensitivity on these rods are amazing. I do a lot of topwater and flipping craws for bass so being able to feel that bite and feeling right to the edge of the mouth is a huge factor in landing large bass and these rods do the trick! I have caught atleast 100 largemouth, pulling them through weeds with these rods and never once was worried about it breaking. I'm a believer in companies that stay true and produce a quality product and Abu Garcia does just that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pole broke less than a month old!

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike
from Texas
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
July 4th 2013. Fishing Sam Rayburn Texas with 10.lb. mono and hooked a 5.5 lb. bass. The pole immediately broke in half. Since I trust the brand Abu Garcia, I did not bring another pole. I could not be more angry, frustrated, and disappointed. After coming back in to go purchase another pole, I reviewed this pole here and found a response from A.B. to another post like mine suggesting "sacrifice" for feel over strength. REALLY?
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJuly 15, 2013
Good morning - we are sorry to hear that you had a breakage issue with your rod as this is not normal. The good news is that all V series rods carry a 3 year warranty and we will be happy to help with your warranty replacement. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your case and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review to expedite the replacement process.

We are not sure what review you are referring to about a "sacrifice" for sensitivity over strength as this is not the case. However, newer rods - regardless of manufacturer - that are constructed from high modulus graphite such as your Vengeance, require a little more care than say a cheaper composite rod that is heavier and much less sensitive. Just use care when trasporting or storing your rods to ensure that they don't get knicked or dinged and you should have no issues. Again, we are here to help and will work hard to get you back to fishing quickly. Have a great week and we will be in touch shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted July 9, 2013
had one over a year now hasnt broke
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

soo wish it didnt brake

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
S Baxter
from manassas, va
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Strength/Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this rod vngs66-5 about 9 months ago. loved it from the start. on my four trip to the lake, I got a hit, set the hook and snap, the rod broke just under the third eyelet. but I still reeled in my catch but my day was over.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>