Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Spinning Reel Combos or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Cardinal Bruiser Combo

Abu Garcia Cardinal Bruiser Combo

Designed for saltwater anglers, the Cardinal Bruiser is built with 4 corrosion resistant bearings and comfortable EVA Handle. The 4.2:1 gear ratio cranks up a blistering 34 inches per turn.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Cardinal Bruiser Combo
Review 1 for Cardinal Bruiser Combo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

disappointed

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Ohio
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this combo to take on our annual vacation to NC for red drum fishing. While the combo looks nice and is well balanced, I did not have a good experience. I had massive backlash on the first cast and the anti/reverse didn't work at all. Very disapointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cardinal Bruiser Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big Bad Bruiser!

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
cutter707
from Healdsburg, CA
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an awesome combo! I have two older Abu round reels, and i would have to say the Bruiser is my new "go to" rod!
Strong enough to fish off the rocks on the coast, but also surprisingly sensitive enough to fish lakes and rivers! At 7ft. it casts pretty well, and accurate if you're tryig to land your cast in a specific spot on the water.
The reel sure looks cool, but it performs as awesome as it looks. Super smooth, and super fast retreival!!! It comes pre-spooled with 17lbs. test... I don't know what brand it is, or where they got this line, but its a lot stronger than any other 17lbs. line ive fished before!
You can feel how the balance is a bit off, but its so slight it is easily overcome. For as big as the reel is and as tough as the rod is, the whole combo isn't as heavy as it looks like it should be, so thats a plus!
Overall, the most well made combo I have ever owned!
I highly recommend you own one too!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cardinal Bruiser Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Abu Garcia Fan

PostedMay 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fatboy
from Moweaqua, IL.
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My whole fishing line up is Abu Garcia but I would have to say that this is my favorite setup for catfish. I would recommend this combo for anyone looking to haul in monster cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cardinal Bruiser Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1 mean catfish combo

PostedApril 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
mad dog
from indian lake, ohio
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i do alot of river fishing and this combo is a flathead catfish's nightmare!!! where we fish they catch as large as 60 pounders!!! i have only caught a 30 pounder and it preformed perfect !!! smooth reel and excellent backbone in the rod !!! cant wait 2 hook into a 60 pounder with this combo!!! i am sure it wil preform excellent!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cardinal Bruiser Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great combo for saltwater and big cats.

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dill
from Illinois
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a freshwater fisherman, and do a lot of it on the Mississippi, so it makes a great rod for those big cats. Although I live no where near saltwater, the times I do go down to Florida I'll definitely be bringing this rod along.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cardinal Bruiser Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This has to be the best one ever!!!

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
mybulgarianrose
from Wildwood, New Jersey
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The craftsmenship is amazing, The Feel , The balance, I fish saltwater and as you know it can be a pain, it leaves residue over evrything and you have to rinse all of the time... " Abu Garcia" Really makes it easy!!! Please don't laugh at the pic...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Alexis
Guanacaste Costa Rica
Great Rod for Roosterfishes
Posted January 10, 2013
I needed to test Abu Garcia and put it with a big spinning reel to trolling with a live bait in big saltwater, guess what I caught a 40Kilos Roosterfish in just 30minutes, it is completed tested and is made for whatever you wanna fish...
Greetings from Costa Rica...
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Yoni
Concord, CA
BEST INEXPENSIVE SPINNING COMBO I HAVE EVER HAD!
Posted September 27, 2012
My sister bought this combo for me and I immediately fell in love with it. I love the color, the feel of it and of course, its performance. I was absent from the waters for more than ten years and this is a great starter combo for anyone looking to get back in the game or as a regular combo for those experienced anglers. Now I'm deciding on buying a baitcaster for the bigger fish. One thing though, the line that comes with the combo is not so great, maybe it's just me. Don't think twice about getting this combo, you won't regret it. Thanks Abu Garcia for such a quality product.
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Cardinal Bruiser Combo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

pole and reel

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Balance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had a fish brick the pole and reel at the same time
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaAugust 16, 2011
Hi, someone from our customer service team will reach out to you shortly via the contact information in the submission form. You can always reach us at 888.228.4272 or at abugarcia@purefishing.com with questions or problems. We are happy to help!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cardinal Bruiser Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bang for the buck

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
35 cent
from West Covina
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I pulled up a 70lb stingray off Long Beach shore on this combo with the stock 17lb line. I was really impress with the performance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cardinal Bruiser Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CARDINAL BRUISER COMBO

PostedApril 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from LULA, GA.
Age:Over 65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
THIS IS EXCELLENT COMBO ROD AND REEL. THE REEL IS SMOOTH AND ACCURATE. THE ROD IS EASY TO HANDLE AND HANDLE WELL.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cardinal Bruiser Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An all around great salt water rig

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Jacksonville, FL
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my Bruiser combo in Maine to fish for stripers off the rocks. It was perfect for slinging medium to heavy lures way out there I also took it with me on a sailboat trip to Belize and it worked great for trolling spoons and working jigs. I highly recommend this outfit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cardinal Bruiser Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really nice outfit/underpriced

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rick
from Mackinaw, IL
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received this combo for my birthday. Have used it a couple of times and it's a very well-rounded outfit. Retrieval time is perfect for quick turn around casts. Looking forward to using it more when the weather warms up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kingdom Cats
Tn
Great Combo
Posted February 2, 2014
3 of my sons have this combo and pulled in a lot of fish using these combos 40 30, and a 20 pound blue cats and bunch of others for the money you cant beat it! Tournament catfishwoman.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)