Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Low Profile Baitcast Reel Combos or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Silver Max Combo

Abu Garcia Silver Max Combo

The 6.4:1 gear ratio Silver Max includes a 5+1 bearing system and a flipping switch for flipping soft baits and jigs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.269 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
21 out of 25(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Silver Max Combo
Review 1 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

MY ABU GARCIA TIP BROKE!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Balance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was very excited receiving my first Abu Garcia for my birthday. After the third time using it, my tip broke! I was so disappointed. I looked up returning the rod and reel combo but it requires a receipt. I received it as a gift.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJuly 21, 2014
Good morning, we are sorry to hear you had an issue with your combo rod. All combos carry a 1 year warranty and we will be happy to take care of your case. Please reach out to one of our customer service specialists at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to assist you. We understand your frustration and will work hard to get your issue taken care of so you can get back to fishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Randy
Denver, Colorado
Ungratefulness
Posted July 26, 2014
Thank you to the Abu Garcia your reply to this comment was handled so well. It always amazes me how quickly people are to complain and also how ungrateful they are even if they are taken care of. This convinced me to purchase this Rod and reel combo.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok Combo

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
JJ
from michigan
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
3rd cast one of the liners in the eye fell out. I was hoping they would replace the rod or something. I just got it in the beginning of April
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJuly 21, 2014
Good morning, we are sorry to hear you had an issue with your combo rod. All combos carry a 1 year warranty and we will be happy to take care of your case. Please reach out to one of our customer service specialists at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to assist you. We understand your frustration and will work hard to get your issue taken care of so you can get back to fishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Switching to Baitcaster

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
BaitcastingBassMan
from Post Falls, Idaho
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been diehard into spincast,and fished many times on spincast rods, but last summer and fall, I started to shop baitcasters and the Silvermax Combo really caught my eye. I waited for months until this spring when I picked it up. Now, I don't want to fish with anything else. I am an Abu guy, I prefer Abu products to most others. Those with negative reviews are not really seeing this product to it's fullest potential.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Reel.. Not so great rod

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Robert
from Bivins,TX
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have no problem with the reel, it's the rod that is lacking strength. After the fourth or fifth cast using a Strike King spinner bait, the tip of the rod when attempting to make a cast. I triply hope it was just a flaw in that particular rod cause I am fishing in a tournament next month and most definitely need all of my equipment in working order. Thank goodness I was still in return policy timeframe cause I would really be upset to say the least. After the tournament, I will give a better tauting if all goes well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Combo

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kyle
from Illinois
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned my Silver Max combo for about 3 years now and it still works like a charm. (Every winter I took it apart and cleaned every bit of it, which I would recommend). I have the 6'6" model. It is a great combo and well worth what you pay for it. The rod is strong and sensitive and the reel is silky smooth and casts great. This is also good combo to look at if you're on a budget. My setup is the 6'6" with 10 lb test and I have pulled in bass, so far, up to 5lbs and it handles them with ease (I've actually lifted a 5lb bass straight out of the water pretty easily). The only thing I do have to say is that my flipping switch broke after the first 2 years of owning it, but I didn't use it anyway. If you're interested in the Black Max combo, I have also posted a review for it. I would definitely recommend this combo, especially for younger people who are either new to baitcasters or want a good combo at a good price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Reel is awesome rod snapped with first hooked bass

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nollie08
from South Africa
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Novice
Strength/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Balance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hooked a medium size bass and my rod tip under the third eye broke not happy at all but the reel is pretty awesome
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
fat max
Liberty, MO
Max Line
Posted May 14, 2014
I love this combo. I have never cought bass this big ever. i though i was a GOOD bass fisherman but this was amazing when casted out and got my first really big bass on a booyah spinner. It was like all the work was done by the silver max. I could not belive my eye's when I reeled in that first bass. The first one I got was about 8lbs then 10 then 12 then 13 I could not believe it. I wish I cound put my pics on here but it is not letting me so I will put them on my face book and you can see them there.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great to start out with

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
bassmaster21
from North Little Rock, Arkansas
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Novice
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all, I am pretty new to bass fishing. A few months ago i decided to get a cheap baitcasting combo, and it was a terrible mistake. I thought it was me messing up, and decided to stick with spinning reels. This Christmas, however, I asked for a Silver Max Combo. In the short time I've had it, I have realized that a good reel can make the difference. It is very smooth, the rod is nice (I got the 6'6" model) and is an overall amazing deal. If you are new to baitcasters, or even a pro with them, try out the Abu Garcia Silver Max. I can see myself using it for many years to come in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth as silk

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joe
from Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used more expensive rods and reels and none of them compare to this inexpensive combo. I now have two and would recommend this to both beginners and seasoned vets. Smooth casting with any weight lure in the recommended range. Even haulded in a large Pike of over ten pounds with no problem. Couldn't be more pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Combo

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Silver Max was my first baitcaster. I have to say that I enjoy it. It's a nice set up with solid functionality. I still throw my swimjigs and smaller swimbaits on this set up. It has great durability. What I really love is the price. I have not found a better combo for this cheap! I have several more higher priced rods and reels, but I still take this one with every time I go fishing. I strongly recommend this rod for people who are switching from spinning gear alone to baitcasters. I would like a bit more sensitivity in the rod, but you can't ask for more features with this price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish I wouldn't have wasted my money on other gear

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own over 100 rods and reels and fish about 20 days a month. My son has been an Abu Garcia "guy" and told me to venture into your product realm, as I wouldn't be disappointed. I cannot say enough about your products. I'm just upset it took me this long to make the transition. Thanks son. And thank You Abu Garcia.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted May 30, 2014
I caught a 35 pound yellocat on this and didn't have any problems. I went and bought another one today.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Reel

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
BigBassMaster3
from Saint Augustine, FL
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ok, so this is my first bait casting reel, and I love it. I bought this combo in late February and it has worked like a charm. The magnetic brakes are very easy to adjust, and it was a great choice for me, just starting out. The only reason I gave it a four out of five stars in casting performance is because it is hard to get good, consistent casts without turning the brakes down. Overall, this rod and reel combo is great for people just starting on a bait caster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trustworthy

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using my slivermax combo for a few years now and it's become my go to for everyday fishing. I've took this thing through rivers,rain,mud, and just relaxing off shore fishing. It won't quit it still cast great and rods strong, for what I paid I got more than my money's worth it is truly a great combo that won't ever quit on you no matter what it goes through.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great baitcaster here!

PostedJune 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wyldechylde77
from Buffalo, NY
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased the Silver Max combo at Gander Mountain for the upcoming season. Wanted a decent baitcaster as an upgrade to my Shimano that I was learning on. Bought some practice plugs, and started practicing with this combo. Wow!! GREAT casting, smooth as butter. Finally was able to take it out and giv e it some heavy duty action night fishing for walleye, and had NO problems at all! Of course, a birds nest or two happened, but no big deal because that is mostly user error and all in the adjustments. Adjusted accordingly and she's a casting machine! Caught a few nice walleye too with no problems! Great buy for the buck!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a beginner with bait casters, and purchased this combo. It works great! Looks good with green line too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very nice combo but no left hand reel combos?

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
froghound
from colorado
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Balance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like this combo it's a good entry level setup gears are smooth, casts nice. I would not have bought this if it wasn't on sale it had a bent handle the drag star would not turn so I fixed that works fine now. I love Abu Garcia never been unhappy with a product. I just wonder why there are not any left hand reel casting combos. This makes getting into a left hand casting setup twice the cost. I would buy 5 or 6 of these combos if they had left hand reels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BoatDawg4120
Clermont, FL.
Posted February 24, 2014
They do actually offer a LH reel for the SilverMax.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank you

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Grants Pass, OR
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just wanted to say thank you for a great product. I caught my first steelhead with this combo today and the rod and reel preformed great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
baityy
Posted July 5, 2013
what would be the best line for the silver max
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

need replacemenr

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i purchased a silver max combo and a black max combo. when i first took them to fish the rods cracked all along the side of the rods, and continues to chip, the reels performed smoothly, but the inside was just deteriorated. i have tried to fix them but they just get worse, so can i get them both replaced?
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaFebruary 5, 2013
Good afternoon. Thank you for reaching out to us - we are sorry to hear that you are having issues with your combos. All Abu Garcia combos carry a 1 year warranty that we proudly stand behind. We will be happy to help get you back to fishing but will need more information from you about your specific case. A customer service representative has already been notified about what you have detailed here and will reach out to you at the email address you provided with this review. What you describe is not normal and we would like to investigate your specific case further. We are always here to help and if you ever need to contact us, don't hesitate to call at 1.800.228.4272. Have a great day and we will be in touch shortly.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted April 18, 2013
what in the world where you fishing for
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great combo

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
slider
from springfield il
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this my first low profile baitcaster i used it for the first time.this morning was so happy at how smooth it cast and how fast it is on the retrive.and the rod is really light and sensitive.great combo thank you santa.as always oil the reel before use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PACKAGE!

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
roadwarrior
from Amarillo, TX
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pulled a 2.5 lb bass out of the brush. Nice & smooth crank bait casting using 20# braid. The rod tip is soft enough to feel the bite and has good backbone when setting the hook. Currently using a 6'6" which helps with rod storage. Will buy a 7' next purchase for drop shots and jigging. Very pleased with performance and flipping switch on reel. Great value for the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
8.3 lbs largemouth bass
Posted April 3, 2013
Just thought I would share what I caught on my silver max combo today!!!!!! I recommend Abu products to EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Silver Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing right out of the box

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
wanttobebassin'96
from Altoona,IA
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got my combo today so no water time yet but it is very balanced and incredibly light. The reel is also very smooth.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>