Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Round Reel Combos or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Ambassadeur 7000i Combo

Abu Garcia Ambassadeur 7000i Combo

As big on performance as it is on durability, the 7000i features a synchronized level wind system and six washer drag system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Ambassadeur 7000i Combo
Review 1 for Ambassadeur 7000i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
BigBaby
from North Texas
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This is an excellent combo with the right rig you can do great things with this I'm running a tight line with thirty pound test and a 4 oz egg sinker
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
reel
Posted December 8, 2013
if u get this combo can u get it in left handed?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Ambassadeur 7000i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for the price

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the comb from a local tackle / bait store ( Roy's ) in Corpus Christi, Texas. I have used this comb from fishing off the beach to kayak fishing four miles in the Gulf of Mexico. This is my go to rod and reel for every fishing trip I take. I have caught and landed five foot sharks, 40+ black drum, 44'' red fish, down to the smallest fish in the Gulf and Bay. Just keep it clean and it should last for several years. I plan on buying another.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ambassadeur 7000i Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

MH

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dan
from Gardnerville, Nevada
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MH means medium heavy of course. If you need a drift rod like me, this would not be the one. The rod is well made and all but should be used on large to very large fish, not steelhead or catfish, or stripers, as the rod has the sensitivity of a rake, hoe or shovel handle.
I'm just sayin'.
The shipping was 25 bucks from texas to nevada, that is steep because i buy and sell on ebay all of the time and it is about 12 bucks, standard shipping to send a rod. The company, shopatron just can't seem to find a retailer in my area unfortunately. I will sell the rod and find a better one for my purposes somewhere else. The ambassedeur 7000i of course is an excellent reel and is a pretty good deal with the combo, except for that shipping.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ambassadeur 7000i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Combo

PostedJune 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Roanoke Rapids
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the 8 foot combo for catfishing but when I received the rod and reel it felt so good I decided to use it for catching stripers. I spooled the reel with 50lb PowerPro braid and tied on a 9 inch Pencil Popper. The magnet and brake on this reel is spectacular. On the first cast I casted probably around 50 yards but within an hour I was casting 75-80 yards easily with almost a 2 ounce lure. The rod was performing great for the popping action and handled the 10 pound stripers I was catching flawlessly. This combo is definitely worth the money. I know this combo is easily capable of catching 80-90lb fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ambassadeur 7000i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

abu garcia is for life

PostedMay 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i love abu garcia i have used the 6600 since i was 5 for catfish now i have i 7000i i love it so much i can launch my bait to where ever i want im thinking about getting a 10000i here soon we will see but abu garcia for life i would recomend any abu garcia
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ambassadeur 7000i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crappie catcher

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
biggl
from odenville, al
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this pool is the best, the casting is great on this pole i am casting into spots on the lake that i could not get to with my other poles, i will recommend this pole to every one you have to try it to see the results
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ambassadeur 7000i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Combo!!

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Illinois
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got the 8ft Ambassedeur combo for fighting large river catfish. The rod in excellent quality and great finish. The 7000i reel is very heavy duty and built very well. The best part is that these rods/reels look as good as they perform. Highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Cody
Deer River
Abu Garcia
Posted June 17, 2012
this is a question that anyone can answer, does this combo come with a left handed baitcaster?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Simon
St. Louis, Missouri
Specs
Posted July 7, 2011
Do you have any of the specs on the rod that was included? Taper, Line Wt., Lure Wt., etc.?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Ambassadeur 7000i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Catfish Combo

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shadow
from Virginia Beach
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love this combo. The reel with it's drag system makes it easy to adjust drag as needed while reeling in the big catch. Smooth action, not the jerky almost like you have to reel before you actually start reeling. I also enjoy the lack of that clicking noise you get with some round reels. Although it looks salt water in nater it tends to work very well for both salt and fresh water, and is easy to maintain.
I used the 6'6" Med Heavy Rod with this combo. This works well for me, and I'm certain it will work well for others who apreciate a solid well constructed Rod. Lightweight enough for crank baits, yet durable enough for the nice size Cat you're waiting to pull in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ambassadeur 7000i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product for the money I spent is probobly the best combo on the market today..

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rick
from Minnesota
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 60 years old i spent a lot of time fishin up here in minnesota and my first garcia was a garcia 5000a. and from there on I have bought Garcia combinations ever since. I have no complants whats so ever. They make the best I have ever used.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ambassadeur 7000i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this combo

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dani_Pfaff
from Texas
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Once you learn to cast it, it works. Really well other than that.....it would be nice if there were more color options
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
billy joe
alba texas
7000i combo
Posted September 21, 2011
i like the looks of this combo .i fish for big blue cat fish this look like a really good combo for that i have a ambassadeur5000 i use it wood like to win this combo to try and give opinion. i hope this is howu inter the contest. if
not help me enter it pleas
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)