Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Spinning Reel Combos or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Cardinal 100i Combo

Abu Garcia Cardinal 100i Combo

Outstanding versatility, dependability and value, the Cardinal 100i provides smooth performance with a six bearing system including five smooth ball bearings and instant anti-reverse bearing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 6 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
5 out of 6(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Cardinal 100i Combo
Review 1 for Cardinal 100i Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Years Of Durability

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
FishingForLife
from Oshkosh, WI
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This rod/reel has met everything I've ever asked it to head on, and never given up. I bought this rod combo when I went to Bass Pro Shop about 10 or 11 years ago, and it's definitely seen it's fair share of use. I've fished everything from Walleye/Northern to Smallmouth to Pan Fish/Perch through the years, and this is definitely my favorite rod of all time. It even lasted through a couple trips to Canada with me and a couple with my Dad. Unfortunately, the tip finally broke between the top eyelet and the next one down last week...so it looks like I'm gonna have to find another rod to use until I can get a new one. Best rod I've ever used!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cardinal 100i Combo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

really bummed

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
tim
from oregon
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Balance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My wife bought me this rod for my birthday used it four times and it broke. Did not get to fish untill I got new rod six months later. I did not have another rod. Well I got to go out last week to use my rod for the first time this year. About a seven or eight inch trout broke it now I need a new one. I hope I did not just waste money on the license. Agin this year im really disappointed. the reel was nice well when i got to use it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMay 21, 2012
Hello, we are sorry to hear you had an issue with your Cardinal combo rod. All Abu Garcia combos carry a 1 year warranty. One of our customer service representatives will reach out to you at the email address that you submitted with this review. The turn around time on warranty claims is quite fast so we would like to learn more about your specific case. We understand your frustration and will work hard to get your issue taken care of so you can get back to fishing.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Storage
Posted August 27, 2012
store your rod and reel in the same temperature you will be fishing in. In shade mind you
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Cardinal 100i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Huge Bang For The Buck!!

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have six!! of these rods on my boat and I love them. I've been fishing them for three+ years for Pike, Walleye, Perch, and
Bass and I'm now looking to replace 4 of them because I have simply worn them out. Awesome Rods and Reels!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cardinal 100i Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My 1St spinning set

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abu Garcia For Life
from Singapore
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My 1st spinning set, i will said worth buy. Just got it yesterday and load it with 10lbs braided line, start using it today, caught a 2lbs temesis, the reel make sure i landed it.
The negative part is the craftmanship which is rough on it surface. But i will still recommend it to all the people out there if you are looking for cheap and good reel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cardinal 100i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

one of my best purchases

PostedJune 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
gonefishin
from north baltimore, ohio
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i love this rod and reel combo. the rod helped me land many largemouth of 20+ inches. the reel is still smooth as the day i bought it. i have owned the combo for 3 years now. and i am sad to say that last night i stepped on the tip and snapped it off. but i will be buying the same combo for sure, maybe a few extras just in case. i recommend the 100 series rod and reel combo to any and everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cardinal 100i Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bang 4buck

PostedJune 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hooked on fishing
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Recieved this combo from my kids for fathers day last year caught lots of fish bass,walleye,pike,crappie.never did this combo let me down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.