Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Abu Garcia.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
10 out of 13(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Looks and feels awesome........however.....

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
CE
from New Jersey
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Out of the box I was very very impressed. Matched it with my favorite fluke rod and I fell in love. First time I used it, worked great except for the thumb bar being a bit stiff and hard to depress. Took it with a grain of salt and figured it just needed to break in. After 4 more outings it only got worse. After 3 weeks of use, I can barely depress the thumb bar. I can't even fish with it anymore and it cost me $300. Im hoping I just got a bad one but I am seeing and hearing more and more complaints for the same problem. If that issue could be fixed, it would be an outstanding reel. It doesn't do me any good sitting on the work bench. I need a replacement or a refund. I don't have time to send it back and wait for it to be repaired as my fluke season will be over before I get it back.
If it wasn't for the bad thumb bar, I would have given it 5 stars and a full recommendation. Sorry Abu Garcia.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fish4Life
from Southern California
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
I own both a bass boat and an offshore center console. I buy one brand of smaller reel these days - Abu Garcia Revo. I have used Revo STX reels (fresh water) for many years and have never had a problem with them - they work great. I started buying Abu Revo NaCls and Salty Stages - I have never been happier with any salt water reels, these are the best! Their performance has been flawless and they have not broken over and over like another popular brand! They have great drags, and very smooth mechanisms, I use the NaCl 50s, 60s, 60HS and Salty Stages, fishing for all species with 20 -65lb braid - I also started using these reels to throw swimbaits in the fresh water - awesome performance! I own at least one reel from every competing brand - speaking from experience - I highly recommend these reels over all the the others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Revo Toro NaCl 61. Want to love it....

PostedMay 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
houla
from California
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Intermediate
User submitted photo
I used this reel for one and a half seasons of shallow water ling cod fishing. I love the look, feel and ergos of this reel and most of the time it was great. Landed my two biggest lings to date last year. Love the power handle.
Unfortunately, I have experienced a couple of the same problems described by other reviewers. The thumb bar is getting harder to depress at times (seemed a little stiff from the beginning) and it seems kinda' sloppy/loose. I have also had problems re-engaging the spool. You go to crank the handle and it feels like you have the drag completely backed off. The reel was well cared for. Never dunked and always rinsed with fresh water, then oiled.
Unfortunately, it's out of warranty at this point and is now gathering dust while my "cheaper" reels including Abu's get to go fishing. I want to love it, but I don't trust it. That being said, I just purchased an Ambassadeur Record 6601 to replace it. Hope it lives up to Abu Garcia's reputation for durability.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome reel but my review is based on the one in my hands.

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Texas
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Have had the NaCl 50-HS since Jan 2014 and have taken it out about 5 times so far for some bay fishing. An excellent reel I must say except for the fact that when brand new out of the box the handle seemed to be slightly lop sided so it would not reel in smoothly especially when drag was applied. However I overlooked it and decided to give it a go. My first major problem is that whenever I make a cast the thumb bar seems to slightly engage every now and then and it makes this crazy grinding noise halting my cast mid flight. I also decided to overlook this and just keep my thumb down after a cast but soon after as I would fight a fish on light/heavy drag it didnt matter, the spool slips as if the gears are slipping. I own and maintain numerous revos and I have pulled this one apart and put it back together thinking it would solve the problem but it did not. I am so frustrated as I have spent over $300 on this reel thinking I would be good for at least a couple of years..anyways I think this needs to be made right and I would greatly appreciate it if someone from tech support could contact me about this issue.
Best Regards
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaMarch 20, 2014
Good morning. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your Toro NaCl . All Abu Garcia reels carry a one year warranty and we will be happy to help you out as the issues that you are describing are not normal One of our customer service specialists will be contacting you shortly at the email address you provided for this review and get you back to fishing. If you ever have any questions or concerns we can be reached at Tel: 1.800.228.4272.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Revo NaCl 50

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
The reel looks and feels amazing. Really strong drag used it for California Yellowtail. Paired this reel with a Volatile 8'0 12-25 medium heavy. Only concern is why does the reel not have the stamped NaCl toro 50 in the front of the reel? Right below the line guide. Could anyone please explain this? Team Abu Garcia?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice reel not very durable

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bigcat
from West virginia
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
I used my nacl 60 one season four or five months total. This thing can really cast and love the new handle design. The trouble is the amount of plastic used I guess corrosion resistant means plastic. I also like so many others have a thumb bar problem sticks then won't engage now doesn't work at all!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

brake defect

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from west coast
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
my nacl 60 throws the brakes out on attempted long casts. the casts always end up short . I set all the brake blocks to off and after a hard cast a few are on ,upon inspection. it limits the cast by 20-30 yds. If it cant be fixed, daiwa 400 .
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

REVO TORO NACL 61

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Yak Attack
from Bay Area, CA
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
I do a lot of saltwater kayak fishing and purchased this reel last March 2013 for its line capacity and ergonomic low profile design. The reel was never dunked in the water and always rinsed religiously after each fishing trip. The reel has a smooth drag and was working great, but after a few trips, I noticed that the thumb release was getting sticky. And then 2 days ago, while river salmon fishing on my yak, the spool wouldn't engage. The handle would spin freely, but wouldn't engage the spool. Really weird.
I gave this 3 stars because first of all, I'm a big fan of ABU. I own a few round baitcasting reel (C3, C5) without problems and an older model Revo Toro and I love the low profile,big handle feel. But with a name like NACL, you'd think that it'd hold up well against saltwater for a year at least. In my case, I only started using it last June (Our Rockfish season started June 2013) and in less that 4 months, the reel crapped out on me. I hope I only bought a bad unit and that this doesnt apply to the other NACL reel in general because this reel has a lot of potential. Looking forward to hearing from ABU GARCIA team.
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaSeptember 26, 2013
Hello and thanks for reaching out to us - you are correct, this is not normal at all. All Abu Garcia reels carry a one year warranty and we will be happy to help. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your issue and will reach out to you at the email address that you provided with this review to resolve your issue. If you ever need to speak to us directly, please don't hesitate to call us at 1.800.228.4272. Thanks for reaching out to us and we will be in contact with you shortly.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FM4L
U.S.A.
Warranty vs. Price
Posted December 23, 2013
One year warranty doesn't seem like much for a piece of equipment that costs $300 + tax. It should be at least 3 years.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What is a good rod

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Kenora ontario
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
What do you think is a good rod combo for this reel?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Read Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
KYMuskyFishing
KY
Posted July 19, 2014
I'd suggest VOLATILE
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
DGWelsh
Pasadena
Posted November 21, 2013
The Volatile series of rods is the perfect combination for this reel, the rods were intended to be used with the NaCl 50 and 60 reels!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted August 19, 2013
What type of fishing are you using it for?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Thumbar prematurely engages when casting preventing line from shooting out.

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Eric D.
from Valrico, Florida
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Bought this reell a few months ago. Was very impressed with the looks and the design. Used it for pier fishing for pompano (too heavy for jigging but caught a bunch). No problem casting until last month. The line won't shoot out of the reel when casting because the thumbar/clicker prematurely engages during the casting motion locking the spool nd preventing it from shooting out. Imagine using a spinning reel and casting without opening the bail. Happened several times! Drag screamed and it sounded horrible because it made me cast out while the thumbar was engaged! Anyone get this problem? 3 stars only. A reel this expensive should not fail like that causing a lot of disappointment and embarrasment!
Response from Abu GarciaAbu GarciaJuly 15, 2013
Good morning and thank you for reaching out to us. We replied to your previous review for the Revo SX, but wanted to ensure that you recieved our reply. What you have described is not normal and we will be happy to repair your reel as all Abu Garcia reels are backed with a 1 year warranty. One of our customer service representatives has already been notified about your situation and will reach out to you at the email address that you submitted with this review. We understand your frustration and will work hard to get your issue taken care of so you can get back to fishing. If you ever need to speak to a customer service representative directly over the phone, please call Tel: 1.800.228.4272. A representative will be in contact with you shortly.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome reel for Inshore fishing and for Calico Bass

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sonny
from Southern California
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
User submitted photo
I now own (8) Abu Revo reels. (2)SX, (2)Winch, (2)Toro Winch, and now (2) NACL's 50's. I started using the Revo for large mouth bass using swimbaits. They cast very easily and the drags are very smooth. I was so impressed at the product that I upgraded all my inshore saltwater fishing reels to the Toro's. I have caught quite a number of calico's up to 6 pounds and a few rock fish as well. The reels have been awesome and I have not lost a fish due to reel malfunction. I was even able to bring in a nice barracuda with minimum effort. I have sold a few of my friends into switching to Abu reels and they were very happy with the switch. I highly recommend this line of reels to anyone looking for quality and reliability in their equipment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nacl 60

PostedMay 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
ebhardt
from wisconsin
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
this reel is by far the smootest one I have ever used, casting distance had improved which means my bait stays infront of muskies longer. effortless retrive as well so watch how fast you reel. i will be buying another one if not 2.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Carlos
McAllen, TX.
NACL61
Posted August 27, 2013
This is a great reel for saltwater. I like it because of its big handles that it came with. I have a disability on my left hand and couldn't use this type of reels before they came with very small handles. Thanks ABU GARCIA for thinking on people like me with a disability, but like fishing alot with baitcasters
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product..........

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
davis4608
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Bought the NaCl 60HS reel last sept. Coludn't wait to fish with it for fall musky...I spooled it with 80lb Tuff line with no problem. Threw mag bulldawgs and pounders all day with ease. Biggest MUSKY i got was a fat 48" on a pounder cisco. The power handle is awsome!!! Great reel for Musky fishing reel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Reel

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
metalljca
from Lockport, NY
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:No
Experience:Expert
Smooth as can be, about 300 yds of Trilene XL 14lb. Using for salmon and trout. Very comfortable to fish with.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Socal Calico Bass Fishing

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Master Baiter
from Santana Ana, Ca
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Just bought the Revo NaCl 50HS this passed weekend. Laced it up with 50lb spectra and took off the next morning to San Clemente Island for a day of calico bass fishing. Using a 9'' swimbaits this reel cast like a dream and it has power to pull those big calico bass out of their hole. Can't wait til March 1 so I can use this reel to target lingcods.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Surf Reel!

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
alltacklenofish
from NJ
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
I have at least 20 surf casting reels. I live near the ocean in NJ and go surf casting all year long at least once a day some times more than once. I only throw plugs and usually fish the beach as opposed to the jetties. I therefore require long casts in windy conditions. I just purchased the Toro NACL 61 and find it much improved over the Toro which I already liked. With 50# braid and a Legend 10 footer I can throw SP minnows some 70-80 yards and metal twice that. The reel is very smooth and I much prefer the centrifugal breaks to the mag variety. The non-disengaging levelwind is an absolute must. Great Reel!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Read Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Banditman
Tomahawk, WI
Great Reels
Posted March 6, 2014
I purchased two NACL 60's last summer one in each gear ratio. These are by far the best reels I have ever used. Very smooth and very comfortable. My wife, who is very new to Musky fishing, Can use these reels with no problem. I would recommend these reels to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
River muskie
Wisconsin
muskie question
Posted October 20, 2013
I want to get an NACL for muskies. I'm torn between the high speed and the regular speed. I fish from personal pontoon and a float tube and only carry one rod at a time. I tend to fish a lot of glide baits (phantoms). I would like to pull double 8 bucktails, probably can live w/o double 10's (and I don't want to go with the winch, however if reg would reasonably pull double 10's I might leant that way. I've used a friends hs, and love the way it picks up slack on jerks and glides. Suggestions as to which would be best for a single all around reel for me? Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
BillyKen
Miami
Capacity ?
Posted August 6, 2013
Hello friend, how much 50lb braid can you put on the 61 ?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)