Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Abu Garcia.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Totally awesome reel! None better!

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Over 65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
I have 4 of the MGExtreme reels. They are the best I've used in my 60+ years of finese bass fishing. I can't imagine a smoother operating reel. Mine are spooled with braid and cast perfectly. The drag adjustment methd works very well. Holy Moly!, and at 4.9 0unces too!
Treat yourself. They're well worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best reel on the market!

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
JT
from Ontario Canada
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
I have tried a lot of different high end reels like the Shimano Calais and the quantum exo pt but none of the ever came close to this one. I use it for pretty much anything, it fits every situation possible! Abu Garcia For Life!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted June 1, 2014
but why dont you compare with the shimano metanium or daiwa steez??
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought 4 of them!

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Daytona Beach,Fl
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
User submitted photo
I own 4 and fish them hard and absolutely love them. Hands down the bast Bass Fishing reels in my opinion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth it!

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I have always swore by Abu Garcia reels and have refused to use anything but, and this is by far the best of them all!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
NeedMoreBass
from South
Age:45-54
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
First, I fish 3 to 4 times a week. 35 years of bass fishing experience. I paid alot for the Mgxtreme reel and expect the best. Both from A.G. customer service and reel performance. After 3 weeks of casting / fishing my Revo Mgxtreme I experienced drag issues and a grinding / buzzing noise while casting. After fishing my standard Revo MGX'S over a year--I've never experienced this type of noise or performance. I paid about $10 to FEDEX back my MGXtreme for repair and after receiving my reel back--it continues to under perform with the same ongoing problems. I even had to replace my new $19 Berkley Flurocarbon line. So now I am out $50 and still have a Mgxtreme reel that under performs. Thanks
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
12of 22voted this as helpful.
Read Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Mr. Mister
Alabama
Posted July 16, 2014
Take apart the reel, clean all the parts and use some of the lube that comes with it on parts needed. If there is a broken part just go to support on this website go to parts, and so on. They're cheap too. You need to keep care of your reel
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted October 15, 2013
hey have you tried to take the gears of and re oil them and try a 10lb line trilen extra tough cause I had the same problem with my orra and I took it apart and oiled it and know I cant cast it without bird nesting it maybe it will help your reel..
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted July 9, 2013
Where was the reel made at?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted July 9, 2013
and if it was shiped it could have been dropped
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted July 9, 2013
thiers nothing really wrong with it it can easly be fixed
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puts the rest to shame!

PostedJune 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carson
from Cordele, Georgia
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This reel is constantly put down about the price, but have you seen the price of a steez? Well this Abu is by far the best I've ever had and I have every review they make so far. I have never been disappointed in a revo but I've never been so surprised they made one so great in every way possible. If your not into the tournament side and don't take trophy bass fishing serious it may not be the reel for you but if you do go ahead and shuck out a few more dollars to get something that's gonna change it for the better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Reel on the Market!

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amen Outdoors
from Scottsburg, IN
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
I have fished with Shimano baitcasters for 20 years, and I though I would never say this but it's true this reel is the best I have ever seen. I have look at the core, exo, and others and I could not find anything close to this except the MGX, so I must say Abu is making the best reels out there right now! If you don't believe find a Bass Pro Shops store and try on for your self, you won't even feel it in your hand!!! I have mine on a Duckett Rod it's a flipping machine!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best reel I have ever used

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Chicago, Illinois
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
If you like the revo mgx, then buying this reel is worth it. Many people say it is over priced, but it isn't. If you compare it to similar reels such as daiwa steez or Abu Garcia revo mgx, this is the lightest, not the most expensive, and has the best design (in my opinion). This is by far the best reel this company has made. So thank you, abu garcia for making such a perfect reel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awesome, but SUPER over priced.

PostedApril 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
I bought this reel and returned it the same day because it is ridiculously over priced. It felt JUST like the Revo SX, which is over $300 cheaper. NOT WORTH BUYING. Just get a Revo SX.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
16of 40voted this as helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
s.t.g fishing club
malaysia
awesome but over price????
Posted October 29, 2013
what do you expect pay with that price?its good enough...and i never feel regreat buying this mgxX..
i think u should learn revolution of abu garcia lpbc..
today i caught monster snakehead with mgxX(just yesterday buy this mgxX)...after a few second while fighting,i realize that abu already done a very good job..
this product awesome bro...
dont listen people that never feel the technology!
good work abu garcia..
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Milwaukee
MGX
Posted May 10, 2013
Lightest smoothest reel I've ever used, casts incredibly far without back lashes. Best baitcaster I've ever used!!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)