Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Orra or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Orra S

Abu Garcia Orra S

The sealed Hybrid Carbon Matrix™ drag system and 7 HPCR™ bearing system ensure performance in addition to stunning design.
Average Customer Rating:
4.064 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
6
33 out of 44(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Orra S
Review 1 for Orra S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

orra s40 definitely for life

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pikeboy123
from Copake, New York
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the most amazing reel I have ever used even compared to a $150 one. it feels like silk and casts smooth. Absolutely spellbound by the superior quality of this amazing reel. I will never buy another reel or pole from any other brand other than Abu Garcia again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Orra S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Reel

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Currently using this reel on a medium heavy 6.5' rod for bass fishing and absolutely love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Orra S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't beat it

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
BASINBOY "Big Daddy"
from Sunland,CA
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I've owned alot of different types of spinners and this one is by far the best ABU quality throughout super smooth retrieve and solid hook sets and paired up with my Cardinal Tournament 6-0
It's a setup fish fear!
4LIFE
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Orra S
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Orra S Mainshaft LOOSE!

PostedApril 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orra S20 and 7'4" Vendetta2 just came in today. Only problem with the reel is when I tighten down the drag, the spool itself still moves up and down. Took it off and realized the mainshaft that runs into the gearbox itself moves up and down like its loose. Anyone else have this problem or did i get a lemon. If you guys know how to fix it let me know or else I'll have to send it in for a new one. Thanks
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Orra S
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

orra s30 was my fravorite reel

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
bktit
from Lincoln, NE
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got it May 2013 and just the other day it broke. I notice the drag was lose so I tried to tighten it but will not tighten any more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Orra S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Service

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Matt
from Greenville
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this reel and used it to catch spanish, blue, reds and much more. It is an excellent price for a quality reel. I am very loyal to Abu Garcia not just because they have excellent products but the stand by there product and respect their warranty. I recently sent back my S30 because of a broken drag and they sent me a brand new fixed reel and a new corrosive proof spool. As for the other five Abu Garcia reels I have, have well out performed any reel I have had in the past. Thank You Abu Garcia.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Orra S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smoothest reel I've owned

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Catch&release
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I'm not an expert when it comes down to fishing gear.
Among some of this fish I caught with the orras40 were my first 5 king salmon. This reel allowed me to create one of the best moments of my life. I'm definitely satisfied with my purchase
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Orra S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product :D

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Love2Fish
from Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought the ORRAS20 and the Veritas 2-4kg for a combined total of $200AUD and I love it for the price. I used both soft plastics with jig heads 1/4oz and some fresh bait and both went really well as the casting felt very light wait.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Orra S
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Grinding, Grinding, ...Crunch!

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Zippy
from North Carolina
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've never used an Abu Garcia product until recently when I bought a matched Orra rod and real set. I am very happy with the rod. However, the S30 reel would intermittently bind while retrieving a lure. This real had only been used a handful of times before this happened and just the other day it seized - awesome. If this binding and grinding issue wasn't there I would give this reel a high rating and recommend it to my friends and local fishing club members, but I simply cannot do that. I have replaced the S30 with a another company's reel and except for the money this reel cost me, life is good again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Orra S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best reel ever used by me.

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hamano
from Malaysia
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Used to fish on freshwater lake/pond/river.. Had it for almost a year, and the black spool is my favorite!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Orra S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Surprise!

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Skylark
from Asheville, NC
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've spent the past couple of years easing myself back into fishing after almost 10 years. I've tried some new equipment here and there; gave up on a couple of Shimano reels, became completely frustrated with a Lews reel, fell back in love with my old Garcia Mitchell 300 and finally came across an Orra s30 and have been very impressed. The casting is amazing it's 7 bearings are as smooth as the Lews 10. One thing that I've really been impressed with is it's handling. I've never felt this kind of control from a reel before, long casts to short casts around bushes or submerged trees it's amazing. I use 8# Berkley Fire Line with a Shimano Compre 6' rod. I couldn't be happier. If this reel olds up for a while, I can't see myself using anything else but Abu Garcia reels from now on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Orra S
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Same Problems

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alex
from Chester, VA
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I absolutely love Abu Garcia. You couldn't pry my vendetta rods from my cold dead hands but ... this reel has the same issues as everyone else that has left a negative review. First it just feels like a labored retrieve then it elevates to a grinding feel. I love my Cardinal reels, but this one came broken. Of course I will update if and when I get working version of this reel.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaAugust 27, 2013
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us - we are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with your Orra spinning reel as what you describe is not normal. From what you describe here, the reel may have been damaged during shipping/at the retailer, causing the rough feel. No worries as all Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warrranty that we proudly stand behind. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your specific issue and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review. If you ever need to speak to us directly, don't hesitate to give us a call at 1.800.228.4272. We will be in touch with you shortly to get your issue resolved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Alex
Chester, VA
Warranty Work
Posted October 23, 2013
Got my ORRA S replacement, works perfect and had no issues getting it done. This is a 5 star reel, even if I got a defective one Abu stood by there warranty and replaced it. Could not be happier with the product, Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Alex
Argentina
Handle is missing!
Posted September 23, 2013
I need a handle to reel Abu Garcia Orra S30. You can tell you where to buy it?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Orra S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ORRA S 20 - FEELS LIKE REELS THAT COST DOUBLE/TRIPLE

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jops
from Austin, Texas
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first Abu spinning reel. I've had it about 10 months now and it is more smooth than when I bought it (I regularly maintain it with Abu oil and grease#. I have caught anything from small crappie and cats to 5lb bass on it. I love it with mono or fluoro #I don't really use braid on this reel# but feel that it excels with some good mono. Easily adjustable drag which is great for when you hook up with something bigger than expected. Had great success with this reel on one Texas summer night which resulted in landing 30+ white bass.
PROS: Weight #light#, feel/grip, smoothness of casting, casting distance #seems to outcast other spinning reels I've used#, ease of maintenance, looks. Constantly get compliments on my combo and people wish they had gotten this reel instead of theirs.
CONS: Snapped the dust cap on mine #covers access to the drive gear/handle assembly) very easily but Abu quickly sent me a replacement under warranty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Orra S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this thing is a beast

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from springhill FL
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I do alot of light fishing so I need a good, strong and smooth reel and this reel has gone above and beyond what I had expected, so perfect abu Garcia for life
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Orra S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Khellendrose
from Puyallup,WA
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this reel as an upgrade from the abu combo I baught a few weeks back. I simply love this thing. Smooth in all regards, and now it's matched with my vendetta rod.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Orra S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJune 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
onetoothwillie
from iowa
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i bought this reel a year ago and put it on the Cabelas Fish Eagle Rod 7" medium action and let me tell you. This reel can handle fish. Its a tough spinning reel. I cast for northern pike and ive caught a 38inch pike on it, the drag on the size 40 is amazing and ive caught great Iowa bass on it. Get this reel if your looking for a spinning reel to handle larger fish. i put 40 ln power pro braid on it and it cast awesome
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Orra S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best reel for the money that is on the market

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this reel a year and a half ago. I have caught over 300 fish with this reel and countless bullreds in the range from 33 inches to 45 inches. It has the smoothest drag for a 70 dollar reel that is on The market. I have the orra sx and the only difference I can tell is I can cast a little further with it. I might have cleaned the reel 3 times since I bought it and it has not failed one time and I fish saltwater only. Garcia is the best on the market and I hope they keep up the good work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Orra S
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stuck with it !

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lee
from Birmingham, AL
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this reel needing a reel to cast some of my lighter baits. I mounted the reel on a 7" Abu Garcia vendetta rod as this is one of my favorite rods to use. This made for an awesome looking rig, but the casting performance of this reel is terrible.The line tries to twist. I have tried several different types of line, even had the reel professionally spooled, but the result hasn't changed. I fish several times a month and as a loyal customer of Abu Garcia all of my rods & reels are proudly branded with their name. I still have my receipt but have thrown away all packaging to the reel. I wish I could just return it and buy another Pro Max instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaApril 9, 2013
Good morning. We will be happy to help you with your issue as what you decribe here is not normal and we would like to learn more. All Abu Garcia reels are backed with a 1 year warranty. We would like to learn more about your specific issue and work with you to get you back to fishing. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your situation and will contact you at the email address that you provided with this review. If you ever need to contact us by phone, don't hesitate to call us at 1.800.228.4272. Thanks for reaching out to us, we will be in touch with you shortly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
renshteins
LATVIA
spare parts
Posted July 9, 2013
hi
where can i order spare parts for S20
i need 21-bail arm
and 31-bail holder
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Crankb8
Fort Wayne, IN
PUZZLED and frustrated
Posted May 26, 2013
I purchased both the Orra S 20 & 30 model. Overall, I like the reel but purchased them because my pro shop didn't have Pflueger spinning reels. Anyhow, I'm encountering an almost sanding feel upon retrieve of the reel. As if there was a little sand within the gearing. I also encounter an unusual bumping or tick sound, almost like if the bail is hitting something but it's not. Again, this only happens during the retrieve with a lure. It doesn't seem to happen under load. I've removed the spool and put back then it would stop but start again. Help!!!! I own 2 New Revo STX's, 1 SX and 12 Veritas Rods. All out fitted with Pflueger Patriarchs, your Revo's and Supreme, President spinning outfits. So far, the Veritas are my rods of choice, love the Revo's Baitcasters but lack confidence in the spinning reels.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for Orra S
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was initially excited to receive this reel as a birthday present. However, upon removing the Orra S from its package, I encountered the same grinding noise when I turned the crank that others have mentioned in their reviews. In addition, upon placing the reel in the reel seat of my ugly stik lite, the piece connecting the reel to the reel seat broke in half. I never even had a chance to bring it to the water. Save yourself some stress (not to mention the $79.99 it cost) and purchase another reel. I recommend the Penn Fierce or Abu Garcia Cardinal. The Cardinal is the same high quality expected of Abu Garcia, and has a much smaller price tag to boot.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Orra S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Orra S30 GREAT REEL

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had no problems last season (2012) with this reel. I expect to be using it a long time due to its robust parts. Perhaps the negative commentors should try reel oil and a reel cover and not leaving it in the pickup truck.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>