Abu Garcia Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Abu Garcia
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Abu Garcia.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 7 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Frog'n For Bass

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bass4Life
from Freedom,WI.
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
This reel is FAST, I do a lot of fishing with plastic frogs and when bass hit and miss its no problem getting it in and back to the strike zone. Big bass deep in cover don't have a chance, as strong as a mule. Handle did wear out but its to be expected when in the slop all the time. Love the Rocket and planning on buying one more
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Revo Rocket Rules!!

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lee
from Central NJ
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
User submitted photo
I have a story that I'd like to share. I have wanted the Rocket and a Veracity rod to go with it since they were first announced. Money is tight so I put it off for a long time until last week. My Father was in the hospital last week and he wasn't doing well, we were talking about fishing and the rocket came up. He insisted I needed to go home and order the combo I wanted, he said you only live once and you need to enjoy it while you're here. I am a disabled police officer and fishing has helped me through some very difficult times, he knows how much it means to me. Long story short I went home that day and ordered everything. He passed away Monday with my mother and I at his side, he never got to see the reel and rod. Everything showed up yesterday, I absolutely love the quality of everything, best Abu products I've owned so far. I spooled up and hit the local lake. I got there and before I made the first cast I said, ok Dad let's see if we can catch one with this awesome rod and reel. I was immediately impressed with the ease of setup on the reel, it casts a mile with no effort and no backlashes. Super smooth line recovery, light and fits your hand perfect for less fatigue when you're on the water for the day. What happened next still has me chocked up. I hooked into the best largemouth of my life so far. It weighed in at 8lb12oz, a awesome fish anywhere in the country but for New Jersey this is a fish of a lifetime! I broke down after everything set in and now I know that my Dad is with me, I believe he sent me that fish because he wanted me to be happy. I've caught several fish since yesterday with it, I absolutely love it and recommend it to everyone. Thanks Abu Garcia for another awesome product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gun slinger - fastest on the draw

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
JR
from New Haven, CT
Age:35-44
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
User submitted photo
Wow what can i say? If this reel was in a old western movie,it would be considered a gun slinger , its the quickest on the draw, cast out, flip or pitch and this reel gets the bait right back to you to do it again in an heart beat. If your into power fishing, this is the reel for you. Oh yeah it's also light weight so you won't get tired from casting and catching all day. Speed,power,light weight,cast ability ,color, comfort,quality, what else can you ask for , fastest in the west,east, north or south
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fast

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
Let me start by saying that this is a very fast reel and I use it in a medium sized stream where you can catch any thing from little 12 inch smallmouth to 6 pound bruits and 45 inch muskie to 30 inch wallie and I can tell you that this reel handles all of theis fish very well. I put this reel on a 6 ft 10 fenwick elet tech smallmouth rod and I can cast lures down to 1/8 ounce with ease. This is also a great reel to throw buzbaits with and you don't have to reel like a mad man to keep it on top of the water. I have also managed to land a 45 inch muskie on it while fishing an x-rap and the drag held up very well during the fight and was surprisingly smooth. The only compliant that I have is their is no lube port but it is still easy to clean by just taking the sideplate off just be sure not
to lose any off the mechanical break parts as they can be a
pain in the butt to get back in. The reels break also has endless adjustments to it and is very easy to dial in good. I also own a revolt sd and this reel is a lot better than it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs to be tougher

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fergusonfishing
from Bartow, Fl
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
I recently bought the Revo Rocket and planned on using it for flipping. I live in Florida and flip 365 days a year. This reel has the fastest gear ratio in the world and is ideal for flipping. After using the reel for a couple months I noticed that the handle was getting a little shaky. I kept using the reel and the handle got worse. Eventually I took the handle off and found that the carbon fiber had weakened and stripped. I sent the reel handle to Abu Garcia and am still waiting to get a new handle back. If the reel handle were tougher I would say it is the best flipping reel out there. Just needs to be tougher.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rocket Crankin'

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Dallas
Age:Over 65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Expert
This reel is called the rocket for a reason. You finally don't have to crank your reel like a mad man to get a buzz bait or rattletrap type bait to run like their supposed to with so little effort. Also covered alot more water in seaching for bass before tournaments, by working the target area. Then getting the bait back in to cast again to the next target. J2B
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Reel I have ever owned

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maj Vic
from Globe, AZ
Age:55-65
Favorite type of fishing:Freshwater
Number of times fishing per month:5+
Owns a boat:Yes
Experience:Intermediate
Sleek, smooth and cast like a dream. Imagine hooking a 4 lb. Large Mouth Bass and reeling him in. That's what happened to me on my second cast with this reel. This reel brought him to the boat so fast, that I could not believe it. I had my big bass in the boat in no time. I bought the reel for pitching and jigging, but I was not in an area to pitch or jig. I was in open water. I wanted to try this new reel so bad, that I tied on one of my jerk baits and did some minor adjustments to the reel to match my bait and I cast. I could not believe how far it went and then on my second cast, to my surprise a bass hit it and with little ease, I reeled him in. The gear ratio of 9.0:1 is super fast and the fastest of any reel that I know of on the market today. I own seven other Abu Garcia reels and I think this one is my new champion. Thank you Abu Garcia, keep up the great work. If you’re looking for a new reel, take a good look at this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
John Doe
MN
Musky Reel?
Posted March 21, 2014
Anyone use this as a Musky reel??
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
australia
michael
Posted February 17, 2014
I just received the Revo Rocket, but cannot get the side plate off. Is there a trick to it? The securing bolt loosens ok, but the unit seems seized.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)