Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Abu Garcia.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Entry Level Reel

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gvblack45
from Iowa
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
I have owned 2 of these reels, a size 5 and a size 10. Obviously they represent Abu's entry level price point reel. I would say I am very pleased with the performance of each one. They certainly compare favorably to reels at similar price points such as the Quantum Triax and Shimano Sienna. I did have a knob separate on the size 5 but an email to Abu customer service and a new handle was received by mail for free within 3 days. In other words, exceptional customer service after the sale. This alone should give buyers reason to support this company. Wonderful company to deal with. Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great 4 the price

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fisherman rob
from Baltimore md
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got this reel to see if an abu spinning reel was actually good. it was. Great reel for the price no doubt the drag works great and it is very easy to disassemble I have landed some nice crappie and bass on this reel. I will probably step up to the orea or revo series next for your spinning reels. GET IT
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dissapointment

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I have had this reel for three weeks and the handle just fell off. I wasn't being rough with it at all. I was just gently working a spinning lure when the handle broke off in my hand. Very dissapointed in the product. This seems like a common problem based off the other reviews. I wish I read them before purchasing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor design

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Handle fell off on walleye hook set. The part of the handle that you hold on to is just press fitted with a spiral design, once you pull it off it will not stay on. I have been a life long Abu Garcia user, not sure why they would use this handle. Unfortunately I bought four of these last fall.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Repeat customer...
Harrisburg,Il
Line lay issues
Posted July 3, 2014
I personally own about 8 of the Cardinal S 40 spinning reels and one SX 40. My chief complaint is that line lay is terrible on many of them. It is pretty bad when the line all winds to a point at the front of the spool near the lip. This condition is hard to correct. Having line bunch up at the rear of the spool is harder to deal with than having it bunch up towards the front of the spool. This means additional washers must be added between the rotor and top of front bearing race. What really upsets me
is that I cannot even find an SX 40 that will wind line correctly, and this is a $40 reel. I should not be expected to add additional parts for that price. I have many Abu Garcia spinning reels, but am getting a bit tired of inconsistency, expecting to return about 40% of the reels I buy. It's pretty sad howevr, because these are great reels...both functionally and cosmetically. It would be nice to see them assembled correctly...I am paying for this service.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good reel for the price

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from IL
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
I purchased this reel last fall, I have this reel on a M 6'6' Berkley rod with 15 lb. braid. I use this set up for crank baits and top water lures. I don't have any issues with the reel, it retrieves line fast, the drag works great, and the reel is comfortable to use. My only issue is when I retrieve a deeper running crank bait with it, the reel feels like it has a knock in it. I would recommend this reel for a novice fisherman who is building their first crank bait setup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

okay

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I was using the reel and the grip on the handle dell off and won't stay on
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great reel

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
I love this spinning reel! It is a cheaper reel, but it holds up great. I have pulled in bass, flounder, bluefish, crappie, sunfish, gar, and catfish with out problems. It has handled several 10lb+ fish without a hitch. Great product and I highly recommend it to anyone who want a good reel for a low price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chuck
Marion
Good reel, poor handle
Posted June 7, 2014
First time fishing and the handle came off. Bad design on this handle.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cardinal s30

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Texas
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:4
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
I have not had this reel long. But the bail broke from normal use. Wish I would have gotten something a little better quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Reel

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:2
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
Good reel for almost anything. Never have an issue. Reliable and good feel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Daniel
Georgia
Cardinal S10
Posted November 24, 2013
Owned abu garcia's for years. S10 is a good dependable reel at a good price. Drag system is clean, never had an issue with drag. Use them all the time. Use them for drop shot, small crank baits and skipping under docks. Handles large fish quite well. Use nano line 12 pound test with leader. Holds plenty of line that way and reel is light weight. Pleasure to use and always dependable.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wildcat
from Kentucky
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
I bought this reel several years ago, and it's been a great reel. I've hauled in largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, rock bass, crappies, and bluegills--I've even used it in saltwater and pulled in some speckled seatrout. Cast after cast, it performs. If you want a great reel for a great price, look no further, you've found it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.