Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Round Reel Combos or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia BCX Combo

Abu Garcia BCX Combo

An all around workhorse, the BCX sits lower on the rod making it easier to palm and provides durability at a great price.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for BCX Combo
Review 1 for BCX Combo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good Reel,but...

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Balance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The reel is pretty good I have to say however it came off the rod 3 times when (not) landing a fish. Granted I know combos arent usually a high dollar rod however i expect it to hold the reel. Anyway nice reel not so much on the rod... at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
dwayne
justin tx
fake cork
Posted September 11, 2013
I bought a bcx combo the cork got wet and has started to pull off like cheap wall paper nice reel but cheap cork handle not a good deal!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
ok...
Posted February 21, 2013
bought it for a good price. reel seems to hold up pretty well. but the rod cannot hold up at all. cant keep the reel on it at anytime. had to buy a new rod. for 70 dollars. kinda expect it to stay together after 3months of use
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Pike79
wisconsin
Great Combo
Posted November 3, 2012
I love this combo. the reel casts very smooth and the rod is awesome. Im a pike fisherman and while using this combo for live baiting the pike had the rod bent in a u and didnt brake or signs of wear. Also if you us spinners like Mepps you can cast all day long without a backlash . ive had this combo for over a year and have had not 1 backlash well worth the money .Great pike combo. thanks Abu
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 2 for BCX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best bang for buck

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
ChaseMart
from Bridgeport, TX
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I recieved the bcx combo as a gift last christmas. Since then, I've used it at least four to five days a week on the lake (about 6 months of solid constant use and abuse). I use it for carolina and texas rigging and it performs astonishingly well, especially considering the price. The levelwind system is amazing for casts and for hard pulling fish that will take line off the drag. It allows you to use anything from a 1/8 oz. to a 1 1/2 oz. weight flawlessly and when you have a big lunker bass pulling line off the reel, it keeps it moving smoothly and prevents the spooled line from digging further into the spool. The rod is surprisingly sensative, just springy enough to make long casts and stiff enough to make strong, quick hooksets through any plastic bait. It's not as light or as smooth as a low profile reel but it is an extremely powerful and heavy duty. I intend to bring this combo with me to the texas gulf coast with me this october on the bull red run to test it on giant reds and blacks. It's very good craftsmanship and I praise Abu for this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for BCX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SUPERB!!!

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
all species
from Texas
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this combo for 2 1/2 years now and I am stunned. I put 17 lb. Trilene Maxx and a big 1 ounce deep diver on it, and it is perfectly balanced. Thanks Abu Garcia!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tico
costa rica
Question
Posted January 14, 2012
Hello evrybody!, Could somebody say me if this rod is in 2 parts or is solid (just one part)???, I'm asking that because I will try to import it to Costa Rica............. tks for your help....
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for BCX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
17Cicero23
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed to upgrade to a better rod/reel combo. After asking for some opinions, I decided on an Abu Garcia. No regrets, works great, feels great. I live in Florida near the gulf so needless to say it gets a lot of use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
cinchcowboy
brokenbow Oklahoma
love it!!!!!
Posted June 12, 2013
Always a big Abu fan . This Bcx combo has earned a permanent. Place I my boat. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted December 20, 2012
Same thing happend to me my reel fell off into to water when casting i like the set up but the rop dose not hold the reel vary good
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for BCX Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for the money

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
it is a great reel for beginers and still a overall good reel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for BCX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great setup for any condition!

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
fish-A-nator!
from Carson, California
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The 5600 is my favorite setup out of my whole arsenal. i use this for my universal setup with a 15lb line. ive hooked fish from tiny bluegill all the way up to 30-48 inch barracuda and halibut. i love this combo soo much i had to upgrade to the 6600.
this setup is light, durable and perfect for any situation. i love the mechanics of the drag system and the line alarm it has! i actually owe a few fish to the line alarm that alerted me when i had a fish on when i wasnt looking!!!!!! big plus! and also the casting/smoothness, this is absolutely a abu garcias product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Awesome Combo by abu garcia
Posted January 3, 2012
This is an awesome beginner rod, i live in iowa so it doesnt get much action on the ocean, only about once a month, so i use it up here in iowa for bass since my light action rod cant handle them.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for BCX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BCX 5500 6'6"

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
fishiman
from North Carolina
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
This was my first "real" rod and reel. I have used it for largemouth bass as well as salt water speckled trout and it has held up very well. It is relatively smooth and tough and handles the 30 lb. braid I've spoiled it with admirably. The drag works great. As a result of using this combo I have purchase 5 other Abu Garcia round reels and I'm looking at another. Abu Garcia makes great products!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for BCX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome combo

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from San Antonio,Texas
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great combo. Smooth casting. Strength. Feels great. Get What you pay for and more. What I expect from Abu Garcia.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for BCX Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My "NEW" favorite catfish rig

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
bamacat
from Scottsboro, Alabama
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I am pleased with this combo. It works very well, not letting me down when I need it. The reel controls are well placed and easy to use. The rod is sturdy and well constructed. It has helped me pull many large catfish from the river with no problems.
Thanks for a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for BCX Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5600 combo

PostedFebruary 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
KVD
from LaGrange,GA
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This combo is an amazing.I mean this good of a reel with a medium heavy Im6 rod.This is a great all around combo.Although I have noticed that it works best worm fishing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for BCX Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

READY TO GO BAITCAST COMBO

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brian
from ocala, fl
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love this combo !! Have caught everything from bass to heavy weight black drum. Wanted a little heavier rod for live bait fishing, but with three kids was on a budget....This rod worked out perfectly. Great combo!!!Worked smooth as could be even on a 46lb blck drum that gave us both a real work out
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for BCX Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

*meh*

PostedJanuary 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
jesnab
from California
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this combo at Wal-Mart, which, I guess, should have been the first red flag. The combo felt good in the hand. The combo casts nice. The drag is decent. The action throughout the rod is nice.
The issues that I had was that where the reel attaches to the rod, feels really cheap. It feels like plastic that is ready to break at any given hookset. I maybe put 20 hours on the reel, but now the line feeder at the spool no longer moves, rendering the reel...useless.
I bought the combo about 2 years ago but apparently, even with only about 20 hours on the reel, Abu-Garcia won't stand behind this little piece of work. So even though it treated me pretty good up until the malfunction, it ended up to be pretty much a waste of about 85 bucks.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Wal Mart
Posted June 30, 2011
I bought mine at Wal Mart too and the rod broke on the 3rd cast on a 7 Inch fish! Wal Mart shouldnt matter its jut poor quality now I have to go all the way back to Wal Mart. Fishing day ruined!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
FAncyFace
great price i had to buy two
Posted February 8, 2011
initially i was suppose to buy ONE for my boyfriend for his birthday but i ended up buy two since it was a great price. so far we both have no complaints. the reel is smooth and there is little or no backlash at all compared to my old one.
thank you for supplying this combo. our fishing experience has been great. we take it everywhere, inshore, deep sea, and it very durable and yet still sensitive.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)