Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Spinning Reel Combos or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Orra S Combo

Abu Garcia Orra S Combo

Precision engineered by Abu Garcia, the Orra S provides perfect combination of performance, reliability and value in a sleek package. Featuring durable Orra S precisely balanced with a 24 Ton Grapite rod to provide unmatched performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 6 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Orra S Combo
Review 1 for Orra S Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dissapointed

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
balddave
from Pflugerville, TX
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a 7' Orra S spinning combo about 6 months ago. I had the reviews #which were excellent# and the price was right so I went for it. For six months this combo performed as advertised and then some. The casting is amazing, the rod strength for combo is exceptional and the reel in is smooth and comfortable. However, last weekend I was on the water and went to cast my lure and the tip of the road broke halfway between the first and second eyelet. It just snapped for no apparent reason. Both lure and line were well within the specs of the rod and reel so I'm not sure what happened. Very disappointing to an angler on a budget that can't afford to replace it and his 20 month old spilled milk on the receipt and ruined it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaApril 3, 2014
Good afternoon. We are sorry to hear that you had and issue with your Orra S combo rod. From what you have detailed here, it sounds as though the rod was knicked or damaged during transport, on the store shelf or in storage and went unnoticed. No worries as all Abu Garcia combos carry a 1 year warranty. One of our customer service representatives will be happy to assist you with a warranty claim. Please reach out to them at 1.800.228.4272. Have a great week.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Orra S Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What I've waited my whole life for.

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
DivZulu
from Louisiana
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i began fishing with spinning reels at 10 yrs old and have used abu garcia's almost all the time. I always wanted a combo set and this is my first and will not be my last. Fantastic overall performance. Abu Garcia has never let me down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Orra S Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Finesse Rod

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Felix
from Albany, NY
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently picked this up at my local sporting store when I needed a rod I could use for fishing tubes for Smallmouth. On my first day on the water with this rod I could not let it go! Great feel with the small tubes. I also use it for drop shotting and wacky worming. Great set!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Orra S Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beyond Expectations!!!

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris
from Delaware
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very impressed with this combo. I purchased the 7 ft rod with the Orra S 30. i mainly fish for Largemouth Bass. The last two reviews didn't rate the casting as high as i did. It is a great casting combo!!! Rod has great sensitivity. Unfortunately I already broke the tip off by shutting it in my window of my truck 3 weeks after getting it. :(
Overall it was well worth the price I payed and I truly enjoy it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Orra S Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Abu Garcia's Best Spinning Reel Combo

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Comet
from Polk City, IA
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:1
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I landed with the Abu Garcia brand when I found that the headquarters are based in the US and the more I researched, the more Abu Garcia stood out as a quality leader. Knowing that I was going for a spinning combo, I wanted a pre-mated rod/reel, went with the top of the line pre-combo'ed pairing, and I am very happy that I did.
Smooth action, solid workmanship, looks great, and handles all types of line. I am using the new Berkley NanoFil, which is another brand within the Pure Fishing / Jarden Corporation family, and I am very happy with the set overall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Orra S Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Combo For the Money

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
jerumba
from NC
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just picked this combo(7' Med with size 20 reel# up a week or two ago and so far I'm pretty impressed with it. It's well balanced, casts and retreives nice, has a terrific carbon drag, looks great and is rated for salt water. This will mainly serve as a trout/puppy drum rod. I only wish they would offer it on the 30ton #Veritas/Vendetta# rod platform.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.