Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Spinning Reel Combos or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Cardinal 300i Combo

Abu Garcia Cardinal 300i Combo

Smooth, hassle-free spinning in style, the Cardinal 300i features 7 ball bearings with an additional instant anti-reverse bearing and a premium graphite rod with cork handle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Cardinal 300i Combo
Review 1 for Cardinal 300i Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Honesty. Check it out.

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rich
from North east USA
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hello, So I must start by saying I haven't had the pole on the water yet. I do a very crude Cave Man test of my poles at home, A flex test, reel test, feel, balance, weight, ect.. Reel feels a bit flimsy but overall has a nice smooth action.
Weight of the rod, well its a little heavier than I was expecting, but, overall I'd say it's functional as an all day rod.
Flex, I was impressed here, the rod itself looks a tad thin, however the flex and back bone was Very even.
Overall Feel, I'd say if you picked this combo up for around 45.00 you'd have a great buy, at current price I think it lacks for myself but I wouldn't shy away if your on a budget. The only thing I found to dislike, is they don't come prespooled with line, now I always cut the line that was prespooled and put new line on. However, for the price at least humor me! I added a cast rating of 5 because I have yet to get out and use this rod, so aside from my home testing I can't answer that, but based on construction of rod and reel feel I will say I think I'm going to be satisfied with the casting ability and think you will be as well! I also purchased the slightly cheaper IKE DUDE COMBO, read that review as I am highly disapointe with that joke!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cardinal 300i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing strength

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I originally bought this combo as a 6'6 for Largemouth Bass fishing, but when i was Smallmouth fishing i accidentally caught a 48in Musky and it held in so well i was shocked. This combo
is really durable and i got to say, i really trust the rod to fish for almost anything. I'm sure it's not made for Musky fishing of course but if you accidentally hook into one like i did, don't worry about your rod too much, just hang in there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cardinal 300i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best investment in fishing - wow!

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
KLO
from the OC
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just picked one of these up a month or so. It fit glance, its a very nice quality looking combo and based on Abu Garcia reputation, pulled the trigger on this combo. Unfortunately, the tip on the rod broke somehow after using it a couple times; it might of been my fault though but regardless, the place where I bought it was kind enough to exchange it for me. The day after, I was out bass fishing on the new replacement and caught 3-4 bass before hooking up a 34.7lb catfish which took about 20-25min to bring into boat! The rod to my amazement, did not break. Then the combo fell into lake while shore fishing a few days ago (stupid me), I cleaned it up and kept fishing. Since those two incidents, it has brought in roughly 50+ bass and almost, another 30lb+ catfish that snapped my 10lb line before getting it into boat... this rod and reel combo just keeps taking a beating! I am very amazed by the performance I have had so far. It is a durable combo for the money. I'm glad I did not buy any of the other combos I had in mind... Thanks!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cardinal 300i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fathers day gift

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Woody
from Canada
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received this rod from my 11 year old son for Fathers Day...it was his way of telling me he wants to fish! Since then we have purchased a second rod and head out fishing almost every weekend. This combo has been easy to use and adding new line and keeping it from tangling has been easy too. It's the perfect weight and has a good feel to it. Best of all we have caught some fish and spent some quality time together!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cardinal 300i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My go to Rod and Reel

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this combo for bass,pike,walleye and it performs flawlessly, My first rod and reel was a Cardinal combo that my granpa gave that got stolen > I still love this combo and will make sure I have on one of them as my last .
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cardinal 300i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Rod for the part time angler

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
PhotoB
from Phoenix,Az.
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just started fresh water fishing for the first time a few months ago. I had done a ton of research on tackle companies and settled on Abu Garcia as my rod/reel combo of choice. I dont get to fish often and my local is Lake Pleasant - not an easy place to shore fish. I have caught striper and catfish with my combo and love the feel of my rod/reel setup. A few days ago I hit the Gila river and nailed my first Large Mouth bass. I loe this combo and will highly recommend it to anyone wanting a quality setup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cardinal 300i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great combo under a $100... can beat it

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
dmix35t
from Illinois
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a combo package under a $100 that I could depend on for different species of fish...and I found it. Just after I purchased this combo, my son and I took 4th place in a local fishing tournament. We caught largemouth bass, perch, catfish and crappie with this combo and didn't lose a single fish. After the tournament we went directly to the local sporting goods store and purchased this combo package again. For under a $100 ...you can't go wrong with this package.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cardinal 300i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What A Deal !!!

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
jimbo
from chicago
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anything Abu Garcia makes seems to have a unique way of gettin the job done. After i bought my cardinal 300i combo i haven't stopped using it. With a few extra ball berrings and with some reel lube, Sometimes you will check to see if your line is there its so smooth.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cardinal 300i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great smallmouth reel

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bassboy
from Winston-Salem, NC
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I already owned 2 other cardinal combos that I purchased a few years ago. I used them on the river for smallmouth. River fishing from a kayak means the rod and reels take a beating. They have held up the best of any I've owned. That is why I wanted to add this combo. Cast a long ways and the rod has the perfect strength for hook setting and a soft tip for feel and casting accuracity.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cardinal 300i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Card.300i

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jimbo
from middle tennessee
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 64 year old male who has fished ABU products as fare back as I can remember. the 300i its the smooths fishing product I have ever used. It is strong the balance is great. I have caught large fish with the 300i from large mouth bass to 10-15 and even 20 pound catfish. but it has the ability to catch smaller fish also. Its a great fishing product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cardinal 300i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great reel

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from tx
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
going through a move i wasnt able to bring my old reels with me, so i had to start over. so i picked up this reel combo at the local sport store and i have to admit that im completely satisfied with it. i now have 3 of these in my collection along with other abu garcia products. this reel so very smooth and makes accurate casts every single time... its definitely one of my go to reels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.