Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Low Profile Baitcast Reel Combos or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Pro Max Combo

Abu Garcia Pro Max Combo

The top of the line Max reel features a 7+1 bearing system for the smoothest feel and a fast retrieve 7.1:1 gear ratio
Average Customer Rating:
4.103 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
3
30 out of 38(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Pro Max Combo
Review 1 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cant go wrong with this one

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
CUtigers2314
from South Carolina
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just picked up this combo today based off of my experience using the Black Max. This combo has a great feel, long smooth cast, good speed on retrieve, and looks amazing. I fished in my local pond as soon as I got home just to test it out. Pulled the small bass in well. Cant wait to test it on the big ones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best combo on the market...

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
CookeTX
from Houston
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this combo is golden. for $100 its really a steel. It casts for miles and feels great in hand. landed many bass with this rod, and the experience is amplified with the smoothness of operation. The reel is truly one that will last "For Life". Now the rod is adequate but not nearly as good as the reel. It works and has served me well, but when the time comes ill probably look for something with a little more sensitivity etc... Although i do enjoy the ergonomics of the rod and the hook keeper near the reel seat. You cannot go wrong with this combo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
the carp master
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had it for about 2 months and pulled in monster bass catfish and carp. Cant go wrong with buying one of these.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Change the rod

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jrose46
from Zephyr tx
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got the pro max about a week ago. Loved the feeling of the reel but 2 days into fishing the rod snapped after hooking a monster fish out of lake Brownwood. I would recommend buying the reel and changing out the rod.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not sure about this combo yet

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Received the Pro Max Combo for Fathers Day, 6-15-14. Spooled it, went to a local lake, rod broke at the 5th eye on the 4th cast. Contacted Abu Garcia on 6 16 2014, explained what happened. Simply emailed them pics of broken rod that day, received new Pro Max Combo today 6-23-2014. Many thanks to them, their customer service is unquestionable. Will try out the new set up asap, and see how it performs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

was an excellent combo for 8 months

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Traviemac
from New York
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Balance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this combo for about 8 months now and the reel has already stopped working. The drag system is malfunctioned, some reason it randomly doesn't work, barely enough drag to pull in a small sunfish, even if i turn the drag star very tightly the drag doesn't change. It sometimes also works, no idea why. Its really disappointing because this reel used to be really outstanding for is price. On the other hand the reel is extremely smooth, and can cast lighter lures compared to most bait casters in the same price point. It must be a defect because i know its a good brand and I really enjoyed this reel while it worked, just not reliable anymore. The rod is still great, really like it compared to the other brand I used to use
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJune 9, 2014
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us - we are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your Pro Max combo. No worries as all of our combos carry a 1 year warranty. Please reach out to our customer service department at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to assist you with a warranty claim. Have a great week and we look forward to getting you back to fishing quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

GREAT REEL, POOR ROD

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The reel is very well made and handles great, now the rod is another story, the eyelet on the end of the rod broke on the first cast, the store replaced it for free, now the replacement rod broke in half on the first cast with a 1/2 ounce sinker, must have been a bad day at the fishing rod factory, the store replaced it again for free ( love this store) ,well I hope the 3rd ones the charm.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

pole broke in half after one week

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got hung and pole snapped in half but overall I was happy whenvi got the combo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaApril 24, 2014
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us - sorry to hear that you broke your rod on a snag. The good news is that all Abu Garcia combos carry a 1 year warranty and we will be happy to assist you with a warranty claim. Please reach out to our customer service department at 1.800.228.4272 and a representative will be happy to help you. In the future, if you get snagged, point the rod directly at the snag and tighten the drag. Pull back so that the rod does not have any pressure on it. High modulus graphite rods are strong, sensitive and light weight, but if you put them at extreme angles under heavy pressure such as a snag, they can break. We look forward to helping you get back to fishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great combo for all anglers

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had many Abu Garcias ( all I use) and this one is the best I have owned so far. Its smooth and it has the stiffness to winch in the bigger fish. I love it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It was good while it lasted

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
The bass master
from Cali
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The pro max combo is a excellent combo. I like burning spinnerbaits with set up. One day I hooked up a 3 lb. largemouth bass in the tulles and while bringing it in one of the eyelits on the rod broke. I landed the but this came as a surprise to me because Abu Garcia has never failed me. This was my first Abu Garcia rod and reel and in 1 and a half years one of the eyelits broke. I own a Ora s30 spinning reel 3 veritas rods and a revo stx and premier. That are amazing
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too stiff

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been using this rod today in my yard and I have a texas rig on. The rod makes it impossible to feel the rig and won't cast the thing more than 3 feet I have been fishing bait casters for a while and I love the reel but I don't know about the rod.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaNovember 18, 2013
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us as we are here to help. The Pro Max Combo is available in 2 different configurations - one features a 6'6" Medium action rod and the other is equipped with a 7' Medium Heavy rod. Check the rod blank close to the handle to identify what configuration you have. Either one should work very well for Texas rigs as these are very popular actions for all around fishing techniques. Specifically, the heavy action 7' rod is a great choice as it generates good bite transmission and gives you plenty of backbone to drive the hook home on a hookset. The sensitivity will feel much different on the water as well.

As far as casting distance goes, you may need to adjust the casting brakes in order to attain a good balance of control vs. distance. Your reel has 2 controls - the spool tension knob and the MagTrax magnetic brake. With the rod-reel-line-lure properly assembled, place the tip of your thumb on the line to hold the spool. Depress the thumb bar with the pad of your thumb to disengage the gears. Allow the lure to drop to the ground. If the lure does not fall when the thumb bar is depressed, turn the spool tension knob (located next to the reel handle) counterclockwise (left) to reduce tension on the spool. If the lure falls to the ground and the spool continues to rotate, spool tension is too loose. Rotate the knob clockwise (right) to increase tension. Once the spool tension is set, you can then rotate the MagTrax brake (opposite side of the reel from the handle) to further fine tune you casting.

There is a little bit of a learning curve associated with baitcasting reels when anglers start using them for the first time. With practice, using a baitcasting reel becomes much easier and allows for extreme accuracy and control. Like we mentioned before, you might want to rotate the spool tension knob an additional 1/4 to 1/2 a turn when starting out. This will reduce distance, but gives you a chance to get used to casting w/o a backlash. As you progress, reduce the tension until you find a comfortable balance between distance and control. We hope this helps you out. If you ever need to speak to us directly, we are here to help at 1.800.228.4262. Have a great week!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted December 6, 2013
the reason the rod is so stiff because it is meant for mostly power baits, after a long day on the water you are not as worn out.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Would recommend but tell the truth

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Astro
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Balance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Craftsmanship 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this combo beginning of this season. Started off using mono but after a few trips out found that mono didn't feel right. Then I hooked into a nice sized fish and almost felt the rod snap but line did first. Switched to braid and felt better even hooked into some 5-8lbs with no problem. Seeing I switched my hours to nights, which gave me more fishing time. Took it out more often and about the 5th trip in. Reel started to act funny. When cast it would snapped back and would have to spool out of hard spin and reels getting stuck. Now it's hard to reel and had to use less. Unless I'm in the slop. Did really love the reel and maybe I got a defective one. But I do think its better than this. Seeing it cost $100. I hope I can get the warranty. I did end up going out to get a revo and love it. But it cost a lot more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaSeptember 23, 2013
Good morning - sorry to hear you had an issue with your Pro Max combo as this is not normal. The good news is that all combos carry a 1 year warranty and we are here to help. A customer service representative has already been notified about your case and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review. If you ever need to speak to a customer service representative directly over the phone, please call Tel: 1.800.228.4272. A representative will be in contact with you shortly.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good product

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from North Carolina
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the 7'0 MH combo and I've had it for 3 years and never had a problem with it. The only thing is one of the inner lining of the eyes broke but that's it. This product work very well in varies conditions. I use it for crankbaits, jigging, and even live bait. Overall this is the best bitcasting combo for its price range
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cant go wrong

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
fishin fanatic
from canada
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have fished this rod for close to a season now and i love it!
Reel: i love this reel.This reel is very ergonomic with the bent star and handle. The very fast retrieve has help me pull fish out of heavy cover very fast. I prefer using braid on this rod over a mono because when fishing heavy cover my line would snap with mono.
Rod: i have herd of guys breaking their rod and saying that it is no good but i LOVE it. it has a great feel, very nice grips and a nice stiff end.
Overall: rods great reels great, whats not to love.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke on a cast

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Balance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
The second day of use and the rod shatters on a cast and not a typical break (see attached photo). I was using a live target 1/2oz bluegill mated with 10lb line, which the rod is rated easily to handle.
First cast on my second day I hear a slight pop and don't know where it came from (thought it was someone else around me). Reel in and cast again, this rod then shatters in my hand this isn't supposed to happen so I assume it's a rod defect in the graphite.
I will change the rating on this rod depending on how Abu Garcia handles this warranty claim.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Love the reel, hate the rod

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gator Man
from Florida
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmanship 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is without a doubt the best reel I have ever owned! I'm sure there are better ones out there but none that I can afford. The reel has worked flawlessly for the last few months and has helped me pull out several bass in the 7-10lb range. The only thing that I had a problem with was minor rust but that is the least of my complaints. What I was disappointed with was the quality of the 6'6" medium rod that came with the combo. I constantly found the eyes of the rod getting bent without putting much pressure on them. This was an easy enough fix but I always felt like I was bending a paper clip and that it would break any minute. The real problem with the rod was the flexibility (or lack of it). Today out on the water I hooked into a massive fish right at the boat and naturally he tried to swim down and I tried to pull him up. This was more than it could handle and the rod snapped about 18" from the end. I have never had this happen to me before and I honestly wasn't expecting it from the most expensive rod I owned. My friend also bought this combo at my reccomendation and he loved the reel but also had problems with the eyes bending and actually broke off 2 of his trying to straighten them. I know for $100 you won't get the best of anything nowadays but I truely feel that the rod in this combo doesn't due the reel justice. I would recommend buying the reel seperate and getting a bit more expensive rod because it will save you time and frustration and the reel definitely deserves better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJune 13, 2013
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. We are sorry to hear that your Max combo rod broke - we are here to help. All Abu Garcia combos carry a 1 year warranty and a representative has already been notified about your case and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review. From what you described here, it sounds as though the rod tip was put at an extreme angle when the fish bolted right at the boat. We will be in touch with you shortly to get you back to fishing. If you ever need to speak to a representative, we can be reached at 1.800.228.4272
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Strength/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haven't to it to a lake yet but practice casting in my back yard all I can say is I love it easy to tweak n learn I'm just converting into baitcasters and this is awesome n it was only 62.00$ bucks and My 10# test got stuck in a tree lol line didn't break nor my rod luv it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great combo!

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Box tops
from Huntington, Indiana
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great rod for the money. I love my pro max.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

needs to be fixed

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Balance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this combo and it has worked fine but in the last month or so i start to reel and it gets harder to reel but then it goes back to normal.it only sometimes does this. i love the set and i hope they can fix my reel. its still under warranty and i love the 7ft rod.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMarch 18, 2013
Good afternoon - we are sorry to hear that you are having an issue with your Pro Max combo reel as what you describe is not normal. We will be happy to help you out as all Abu Garcia reels and combos carry a 1 year warranty. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review. If you ever need to get in touch directly with us, please feel free to call us at 1.800.228.4272. We look forward to getting you back to fishing. Have a great day.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pro Max Combo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broken rod on first catch DON'T BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Franky V
from San Diego California
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Strength/Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Balance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craftsmanship 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
I loved the reel. but your rod, I can't believe how weak it was, it broke on the first catch of a very small catfish. So I finished the day fishing with my kids 20 dollar fishing rod. I don't recommend this product not worth the $100. Compared to my kids 20 dollar rod. the reel is great but I guess I'll have to look for a different brand of rod for it. DON'T BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaNovember 13, 2012
Good morning - we are sorry to hear you had an issue with your Pro Max combo rod as what you describe is not normal. The rod was most most likely nicked/damaged during shipping or at the retailer and led to breakage that you experienced. We are here to help. All combos carry a one year warranty & we will be happy to take care of your case. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your issue and will reach out to you at the email address that you submitted with this review. We understand your frustration and will work hard to get your issue taken care of so you can get back to fishing. If you ever need to get in touch with us, don't hesitate to call at 1-800-228-4272.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>