Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Equipment or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Power Handles

Abu Garcia Power Handles

Angling specialists require specialty features. That's why we offer a line of extended handles designed exclusively for Abu Garcia reels. These handles are perfect for anglers that prefer extra power and leverage on the water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Power Handles
Review 1 for Power Handles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bolt and nut controversy

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Holmdel, NJ
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
I believe the brass bolt and steel nut is a great part of the design, it prevents you from over torquing that would damage the reel and drag system. I think if you read the instructions there wouldn't possibly be a problem, I have installed 11 and have had no problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Power Handles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice, power full

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
User submitted photo
Change the face of my reels, I have an a 5600 CL Rocket color orange,look beatiful and powered am so glad..thank. Abu.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Power Handles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thirteen Reels

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
RJ
from Holmdel, NJ
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
I have Power Handles on the following: Four 4601C3's, two RCN51's, two 5601C4's and two RCN61HC's and I am right handed, so you know I am smarter than most anglars.
I do have to admit like the one review pointed out about the left handed reels, the brass and reverse threaded on the left hand version. I almost screwed up on the first one. Plus, I have three Revo Inshore with large EVA knobs which are fantastic, and don't need the Power Handles. I wish Abu made them an item in Eqipment! Hint, Hint! The power handles make for a long day fishing a lot better, especially for the big ones. Thanks Abu
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Power Handles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No screw to hold it, brass thread issue also - Grips nice, but...

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from NJ
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Experience:Intermediate
I just found this review for the power handle after I bought it and installed one. "The bolt that connects to handle to the drive gears was wisely made out of brass and reverse threaded on the left hand version. This allows one to strip the the brass bolt with the steel nut and ruin the shaft rather than the nut. The complete lack of directions also ensures that you will not know this and ruin it." I cant use it because no screw and i stripped a few threads as well. Why not include the set screw, what could it cost 20 cents. My original handle broke which is why I bought this one. Cant use the reel until I get the set screw and hope nut holds. No directions or I would have known to apply less turns as well.
I called and had to leave a message, I hope I get a response I want to use this on my week off... ahhh
What size is this screw?
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJune 19, 2012
Sorry to hear you had an issue with your power handle install. One of our customer service representatives will reply shortly to the email address that you provided with this review. If you left a message as well, you will also get a call back. We understand your frustration and will work hard to get your issue resolved. Again, if you ever need to reach us our main customer service number is Tel: 1.800.228.4272.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Ricky
Philippines
old Abu Garcia Black Max 1600
Posted January 16, 2013
Will this fit the old Abu Garcia Black Max 1600?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Ricky
Philippines
Will this fit the old Abu Garcia Black Max 1600
Posted January 9, 2013
Will this fit my old Black Max 1600?
How much longer is it then the stock handle on the Black Max 1600?
How do I order it? How much is shipping this to the Philippines?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Power Handles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Brass parts with reverse threads

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
WI27
from Wisconsin
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
The bolt that connects to handle to the drive gears was wisely made out of brass and reverse threaded on the left hand version. This allows one to strip the the brass bolt with the steel nut and ruin the shaft rather than the nut. The complete lack of directions also ensures that you will not know this and ruin it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaApril 24, 2012
Sorry to hear you had an issue with the power handle install. One of our customer service representatives will reach out to you using the contact information that you supplied. If you ever need to speak to us directly, please give us a call at Tel: 1.800.228.4272 We will be happy to help.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
oalpilot
UAE
power Handles
Posted November 17, 2012
Hi,does anyone now if there is a bigger handle for the PRO MAX(PMAX2)?
REGARDS
PANOS
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Power Handles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surf fishing SoCal

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
MasterBaiter
from California
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
I have this handle on my BCX 6500 with a 8 1/2 foot salmon stick. I surf fish a lot and this handle along with the BCX makes landing the fish a breeze. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Power Handles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much better handle,makes it so much easier for Surf Fishing,when your doing alot of reeling!

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
SlabSlayer
from MYRTLE BEACH SC
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Love the power handle,Have one on my ABU 6500 c3 ,on a 10 ft Surf Rod.Makes it so much easier for those long retreives!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Power Handles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power handle

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
GetTheNet
from Wisconsin
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Experience:Intermediate
This power handle amazes me! I put it on my Abu Garcia C4 to use for musky fishing with larger lures and it makes it so much easier to reel in lures like cowgirls or large crankbaits that put up a lot of resistance during the retrieve. I also like the larger grip better because its more comfortable and I never loose my grip on the handle. If you use this handle one thing to be carefull of is not to pull on the handle when setting the hook, I did this and it pulled the bolt out of place that holds the handle on which was a bit of a problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
22of 28voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
The Trout Slayer
Powerhandle
Posted March 21, 2014
Would the power handle work for a 6600 C4. I know it clearly states up to 6500 models, but the nuts seem the same size
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
SLABSLAYER
MYRTLE BEACH SC
Love my Powerhandle!
Posted December 14, 2011
Installed one on mine,love it! much better!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)