Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Spinning Reel Combos or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Ike Dude Combo

Abu Garcia Ike Dude Combo

With inspiration from Mike Iaconelli, this combo offers cutting edge design and precison peformance for young anglers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.172 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
25 out of 29(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Ike Dude Combo
Review 1 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME FOR THE PRICE

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jiggz
from Chippewa Falls, WI
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Me and my girlfriend have caught everything on this combo from Crappie to Northern Pike and of course BASS! Casts well and can handle bigger fish if you use it correctly(set drag and keep pressure on the fish) it is really fun landing 3+ lb bass. More recently we spooled lighter braided line and use it for weightless plastics. Plus the pole looks cool. The price is right on, I wish they would come out with a 6'6" combo for around the same price, I would buy it in a heartbeat. Thanks ABU GARCIA!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great piece of equipment

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Aaron Joseph
from Birmingham AL
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just purchased this bad boy a week ago. I have fished it maybe 4 times now. I bought it for some night time bass fishing. The sensitivety is unreal. I caught a smallie and it gave me quite a fright when I felt the action take over and reeled that bass in. It was a great experience to feel that fight. So I can only imagine how much fun it will be when I get that big lunker out of the water. I love the combo and will always stand behind in abu garcia.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Starter Combo

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sergio
from Suriname, South America
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Novice
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Bought 2 for my two nephews. they where glad, as they now have the same brand equipment as their favorite uncle :-)
The gear held up great on their first baby tarpon catch.
Abu Garcia, For Life!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great combo for $30

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from IL
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This combo was my first bass setup. I have to say that I love the rod, it's light balanced, strong, and versatile. The reel is okay, I have had issues with the black rubber bushing on the bail roller catching my line occasionally, and similar to my cardinal S20, deep running crank baits will make the reel sound like it has a knocking in it. Overall, this is a great setup for live bait fishing and wacky rigging.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ike combo

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best rod for the price I bought it for my son and he caught a huge trout
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Abu craftsmanship number 1

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bubba
from Lexington,NC
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found this rod n reel at a local store and fell in love with it!
Apon picking it up i noticed the good price on this exelent rod so i snagged it! Its very smooth and casts with ease. Well balanced and feels good in the hands.works awsome with any brand line and performs well day after day. In a nutshell, you cant just ignore an abu for that price but then again, you can never put a pice on abu garcia craftsmanship!
Abu garcia- for life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Combo!!! (Ike Dude Combo)

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Douglas
from Cincinnati,Ohio
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Bought this Combo Friday Night 8/23/13 Went fishing saturday 8/24/13 caught 6 Crappie. Went fishing on Sunday 8/25/13 caught a LMB *See picture* This is my first Abu Garcia product and I'm Hooked. Awesome craftsmanship. Handles and feels great. If you haven't already check out Abu Garcia's Story on Youtube. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aSVjYBSrL68)
Keep up the awesome work Abu Garcia and I definitely recommend to all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I've caught lots of bass and crappie

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
bluntskin
from Lubbock, Tx
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have several Abu Garcia baitcasters, but this spinning combo catches them when the bit gets tough.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

New to Abu and need help

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
redvelvet09
from Houston, TX
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this rod June 12, 2013 due to the free Toy Story rod that came with it for my son. However I’m not sure what I can catch using this rod since the line they put on was an 8lb test line. I fish in Galveston and surrounding areas and recently became interested in speckled trout fishing. I was hoping to use this line for that and flounder. These are the two fish I have a hard time catching. My problem is my first use yesterday after I purchased this rod is after several cast when I would throw out the line would snap. Now I have several theories one the line is too light for my rig (swivel, 2 lb and hook on a leader) or two I’m going to have to stop EVERYTIME I bait my line and make sure the tip is flowing freely. This is something I’m not use to fishing #12 & #15 test lines for my other rod. I do like how smooth it reels back in and the light weight design. I’m just hoping that it can be useful in my new fishing adventure. Please help me understand what’s the best rig for this rod in saltwater? Thanks
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ike Dude fishing pole combo

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been having trounle with my reel getting the string all in a tangled mess after about two casts. It looks really cool and I have a friend who has one and has not had any trouble with his. It really frustratws me when it get tangled up because it takes forever to undo the mess. Otherwise great fishing pole.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMay 28, 2013
Good morning. From what you describe here, it sounds like you issue is line related and not a problem with the Ike Dude combo. We will be happy to help. One of two issues are probably causing your line troubles. If the line was spooled on the reel (assuming it is monofilament) incorrectly, it can cause twist which will cause the issues that you describe. Pull all the line off the reel then reel it back in - if you have a boat, simply flip the bail while moving forward, then reel it back. This will help remove line twist. The other issues may be that the spool is overfilled. Make sure to leave approximately 1/8"-1/4" of space between the line and the lip of the spool. Lastly, line choice could be one final issue. A limp, smooth casting line like Berkley Trilene XL will work well with this combo. If you need further assistance please reach out to our customer service pros at 1.800.228.4272 and we will be happy to help.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Giant Slayer

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bowfin Mike
from Jacksonville, Texas
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased this combo primarily because I had completely wore out two other Cardinal spinning reels and mismatched light/medium rods on catfish, bream, bass, and hybrids. First of all I really liked the look, color, etc. of this combo. When I fished it in several lakes and rives of East Texas I fell in love with it, so much so I have purchased two others, so I have three! But, recently I used this wonderful combo spooled with 12 # test mono line to stalk, cast a dough ball to, hook, fight, and land a 15 and 18 pound grass carp. Wow, what battles and this rod and reel combo handled those fish perfectly. The 18 pound carp made a speed run through a brush pile but because of the construction of the rod and drag system of the reel, I was able to negotiate this obstacle and land the fish. I highly recommend this combo for pursuing any freshwater fish in the U.S.A. I cannot wait to get back on the lake and catch some more of those brute grass carp on my Ike Dude combo!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty awesome combo!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
NJ angler
from new jersey
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i was shopping around looking for a new pole, when i came a cross the ike dude. what really caught my eye was the white finish, it was just a sharp looking rod. when i got it home i kinda thought it looked flimsy, but when i took it fishing the next day i found out that this thing is pretty tough. casts perfectly caught a couple decent size bass. the only thing i didnt like about it is the little cartoon character on it, kinda makes its seems like its for little kids. overall a great buy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Mario Casadiego
Bogotá, Colombia
Question
Posted July 6, 2013
Good morning, I need know how much parts has this rod, for can import to Colombia. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted July 6, 2013
it is a little kit pole
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Abu Garcia Ike Dude

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
kennyfisherman
from South Jersey, New Jersey
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this rod about a week ago and it is now one of my favorite rods ive ever had. Everytime i go fishing i take this no matter what. Abu Garcia and Mike Iaconneli did a wonderful job with this rod. it reels sooooo smoothly. And it casts like a beauty. i would definitley recommend this rod to a friend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bang for the buck

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Isaac
from South padre island
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Was given this rod by my girlfriend and now is one of my go to rods.. It is wrapped in 17lb suffix . I fish the lower laguna madre and south bay. In south Texas. This little guy has been able to pull in numerous reds ranging from 22 to my biggest 28 .. Black drum .. And trout .. The drag on this little reel is great I love the action.... This rod goes n the kayak every time I'm am out ...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

i really wanted to like this..

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i really got sucked into the novelty of the look of the pole. But i can never set the hook on a fish. Ive been fishing the same hole with the same bait for years and never had a problem. Im not talking monster fish either. More like 12" smallies. i just wish i could return but i lost the receipt. i just bought it like 3 months ago.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaDecember 7, 2012
Hello and thank you for reaching out to us - we are here to help. From what you describe, it sounds as though you may be more used to fishing with a heavier action rod. The medium action Ike Dude rod still has plenty of backbone for setting the hook and a slight change in technique may help you out if you are having trouble. When you detect a bite, wait 2 or 3 seconds for the fish to completely take the bait and then use a sideways sweeping action to set the hook. This horizontal sweep (vs. vertical) will allow you to get more hook setting leverage on the fish. Be sure to maintain pressure throughout the fight and you should have no more issues. If you ever need assistance, don’t hesitate to call us at 1.800.228.4272. Have a great weekend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding combo

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sean
from Fort Worth, TX
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this rod/reel combo because of all the good reviews I've read, and the price. I am thoroughly impressed. A great job by Mike Iaconelli and Abu Garcia. The reel is incredibly smooth. The rod seems kind of flimsy, but very durable. The combo itself is light, and just looks cool. It feels great fishing with it. I even caught my record fish with it. My only concern is that I can't cast as far as my $12 Wal-Mart Shakesphere combos. But, still, I can cast pretty far. All in all, a very good purchase for a very good price. And it's not just for younger people. Very highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just like Dad's

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Keith
from SW Virginia
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just received this combo for my son this past weekend and could not be happier.Style and function for under thirty bucks!He likes the fact it looks like Dad's Veritas white rod and knows he's not under gunned for our first tournament together next weekend.Thanks Abu Garcia and Iaconelli for getting it right and keeping past and future customers happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Pole!!!

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice, I love it, Got it today and put line on it. First cast, 5LB. BASS!!! I wanted this pole because i have my grandfathers Garcia Mitchell 300, and seeing to quality of that 50+ year old reel made me want to continue business with this Fine Fine company
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dont tell Jr

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off let me go on record that i did buy this to share with my sons. Truth is it has become my all around go to combo. I love that I can match distance casts with someone using a 9 ft noodle rod. Its got nice backbone for setting hooks yet its nimble enough for trout dough. Oh and lures ... talk about finese pitching. Pick one up and check it out. Its $30! Not to mention Ikes modern style and flare set it over the top. Never Give Up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ike Dude Combo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bale/reel seat is inadequate - don't understand all postivity?

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Eastern PA
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've been fishing for several years now and I did like the ike Dude as soon as I saw it. A great rod for the kids, or to fish out on tight rivers. The very slow gear ratio means you will lose a fish if it swims towards you.
Here's the problem. Where the line comes off the reel and seats onto the bale (I think that is the proper term - the mechanism you open to cast and close to reel in# there are some design issues. First, the line can get caught in the black rubber boot and quickly cause problems, esp. with a fish on the other end of your hook! Second, the metal/plastic lip where the line is intended to sit must not be good enough because when using fluoro carbon it EATS the line and frays it the entire length of your casting distance. I think I'm going to see if I can replace this mechanism with an old reel I may have sitting around and if I did - I do believe it would fix all issues. Otherwise Rod is Awesome! #ps - I am using 8 lb fluoro - I believe ike said in his video review it can handle the heavier line)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJuly 24, 2012
Hello. We are sorry to hear about the issue with the bail/ bail arm on your Ike Dude Combo. We understand your frustration and will work hard to get your issue resolved. All Abu Garcia combos carry a 1 year warranty. A request has been submitted and a customer service representative will be contacting you directly on the provided email address and speak with you about the issue at hand. If you ever need to contact us, our customer service department can be accessed at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We are working extremely hard to resolve your issue so you can get back on the water. Thanks for reaching out to us about this matter.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>