Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Revo or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
4.819 out of 5
4.811 out of 5
4.761 out of 5

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Revo MGX

Abu Garcia Revo MGX

The next generation of the REVOlution continues with the 5.4 ounce Revo® MGX. The combination of an enhanced compact design with our ground-breaking X-Mag™ alloy frame and C6 carbon sideplates produce the evolution of ultra-lightweight low profile reel technology.
Average Customer Rating:
4.567 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
5 stars
48
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
52 out of 59(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Revo MGX
Review 1 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth it, worth it worth it.

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Enzo
Age:35-44
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This reel will make you believe every other reel you've ever tried has been broken. Fishing with this reel is a completely different experience... It's like using the finest surgical device. I loved my Revo Sx until now.
For reference, it's on a Villain 7'3" micro rod.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great reel but,

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cooper
from NJ
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This reel is absolutely phenomenal. the looks, the feel, the fish fighting power straight out of the box. i am an avid Abu guy and love all of my revos for different reasons. i picked this one up and i use it strictly for small spinnerbaits and lightly weighted T-rigs, it's amazing for bed fishing, i actually use the reel to twitch baits instead of the rod tip. the only issue i have with is, i would have just gotten more STX's. the STX is absolutely this reels equal if you ask me only you can cast much lighter baits with it. im not knocking this reel whatsoever, its fantastic but look into the STX too, 8.0:1 ratio is hard to beat but 7.1:1 has it perks, maybe Abu should consider making a higher gear ratio MGX, i'd buy it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Reel

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought this reel yesterday and it is hands down the best I've ever layed my hands on. I own six Abu Garcia bait casters and enjoy everyone as much as the next but the MGX is the best out of all of them....the only thing I wish was differently is the drag power. The max drag is only 12lbs so I will probly take it back and get the premier that has more drag which will b better for flipping and pitching....other than that it's an all around great real that everyone should buy.....NICE JOB ABU!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best reel ever owned

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Scrapgrabber
from Petrey,AL
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I have fished this reel HARD for about 3 months. Love it. Would rather change lures than reels. It is so smooth and cast perfectly. I just placed an order for a MGXTREME. How can it get any better? Idk but will pay to find out. I have it on a duckett rod. Almost to light. Love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice weight but lacks in all other areas

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
K.T.
from Lake Lanier, GA.
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought this reel to pair with a 3.7 oz rod for a jerkbait rig. Boy was I ever let down.The cast control adjustment is way to stiff and gets real hard at about the middle setting . That really doesn't matter because the cast control is almost non existent. The thumb bar takes three times the pressure to push as other 300.00 to 400.00 reels I own.This reel was virtually dry when I received it. The drag is smooth at ultralight settings but feels like It has gravel in it as I turn it up. I swear by 5000 and 6000 round frame reels by abu, through thousands of hours of guide work with them I have never had one let me down. I am sorry I bought this reel. This is not an example that ABU wants on the deck of my boat, for sure.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaFebruary 25, 2014
Good morning. Sorry to hear you had an issue with your MGX reel as what you describe here is not normal. All of our reels carry a 1 year warranty and we are here to help. One of our customer service representatives will reach out to you at the email address that you submitted with this review to get your issue resolved and to learn more about your case. If you ever need to get in touch with us directly, our customer service department can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We will be happy to repair/replace your reel at no charge to ensure your issue is resolved. Thanks for reaching out to us and we will be in touch with you shortly.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
onion
Tulsa, OK
Great reel
Posted May 13, 2014
Very light, and smooth. i used it over a year now and had no issue. it performed well in all weather so long as its will maintenance and care for. but i do feel that the price tag on it is a bit high vs my KVD PT.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great reel paired with Veritas rod

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Chris
from Ohio
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I've had this reel for well over a year and have no complaints ! I did spend the money to replace the factory stainless steel bearings to Orange seals. And 6 mos. later out comes the MGXtreme . Lol.. But over all this is the best reel I own hands down .
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

great reel but drag is on the weak side

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
MuaGt
from milwaukee, WI
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bought this reel before summer of this year and loved everything about it except for the drag. at first i thought it was line slippage but after getting rid of half the spool of line and tightening the drag star to the max it was still doing it. i was fighting a 2 pound largemouth bass like as if i was reeling in a 6 pound smallie... lol if there are any tips on how to make the drag work betterthat would be great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaNovember 18, 2013
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us as what you describe is not normal. One of two things is most likely causing your issue with your MGX. First, if you are using braided line, make sure you "back" the reel with about 10-15 yards of monofilament before spooling with braid. Then connect the monofilament backing to the braid using a uni-to-uni or similar knot and continue spooling. If braid is tied directly to the spool, it will have the tendency to slip around the spool.

If this is not the issue, another could possibly be that the drag washers may have inadvertently become contaminated with grease or oil. All Abu Garcia reels are backed with a 1 year warranty – even if you are outside of this timeframe one of our reel services members will be happy to help you with the repair for a nominal fee. One of our customer service members has already been notified about your specific case and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review to resolve your issue. If you ever need to get in touch with us by phone, please don’t hesitate to call us at 1.800.228.4272. Have a great day and we will be in touch with you shortly.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted April 12, 2014
i found the drag to be a little weak as well. but the more i used it the more the resistance turned up. go figure
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not saltwater friendly

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Ingleside, Tx
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I finally made the jump to Abu from shimano... But to my suprise after only 4 months of use down here in south Texas my frame is eaten up... I wash off my reels after every use and wipe it down but that didn't stop the corrosion... Great reel when paired with custom phenix k2 rod... I would only recomend use in fresh water...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaOctober 2, 2013
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your MGX. All Abu Garcia reels are backed with a 1 year warranty and we will be happy to help. It is important to note that the Revo MGX is not engineered for saltwater use. Our saltwater-ready low profiles include the new Orra Inshore low profile, Revo Inshore low profile and the Toro NaCl reels - all of which have been specifically designed for saltwater environments in order to stand up to corrosion. With that being said, we understand your investment in the MGX and a customer service representative has already been notified about your case and will contact you at the email address that you provided with this review to help you with warranty replacement. If you ever need to reach us directly, please don't hesitate to call us at 1.800.228.4272. We will be in contact with you shorly.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Reel fell apart

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bill
from Mt Juliet TN
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
Bought this reel for my son this Christmas. We were in a tournament last night (very first one) he was casting, and the left side components just flew into the water!!!!. After looking at it, it has one spring loaded screw that holds it on. The spring loaded screw is pushing the bolt out at all times. Very poor design. He loved the reel for casting and smoothness but this is unbelievable. I paid $350 for a reel he got to use 6 times maybe. Now I'm out $350 as I'm sure warranty won't cover it. VERY DISSAPOINTED
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaAugust 6, 2013
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty and we will be happy to help. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your specific case and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review.

From what you described here, it appears that the adjustable thumb screw was loosened and not tighted back causing the issue. The spring loaded thumbscrew actually pulls the sidelplate in towards the spool vs. pushing it out so that in the event it becomes a little loose, it will hold the plate against the frame. In your son's situation, the thumb screw was most likely all the way unscrewed. Just be sure that the thumb screw is tight and this issue won't happen in the future. Again, we are here to help and will work hard to get your son back to fishing quickly
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Knots
Spain
Bait cast lines
Posted September 29, 2013
Hi
Any idea about the correct fishing line? I was met this castings with casts over 60 m and braided special lines to multiplicate and avoid castings issues. And I am looking too the Abu opinion about soft and very soft baits.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not great

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been a loyal abu guy for years but this reel really has been disappointing for the price. I love the weight, how it feels in hand and the handles but thats about it. It casts ok but not great. It wobbles and makes a noise like it's knocking something and this reel is only a month or so old. I really want to like it but comparing it to another reel I had that was $100 less it just doesn't compete. On top of that the Villian Rod I got to match broke when I landed a monster bass....I was so upset. I have never broke a rod in my life nor had a reel I regretted buying. Abu really let me down. I sold my other rod and reel and saved some money to buy this set-up and now I will have to just sell this reel and start over. I am hoping I just got a bad combo and this isn't the norm.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Revo MGX

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
john
from GA
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is by far the best bait caster that i have ever purchased it blew away a lot of other reels that clamed to be light and smooth. I love that I can cast it a mile with no backlashes on free spool.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great caster

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was worried about buying the mgx, because i didn't know if it was worth the money. But it definitely was, not the smoothest but can cast a mile, it can also cast very light baits. Reel may be a little over priced but one great reel!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointment

PostedJune 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
jwar
from Arkansas
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this reel for almost two months now, and not too thrilled.
I'll start off with the good. I absolutely love the size and weight of the reel. It feels perfect in my hand. It casts baits very far with ease and I really enjoy the simplicity of the breaking system.
Now the bad. When I loosen the tension knob the reel has a rough grinding feeling. I was out fishing and when I set the hook the drag slipped and wouldn't reel anything in with any weight. The drag was super loose no matter how tight I tried to get it. Eventually it worked itself out but for this price, I should not be having these problems so early.
I really want to like abus low profile reels, but just have had problems with the ones that I have owned. Just could not recommend any of the low profile reels from abu after this. Expected a little more.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Grinding Noise

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tyler
from Manchester, GA
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ergonomics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
User submitted photo
After a approx. 8 times of using it, the gears started making a grinding noise and it started backlashing. Casting distance dropped to probably 20 ft. I've always lubed it per Abu Garcia's recommendations and never caught anything above 5-6 lbs. I loved it before that and had no complaints; however it's now at undergoing warranty repair and I've been without it for 4 weeks now with no news from the people repairing it! Very disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMay 30, 2013
Good morning and thanks for reaching out to us. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your MGX as what you describe is definitely not normal. One of our customer service representatives has already been notifiied of your case and will reach out to you shortly at the email address that you provided with this review. From what you describe here, it sounds like one of the brake blocks on the IVCB-IV braking system may have caused your issue and it is an easy fix. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty so we will be happy to help. Our reel services team typically has a very fast turnaround time - was this reel mailed in or taken somewhere else? We will be in touch with you shortly to get your issue resolved. Have a great day and if you need to contact us directly, please don't hesitate to call us at 1.800.228.4272.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great finesse set up!

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Matt brad
from Reno, nv
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the mgx for a strictly shaky head and weightless worm setup. I have absolutely zero complaints. Had it out for the first time yesterday on a 14 hour trip on the lake. Using 3/16 oz shaky head the whole day was the only thing these fish would bite and the reel performed above my expectations. I no longer have to use spinning tackle for this technique. It is so light and comfortable to use the whole day whenever I would grab another rod to try something different it felt like a brick in my hand! Everyone should give this reel a try it's awesome!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great reel

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
thewaynester
from syracuse, ny
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Revo MGX is extremely light, comfortable, and super smooth casting. You don't own a real baitcaster until you own a MGX!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I own eight Abu Garcia reels and this is by far my favorite!!

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jamiecabinetmaker
from Madison WV
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I have two older STX and a old SX now i have a new winch and a new STX and a new MGX and they are all super great reels but the MGX is a mad man! I use it on a jig and worm casting rod and that has become my go to combo for all applications! This reel is so light you almost forget its in your hand. The cast control is second to none, I would change all my rods to MGX's if I could afford it! Don't let the price scare you away because this will become your favorite reel also!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jack
from Okeechobee Fl
Age:Over 65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a mgx about a year ago because I was tired of the inexpensive reels. I have it paired with a Falcon Bucoo MH 6-6 rod. I like the light weight of the combo and the reel out cast any I have ever owned. Tomorrow is my birthay so my wife bought me another one. Love her
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

absolutely excellent reel

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
ramcharger
from east Texas
Age:Over 65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Owns a boat:Yes
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased the MGX 2 weeks ago-2 trips to Toledo Bend and 9 hours casting mostly with this reel tells me you get what you pay for-mated to verdict rod casts further than any other reel I have-not the first backlash even while getting used to the reel-have boated a 4 and 31/2 black bass plus a few smaller with no problems-love this reel-wish I could afford to replace all my reels with MGX,s
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Revo MGX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed Once More

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
TxsKayaker
from The Woodlands, Texas
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Gear Feel (Smoothness) 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ergonomics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Maintenance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I received this reel as a Christmas gift from my wife in 2011. It is such a light reel and feels great in my hand. It has great casting distance and backlashes almost never happen. Unfortunately, while casting it, a piece broke off the thumb release bottom. It appears that the durability of the reel does not match its price category. Therefore, I can not, in good conscience, recommend this reel. I've contacted support and I am confident Abu Garcia will repair or replace the reel, but this is the 5th time I've had to return an Abu Garcia reel due to one failure or another.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaNovember 20, 2012
Good morning - we are sorry to hear you had an issue with your Revo MGX. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty & we will be happy to take care of your case. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified of your case and will reach out to you at the email address that you submitted with this review. If you ever need to get in touch with us directly, our customer service department can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272. We understand your frustration and will work hard to get your issue taken care of so you can get back to fishing.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
TXSKayaker
The Woodlands, Texas
Sending Back Again for the Same Issue
Posted March 18, 2014
After dealing with the same issue, I'm going to have to send this reel back for repairs It's a nuisance having to manually flick my thumb under the release to get it to re-engage after a cast. Otherwise, it makes a grinding noise when reeling in my lure. Please fix it properly this time, as it is no longer covered by your warranty. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
TxsKayaker
The Woodlands
Reel Update
Posted January 7, 2014
Well, a year later and I'm still using the MGX. The issue with the Thumb Spool Release was corrected, but it began partially locking up again about a month ago. I have to manually push the Thumb Release up to fully re-engage. I still enjoy using this reel and I use it in a Saltwater environment, so maybe I should never have complained. It handles inshore species without a problem and I rarely get a backlash. In my opinion, a reel in this price category should be both Saltwater and Freshwater engineered. Using the heavier Orra models doesn't appeal to me.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
TxsKayaker
The Woodlands, Texas
Redemption
Posted April 15, 2013
Since having my reel repaired it has performed extremely well. Check out my post on the Volatile rod. I have landed many large flounder, specks, and redfish and the MGX was exceptional.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
1 2 3 next>>