Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Revo or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
4.819 out of 5
4.811 out of 5
4.761 out of 5

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Revo Toro

Abu Garcia Revo Toro

The large capacity of a round reel built into the sleek, ergonomic design of a Revo® low profile reel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
1
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
1
27 out of 33(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Revo Toro
Review 1 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Abu Revo Toro 60 HS Great When in Working Condition

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
MHSMuskies
from Buffalo, IA
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I live in Iowa and only get to use my reel two weeks out of the summer up in Minnesota. In the time I used the reel my fishing greatly improved. Faster Line Intake = More Muskies!. My backlashes were gone and the reel casts a mile. Everything was great until the third week. Mid cast with a phantom jerk bait my break assembly exploded out the reel casing and fell into the lake. I am sending the reel into spirit lake service center today hopefully my issue is resolved shortly. I am hoping this break issue was a fluke because I love the reel and cant wait until next summer to use it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Abu Garcia. FOR LIFE. Best purchase ever...I just bought two more.

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
DatFuCanFish
from San Diego, CA
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I made the decision to purchase the Revo Toro 50HS after watching the Team Jack videos of the Inshore model, back in June of 2009. I fish saltwater 99% of the time. I love this reel. From shoreline to inshore, in and around San Diego, I have stuck many, many fish. Well, in the last week, I have sold my Curado 200DHSV for the Revo Inshore, and Curado 300EJ for the Revo Toro NaCl. My only regret is, I should have done this much sooner. Too bad Rebate Offer only applies to a Rod & Reel Purchase, and not a Reel & Reel purchase, other than that...Fish BEWARE! Abu Garcia. FOR LIFE.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Corrosion and thumb bar problem

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ex-Abu Fan
from Singapore
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had been a big fan of Abu Garcia low profiles ever since I used the Gen 2 Premier. Unfortunately this reel had been disappointing.
- Part of the frame corroded, causing the paint to bubble up despite washing it with warm water every time I used it. In fact it happened in less than 20 hours of usage, barely 2 months since I got it.
- The thumb-bar frequently gets stuck, requiring me to alternative between cranking and pressing it again a few times to get it working.
- Drag is extremely sticky out of the box, more so than other brands.
This is a pity because the reel is great other wise, surprising castability, strong drag once properly greased and ergonomic. Cranking power is as expected of a low profile.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaFebruary 26, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for reaching out to us as we are here to help. All Abu Garcia reels are backed with a 1 year warranty. A representative has already been notified about your issue and will be contacting you shortly at the email address that you provided with this review. We will work hard to get you back to fishing.

We noted that you fish saltwater. The standard Revo Toro that you have is not designed for saltwater use and this is most likely the reason for your issues. We do offer the Revo Toro NaCl which is a saltwater-specific Toro reel that has been engineered for use in harsh saltwater environments. The Revo Toro NaCl is the proper reel for saltwater fishing and you will not have the issues that you mentioned here. Again, thanks for reaching out to us and we will be in contact soon. Have a great day.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DatFuCanFish
San Diego, California
Customer Service
Posted April 26, 2013
Ex-Abu Fan, sorry to hear about your ordeal with your reel, GLAD to see Abu respond to try and resolve your issue. I have been using the Revo Toro 50HS ONLY in saltwater and do a simple rinse off with fresh water after tightening the drag and cast control knobs, then shake off excess water and give the handle a quick couple of spins, light wipe with towel and air dry. I have been doing this since 2009, and I love this reel. I love it so much, I am selling my brand new Shimano Curado 300EJ, i received for Christmas, to buy another Toro. Tight lines!
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

revo toro 60 hs

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Iowa
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
used this reel for muskie for three weeks over two yrs, great reel . ran accross a couple issues one the thumb bar does stick once every 100 or so casts hasn't caused and major problems with that yet , Two the side plate got loose on me and fell off dureing use, once i figured how to put that back together i over tighted the screw on the top side plate of the handle side and broke it, thankfully it all held together for the rest of the week, it is being repaired now, in Spirit lake, IA. over all a good reel. but for the price shouldn't have any issues. a Record reel or 6600C4 does a good job too for a fraction of the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Corrosion

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have been using the Revo Toro 60 hs for 6 months, the performance has been great. However the “X-Cräftic™ Alloy Frame and Side Plate for Corrosion Resistance” are not up to standard. My reel is starting to corrode after only being used in fresh water lakes, none of my other reels are affected.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaOctober 29, 2012
Hello, thanks for reaching out to us about your issue - all Abu Garcia reels are backed by a 1 year warranty. From the pictures that you have attached, we cannot determine if it is corrosion or scratches. While the handle sideplate is X-Craftic alloy like the frame, the palm sideplate that is marked in the picture is graphite which cannot corrode. We would like to get your reel in so we can inspect it, fix your issue and get you back to fishing. A customer service representative has been notified of you situation and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided for this review. If you ever need to contact us directly, feel free to call us at 1-800-228-4272. Thanks and have a great week.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DatFuCanFish
San Diego, California
Thanks Abu Garcia
Posted April 26, 2013
I've owned and fished by Revo Toro 50HS since 2009 and love it! Thanks Abu Garcia for a fantastic product and thank you for responding to these folks that are having issues with theirs.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good reel but not worth the money compared to the record and c3&4

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from new jersey
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have a winch and a hs both 60 models in lefty used for musky fishing. also have a c3 and c4. the revos seem to have more torque at the same gear ratio and have the comfort of low profile, but there are definite issues. the thumb bar doesn't return all the way on my hs, the winch runs like a champ. I have cleaned it,and tried grease then oil, think an additional return spring on the side opposite the gears would do the trick, but the bar tends to be a dirt magnet no matter what I do. I have also had issues with the drag. I have tried backing w mono and using elect tape on the spool, its def the dragsystem itself. these are comfy to use all day but for the $$$ id get a record or C series first unless I wanted to pull double 10s around. waaayyy more comfy than a 7000 for that purpose. otherwise my moneys going into a round reel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaOctober 19, 2012
Good morning - sorry to hear you are having an issue with your Revo Toro. What you describe with the drag is not normal as you shouldn't have any sort of slippage with the steps that you have taken, i.e. backing/electrical tape. You should actually have more drag pressure with the Toro (22lb max drag) vs the C3 & C4 (15lb max drag). All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty & we will be happy to take care of your case. One of our customer service representatives will reach out to you at the email address that you submitted with this review to learn more about your specific case. If you ever need to get in touch with us directly, our customer service department can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We understand your frustration and will work hard to get your issue taken care of so you can get back to fishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too many issues

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
cyberfish
from Central MN
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've used a Revo Toro 60 for 2 years for Musky. I had heard so many good things about it when it came out, from guides to gurus. However, by late the first year and during the second year, I've had to replace a few parts and the increase in backlash problems and thumbar issues has me very concerned. I use it maybe a 75-90 hours a year, so just average use. I sometimes have to tap on the reel to get the thumb bar to engage after casting, braking and line tension settings seem inconsistent and don't cater to certain musky lures. I have only a fraction of issues with my HSN7000 compared to this reel. I really like the form factor and simply wish I could get the performance I expect for a reel in this class.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJuly 10, 2012
Hello - sorry to hear you are having an issue with your Revo Toro 60. We would like to learn more about your particular situation. One of our customer service representatives will reach out to you at the email address provided for this review. Although you are out of the 1 year warranty period, we have a service and repair program that offers quick turn around time. One of our reel specialists will be happy to repair your reel. If you ever need to get in touch with us by phone, our number is 1-800-228-4272.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Revo Toro 51

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patrick
from Jacksonville, Fl
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
This is my one year review of my Revo Toro 51. I use this reel in salt water for Red Drum, Sea Trout, and hopefully a Tarpon one day. This reel casts awesome, has plenty of line capacity and the drag is the strongest I have ever used. I love the bait clicker for when I want to put it in the rod holder and eat a sandwich. (guaranteed way to get a bite) O-yeah I also love the included power handle. Now for the not so good. I'm now getting some corrosion on the frame around the long screw that holds the side of the reel on and on the framed opening around the line guide. Also my thumb bar sometimes doesn’t seem to return all the way to where it should be. I rinse this reel in fresh water and wipe it down every time I use it, and do a full clean, oil, and grease about once a month just like I do my 5501c3's. One of my c3's I got on my 15th birthday 23yrs ago works as good as new. I'm thinking maybe I should just stick to the round reels. Also for some reason even though I have the schematic in my box still, it's nowhere to be found on this site. Almost like this reel never existed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Reels, worth the money

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Muskyman
from Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used and abused many different reels. I have several Revo reels and they have stood up to a few seasons of significant abuse better than any other high end reels used. Would recommend to novice and expert fisherman. From bass fishing to musky and more, this reel will get it done. Just as good if not better than most reels that are twice the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

revo toro 51

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
epic
from jersey
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Got the toro last year used it a couple times felt great,but did not hook in any to see what it could do? used it again this fall finally hook one i would say about a 40in striper. I had the drag set pretty high i thought? fish ran so fast on me i did not have time to try to crank the drag down all the way! which i thought i would not have to since it's rated for 22lbs of drag? so i went home to test the drag and found out i was only getting about 12lbs max? whats up with that??
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJanuary 19, 2012
Hi epic,

Thanks for letting us know about your problem. You should be getting more drag than that. First we'd say to not be worried about really cranking down on the star to get it tight. Star Drags work by the star tightening down and compressing the drag washers. The more compression, the more drag you get. The more pressure you apply the better, and you won't be able to break it by hand tightening :). Also, if you are using braided line you will need to apply a mono backing. Braided line often slips on the spool without a backing because it is so smooth. Your line is essentially turning but the spool is not.

If you've done that and still are having a problem please send it to our factory service center and include a copy of this note along with the submission for so they have background. We'd be happy to take a look at it for you.

http://www.abugarcia.com/support/se...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
turbo
rancho cucamonga
Fish Hard
Posted October 6, 2012
Fish Accurate
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
cyberfish
Minnesota
Follow up to Revo Toro 60 post
Posted August 10, 2012
I posted recently that I was having issues with my reel. Abu sent me an email (seen in this blog). I sent the reel back, and within a little over a week I had it back, and it is functioning just like new. Kudos to the team for stepping up and taking care of me. That is the support a fisherman wants when purchasing premium products. Thank you, Abu team.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

JiggleWorms

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't get this reel if you want to spend an eternity fighting your "wall hanger." This reel makes every freshwater fish out there feel like you've got a bluegill on your line. I've been fishing this reel for 2 years and I've decided to put it back on the shelf because it's too easy to haul in the monsters. Muskies? No problem. Northerns? no problem. Largemouths, smallmouths? no problem. The most challenge I've had with this reel is hauling in a 5 ft. piece of wood out of the muck that my lure snagged. I wasn't going to loose my $20 Luckycraft.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best reel to recomend ever!

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Snoepie
from Nelspruit -South Africa
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought the Revo Toro 60-HS, and this is possible the best reel that anyone can own. It allowes for a lot of line to fill the spool so if a big fish take charge of your hook you will have enought line to fight the fish into the boat. The reel casts a mile and the shape and design of it makes it easy to handel and to fish all day with out your arms getting tired.
The awesome drag system allowes you to have total control of the reel and to make the big fish fight easier. The power handel helps you to reel with out your hands giving way under the presure of the big fish.
Over all this is a awesome reel for anyone that loves big fish fishing!! I will recomend this reel!! well done AG
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
WAX WINGS.
Posted April 6, 2012
IM tossing waxwings a country mile with this rod. Also landed fish up to 20 lbs with no problems. Drags are smooth. You will need to really tighten down the star drag to get the rated 22 lbs. But it still functioned beautifully. Casts like a dream.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dissapointed

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Len
from Auckland, New Zealand
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have recently purchased a Abu Garcia Revo Toro in the hope of using the advertised 22lb drag pressure to catch kingfish on light gear. As it turns out I hooked a couple of kingfish and realised it was not to be. When I got home I set the drag to max and tried to lift a 2 litre coke (4.4lbs) bottle and found I could only just lift it with the drag starting to spool.
The reel is advertised as having 22 lbs max drag pressure, but mine wouldn't even get 5 lbs!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaNovember 30, 2011
Len,
This reel should be getting much higher drag than that. Someone from our customer service in that global area will be sending you a note shortly to determine what is going on. You have to turn the star very tight to get the max drag setting but the setting is so weak on yours, that certainly doesn't sound lit it is the case. We look forward to speaking with you so we can determine a solution.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
waldow
Beech Mtn, NC
rod for Toro50
Posted February 13, 2012
what rod do you recommend with the Toro 50? Surf casting larger lures mostly
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Len N
Auckland
ALL GOOD!!!
Posted December 15, 2011
As it turns out the reel had some issue. Abu have kindly replaced the reel and it does achieve the specified drag.
Really pleased with it. I'm also happy with the service Abu have provided. Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Em

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have two Revo Toro 61 and love em both. One is on a 13' 10" SST with bradded line and the other on a 10'6" SST with 17lb. They cast awesome and will hold up to anything I fish for Salmon, Steelhead, Sturgeon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big or small river winner

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Salmon_Slammer
from Longview, WA
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The revo toro has the line capacity to fish any river. I use it from the bank and it works very well with large or small bait. I would recommend this real 10x over.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best reels i've ever purchased!!!

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
spokey9
from Tacoma, WA
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I started out with the revo toro 60hs. I bought this reel for casting darts & jigs for salmon in saltwater from shore or piers. I was pleasantly surprised at the distance i got with this reel (easily able to cast 1 to 2 oz lures much farther than expected). I got many 15 to 20 pound king salmon to the net with this reel, the drag was was smooth as butter and there was no frame flexing during the fight. This reel was very smooth to fish with. I liked it so much i went and bought the toro 50 for salmon fishing in the rivers (landed a 42lb hog that was 45 minutes of drag burning pleasure). These reels are built tough and fish smooth. I've owned a lot of reels over the years and thought nothing could compare to the Shimano Calcutta reels but the revo's blow them away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Revo Toro 60

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kenny
from United States
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Use this to catch sockeye salmon. Works well! Is light,tough and low profile!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Revo Toro 50

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Master Chief
from Sedro Woolley, Wa
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have added 2 Revo Toro 50's to my arsenal and the overall opinion on this reel is Abu Garcia hit it out of the park. It is by far one of the smoothest and easiest casting reels I have used in quite some time. I have utilized various reels for numerous applications and find this reel to have met or exceeded all my expectations. The drag is very smooth and allows an even and consistant pulled on big, hard running fish. Great reel and i will add more as I have the time to build rods to utilize them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cranking reel!

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Millhouse
from Lake Neely Henry
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these reels! They hold alot of line and are geared perfect for throwing those big summertime crankbaits! Smooth reel with alot of nice features!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LEFTY
PLEASE MAKE A LEFT HANDED REVO TORO 61-HS
Posted September 22, 2011
PLEASE ABU GARICA, MAKE A LEFT HANDED REVO TORO 61-HS. YOU GUYS ONLY OFFER IT IN THE TORO WINCH. PLEASE DON'T FORGET ABOUT US LEFTY GUYS.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Revo Toro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Revo Toro a Muskie Killer Par Excellence!

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
MuskieHunter1
from Bethlehem, PA
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was a bit skeptical when I got my Revo Toro 60-HS. How could any reel be as good as scuttlebutt I'm hearing from other muskie fishermen? But let me tell you, it's a muskie killer without equal and the best reel I've ever owned.
First of all, even though it practically fits in the palm of my hand, it packs a whopping 330 yards of 30-lb. braided line! I've always had to compromise to get a low-profile reel, but not any more.
Casts are incredibly smooth and precise. When I see a spot I want to cast to, I have no doubt whatsoever that I'm going to hit my mark. And I know I'm not going to have to play with birds nests all afternoon either. That's good, because I'm 58 and I don't have the patience
Good drag is so important when fighting a big muskie, and the Revo Toro is up to the job. I've caught two 40"-plus fish since I bought the reel and fought both with no trouble at all. It's real easy to set, too.
Maintenance is easy. No tearing the reel apart. Just find the oil port and bingo. I like that. What a hassle it used to be!
In short, it's smooth, easy to maintain, casts a mile, handles fish with ease, and is built to last. I don't worry about how my Revo Toro is going to hold up. I only delight in how the fish are NOT going to hold up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>