Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Rods or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Vengeance

Abu Garcia Vengeance

A stellar balance of function and design for true performance on the water at a great value. The Vengeance™ features durable 24 Ton graphite construction combined with the a unique design that delivers the next generation of symmetry in fishing rods.
Average Customer Rating:
3.534 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 73 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
13
1 star
11
43 out of 69(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Vengeance
Review 1 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

cheap people

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
3 / 5
3 / 5
You get what you pay for. If you want a better rod then go out and spend some money. Don't be cheap, abu makes good rods and this is a great rod for the price. But like I said before you get what you pay for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Vengeance rods.....I'm a little dissatisfied

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Georgia
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Action 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought a black max baitcaster combo about 6 months ago. Fished with it regularly. Well last week I was fishing with the combo and the rod snapped about 1/3 of the way from the top. Needless to say I was shocked. I was trying to pull a fish from some heavy grass and the rod snapped. With a heavy 7 foot rod you'd figure the rod would be the last thing to break, but mine did. I'm going to contact Abu about the issue an the rod is still under warranty. Now I'm a bit skeptical about using any of their other rods. The reel I've not had any problems with to date. I hope the replacement rod will hold up better than the old one did.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Made a Big mistake with this purchase!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Action 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought two of these in combos. Didn't get to use them for over a year. When I went to thread the line through the eyelets the first time it broke at the top.didn't even use it once! Garcia used to be a good bet. Now I am looking elsewhere. I'm afraid to use the other one!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJuly 21, 2014
Good afternoon and thanks for reaching out to us - we are sorry to hear that you had a breakage issue with your Vengeance rod what you describe is not normal. It sounds like the rod may have been nicked or dinged during shipping, transport or on the store shelf ultimately causing breakage when it was put under load. No worries as all Abu Garcia V series rods carry a 3 year warranty. Please reach out to our customer service department at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to assit you with a warranty claim.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Vengeance baitcasting Rod

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Clint Robinson
from Washington State
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Action 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have always use my trusted Abu Garcia Conolon Spin casting rod. That thing has caught everything. I bought the Vengeance Rod and it broke on the first fish!!! It was a 5 inch Rock Bass... Honestly Abu Garcia has disgraced it's name by allowing their name to be put on this piece of garbage. I am not the only one. My rod broke just below the 3rd eyelet, this is not just a common problem it is a most likely scenario... A very disappointed customer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted July 21, 2014
Looks like the company fully backed this rod the way every company should. I recently purchased this rod and am very happy with its performance. And now that I know the company will stand behind it and me I'm even more staisfied. Hope you called them Clint.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

common problem

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
tom
from south georgia
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
I have fished with this rod for about 6 months. I loved it. Now not so much. I recently went out on the pond and landed pa couple 3 pounders. I casted and pop... the rattletrap goes off into the distance. I figured the line was just beat up from snags and what not. I tied on another rattle trap and same thing happens. Now 12 dollars down in lures I Inspect the rod. The metal ring on the 4th guide is missing with sharp edges. Dissatisfied with the loss of great lures and the cheap guides I dont think I would use abu garcia products again
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vengeance

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fish'inFool
from Eastvale, Ca
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love this rod! So I have been fishing bass pro extreme series rods for over ten years, in local club tournaments. And I like this series better. Just say'in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Record breaker

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Joe
from manistee michigan
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have owned a charter business for a yr now but fished my whole life the only rod i recommend abu garcia i was 1 oz off the state record for dog fish so everyone abu proud reel loud
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Rods!!

PostedApril 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Basinboy
from Sunland,CA
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These really are some great rods,ive got two of them the 6'9 MH cast,and the 7'0 M spin,use them for both fresh and saltwater,7'0 has great action soft enough tip for lil guys but plenty of backbone for the Lunkers.6'9 MH lil on the heavy side I thought but still an awesome rod,split handle gives both rods excellent sensitivity,would recommend to anyone.
4LIFE
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

WAS IN LOVE

PostedApril 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
THIS ROD HAS GREAT SENSITIVITY AND ACTION, BUT NO STRENGTH. I'M ON MY SECOND VENGEANCE IN A YEAR AND THE ONE THAT I AM USING NOW HAS A BROKEN TIP JUST LIKE THE FIRST I BOUGHT. I LOVE THE ROD IT FEELS SO RIGHT IN MY HAND RESTING ON MY ARM, BUT IT JUST BREAKS SO EASILY.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Break it....in!

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Grilla
from Salem, OR
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I read a lot of reviews of people breaking rods on their first outings? Manufacturer's should apprise consumers that these rods require being broke in so they don't break upon load being applied. I do this by tying a hook on then secure it to hook holder, CAREFULLY reel the line causing the pole to bend slightly, then let set. After several hours Carefully reel it some more, then let it sit over night. If you think your applying too much tension, back off you are. After doing this a couple day, the pole will be broke in and ready for the big ones! I bought a Vengeance after using Orra combo last year, which is a 24 ton graphite pole too. I used the pole as my frog rod for bass fishing, and it handled the explosive bites flawlessly. I expect no difference from the Vengeance! Abu Garcia make quality products & I'll always stand by them since they back their products up unlike most companies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jordan
Canada
Amazing!!
Posted May 13, 2014
To be completely honest, I'd heard nothing but bad things about this rod, but I must say my outing today proved all of that wrong. My second cast with this paired with the Black Max reel, I sunk my 30 lb test braid line into a fat 40 inch northern pike. The hookset power was incredible. I felt so confident, and even as it was stripping line off of my reel, the rod effortlessly wrestled this beast of a fish. Four fish later, I didn't miss a single hookset. Even some of the lighter hits were easily detectable. It has the sensitivity of my ultra light Ugly Stik, but the hookset power that you'd expect out of a rod like this. I'd definitely recommend you give this rod a fair chance despite its negative reviews by many.I never write reviews, but I had to make an exception because this rod is fantastic. Tight lines!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

suprised

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from frankfort, ky
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought the 7' medium heavy casting rod and paired it with a, don't hate me I paid 10 bucks from a buddy who needed gas money, quantum burner reel. Wish I could afford the revo rocket. But I was gonna use it for bass fishing crank baits and such but I took my 4 year old fishing for the first time so I ended up dead lining catfish with it. The way this rod casts is amazing for the price. And the fact it reeled in 10 to 20 pound catfish with no problem surprised the heck out of me. I don't think you can get a better rod for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice rod

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Cape Coral FL
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:No
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have the 6.5 foot medium heavy 12-20 lb. Its lightweight and strong. It is a little stiffer than other rods. I use it with a silver max 2 and 20 lb powerpro.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke right off the bat

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from ky
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Action 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased a 6'6'' ml action rod to use as a crappie rod last fall, to match it with a brand new abu garcia cardinal sx. Everything matched up and seemed fine untill i took about my 20th cast on the lake with a small twirl tail jig when the top 5 inch of the rod just snapped off. this is only the 2nd abu rod iv had brake but the other one broke with a large bass on it not just casting.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMarch 20, 2014
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. All Abu Garcia V series rods carry a 3 year warranty and we will be happy to assist you with a warranty claim. From what you described here, it sounds as though your rod was damaged on the self, or during shipping/transport which ultimately caused the failure under load. Our customer service team will be happy to get your issue resolved and get you back to fishing. Please reach out to our team at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to assist you. Have a great week and we look forward to your call.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rods! Great company!

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a 7'0 medium heavy casting, 7'0 medium heavy spinning, 7'6" heavy casting. I love the vengeance rods! The handles feel great in your hand they are sensitive and durable. I have the Cardinal 400 spinning reel and the pro max 2 bait cast reel. I have caught big fish on these set ups multiple 5-6 pounders and my biggest and personal best last year was 9 1/2 pounder on the 7'0 medium heavy casting rod with the pro max reel caught her throwing a texas rig! I cant say enough about these rods. For 50 bucks you will not find anything better. Abu Garcia for life!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best $50 rod on the market

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
BassManVr6
from Chattanooga,TN
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I have a 7' med casting,7' med-heavy spinning,7'6" heavy casting, they are all great, had no problem pulling in 8lb+ stripers with the 7'6, caught all species of fish with the spinning, pulled in a bunch of 4lb+ bass with the 7' med. Fishing Tennessee River you need a variety of gear at $50 each why buy 1 $150 rod. Of course the rods are great, they're Abu's.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Rod for the Money

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kyle
from Illinois
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Vengeance rod just recently broke but I did get about 2 good years of using it; anyway on to the review. This rod is amazing! It is strong, sensitive, and feels great in the hand. In my opinion, it has good balance too. I used my 7'0" medium-heavy for my "all-purpose" rod and I tossed everything from small topwaters to 1oz football head jigs (I even have tossed umbrella rigs on this rod), and I had no issues casting those baits at all. I mean come on, at $50, it's a tremendous deal that shouldn't be passed up. And besides, it's ABU GARCIA. The name itself tells the whole story.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rod

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
TGG
from ON
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I paired this casting rod with the pflueger cetina baitcast reel, and this rod has held up to pitching mats/bulrushes, finesse at 6 - 15ft and tubes/jigs in 20ft of water, Also while bass fishing hooked in two 27in pike one after another and this rod didnt even make a noise.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

one of the best rides i have ever owned

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
chuck
from virginia beach, virginia
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have been using this rod paired up with the black max reel and its reeled in all the fish ive thrown at it ranging from 12 lb bowfin to 13 lb bass its amazing
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

guides

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
kingester
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sensitivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the guides tend to break really easy under loads theres alot of talk about the poles breaking in half but mine is still holding strong i caught a 19 in large mouth bass and it was completely wild but my rod held up to the test but unfortunely the creel limit is 20in so i had to throw back lol ceder creek lake in standford ky bass can measure 26in and can weigh 9 to 15 pounds
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vengeance
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Extremely disappointed

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fishingjaketn
from McMinnville, tn
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sensitivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Action 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I ordered this rod a week ago along with a Silvermax reel, the reel is great for the money so far. I have had an itch to hit the water since I received it. I went out an hour ago and hung into around a 3.5lb-4lb largemouth and got the hook set and the bass rolled and snapped the pole at the third eye from the tip. I own other Abu products and they are great, but this rod isn't worth what it cost. 1st fish and it snapped, I am extremely disappointed in this rod. I added the picture of the fish and the damage to the pole.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaSeptember 23, 2013
Good morning - sorry to hear you had an issue with your combo rod as this is not normal. The good news is that all combos carry a 1 year warranty and we are here to help. A customer service representative has already been notified about your case and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review. If you ever need to speak to a customer service representative directly over the phone, please call Tel: 1.800.228.4272. A representative will be in contact with you shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>