Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Abu Garcia.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 6 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 out of 6(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Catcatcher28
from western north carolina
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
I purchased this reel for catching big catfish. This reel has surpassed my expectations for only a $60 reel. I have caught many big cats in the 15-35lb range on it. My only complaint is that I wish that the drag was higher. The bait clicker is loud and will certainly let you know when a fish takes the bait. The drag, while not as high as I would like, is very smooth. Overall this reel was is great reel if you are on a budget and can hold up to the abuse of regualarly catching big fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you want to cast, use a low profile casting reel.

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Saltwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
I use it for trolling and drifting in saltwater. I love them. This will be my third set. I also use smaller models for trolling in lakes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Specific use only...

PostedJune 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Capt Scott
from Central Florida
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Bought 3 of these reels for shiner fishing.... living in Florida we do a lot of shiner fishing and this reel works excellent for that. have caught many bass in the 6-10LB range and has performed excellent... also have used it for Northern fishing in Wisconsin
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not so good

PostedJune 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
boss
Age:18-24
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
I hooked at catfish the other day and it was if my drag was all the way loose is was a 10 lb catfish on 50 lb power pro with the drag tightened all the way down the fish back lashed my reel and still having drag problems. You have to pull the line out until the drag catches or you will loose fish. 2 friends had the same problems. like the other reviews it is something in the drag syatems
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JeromyinWV
Drag slipping?
Posted July 18, 2014
What you are describing sounds like the line slipping. Did you back the braided line. The braided line will not grip the spool like mono and you should put some mono on the reel and then tie the braid to it or use tape to tapw it to the spool.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Andy
from SC
Age:Under 18
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
I absolutely love my BlackMax and now my SilverMax. However, this particular reel doesn't perform like an Abu reel. That being said, I'm an Abu guy For Life, and will continue to use Abu reels, but I highly recommend not buying this reel. Out of the box, it doesn't cast far at all. I continued to use it though. Three casts in, the spool release button got jammed, and I had to use my pliers to pull it out. Then it worked as it did out of the box; not great, but it worked. My second trip out, I hooked in to a catfish and the handle would spin and the reel didn't do anything. I took it apart when i got home and played with it. The problem is in the drag washers. They have a round hole, instead of the square holes that can grab on to the spool in other reels. I put it back together and returned it for a SilverMax.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Some more tweaking needed...

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
looking out
from Montana
Age:25-34
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:3
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
The bearings need to on the spool spindle since this isn't the long cast design, it would provide greater casting distance. That would fix the tightness in the casting and the reeling. An instant anti-lock roller bearing would also be a nice feature to add to this. I believe this would solve some of the basic performance issues that I had with the reel. Other than that its a great buy if you are on a budget or just getting a kid started. Liked the aluminum side plates!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
speck chaser
gulfport, MS
weekend fisherman
Posted July 11, 2014
This reel has proven to be very good in all my salt water fishing, it may not be the best in the world but comes close for the price
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
bobo
tulsa ok
good real
Posted March 29, 2014
I bought this reel. Today used it wade.fishing in.a swamp for bass fought ten bass over three pounds seem like an ok reel .had no problems ..
it seemed better than the bcx reel.i hated that reel...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)