Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Abu Garcia.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The screw for the handle loosens after a few casts.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Austin
from Kilgore, TX
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
So i'm going to review this in the form of pros, and cons.
Abu Garcia Cardinal SX10
Pros: Casts like a dream, really smooth drag, can easily pull in large fish with ease, nice sturdy construction, and you get all that at the great price of $40. This reel works better than most $70+ reels that i have used.
Cons: I really only have one con, and that is the Screw that holds the handle always works its way loose after about 10 or so casts. Its not really that big of a deal to just tighten it back up, but it does get a little annoying when you have a big one hooked and have to take the time to tighten it back down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great reel

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
great product for any light fishing only problem is it only holds 100 yards of 4lbs mono
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very smooth, reliable, and affordable reel

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
AlphaQ
from Texas
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
I have the SX10 spooled with 8lb test and paired with a 6'6" Abu Garcia Cardinal rod. It is my go to reel, whether I'm fishing for channel catfish, crappie, black bass, white bass, sunfish, the occasional carp and buffalo. The drag is smooth, the retrieve is smooth, and is easy to maintain and clean. It is by far my favorite reel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good reel but...

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I like everything about this reel except for the spool. It casts great, retrieves great, drag is great, but whoever ran my particular spool needs to have a talking to about attention to detail. Picture an empty spool in your mind. You have a deep, wide groove cut into it for the line to lay. on the side wall closest to the handle there is a razor sharp burr left over from the lathe work. Having a sharp edge where my line is going to sit seems like a bad thing to me. Anyway you look at it that burr should have been removed cause that's the difference between good and sloppy workmanship. Other than that, I'd recommend this reel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sweet reel, but..

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
My reel is pretty new, when I try to switch the handle to a left hand retrieve I reel and the arm loosens and starts to hit the bail. Idk why that happens because when it's set to right hand retrieve it works fine. Also the retrieve feels super stiff and tight idk why that is. I like the reel and it's smooth even though it winds stiff. I hope it hold up on some reds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ive been a z***** fan for years until I used this reel. I havnt looked back.

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
User submitted photo
Freshwater fishing throughout Michigan with this reel (sx30) on my ugly stick has been trouble free even 30 lbs test when I was in a pinch at 6am haha. Reels in salmon like it's nothing. The only issues I have is the chrome on the bottom looks bad after awhile and also the drag dial is a little sloppy after about three months of use but I'm not complaining to much. Again best reel for the price. And so smooth. I want to try a revo Abu next. I just haven't needed to upgrade yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really real reel

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gonefishing
from Virginia mn
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Novice
Love this reel! I bought the x20 (not sure that's exact) to replace my 16 yr old syntec (browning) I put 8lb Cajun red on and have it paired with an omen 7'6" rod. Absolutely love walleye fishing now. I can say its odd to have zero back peddle now, and I miss the auto trip. However, I fish nearly every day after work and this reel is perfect, no issue with whatever fish I go after, big or small Abu does it all!
It is a touch stiff to turn on the handle, and a bit grainy feeling when reeling in slowly, but that may be the stiff handle. I better get to breaking it in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sx10

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fatdaddy
from Chicago
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
I had to replace my cardinal ultralight 752.( spool cracked after 20 years.)
OMG was this a perfect replacement. SMOOTH , FUN.
This reel was a pure joy to use.
I caught 2-3 lbs pike on my last trip, and a 6lb cat. 6lb test
I'm going to try and replace the old spool an the 752 also a great reel.
I loved this so much I'm going to pick up a couple of sx20 for my medium gear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Reel. Amazing Value!

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mac
from Utah
Age:Over 65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
This reel has a great feel and is smooth. The bail is obviously more substantial than most. - strong construction and reliable. In fact, the bail is a major reason I bought a small size (05) to use for ice fishing ( I already owned a SX20).
There are touches such as the design of the spool lip for smoother, longer casts, the slow oscillating line winding, and a reasonably fast retrieve ratio.
I don't t know what reel the one low rating came from, but his description is not this reel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT VALUE

PostedJune 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
BASS Fisherman
from Missouri
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
I have Always been an Abu Garcia type fisherman who Appreciates a nice reel and that is why I purchased the cardinal SX. The Quality Of the product is outstanding and It is A reel that I believe that will last Along time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Abu Garcia is the benchmark

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
I am a stream and river smallmouth angler. Size matters on long trips up sometimes narrow an confining creeks where a normal size rod and reel would be a hassle or unable to be used, so I use ultra light rods and reels almost exclusively. As expected this reel handles the fish I find perfectly, but I have landed a 35 pound catfish on it as well (wasn't using it to catfish just dumb luck I guess), and was concerned a little for the reel after the epic 45 min fight on 6 lb line, but a year latter I have seen no ill effects and the thing functions like new.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Austin
from Georgia
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
I got this reel a couple of months ago and it is GREAT. I have multiple $200+ reels and this is by far the best in the market. It also has a great price range for the quality of equipment you are getting. I would recommend this reel to any people going after any fresh water fish, it can get any thing in the boat with no problem! Best fishing purchase I ever made!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cardinal sx

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brian
from Mn
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Horrible, i opened the bail once and it snapped off never buying another Abu again it has a cheap plastic design and very low durability I'm lucky i got a warranty on it and i hope i get my money back something i dont get is why it was 45 dollars it is worth 5.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMay 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for contacting us. From what you describe here, your reel must have been damaged during shipping or on the shelf prior to purchase as your experience is not normal. All Abu Garcia reels carry a 1 year warranty and we will be happy to get your issue taken care of. A customer service representative has already been notified about your specific case and will contact you at the email address that you provided with this review. We will be in touch with you shortly.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mark
Ohio
Cardinal Sx20
Posted July 30, 2013
Have to agree with you Brain. Bought one for my son a month ago. Bail also broke. His did while reeling in a fish. I have 4 Different style Garcia baitcasting reels and love them. I was amazed when I saw that that part is made out of a thin cheap piece of plastic. Especially that part. Of course just about everything is made out of plastic anymore. Shame, Abu Garcia is a good company.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

card sx 20

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Steel head trout
from Canada
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
same as the stx I use this reel on a float rod 6lb main line 4lb leader - landed serveral 10lb plus steelhead trout - the drag is smooth which it has too be with this lb test - reels smooth - this reel is everything it says it is and at a price point of less than $40 it is a great deal - I plan to us it for years to come. Abu Garcia makes a good product I have used their brand for years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Cardinal SX30

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Randy in Livingston
from Livingston, CA
Age:Over 65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Bought this reel 3 months ago for Stiped Bass (freshwater) and it is a smooth customer. Great price and great performance. Really good front drag and smooth, smooth retreive even with large (18 to 24 lb stripers) fish. I have it set up with 30# braided line--125 Yards, finished with 5' of 30# mono leader. Tried a $160 Shimano reel and the Abu Garcia is a better performer. Can't go wrong with this reel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
17of 22voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bassmaster
marietta georgia
question
Posted April 8, 2014
what does the number after sx or in this case sx30 mean.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)